Canada Lands Company Limited
Current this library's internal records: CLCL Corporate Plan Summary 2025-26 (2026)
Completeness
- Document shelf: 34 rows (34 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 34 of 34 row(s) audited, 9 flagged
- Last verified: 2026-08-04 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: checked — none found
- API: checked — none found
- RSS: checked — none found
- Newsroom
- FOI / access requests
Document shelf (34 rows)
| Year | Type | Title | Archive status | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | Business / corporate plan | CLCL Corporate Plan Summary 2025-26 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: plan-horizon-unclear |
| 2025 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2024-2025 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2024 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2023-2024 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2023 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2022-2023 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2022 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2021-2022 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2022 | Business / corporate plan | CLCL Corporate Plan Summary 2021/22 to 2025/26 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: plan-horizon-2026 |
| 2022 | Financial statements | Canada Lands Company Limited 2021-22 Annual Report (Consolidated Financial Statements) | archived | |
| 2021 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2020-2021 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2021 | Business / corporate plan | Canada Lands Company Limited Corporate Plan Summary 2021/22 to 2025/26 | archived | |
| 2020 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2019-2020 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2020 | Business / corporate plan | CLCL Corporate Plan Summary 2019/20 to 2023/24 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: plan-horizon-2024 |
| 2019 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2018-2019 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2019 | Business / corporate plan | Canada Lands Company Limited Corporate Plan Summary 2019/20 to 2023/24 | archived | |
| 2018 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2017-2018 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2017 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2016-2017 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2016 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2015-2016 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2016 | Business / corporate plan | Canada Lands Company Limited Corporate Plan Summary 2015-2016 to 2019-2020 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2015 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2014-2015 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2014 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2013-2014 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2013 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2012-2013 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2012 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2011-2012 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2011 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2010-2011 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2010 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2009-2010 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2009 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2008-2009 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2008 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2007-2008 | archived | |
| 2007 | Business / corporate plan | Canada Lands Company Limited Corporate Plan Summary 2006-2007 to 2010-2011 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2006 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2005-2006 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2005 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2004-2005 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2004 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2003-2004 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2003 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2002-2003 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2002 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2001-2002 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2001 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 2000-2001 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 2000 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 1999-2000 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
| 1999 | Annual report | Canada Lands Company Limited Annual Report 1998-1999 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial |
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Canada Lands Company Limited - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: fed-canada-lands-company-limited (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
CLCL is a federal Crown corporation listed in Schedule III, Part I of the Financial Administration Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. F-11, confirmed on the consolidated Justice Laws text (https://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/F-11/page-22.html; registry row fed-canada-lands-company-limited). It was originally incorporated under the Companies Act on March 7, 1956, and continued under Articles of Continuance dated September 19, 1977 under the Canada Business Corporations Act (CLCL Corporate Plan Summary 2025/26-2029/30, https://www.clc-sic.ca/sites/default/files/documents/CLCL%20Corporate%20Plan%20Summary%202025-26%20Final%20EN_FINAL-s.pdf, document id fed-canada-lands-company-limited-bp-2026). Its current mandate — "the commercially oriented, orderly disposition of surplus real properties with best value to the Canadian taxpayer and the holding of certain properties" — was approved by the Government of Canada upon CLCL's 1995 reactivation and re-confirmed by a 2001 Treasury Board review (same source).
Roles, responsibilities & scope
CLCL operates as a self-financing holding company for a group of subsidiaries — Canada Lands Company CLC Limited (CLC), Parc Downsview Park Inc. (PDP), and Old Port of Montreal Corporation Inc. (OPMC) — that carry out real estate development, community redevelopment, and attractions operations, including management of the CN Tower (CLC-SIC "About Us," https://www.clc-sic.ca/about-us; CLCL Corporate Plan Summary 2025/26-2029/30, document id fed-canada-lands-company-limited-bp-2026). Budget 2024 expanded CLCL's role in disposing of federal surplus properties for housing (CLCL Corporate Plan Summary 2025/26-2029/30, document id fed-canada-lands-company-limited-bp-2026).
