Municipality of Clarington
lower-tier municipality within Durham Region; no open data portal found
Current this library's internal records: Clarington Strategic Plan 2024-27 (2024)
Completeness
- Document shelf: 5 rows (5 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 5 of 5 row(s) audited, all clean
- Last verified: 2026-08-01 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: checked — none found
- API: checked — none found
- RSS: checked — none found
- Newsroom
- FOI / access requests
Document shelf (5 rows)
| Year | Type | Title | Archive status | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | Budget / estimates | 2026 Budget Update | archived | |
| 2024 | Financial statements | 2024 Annual Financial Review | archived | |
| 2024 | Strategic plan | Clarington Strategic Plan 2024-27 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: plan-horizon-2027 |
| 2020 | Budget / estimates | Clarington 2020 Final Budget | archived | |
| 2020 | Financial statements | Annual Financial Review 2020 | archived |
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Municipality of Clarington - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: clar-municipality-of-clarington (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
The Municipality of Clarington is a lower-tier municipality governed under the Municipal Act, 2001, S.O. 2001, c. 25 (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/01m25 — fetched and verified 2026-07-30, title confirmed as "Municipal Act, 2001, S.O. 2001, c. 25"), the general statute governing the creation, powers and administration of Ontario municipalities other than Toronto. The Act grants municipalities broad "powers of a natural person" and by-law authority within defined spheres of jurisdiction (Municipal Act, 2001, ss. 8-11).
Roles, responsibilities & scope
As a lower-tier municipality within the Regional Municipality of Durham, Clarington delivers local services — roads, parks and recreation, building permits, by-law enforcement and local land-use planning — while region-wide services (police, transit, waste, water/wastewater, social services) are delivered by Durham Region (registry row: clar-municipality-of-clarington, notes field).
Governance & reporting line
Clarington is led by an elected Mayor and Council supported by advisory committees and boards (clarington.net/town-hall/mayor-and-council/advisory-committees-and-boards/, source authority in registry row). Its current governing document is the Clarington Strategic Plan 2024-27 (registry row: clar-municipality-of-clarington, strategy_current_url field). Clarington, like all Ontario municipalities, operates under provincial accountability and audit requirements set out in the Municipal Act, 2001.
Budget scale
~$87.2M in tax levy revenue for 2026 — the 2026 Budget Update reports "Tax Levy Revenue" of $87,232,000 for 2026 (up from $82,242,900 in 2025), representing 52.8% of Clarington's overall 2026 budget, with the remainder from grants, development charges, user fees and investment income (document id: clar-municipality-of-clarington-bud-2026).
Institutional history
Clarington continues today as a lower-tier municipality within the Regional Municipality of Durham under the Municipal Act, 2001 (registry row: clar-municipality-of-clarington); the exact founding/incorporation year and the naming history from prior township/town status are ⚠️ not yet confirmed against an original source.
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Municipality of Clarington - strategy evolution
2026-08-01 / registry: clar-municipality-of-clarington / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: The biggest priority addition is multi-year budgeting, introduced as a named priority in the Clarington Strategic Plan 2024-27 and confirmed operational by the 2026 Budget Update, alongside small modular reactor/nuclear-host-community economic development. The most notable quiet drop is that SMR/nuclear-host language, present in the 2024-27 plan, does not recur anywhere in the 2026 budget's own factors or capital-highlights narrative, unlike parks, asset management, and technology modernization, which each get dedicated sections. The most load-bearing number is 2026 tax levy revenue of $87,232,000 (52.8% of the overall budget), with the overall levy increase lowered from a previously-approved 4.07% to 3.00% via reserve-fund application. One open question the five-document record (spanning 2020-2026 with large gaps) cannot resolve: whether SMR language appeared anywhere in the full 2019-2022 Strategic Plan itself, which would change whether the 2024-27 plan's SMR priority is genuinely new or merely continued.
