Atlantic Pilotage Authority Canada
strategy doc URL located via corporate-plan-summaries listing page, not yet independently WebFetched to confirm 200; first guessed ppa.gc.ca URL was wrong (Pacific Pilotage, not Atlantic)
Current this library's internal records: Atlantic Pilotage Authority Canada Corporate Plan Summary 2026-2030 (2030)
Completeness
- Document shelf: 37 rows (37 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 34 of 37 row(s) audited, all clean
- Last verified: 2026-08-06 · this org has had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data
- API: not yet verified
- RSS: not yet verified
- Newsroom: not yet verified
- FOI / access requests: not yet verified
Document shelf (37 rows)
| Year | Type | Title | Archive status | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2030 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan Summary 2026-2030 | archived | |
| 2029 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan Summary 2025-2029 | archived | |
| 2028 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan Summary 2024-2028 | archived | |
| 2027 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan Summary 2023-2027 | archived | |
| 2026 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan Summary 2022-2026 | archived | |
| 2025 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2025 | archived | |
| 2025 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan Summary 2021-2025 | archived | |
| 2024 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2024 | archived | |
| 2024 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan Summary 2020-2024 | archived | |
| 2023 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2023 | archived | |
| 2023 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan 2019-2023 Summary | archived | |
| 2022 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2022 | archived | |
| 2022 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan Summary 2018 | archived | |
| 2021 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2021 | archived | |
| 2021 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan Summary 2017-2021 | archived | |
| 2020 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2020 | archived | |
| 2020 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan Summary 2016-2020 | archived | |
| 2019 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2019 | archived | |
| 2019 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan Summary 2015-2019 | archived | new-row 2026-08-06: GOV-ATLAS-COMPLETENESS-SWEEP-d1 batch 1, P9-grounded this review |
| 2018 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2018 | archived | |
| 2018 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan Summary 2014-2018 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2017 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2017 | archived | |
| 2017 | Business / corporate plan | APA Corporate Plan Summary 2013-2017 | archived | new-row 2026-08-06: GOV-ATLAS-COMPLETENESS-SWEEP-d1 batch 1, P9-grounded this review |
| 2016 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2016 | archived | |
| 2015 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2015 | archived | |
| 2014 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2014 | archived | |
| 2013 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2013 | archived | |
| 2012 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2012 | archived | |
| 2011 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2011 | archived | |
| 2010 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2010 | archived | |
| 2009 | Annual report | APA Annual Report 2009 | archived | |
| 2008 | Annual report | Atlantic Pilotage Authority Annual Report 2008 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2007 | Annual report | Atlantic Pilotage Authority Annual Report 2007 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2006 | Annual report | Atlantic Pilotage Authority Annual Report 2006 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2005 | Annual report | Atlantic Pilotage Authority Annual Report 2005 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2003 | Annual report | Atlantic Pilotage Authority Annual Report 2003 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2002 | Annual report | Atlantic Pilotage Authority Annual Report 2002 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Atlantic Pilotage Authority Canada - backgrounder
Backgrounder / GOV-Q10-WAVE1-d1 / 2026-08-04 / registry row: fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
The Atlantic Pilotage Authority (APA) was established in 1972 by the Pilotage Act, with the statutory objective (Pilotage Act, Section 18) "to establish, operate, maintain and administer, in the interests of safety of navigation, an efficient pilotage service" (APA Annual Report 2025, "Corporate Profile", https://www.atlanticpilotage.com/wp-content/uploads/_pda/2026/05/2025-APA-Annual-Report-English.pdf). The Authority is empowered under the Pilotage Act to employ pilots and apprentice pilots, set and revise pilotage charges by resolution, and establish internal operating policies (same source).
Roles, responsibilities & scope
The APA provides licensed marine pilots to ships entering Atlantic Canadian ports, organized by geographic location with 20 areas designated as requiring compulsory pilotage (APA Annual Report 2025, "Corporate Profile", https://www.atlanticpilotage.com/wp-content/uploads/_pda/2026/05/2025-APA-Annual-Report-English.pdf). It is a non-agent Crown corporation as defined by the Financial Administration Act and listed in Schedule III, Part I of that Act (same source); it has not received parliamentary appropriations since 1995 and, under the Pilotage Act, is not eligible for future appropriations (same source).
Governance & reporting line
The Authority is composed of a Chair and not more than six other members (the Board of Directors), appointed by the Governor in Council, and is accountable to the Minister of Transport (APA Annual Report 2025, "Corporate Governance", https://www.atlanticpilotage.com/wp-content/uploads/_pda/2026/05/2025-APA-Annual-Report-English.pdf). The Board has four standing committees, including a Governance Committee that recommends Board, Chair and CEO candidates (same source).
