Durham Regional Police Service
police service for Durham Region municipalities
Current this library's internal records: 2024 Strategic Plan (2024)
Completeness
- Document shelf: 7 rows (6 archived · 1 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 6 of 7 row(s) audited, all clean
- Last verified: 2026-08-06 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data
- API: checked — none found
- RSS: checked — none found
- Newsroom
- FOI / access requests
Document shelf (7 rows)
| Year | Type | Title | Archive status | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Financial statements | Consolidated Financial Statements of The Regional Municipality of Durham, For the year ended December 31, 2025 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: embedded-in-parent (Regional Municipality of Durham Consolidated Financial Statements, Dec 31 2025 (durham.ca)) |
| 2024 | Annual report | 2024 Durham Regional Police Annual Report | archived | |
| 2024 | Strategic plan | 2024 Strategic Plan | archived | |
| 2023 | Annual report | Forward Together: A New Era in Policing, 2023 Annual Report | archived | |
| 2022 | Annual report | Annual Report 2022 | archived | |
| 2020 | Annual report | 2020 Annual Report | staged | ⚠️ still being checked — the fetch failed on 2026-08-01; ⚠️ still being checked — the fetch failed on 2026-08-02; ⚠️ still being checked — the fetch failed on 2026-08-04; ⚠️ still being checked — the fetch failed on 2026-08-05; ⚠️ still being checked — the fetch failed on 2026-08-06 |
| 2019 | Business / corporate plan | 2017-2019 Business Plan | archived |
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Durham Regional Police Service - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: durh-durham-regional-police-service (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
Durham Regional Police Service (DRPS) is a municipal police service governed by Ontario's Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019 (S.O. 2019, c. 1, Sched. 1), consolidated and current to 2025-06-05 at e-Laws (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/19c01, fetched and verified directly). The Act requires that "every municipal board shall maintain a police service" (s. 22) and defines "adequate and effective policing" to include crime prevention, law enforcement, public-peace maintenance, emergency response, and victim assistance (s. 11) (same source). DRPS is the police service maintained for the Regional Municipality of Durham (registry row: durh-durham-regional-police-service, parent board durh-durham-regional-police-services-board).
Roles, responsibilities & scope
DRPS delivers front-line and specialized policing across Durham Region, organized into five operational divisions (West, East, North, Central West, Central East) plus specialty units including 9-1-1 Communications, Air Support, and Serious and Organized Crime (https://www.drps.ca/about-us/, fetched directly). Its statutory service obligations (crime prevention, law enforcement, emergency response, victim assistance, public-order maintenance) are set by CSPA 2019 s. 11, which applies to every Ontario police service (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/19c01). ⚠️ still being checked - an explicit DRPS jurisdiction list (the eight Durham-area municipalities) was not confirmed against an official DRPS or Durham Region page this review.
Governance & reporting line
DRPS operates under a Chief of Police who is recruited, appointed, and annually performance-reviewed by the civilian Durham Regional Police Services Board under CSPA 2019 s. 37 (https://durhampoliceboard.ca/about-us/, fetched directly; statutory duty confirmed at https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/19c01). The Board is DRPS's registry-listed parent org (durh-durham-regional-police-services-board).
Budget scale
⚠️ not yet confirmed against an original source. DRPS's annual operating and capital estimates are prepared by the Police Services Board under CSPA 2019 s. 37 (https://durhampoliceboard.ca/about-us/), but a specific dollar figure was not confirmed against a fetched DRPS or Board budget document this review (doc-shelf shows business-plan/strategic-plan/annual-report holdings, doc_years 2019-2024, n_docs 6, but no budget total was extracted from a fetched source).
Institutional history
⚠️ still being checked - background sources indicate DRPS was formed in 1974 through amalgamation of predecessor municipal police forces upon creation of the Regional Municipality of Durham, but no official DRPS, Durham Region, or statutory source confirming this founding date and instrument was successfully fetched this review.
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Durham Regional Police Service - strategy evolution
2026-08-02 / registry: durh-durham-regional-police-service / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: Across a 2019-2024 window (three genuinely comparable planning/reporting documents: a 2017-2019 Business Plan, the 2024 Strategic Plan, and the 2023 Annual Report, plus a thin 2024 Annual Report web page), the biggest priority addition is an explicit, organization-wide "modernization" framing tied to the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019 and to Chief Peter Moreira's 2023 mandate (Building Trust, Enhancing Strategic Partnerships, Advancing the Modernization of the Service), operationalized through a 2023 internal review project called "Forward. Together." The clearest quietly-changed element is the three-goal architecture itself: the 2017-2019 goals (Deliver Community Safety through Collaboration / Demonstrate Excellence in Core Service Delivery / Build Strength in Our Membership) are restated as the "previous Plan's (2020-2022)" goals in ar-2023 with materially different sub-objective wording, then replaced outright by the 2024 Strategic Plan's three goals (Be a leader in innovative and modernized policing / Have strong strategic partnerships that enhance community safety / Earn the trust and confidence of members and local communities) — the underlying three-goal shape persists across the whole window even as every goal's title and content is rewritten. The most load-bearing number the readable record supports is 2023's $266.4 million total gross expenditure against $242.4 million net program cost (3c11848513ce); DRPS's own annual reports do not build a comparable expenditure series across more than one year, so no multi-year budget trend is available. One open question the record cannot resolve: whether the "Forward. Together." organizational review (launched June 2023, ar-2023) is fully absorbed into or distinct from the 2024 Strategic Plan that launched the same cycle — both are named as products of overlapping 2023 consultation processes but the relationship between the two documents is not stated in either.