Backgrounder summary
Clarington is a lower-tier municipality within the Regional Municipality of Durham, governed under the Municipal Act, 2001. It delivers local services (roads, parks/recreation, building permits, by-law enforcement, local land-use planning) while Durham Region delivers region-wide services (police, transit, waste, water/wastewater, social services). It is led by an elected Mayor and Council; the current governing document is the Clarington Strategic Plan 2024-27. 2026 tax levy revenue is reported at $87,232,000 (up from $82,242,900 in 2025), 52.8% of the overall 2026 budget (backgrounder, sourced to document id clar-municipality-of-clarington-bud-2026). Founding/incorporation-year detail was flagged ⚠️ still being checked in the backgrounder; the archived series resolves this directly — see Budget & mandate inflection points.
Series inventory
All 5 documents in the registry for this org are budget/financial/strategic-plan documents (no annual-report series distinct from the financial reviews). _index.json marked all 5 "ok"; this review opened and read all 5 (not just a sample) given the small set size, confirming the detector's "ok" calls against actual content.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| clar-municipality-of-clarington-bud-2020 | 2020 | budget | fcd2b5fc3b90 | yes |
| clar-municipality-of-clarington-bud-2026 | 2026 | budget | bc51359d6767 | yes (skimmed strategically — 271K chars) |
| clar-municipality-of-clarington-fs-2020 | 2020 | financials | 1f60beccab84 | yes (skimmed strategically — 287K chars) |
| clar-municipality-of-clarington-fs-2024 | 2024 | financials | 027d5e02be17 | yes (skimmed strategically — 261K chars) |
| clar-municipality-of-clarington-sp-2024 | 2024 | strategic-plan | fbf99347db3f | yes |
Priority evolution
2020 Capital Budget (bud-2020, fcd2b5fc3b90): A line-item capital project claims register (Engineering, Operations departments) — parking lots, street lighting, parks, bridges, road reconstruction/rehabilitation, sidewalks, traffic signals, erosion protection, stormwater management, fleet. No narrative strategy framing in this document; it is a project/GL-code listing, consistent with a capital-budget-detail artifact rather than a policy statement.
2020 Annual Financial Review (fs-2020, 1f60beccab84): Reports under the then-current "Strategic Plan 2019 to 2022," organized around six named pillars: Engaged Communities, Strong Economy, Sustainable Infrastructure Growth, Legacy Projects, Environmental Sustainability (six boxes shown in the plan diagram, though the accompanying bullet list only elaborates five with detailed sub-bullets; "Legacy Projects" bullets include "pursue a final decision from Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL) and Canadian Nuclear Laboratories (CNL) respecting the disposition of lands for the Port Granby Nature Reserve," "make a decision on Camp 30," and "articulate a vision of a performing arts space" (fs-2020, 1f60beccab84). The Treasurer's message (Trevor Pinn, CPA, CA, Director of Financial Services/Treasurer, dated Aug 4, 2021) frames 2020 around managing growth (Southeast Courtice, Brookhill and Southwest Courtice Secondary Plans), COVID-19 pandemic financial impacts (lost user-fee revenue, ~$2.2M in interest/penalty relief, a Property Tax Rebate Program, a Community Improvement Plan for small businesses), and a corporate reorganization implemented in 2020 following a December 2019 plan (fs-2020, 1f60beccab84). A dedicated Note 24 "Impact of COVID-19" is included in the financial statements (fs-2020, 1f60beccab84).
Clarington Strategic Plan 2024-27 (sp-2024, fbf99347db3f): The governing document named in the backgrounder. Vision: "A connected, dynamic and welcoming community, focused on the future while respecting our past." Mission: "To enhance the quality of life in our community." Structure is now three pillars — Lead (Exceptional Municipal Services and Governance), Connect (Safe, Diverse, Inclusive and Vibrant Community), Grow Responsibly (Resilient, Sustainable and Complete Community) — each with an Objective, "Expected Results," numbered Priorities, and Actions (sp-2024, fbf99347db3f). Notable priority-level items: multi-year budgeting introduced as a named priority (L.2.1, "as one of the first municipalities in Ontario to take a multi-year approach to budgeting"); continued involvement in the clean-energy sector, explicitly including "identify and capitalize on economic opportunities from small modular reactor deployment" and "continue to take a lead role in nuclear host community opportunities" (G.1.3); Indigenous Engagement and Relationship Building Strategy and a Draft Reconciliation Action Plan responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action and the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls (C.3.3-C.3.4); a Corporate Climate Action Plan, Municipal Climate Action Reserve Fund and Municipal Climate Resilience Reserve Fund (G.4.2); and a new Official Plan to guide growth to 2051, tied to a stated forecast of population growth from 105,000 to 221,000 (110%) by 2051 (sp-2024, fbf99347db3f). Plan built via 2023 community/staff engagement (2,468 total survey participants across initial and final surveys, 4 community meetings, 3 staff activation sessions) (sp-2024, fbf99347db3f).