Budget scale
Total revenues for fiscal 2025 were $43.1 million, of which pilotage revenue was $37.7 million (87.5%); total expenses were $41.2 million (APA Annual Report 2025, "Revenues/Expenses" financial summary, https://www.atlanticpilotage.com/wp-content/uploads/_pda/2026/05/2025-APA-Annual-Report-English.pdf). Pilotage revenue rose $4.8 million (12.7%) year-over-year following a rate adjustment at the start of 2025, and included $1.4 million from a temporary deficit-reduction surcharge that expired at the end of 2025 (same source).
Institutional history
Established in 1972 by the Pilotage Act as a federal Crown corporation (APA Annual Report 2025, "Corporate Profile" and Notes to financial statements, https://www.atlanticpilotage.com/wp-content/uploads/_pda/2026/05/2025-APA-Annual-Report-English.pdf).
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Atlantic Pilotage Authority Canada - strategy evolution
2026-08-02 / registry: fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: Like its sister authority Laurentian, the Atlantic Pilotage Authority's priority-framework taxonomy churns with each strategic-planning cycle — 6 "areas of focus" (2009) → 5 "corporate objectives" (set 2016, replacing the prior framework) → 4 "strategic priorities" (set 2022, again explicitly replacing "the previously set corporate objectives," for a five-year horizon to 2027) — but unlike Laurentian, the underlying mandate text and core self-sufficiency model never changed across the whole archived window. The most consequential single event is regulatory, not internal: the 2019 Pilotage Act amendment (Royal Assent June 2019), which the Authority's newest business plan (bp-2030) still describes as an ongoing "challenge" nearly six years later. The single sharpest headline finding is structural, not budgetary: effective September 1, 2025, the entire Halifax pilot group resigned as APA employees and re-formed as an independent "body corporate," with a permanent contract now pending binding arbitration in 2026 — an unprecedented labour/governance shift with no comparable event anywhere else in this batch. One load-bearing number: certificated-master bypass of the Authority's own pilotage service is growing fast and now costs the APA real revenue — $9.1M in "lost" pilotage fees in 2025 (up from $7.4M in 2024), roughly 22-23% of all regional movements, prompting a 2023 "certificate movement charge" the Authority itself calls an imperfect fix. Open question: how the September 2025 Halifax body-corporate arbitration resolves, and whether it becomes a template for other ports.
Backgrounder summary
Established in 1972 by the Pilotage Act with the statutory objective "to establish, operate, maintain and administer, in the interests of safety of navigation, an efficient pilotage service," covering ships entering Atlantic Canadian ports across 20 (per ar-2025) compulsory-pilotage areas. It is a non-agent Crown corporation (Financial Administration Act, Schedule III, Part I) that has not received parliamentary appropriations since 1995 and, under the Pilotage Act, is ineligible for future appropriations. Governance is a Chair plus up to six other members, all Governor-in-Council appointed, accountable to the Minister of Transport. FY2025 revenues were $43.1M (pilotage revenue $37.7M, 87.5%), against expenses of $41.2M; pilotage revenue rose 12.7% year-over-year on a rate adjustment plus a temporary deficit-reduction surcharge that expired at year-end 2025.
Series inventory
_index.json: 28 ok / 6 no-manifest-match.
