Aurora Public Library
statutory library board of 7 incl 2 councillors
Completeness
- Document shelf: 2 rows (2 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 2 of 2 row(s) audited, all clean
- Last verified: 2026-08-01 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: checked — none found
- API: checked — none found
- RSS: checked — none found
- Newsroom: checked — none found
- FOI / access requests: checked — none found
Document shelf (2 rows)
| Year | Type | Title | Archive status | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | Annual report | Annual Report 2024 | archived | |
| 2024 | Financial statements | Board Financial Statements 2024 | archived |
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Aurora Public Library - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: auro-aurora-public-library (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
Governed under the Public Libraries Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.44, consolidated text at ontario.ca/laws/statute/90p44 (link fetch-verified this review). The library's own board page states: "In accordance with the Public Libraries Act, R.S.O. 1990, chapter P.44, Aurora Public Library is governed by its Public Library Board" (aurorapl.ca/library-board-and-administration/, fetched this review). Section 20 of the Act requires the board to operate one or more libraries and provide a comprehensive and efficient public library service (ontario.ca/laws/statute/90p44).
Roles, responsibilities & scope
Delivers public library service to the Town of Aurora; the Board meets eight times yearly (third Wednesday of the month, in person and via Zoom) to conduct its regulatory and policy functions (aurorapl.ca/library-board-and-administration/, fetched this review).
Governance & reporting line
A statutory library board of seven members: five community members plus two sitting Town Councillors, with a Secretary-Treasurer/CEO supporting the Board (aurorapl.ca/library-board-and-administration/, fetched this review; registry row registry id: auro-aurora-public-library, parent_org: auro-town-of-aurora, notes: "statutory library board of 7 incl 2 councillors"). Council-member representation on the board is capped under Public Libraries Act s. 10 at "one less than a majority of the board" (ontario.ca/laws/statute/90p44).
Budget scale
Budget scale: ⚠️ not yet confirmed against an original source. The Board's 2024 audited financial statements are posted (aurorapl.ca/wp-content/uploads/sites/110/2025/08/Aurora-Public-Library-Board-Financial-Statements-2024-Final.pdf) but rendered as a scanned/image PDF that could not be text-extracted this review; the 2024 Annual Report PDF exceeded this review's fetch size limit.
Institutional history
Operates as a statutory public library board under the Public Libraries Act with the Town of Aurora as its municipal parent (registry row, registry id: auro-aurora-public-library); the library's own site references a "History of APL Infographic" but the founding year is ⚠️ still being checked - not confirmed in accessible page text this review.
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Aurora Public Library - strategy evolution
2026-08-02 / registry: auro-aurora-public-library / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: The archived series yields exactly one usable document — the 2024 Annual Report — since the only other archived file, the 2024 Board Financial Statements, is a scanned/image PDF that extracted zero bytes of text (matching the backgrounder's own prior note about that same file). A single document cannot show evolution of anything; what it does establish is a year framed around growth and new-space opening (Aurora Town Square) and a cluster of first-time program launches — the Library of Things (Dec 2024), two new cultural meetup series, and York Region's first Library Drag King Storytime. The most load-bearing number is the reported Social Return on Investment: a $4,121,992 operational funding investment yielding a stated $20,290,950 total economic benefit (392% return). One open question this one-document window cannot resolve: whether any of 2024's program launches or the mid-year CEO transition reflect a deliberate strategic pivot or simply routine year-to-year programming — no prior or subsequent annual report is readable in this set to compare against.
Backgrounder summary
Aurora Public Library is governed under the Public Libraries Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.44 (s. 20), by a statutory board of seven — five community members plus two sitting Town Councillors, capped at "one less than a majority" under s. 10 — supported by a Secretary-Treasurer/CEO, meeting eight times yearly (backgrounder, aurorapl.ca/library-board-and-administration/). The backgrounder flags two open items: budget scale (the 2024 financial statements PDF was already noted there as unreadable/scanned) and founding year (referenced only via a "History of APL Infographic" not independently confirmed). This brief's own read confirms the same financial-statements extraction failure independently (see Series inventory) and does not resolve the founding-year gap — the annual report contains no founding-date reference.