2024 Annual Financial Review (fs-2024, 027d5e02be17): Reports under the 2024-27 Strategic Plan, reproducing the same Lead/Connect/Grow Responsibly structure and Expected Results verbatim from sp-2024 (fs-2024, 027d5e02be17) — confirms sp-2024 was already in force and being reported against by the 2024 fiscal year. Population reported at "over 111,851" (up from fs-2020's "over 100,000"). Treasurer's message (Trevor Pinn, CPA, CA, now titled Deputy CAO/Treasurer) highlights continued growth, preparation for the South Bowmanville Recreation Centre, Veteran's Square and municipal road rehabilitation, Newcastle Community Park and Stuart Park expansions, and a move to the "Prudent Investor Standard" for investments in 2025 (fs-2024, 027d5e02be17). No COVID-19 discussion in this report — consistent with the pandemic-era framing being specific to fs-2020's period.
2026 Budget Update (bud-2026, bc51359d6767): Explicitly frames itself as implementing the 2024-27 Strategic Plan and the 2024-27 Multi-Year Operating Budget, "reviewed and updated annually, as required under the Municipal Act, 2001" (bud-2026, bc51359d6767) — confirming the multi-year budgeting priority named in sp-2024 (L.2.1) was operationalized. Headline move: overall tax levy increase lowered from a previously-approved 4.07% to 3.00% for 2026 via reserve-fund application and stronger-than-expected investment income, netting to an average household increase of ~$1.08/week (~$56.40/year, 0.99% on Clarington's portion) (bud-2026, bc51359d6767). Budget "factors" narrative names: a Council-approved 2025 Asset Management Plan (approved June 19, 2025, full inventory/condition assessment/10-year lifecycle forecast, financing strategy addressing a 20-year shortfall/backlog horizon); Parks, Recreation and Culture Master Plan implementation (113 recommendations, implementation plan and financing strategy endorsed by Council September 2025); a sharp 2025 drop in development charge revenue tied to fewer housing starts; and inflationary pressure on capital goods (bud-2026, bc51359d6767). Capital highlights: South Bowmanville Recreation Centre with an Aquatics Centre, exploration of a twin ice-pad expansion at South Courtice Arena, a new operations depot/fire station/training facility in north Bowmanville, CRM and ERP modernization (consolidating five outdated applications), and road work tied to the Bowmanville Hospital expansion (bud-2026, bc51359d6767). Notably, the SMR/nuclear-host-community language present in sp-2024 (G.1.3) does not recur anywhere in bud-2026's own narrative text (confirmed by direct search of the extracted file) — the clean-energy economic-development priority is not given a budget-line or highlight treatment in this document, unlike parks/recreation, asset management, and technology modernization which are.
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Renamed/restructured — the governing strategic-plan framework: the 2019-2022 plan's six-pillar framing (Engaged Communities / Strong Economy / Sustainable Infrastructure Growth / Legacy Projects / Environmental Sustainability, per fs-2020, 1f60beccab84) is replaced by the 2024-27 plan's three-pillar Lead/Connect/Grow Responsibly framework with an Objective/Expected-Results/Priorities/Actions hierarchy (sp-2024, fbf99347db3f). The archived series does not include a strategic-plan document from the transition period itself (2022-2023), so the exact mechanics of the handover are not directly observed — only the "before" (fs-2020 summary) and "after" (sp-2024 itself, confirmed live in fs-2024) states.