Registry (our document registry) carries 34 rows for this org spanning 2002-2030, all recorded archive_status=archived; of these, this review's WARC-manifest match found 28 rows with a captured binary (below) and 6 with no matching capture in the manifest (no-manifest-match) — all 6 are annual reports from 2002-2008 (ar-2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008; note 2004 has no registry row at all for this org, a distinct gap from the six no-manifest-match years). Those years are not analyzable from the archive despite the registry's "archived" label; the archived record effectively begins at ar-2009.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2002 | 2002 | annual-report | — | no (no-manifest-match) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2003 | 2003 | annual-report | — | no (no-manifest-match) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2005 | 2005 | annual-report | — | no (no-manifest-match) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2006 | 2006 | annual-report | — | no (no-manifest-match) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2007 | 2007 | annual-report | — | no (no-manifest-match) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2008 | 2008 | annual-report | — | no (no-manifest-match) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2009 | 2009 | annual-report | bd5a53fcab74 | yes (read in full) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2010 | 2010 | annual-report | e706f3abdb65 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2011 | 2011 | annual-report | 864e587e2ed9 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2012 | 2012 | annual-report | e4fecea76dbe | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2013 | 2013 | annual-report | c29dca4c9378 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2014 | 2014 | annual-report | 04cb4245b75b | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2015 | 2015 | annual-report | dd7fde03777b | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2016 | 2016 | annual-report | 2238b85f60d8 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2017 | 2017 | annual-report | 81244ec64c60 | yes (read in full) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2018 | 2018 | annual-report | 10c106c221ec | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2019 | 2019 | annual-report | b8be941c64bf | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2020 | 2020 | annual-report | 5d323a97ecb1 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-bp-2020 | 2020 | business-plan | e88048f2c741 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2021 | 2021 | annual-report | aa59518059c9 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-bp-2021 | 2021 | business-plan | 15c98d41c22d | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2022 | 2022 | annual-report | 9a4bb2230dae | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-bp-2022 | 2022 | business-plan | 428512762859 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2023 | 2023 | annual-report | a639b7b46b73 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-bp-2023 | 2023 | business-plan | 67e137dee1ef | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2024 | 2024 | annual-report | 4cdfe1a205f0 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-bp-2024 | 2024 | business-plan | 74340667c50d | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-ar-2025 | 2025 | annual-report | a5a8c2c77898 | yes (read in full) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-bp-2025 | 2025 | business-plan | ac328a8ac5f2 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-bp-2026 | 2026 | business-plan | 8d9a7cbde803 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-bp-2027 | 2027 | business-plan | ec7589133317 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-bp-2028 | 2028 | business-plan | 5d46a24267fb | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-bp-2029 | 2029 | business-plan | e1757f78cb51 | not read this review (sampled — see Residuals) |
| fed-atlantic-pilotage-authority-canada-bp-2030 | 2030 | business-plan | e9e8f2d6709f | yes (read in full — the "II) Operating Environment" through "III) Strategic Priorities" sections; other sections sampled) |
Priority evolution
2009 (ar-2009, bd5a53fcab74), oldest usable document, post-2008-recession year: The Board identifies "six strategic areas as priorities": Governance, Safety of Environment, Quality of Service, Financial Self-Sufficiency, Technology, and Human Resources — a flat, unweighted list with no stated vision or mission framing beyond the bare mandate. 2009 was a genuine recession-recovery year: revenue $19.6M (7% below budget), assignments down 5% year-over-year, but financial self-sufficiency still "achieved," and 99.90% of 9,063 assignments incident-free. Notable initiative: the Authority began licensing pilots for 17 non-compulsory ports with active commercial traffic during the year, expanding its footprint without a compulsory-pilotage designation.
2017 (ar-2017, 81244ec64c60): A formal Mission ("deliver safe, effective and self-sustaining marine pilotage services"), Vision ("respected leader in marine pilotage safeguarding people, property and the environment") and five Core Values (Safety, Service, Accountability, Environment, Relationships) now sit at the front of the report — absent from the 2009 document. The 2009-era "six areas of focus" have been replaced with five "corporate objectives," explicitly dated: "the most recent sessions were held in the summer of 2016... Five corporate objectives were set at this review and replaced the previously set areas of focus." The five: safe/effective service; financial self-sufficiency via cost management and fair tariffs; reliable/self-sustaining service via succession and asset planning; a leadership role in marine navigation expertise; and contributing to federal environmental/social/economic policy. This is also the year a 2016 OAG Special Examination's findings are disclosed and closed out: the OAG found "significant deficiencies in the corporate management practices and in the management of pilotage services," with 10 recommendations, the last (a Fleet Technical Manager position) implemented January 2018. Financially, 2017 was a strong recovery year: operating profit $2.913M on $27.8M revenue (10.5% over budget), assignments up 10.7% on 2016. A competitive/structural signal already visible here: 2,221 vessel movements were conducted by "certificated masters" (ship masters licensed to pilot their own vessels, bypassing APA pilots) in 2017, up from 1,678 in 2016, saving industry an estimated $4.8M in pilotage fees.
2025 (ar-2025, a5a8c2c77898), newest annual report: The corporate-objectives framework has been replaced again — four "corporate objectives" set in 2022 for a five-year period (reviewed annually): Operational Excellence, Future Readiness, Workplace Culture, and Mental Health & Wellbeing. (Note: the newest business plan, bp-2030, labels the same four items "strategic priorities" rather than "corporate objectives" — see Priorities added/dropped/renamed.) Revenue and assignment volumes are essentially flat versus 2024 (8,796 vs 8,695 assignments), with a strong safety record (99.98% incident-free) but growing structural pressure: certificated-master movements reached 2,537 in 2025 (up from 2,236 in 2024), now 22% of all regional movements, costing the Authority an estimated $9.1M in bypassed pilotage fees. The headline event of the year: effective September 1, 2025, the Halifax pilot group resigned en masse as APA employees and formed an independent "body corporate," operating under a temporary agreement pending a binding-arbitration outcome expected in 2026 — described in the report as a structural, not incidental, change (11 licensed pilots and 2 apprentices moved to the new entity). A second OAG Special Examination (covering 2024 practices) was completed in 2025, with its report tabled in Parliament in fall 2025 — outcome not disclosed within this document.