Series inventory
_index.json: 1 ok / 0 stub-suspected / 1 extract-failed.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| auro-aurora-public-library-ar-2024 | 2024 | annual-report | d0608ba06b6c | yes — full 2024 Annual Report, 11,428 chars, substantive |
| auro-aurora-public-library-fs-2024 | 2024 | financials | f72a6d97ef4d | failed (index note: "PDF extracted 0 bytes of text (likely scanned/image PDF)"; no .txt file present in the extraction directory to independently re-check — the index's own note is the only record, consistent with the backgrounder's separate, earlier account of the same document as an unreadable scanned PDF at the same URL) |
SHORT-FORM RULE APPLIES: only 1 usable document. A single annual report cannot exhibit priority evolution, additions/drops, or budget inflection points across time — there is nothing to compare it to within this archived set. The sections below state only what the one usable document itself establishes.
Priority evolution
A single document from a single year cannot establish an evolution narrative. What ar-2024 alone establishes: the Board Chair & CEO message frames 2024 around "growth, connection, and innovation," names the opening of Aurora Town Square as strengthening the library's role as "a vibrant community hub," and notes a new CEO was welcomed "in the latter half of the year" (d0608ba06b6c). No prior-year annual report is readable in this set to show whether these are continuations or departures from earlier stated priorities.
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
No prior-year document is readable in this archived set, so no additions, drops, or renames can be shown by comparison. Within ar-2024 alone, the following are named as new in 2024 specifically (not evolution, but the document's own first-instance framing): the Library of Things (launched December 2024, a circulating collection of practical items such as a telescope, toolkit, tent, binoculars, and cameras); two new cultural meetup series (Korean Senior Social Meetup, Iranian Gathering); and York Region's "first-ever Library Drag King Storytime," held for Pride Month in June (d0608ba06b6c).
Budget & mandate inflection points
- Aurora Town Square opened during 2024, described as becoming "a focal point for gathering, creativity, and discovery" for the library's community-hub role (d0608ba06b6c) — the report does not state whether this is a library-operated facility or a shared municipal space the library programs into; ⚠️ still being checked.
- CEO transition — a new Chief Executive Officer was welcomed in the latter half of 2024 (d0608ba06b6c); the report names Jodi Marr as Secretary & Treasurer/outgoing CEO signatory on the Board Chair & CEO message, consistent with a mid-year handover, but does not name a successor within the readable text.
- Reported Social Return on Investment: $4,121,992 operational funding investment against $20,290,950 total calculated economic benefit (392% SROI), using the sector-standard Valuing Ontario Libraries Toolkit (VOLT) methodology (d0608ba06b6c) — this is the only budget-scale figure in the archived set; it does not resolve the backgrounder's ⚠️ still being checked on the board's actual approved operating budget, since the financial statements document failed extraction.
- Financial Expenditures breakdown reported: Staffing 77%, Collections 10%, Technology 5%, Reserves 5%, Operations 2%, Programs 1% (d0608ba06b6c) — proportional only; no absolute dollar figures given for these categories in the readable text.
Ontario/Toronto relevance
Aurora Public Library is a direct GTA municipal public library board (Town of Aurora, York Region), not a Toronto body. The archived report names one direct Toronto-adjacent partnership — Orchestra Toronto is listed among more than 45 community partner organizations (d0608ba06b6c) — but this is a single named partner relationship, not a Toronto program or office. Relevance is otherwise regional (a York Region municipal library board operating in the same GTA library-funding and policy environment as Toronto-area systems) rather than direct.
Residuals & gaps
- No stub-suspected/extract-failed detector disagreement found. The one
okdocument (ar-2024) was confirmed substantive on read. The oneextract-faileddocument (fs-2024) has no.txtfile in the extraction directory to independently re-verify the failure by reading; the index's stated reason (0 bytes extracted, likely scanned/image PDF) is consistent with the backgrounder's separate, independently-sourced note about the same file at the same URL being a scanned/image PDF unreadable in an earlier pass — two independent passes agreeing is a meaningful (though not first-hand-text) confirmation, not a disagreement. - No prior or subsequent annual report is part of this archived set. This is the primary constraint behind the short-form treatment above; a genuine priority-evolution narrative is not possible from a single document.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: board-approved budget total (backgrounder gap, not resolved — the only financial document in this set failed extraction).
- ⚠️ Still being checked: library founding year (backgrounder gap, not resolved; no founding-date reference in the readable annual report).
- ⚠️ Still being checked: whether Aurora Town Square is library-operated or a shared municipal facility the library programs into.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: name of the CEO who succeeded the outgoing chief executive referenced mid-2024 (not stated in the readable text).