Backgrounder summary
DRPS is a municipal police service maintained under Ontario's Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019 (CSPA), governed by the civilian Durham Regional Police Services Board, which appoints and performance-reviews the Chief of Police (backgrounder, citing https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/19c01 and https://durhampoliceboard.ca/about-us/). The backgrounder flags two unresolved items — an explicit list of DRPS's eight-municipality jurisdiction and a specific budget total — that this brief's own reads partially resolve: bp-2019 confirms Durham Region's constituent municipalities by name (Ajax, Whitby, Oshawa, Clarington, Brock, Scugog, Uxbridge, and implicitly Pickering via acknowledgements) (6f7e4a14ccb9), and ar-2023 supplies a specific 2023 budget total ($266.4 million gross expenditure) (3c11848513ce) — see Residuals & gaps for what remains unconfirmed (founding date/instrument).
Series inventory
_index.json: 4 ok / 1 stub-suspected / 0 extract-failed.
Registry (our document registry) carries 6 rows for this org spanning 2019-2024; 5 are archived and appear below, 1 (durh-durham-regional-police-service-ar-2020, the 2020 Annual Report) is staged (fetch-failed on both 2026-08-01 and 2026-08-02 attempts per the registry's own notes) — that 2020 year is not analyzable from the archive and is treated as a gap, not as a disclosure choice.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| durh-durham-regional-police-service-bp-2019 | 2019 | business-plan | 6f7e4a14ccb9 | yes — full 2017-2019 Business Plan, 71,234 chars, substantive |
| durh-durham-regional-police-service-ar-2022 | 2022 | annual-report | 0f6e24f7e256 | stub-suspected (read in full and confirmed: 1,101-char navigation-menu shell — section headings, "Learn more" links, and placeholder "more than 0" metric fields that were never populated with the underlying figures; no report body text behind the menu) |
| durh-durham-regional-police-service-ar-2023 | 2023 | annual-report | 3c11848513ce | yes — full "Forward Together" 2023 Annual Report, 79,248 chars, substantive |
| durh-durham-regional-police-service-sp-2024 | 2024 | strategic-plan | 3680588f128b | yes — 2024 Strategic Plan landing page, 5,615 chars; substantive as a summary/framing page but itself links out to "Learn more" sub-pages (Context, Developing the Plan, Goals and Objectives, IT Plan, Resource Planning) not separately captured in this archive |
| durh-durham-regional-police-service-ar-2024 | 2024 | annual-report | cd8cec8946dd | yes — 2024 Annual Report landing page, 5,202 chars; same landing-page-with-"Learn more"-links structure as sp-2024, substantive for headline claims (50th anniversary, Chief's/Chair's messages, three Strategic Plan Review goal titles) but does not itself carry the underlying detailed statistics its own "At a Glance" section references |
Stub detector disagreement: none in either direction. The detector's stub-suspected call on ar-2022 is confirmed correct by direct read — the page is a navigation shell built around unfilled placeholder fields ("more than 0 criminal code charges," "227 human trafficking investigations" sitting beside an unfilled "more than 0" figure), not a populated report. Four of five archived documents are usable; the fifth is legitimately a stub. This yields a full-form brief over a short 2019-2024 window, as the boot message specifies — the four usable documents span two full business/strategic-plan cycles (2017-2019 and 2024) and one populated annual report (2023), which is enough to show one clear before/after transition but not a long multi-cycle trend.
Priority evolution
2017-2019 (bp-2019, 6f7e4a14ccb9): Under Chief Paul Martin and Board Chair Roger Anderson, the Business Plan names three strategic goals — Deliver Community Safety through Collaboration, Demonstrate Excellence in Core Service Delivery, Build Strength in Our Membership — built from an environmental scan and consultation (500+ public conversations, 3,300+ survey responses, 80+ internal staff consulted). Sub-objectives foreground community partnerships (the Durham Connect multi-agency risk-intervention table), road safety, bias-free policing training, and workforce diversity recruitment, with the Board's own review of the prior 2014-2016 plan reporting a 20% youth-crime-rate decrease (2013-2015) and a 5% overall crime-rate decrease (2013-2015) as its inherited baseline.