2026-2030 Corporate Plan (bp-2030, e9e8f2d6709f), newest business plan: Confirms the four 2022-era objectives are now explicitly labelled "Strategic Priorities" and are due to "be reset by the end of 2027." A detailed "Internal/External Environment" risk-scan section — new in structure relative to the annual reports read — names Pilotage Act Reform (the 2019 amendment) as an ongoing implementation challenge nearly six years on ("The implementation has been challenging for the Authority as operations are adjusted to reflect changing roles and responsibilities"), alongside climate change, the push to a zero-carbon economy (a direct long-term risk to tanker-traffic-dependent revenue), cybersecurity, and certificated-master erosion of the compulsory-pilotage revenue base (23% of movements, ~$9.1M in 2026-estimated lost fees, only partially offset by a 2023 certificate-movement charge expected to raise $1.0M in 2026). Staffing table shows a 2026 budget of 40 employee pilots (down from a 2022-2024 range of 49-51, reflecting the Halifax body-corporate departure) plus a new 13-14-strong "Body Corporate Pilots" line item that did not exist before 2025.
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Added — formal Mission/Vision/Core Values statement: absent from ar-2009 (bd5a53fcab74, mandate-only framing); present by ar-2017 (81244ec64c60) as a dedicated front-matter section — exact first-appearance year between 2010-2016 unrecoverable without those documents (not read this review).
- Added — "certificated masters" as a named, tracked, and eventually monetized structural risk: mentioned only in passing in ar-2009 (no dollar figure given); by ar-2017 (81244ec64c60) tracked with a specific dollar-savings-to-industry figure ($4.8M); by ar-2025/bp-2030 (a5a8c2c77898; e9e8f2d6709f) it is a named "Government Priorities and Direction" risk item with its own mitigation (a 2023 certificate-movement charge) and multi-year trend table.
- Added — Body Corporate pilot arrangement as a staffing category: did not exist in any staffing table prior to 2025; first appears in ar-2025/bp-2030 following the September 1, 2025 Halifax pilot-group resignation and re-formation as an independent contractor entity.
- Added — Climate-related Financial Disclosures report (TCFD-modelled): present as a dedicated section in ar-2025 (a5a8c2c77898) with four pillars (Governance/Strategy/Risk Management/Metrics & Targets); not present in ar-2009 or ar-2017 in any comparable form.
- Quietly dropped — the 2009-era "six areas of focus" (Governance/Safety of Environment/Quality of Service/Financial Self-Sufficiency/Technology/Human Resources): entirely absent from ar-2017 onward, replaced without any stated continuity mapping by the 2016-session five "corporate objectives."
- Renamed/restructured — objective count and label, twice over: 6 "areas of focus" (ar-2009, bd5a53fcab74) → 5 "corporate objectives" (set 2016, first reported ar-2017, 81244ec64c60) → 4 "corporate objectives"/"strategic priorities" (set 2022, reported ar-2025 and bp-2030, a5a8c2c77898; e9e8f2d6709f) — note the same 2025-era four items are called "corporate objectives" in the annual report and "strategic priorities" in the business plan, an internal label inconsistency within the newest documents read, not just a year-over-year change.
- Renamed — Workplace Culture and Mental Health & Wellbeing elevated to standalone objectives: absent as named categories from ar-2009's six areas of focus or ar-2017's five objectives (both era's frameworks bundle people/HR under a single generic "Human Resources" heading); by the 2022-session framework (ar-2025, bp-2030) these are split into two distinct top-level objectives, explicitly justified in bp-2030 as reflecting a 2022 "re-evaluat[ion of] its core values and corporate objectives, assigning workplace culture and mental health and wellbeing as a critical component."
Budget & mandate inflection points
- 1995 — Last year the Authority received parliamentary appropriations; ineligible for future appropriations under the Pilotage Act (backgrounder, ar-2025 corroborates the self-sufficiency mandate, a5a8c2c77898).
- 2007 — First OAG Special Examination of the Authority under FAA section 138 (referenced retrospectively in ar-2009, bd5a53fcab74).
- Summer 2016 — Strategic planning session with an external facilitator sets five new corporate objectives, replacing the prior "areas of focus" framework, and updates mission/vision/core values (ar-2017, 81244ec64c60).