- Added — multi-year budgeting as an explicit priority and practice: absent as a named priority in the fs-2020-reported 2019-2022 plan; introduced as priority L.2.1 in sp-2024 (fbf99347db3f) with the plan claiming Clarington as "one of the first municipalities in Ontario" to adopt it; confirmed operational by bud-2026, which is explicitly structured as an annual update to the "2024-27 Multi-Year Operating Budget" (bc51359d6767).
- Added — small modular reactor (SMR) / nuclear-host-community economic development: appears as priority G.1.3 in sp-2024 ("continue active involvement in clean energy sector," explicitly naming SMR deployment and "nuclear host community opportunities," fbf99347db3f). Not present in the 2019-2022 plan summary in fs-2020, whose closest analog is the more general Port Granby/AECL land-disposition item under "Legacy Projects." ⚠️ Still being checked: whether SMR language appeared in the full 2019-2022 plan document itself (not archived in this set — fs-2020 only reproduces a summary), so "added" should be read as "added in the documents actually read," not as a strong claim about the full prior plan's contents.
- Added — formal Asset Management Plan with a costed, Council-approved financing strategy: sp-2024's priority L.2.5 ("maintain, protect and invest in Municipal infrastructure and assets") is a general expected-result-level priority; by bud-2026 this has become a specific, dated, Council-approved instrument (2025 Asset Management Plan, approved June 19, 2025) driving a named line item ("Incremental Increase for Asset Management," $1,391,754 in 2026) in the tax levy build-up table (bc51359d6767).
- Added — Prudent Investor Standard for municipal investments: named as a 2025 change in fs-2024's Treasurer's message (027d5e02be17); no equivalent appears in fs-2020.
- Quietly dropped from budget-document prominence, though still present in the strategic plan — SMR/nuclear-host language: present in sp-2024 (G.1.3) but does not recur in bud-2026's budget-factors or capital-highlights narrative (confirmed absent by direct text search of bc51359d6767), unlike Parks/Recreation/Culture, Asset Management, and technology-modernization priorities, which are each given dedicated explainer sections in bud-2026.
- Continuity — Port Granby/AECL legacy waste item: named as a "Legacy Projects" priority in the 2019-2022 plan summary (fs-2020, 1f60beccab84); by fs-2024 and bud-2026 it persists only as a small named reserve-fund/trust line ("Port Granby LLRW," ~$326-336K in fs-2024's five-year summary, 027d5e02be17; ~$334,383 total budget line, ~$0 forecast beyond 2026, in bud-2026, bc51359d6767) rather than as a stated strategic priority in sp-2024 — suggesting this item transitioned from an active Council priority to routine financial administration between the two planning cycles. ⚠️ Still being checked: exact date/mechanism of that transition; not stated in the archived series.
Budget & mandate inflection points
- 1974 — Municipality of Clarington created via the Regional Municipality of Durham Act, amalgamating the Town of Bowmanville, Village of Newcastle, and Townships of Clarke and Darlington into the current two-tier Durham Region structure (fs-2020, 1f60beccab84; fs-2024, 027d5e02be17) — this resolves the backgrounder's ⚠️ still being checked on founding year.
- 1993 — Municipality renamed to "Clarington" (a blend of "Clarke" and "Darlington") (fs-2020, 1f60beccab84; fs-2024, 027d5e02be17).
- December 2019 — corporate reorganization plan received; implemented during fiscal 2020 (fs-2020, 1f60beccab84).
- 2020 — COVID-19 pandemic financial impact: ~$2.2M in interest/penalty relief, Property Tax Rebate Program, Community Improvement Plan grants for small businesses; Southeast Courtice Secondary Plan approved (fs-2020, 1f60beccab84).
- December 2023 — Council adopted the new Strategic Plan (per fs-2024's own dating, 027d5e02be17), published as the Clarington Strategic Plan 2024-27 following 2023 community engagement (sp-2024, fbf99347db3f).
- 2025 — move to Prudent Investor Standard for municipal investments (fs-2024, 027d5e02be17).
- June 19, 2025 — Council approved the 2025 Asset Management Plan (bud-2026, bc51359d6767).
- September 2025 — Council endorsed a Parks, Recreation and Culture Master Plan implementation plan and financing strategy (bud-2026, bc51359d6767).