2023 (ar-2023, 3c11848513ce): New Chief Peter Moreira (sworn in March 24, 2023, the ninth Chief, succeeding Chief Rollauer) names three personal mandate priorities — Building Trust, Enhancing Strategic Partnerships, Advancing the Modernization of the Service — and launches "Forward. Together.," an internal organizational-review project (initiated June 2023) explicitly structured around those same three themes. In parallel, the report frames itself as reporting against the "previous Plan's (2020-2022)" goals, restated with the same three titles as the 2017-2019 plan but re-worded sub-objectives (e.g., "Attract a skilled workforce that reflects the diversity of the community" tracked via a 55%-racialized-applicant figure; "Prevent re-offending" tracked via an 18% violent-repeat-offender share, described as trending down from 23% in 2018). A new Strategic Plan (covering 2024 onward) is reported as having been developed during 2023 via a fresh consultation round (thousands of residents, ~4,000-response external survey, 50+ service-provider consultations, a Diversity Advisory Committee Town Hall).
2024 (sp-2024, 3680588f128b; ar-2024, cd8cec8946dd): The new Strategic Plan reframes the same three-goal architecture again, this time as Be a leader in innovative and modernized policing / Have strong strategic partnerships that enhance community safety / Earn the trust and confidence of members and local communities — explicit continuity of theme (innovation/modernization, partnerships, trust) with bp-2019's goals, but new titles and, for the first time in this series, an explicit tie to Durham Region's own Community Safety and Wellbeing (CSWB) Plan risk-factor categories (criminal involvement, racism, homelessness, mental health, substance use, victimization) as an organizing input. The ar-2024 landing page confirms DRPS's 50th anniversary year, an expanded Command team (two new Deputy Chiefs plus General Counsel), and 76 new positions added in the 2024 budget, but does not itself carry a comparable detailed statistical section to ar-2023's.
Across the full window, the record supports one clear claim: DRPS's strategic framing shifted from a 2017-2019 plan built bottom-up from environmental-scan/consultation themes (collaboration, service-delivery excellence, membership strength) toward a 2023-2024 framing built substantially around a new Chief's personally-stated mandate priorities (trust, partnerships, modernization), with the underlying three-goal structure and several sub-themes (workforce diversity, re-offending, road safety, partnership with community/social-service agencies) persisting in substance even as titles changed each cycle.
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Added — explicit "modernization" as a named strategic pillar, tied to legislative change. Absent by name from bp-2019's three goals (which speak of "innovation" only as a cross-cutting theme, not a goal title). First appears as one of Chief Moreira's three named 2023 mandate priorities (ar-2023, 3c11848513ce: "Advancing the Modernization of the Service") and becomes goal-title language in sp-2024 ("Be a leader in innovative and modernized policing," 3680588f128b). ar-2024 explicitly ties modernization to the CSPA 2019 as "not only a strategic priority — it is a legislative necessity" (cd8cec8946dd).
- Added — a formal internal organizational-review project ("Forward. Together."). Not present in bp-2019. First named in ar-2023 as launched June 2023 under A/Director Holly Britton and Superintendent Paul Hallett, framed around building trust, forging partnerships, and modernization (3c11848513ce).
- Renamed — the three-goal titles themselves, twice. bp-2019's "Deliver Community Safety through Collaboration / Demonstrate Excellence in Core Service Delivery / Build Strength in Our Membership" (6f7e4a14ccb9) is restated with the same titles but reworded sub-objectives as the "2020-2022" plan reviewed in ar-2023 (3c11848513ce), then replaced with new titles entirely in sp-2024 and echoed in ar-2024's "Strategic Plan Review" section (3680588f128b; cd8cec8946dd). ⚠️ Still being checked: no document in this set explicitly states why the goal titles changed between the 2020-2022 plan and the 2024 plan, nor whether a 2023-only interim plan existed.
- Quietly absent from later documents — the granular "Measures of Success" framework. bp-2019 lists dozens of specific tracked indicators per objective (e.g., "Number of cases brought to Durham Connect," "Weighted Clearance Rate," "Per cent of substantiated OIPRD complaints") across 24-27 (6f7e4a14ccb9). Neither sp-2024 nor ar-2024's landing pages reproduce a comparably granular measures table in the captured content — both link out to "Learn more" sub-pages ("Strategic Goals and Objectives," "Information Technology Plan") not separately archived in this series. This may reflect a genuine format change (moving detailed measures off the summary page) or simply reflect that this archive did not capture the linked sub-pages; the record cannot distinguish the two. ⚠️ still being checked.