- 2016 — Second OAG Special Examination finds "significant deficiencies in corporate management practices and in the management of pilotage services," 10 recommendations, closed out January 2018 with a new Fleet Technical Manager role (ar-2017, 81244ec64c60).
- June 2019 — Pilotage Act amendments receive Royal Assent, transferring elements of pilotage regulatory authority to Transport Canada; the Authority's newest business plan (bp-2030, e9e8f2d6709f) still names this as an active implementation challenge.
- 2022 — Strategic planning session with an external facilitator re-sets mission/vision/values/guiding principles and establishes four new strategic priorities/corporate objectives (Operational Excellence, Future Readiness, Workplace Culture, Mental Health & Wellbeing) for a five-year period to 2027 (ar-2025, a5a8c2c77898; bp-2030, e9e8f2d6709f).
- 2023 — Certificate movement charge introduced to partially recover lost pilotage revenue from certificated-master bypass, generating an estimated $680,400 in 2025 growing to $1.008M in 2026 per bp-2030 (e9e8f2d6709f).
- September 1, 2025 — Halifax pilot group resigns as APA employees and forms an independent body corporate; permanent contract terms pending binding arbitration in 2026 (ar-2025, a5a8c2c77898; bp-2030, e9e8f2d6709f).
- Fall 2025 — Third OAG Special Examination (covering 2024 systems/practices) tabled in Parliament; outcome not disclosed in the documents read (ar-2025, a5a8c2c77898).
- By end of 2027 — Current four-item strategic-priorities framework due for its next reset, per bp-2030 (e9e8f2d6709f) — a scheduled future inflection point, not yet reached.
Ontario/Toronto relevance
None found, and none plausible: the Authority's entire statutory jurisdiction is "all the Canadian waters in and around the provinces of New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, and Newfoundland and Labrador," plus Chaleur Bay waters in Quebec (ar-2017, 81244ec64c60; ar-2025, a5a8c2c77898; bp-2030, e9e8f2d6709f) — no Ontario waters, ports, or districts appear anywhere in the documents read. Relevance to Ontario or Toronto is indirect at most, through shared federal Pilotage Act governance with the Great Lakes Pilotage Authority (which does serve Ontario/Great Lakes waters) and general Crown-corporation policy-space overlap with this batch's other pilotage and port bodies; no named Ontario or Toronto entity, project, or funding relationship appears in any Atlantic Pilotage Authority document read this review.
Residuals & gaps
- Registry-vs-archive gap, per A1: 6 of 34 registry rows (ar-2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008) are marked
archivedbut have no matching WARC capture this review (no-manifest-match); a 2004 annual report has no registry row at all for this org (a distinct, deeper gap — not even a "missing" placeholder). The archived record effectively begins at ar-2009, leaving 2002-2008 (including the Authority's response to the mid-2000s Atlantic shipping environment) unreconstructable. - Not read this review, sampled per A3: ar-2010 through ar-2024 (15 annual reports) and bp-2020 through bp-2029 (10 business plans, all except bp-2030) were not opened. Given 28 usable documents across two long-running doc-type series (annual reports running 1,350-3,100 lines; business plans 2,850-3,600 lines), reading focused on the oldest usable annual report (2009), the year the 2016-session objectives-framework replacement and the 2016 Special Examination findings are disclosed (2017), and the two newest documents (ar-2025, bp-2030) — the years that most directly establish the priority-taxonomy churn and surface the Halifax body-corporate event this brief leads with. The exact year Mission/Vision/Core Values first appeared (narrowed only to 2010-2016) and the precise year-by-year certificated-master trend between 2017 and 2024 are not established here.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: exact year the formal Mission/Vision/Core Values statement first appeared (narrowed to 2010-2016, between ar-2009 and ar-2017).
- ⚠️ Still being checked: outcome of the fall-2025 OAG Special Examination (covering 2024 practices) — tabled in Parliament per ar-2025, but findings not available in the documents read.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: outcome of the Halifax pilot body-corporate binding arbitration, expected 2026 — open as of the newest archived documents (ar-2025, bp-2030).
- ⚠️ Still being checked: whether the internal label inconsistency between ar-2025's "corporate objectives" and bp-2030's "strategic priorities" for the same four 2022-era items reflects an intentional terminology update mid-cycle or is incidental drafting variance — not resolvable from the two documents alone.
- No
archive_status=missingrows appear in the registry for this org (all rows sayarchived); the unusable set is entirelyno-manifest-match(capture failure) plus the one org-wide registry gap (2004), with no stub-suspected rows in this org's_index.jsonat all.
Pair byte-identical confirmed (diff run, exit 0).