- 2026 — tax levy increase reduced from a previously-approved 4.07% to 3.00% via reserve-fund application and investment income; Tax Levy Revenue of $87,232,000, 52.8% of the overall budget (bud-2026, bc51359d6767) — matches the backgrounder's figures exactly.
Ontario/Toronto relevance
Clarington is explicitly described in its own financial reports as forming "the eastern boundary of the Greater Toronto Area" (fs-2020, 1f60beccab84; fs-2024, 027d5e02be17) and sits within the Regional Municipality of Durham, one of the GTA's outer regions. The archived series documents a direct institutional link to a federal Crown corporation also profiled in this this library's government-strategy research batch: AECL/CNL's Port Hope Area Initiative, specifically the Port Granby low-level radioactive waste site within Clarington, which appears both as a named 2019-2022 "Legacy Projects" strategic priority (fs-2020, 1f60beccab84) and as a continuing small reserve-fund line in Clarington's own financial statements through 2024 and 2026 (fs-2024, 027d5e02be17; bud-2026, bc51359d6767). Clarington's 2024-27 Strategic Plan also names Clarington as an active participant in provincial/federal clean-energy and SMR policy (G.1.3, "nuclear host community opportunities," sp-2024, fbf99347db3f), tying it to the same Chalk River/CANDU/SMR federal agenda documented in AECL's own strategy-evolution series (fed-atomic-energy-canada-limited_STRATEGY_EVOLUTION.md) — though, as noted above, that priority does not carry through into Clarington's own 2026 budget narrative. Clarington also references active advocacy for GO Transit/GO Train station construction in Courtice and Bowmanville and Durham Region Transit connectivity (sp-2024, fbf99347db3f, priority C.1.2) as part of its regional-connectivity agenda within the wider GTA transit network.
Residuals & gaps
- Detector check — no disagreements found. All 5 documents in
_index.jsonwere markedstatus: "ok", and all 5 were opened and read directly for this brief (not merely sampled), including the three large files (bud-2026, fs-2020, fs-2024) via strategic skim (table of contents, Treasurer's messages, budget-snapshot tables, targeted grep on key terms) rather than full linear reads. All 5 confirmed genuine, substantive document content matching their stated titles/types (a real line-item capital budget, two real annual financial reviews with full financial statements and notes, and the actual 39-page strategic plan text) — no stub, landing-page, or interstitial content was found in any of them. The "ok" detector calls for this org appear correct across the board. - Series is thin relative to the org's own document references: only 5 documents are archived for this org (2 budgets, 2 financial reviews, 1 strategic plan), spanning 2020-2026 with large gaps (no 2021-2023 budgets or financial reviews archived, and no 2019-2022 Strategic Plan document itself — only its summary as reproduced inside fs-2020). This limits the priority-evolution narrative to point-in-time snapshots (2020 and 2024/2026) rather than a continuous year-by-year trace; the "Priorities added/dropped/renamed" section above is therefore built from a before/after comparison across a roughly four-year gap, not from intermediate documents.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: whether SMR/nuclear-host-community language appeared anywhere in the full 2019-2022 Strategic Plan document (not itself archived — only fs-2020's summary of it was read), which would change whether the SMR priority is genuinely "added" in 2024-27 or merely continued/expanded from the prior plan.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: the exact date/mechanism by which the Port Granby/AECL land-disposition item moved from an active "Legacy Projects" strategic priority (2019-2022 plan) to routine reserve-fund administration only (no equivalent named priority in sp-2024) — not stated in the archived series.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: whether the six-box strategic-plan diagram in fs-2020 (Engaged Communities / Strong Economy / Sustainable Infrastructure Growth / Legacy Projects / Environmental Sustainability, plus one box not clearly labelled in the extracted text) is complete as extracted — the accompanying bullet-point elaboration only clearly covers five of the pillars named in the diagram; this may be an artifact of PDF text-extraction order rather than a missing pillar in the source document.
- No archive_status=missing flags or era:pre-web-baseline flags apply per the registry notes referenced in the backgrounder; gaps identified above are coverage gaps in which documents were archived, not extraction failures.