- No addition/drop is established for policing-priority substance (e.g., human trafficking, auto theft, mental-health-related calls) — these appear as tracked "At a Glance" metrics in both ar-2022 (before it was confirmed a stub) and ar-2023/ar-2024, suggesting continuity of subject-matter focus, but the stub status of ar-2022 means no genuine year-over-year comparison is possible for 2022 specifically.
Budget & mandate inflection points
- 2023 total gross expenditure: $266,416,000 against $242,441,000 net program costs ($322 per capita, $922 per household) (3c11848513ce) — the only year in this series with a full financial-results table read. Patrol Operations ($88.5M budget) and Serious & Organized Crime ($44.6M) are the two largest program lines; Capital shows the largest percentage variance ($6.6M budget vs. $13.7M actual, a 2.7%-of-total overrun) (3c11848513ce). No comparable financial table is present in bp-2019, sp-2024, or ar-2024's captured content, so no multi-year budget trend is established by this archive alone.
- 2023 budget added 41 new positions; 2024 budget added 76 new positions — ar-2023 states 41 additional positions were included in the 2023 budget (3c11848513ce); ar-2024's Chair's message states the 2024 budget added 76 new positions (cd8cec8946dd). Read together these describe an accelerating staffing-investment trend across the two years, though the two figures come from different documents' framing (one retrospective on 2023, one on the 2024 budget) rather than a single consistent series.
- CSPA 2019 as a mandate-adjacent legislative inflection. ar-2024 frames the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019 explicitly as redefining expectations ("accountability, responsiveness, and community engagement") and driving the Service's modernization agenda as "a legislative necessity," not merely a strategic choice (cd8cec8946dd) — this is the only document in the set that frames legislative change as a direct driver of strategic priorities.
- Chief-of-Police transition, March 2023. Chief Rollauer's departure (retired early 2023, after a 3-year term) and Chief Peter Moreira's appointment (a former Toronto Police Service Staff Superintendent, DRPS's ninth Chief) is the single clearest leadership inflection point in the readable series, accompanied by two new Deputy Chiefs (Chris Kirkpatrick, Kim Yeandle) also recruited from the Toronto Police Service in Fall 2023 (3c11848513ce).
Ontario/Toronto relevance
Direct, as a GTA-adjacent upper-tier-region police service (Durham Region sits in the eastern GTA). Two specific Toronto linkages are established in the readable text: (1) the incoming Chief and both new Deputy Chiefs in 2023 were recruited directly from the Toronto Police Service (3c11848513ce); (2) DRPS jointly developed and launched a "Firearm Bail Dashboard" with the Toronto Police Service starting in 2022, later joined by the Ontario Provincial Police and Ottawa Police, tracking bail-compliance subjects (203 subjects by November 2022, growing to 555 by March 2024) (3c11848513ce). Beyond these two ties, the series describes DRPS as serving Durham Region specifically (population 753,500 in 2023, the "10th largest municipal police service in Canada") rather than any Toronto-specific mandate (3c11848513ce).
Residuals & gaps
- Registry gap: 2020 Annual Report not archived.
durh-durham-regional-police-service-ar-2020isstagedin the registry, with fetch failures logged on both 2026-08-01 and 2026-08-02 — this is a capture gap, not a disclosure choice, and it silently removes any direct evidence of DRPS's 2020 pandemic-year strategic framing or 2020 budget from this brief. - Detector call confirmed correct. ar-2022 (0f6e24f7e256) is a genuine stub — a page shell with headings and unfilled placeholder statistics, not a populated report — matching the detector's
stub_reason("below char-count floor for doc_type='annual-report'," 1,101 < 3,000 chars) exactly. - sp-2024 and ar-2024 are landing pages, not full documents. Both (3680588f128b; cd8cec8946dd) are short (5,615 and 5,202 chars respectively) HTML summary pages that reference substantially more detailed content behind "Learn more" links (Strategic Goals and Objectives, Information Technology Plan, Resource Planning and Police Facilities, Regional Results, Financial Results, Oversight) that were not separately captured as distinct archived documents in this series. This brief treats their content as genuine but incomplete — headline claims (goal titles, staffing counts, milestone framing) are grounded, but the granular measures/statistics tables these pages point to are not available for cross-checking against ar-2023's fuller statistical tables.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: DRPS's founding date and instrument (background sources suggest 1974, coinciding with Durham Region's own creation) remain unconfirmed — no document read for this brief states DRPS's founding date directly.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: the relationship between the "Forward. Together." organizational review (launched June 2023) and the 2024 Strategic Plan (also developed during 2023) is not stated in either document — whether one fed into the other, or whether they are two parallel 2023 processes, cannot be determined from this archive.
- No document in this archived series covers 2016-2018 or 2021 for this org at all; any priority changes in those years are entirely unestablished here.