Governance & reporting line
CLCL reports to Parliament through the Minister of Public Services and Procurement (CLC-SIC "About Us," https://www.clc-sic.ca/about-us). It is governed by a Governor-in-Council-appointed Chair and Board of Directors, with a single employee — the President and CEO — who also serves as President/CEO and a Board member of CLC, PDP and OPMC; the President and CEO's compensation is set by the Governor in Council (CLCL Corporate Plan Summary 2025/26-2029/30, document id fed-canada-lands-company-limited-bp-2026).
Budget scale
The Company forecasts $371.7 million in revenue for FY2024/25 and projects a cumulative $2.4 billion in revenue and $702.4 million in net income before tax over the FY2025/26-2029/30 Plan Period (CLCL Corporate Plan Summary 2025/26-2029/30, document id fed-canada-lands-company-limited-bp-2026).
Institutional history
CLCL was incorporated in 1956 under the Companies Act, continued in 1977 under the Canada Business Corporations Act, and reactivated in 1995 with its current surplus-property-disposition mandate (CLCL Corporate Plan Summary 2025/26-2029/30, document id fed-canada-lands-company-limited-bp-2026).
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Canada Lands Company Limited - strategy evolution
2026-08-01 / registry: fed-canada-lands-company-limited / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: Only 3 of 33 registered documents (all Corporate Plan Summaries) yielded distinct readable content — 27 are publications.gc.ca interstitial stubs and one failed outright — so this brief traces CLCL's priorities across just three snapshots (2019, 2021, 2025). Within that window, the biggest priority addition is the Budget 2024 housing-acceleration mandate, including a new Build Canada Homes partnership earmarking a Toronto (Downsview) parcel for up to 4,000 homes, with the affordable-housing target raised from 10% to a minimum of 20%. The biggest quietly dropped element is explicit COVID-19 risk framing, which dominated the 2021 plan's Operating Environment section but has no successor in the 2025 plan. The most load-bearing number is projected cumulative revenue of $2.4 billion and net income before tax of $700+ million for the 2025/26-2029/30 Plan Period. One open question: the exact date the Governor-in-Council appointment channel shifted from the Minister of PSPC to the Minister of Housing, Infrastructure and Communities — visible only as a before/after contrast between the 2021 and 2025 plans.
Backgrounder summary
CLCL is a Schedule III, Part I Financial Administration Act Crown corporation, incorporated under the Companies Act on March 7, 1956 and continued under the Canada Business Corporations Act by Articles of Continuance dated September 19, 1977. Its current mandate — "the commercially oriented, orderly disposition of surplus real properties with best value to the Canadian taxpayer and the holding of certain properties" — was approved on CLCL's 1995 reactivation and re-confirmed by a 2001 Treasury Board review. It is a self-financing holding company for three subsidiaries (Canada Lands Company CLC Limited, Parc Downsview Park Inc., Old Port of Montreal Corporation Inc.) that carry out real estate disposition/development and attractions management, including the CN Tower. The backgrounder states CLCL reports to Parliament through the Minister of Public Services and Procurement (PSPC), governed by a Governor-in-Council-appointed Chair/Board with a single employee, the President and CEO. Budget 2024 is described as having expanded CLCL's role in disposing of federal surplus property for housing, with FY2024/25 revenue forecast at $371.7 million and a cumulative $2.4 billion in revenue / $702.4 million in net income before tax projected for the FY2025/26-2029/30 Plan Period.
Series inventory
The registry lists 33 documents for this organization: 26 annual reports (1999-2025, with no 2007 annual-report document id registered) and 7 business-plan/Corporate-Plan-Summary documents. One document is flagged in _index.json as an explicit extraction failure. Critically, reading the extracted text directly (not just the index status) shows that 25 of the remaining 26 "ok"-status annual reports, plus 2 of the 7 business plans (bp-2007, bp-2016), contain no report content at all — the crawler captured a Government of Canada "Information Archived on the Web" interstitial redirect page (bilingual boilerplate directing the reader to click through to the real PDF) rather than the underlying document. This was confirmed by direct reading of a representative spread across the full span (ar-1999, ar-2009, ar-2013, ar-2018, ar-2020, ar-2024, ar-2025, bp-2007, bp-2016 — all byte-for-byte the same boilerplate) and is corroborated by the uniform 804-character (annual reports) / 1,142-character (bp-2007, bp-2016) extracted lengths recorded in _index.json for every one of these rows. Only 5 doc_ids — bp-2019, bp-2020, bp-2021, bp-2022, bp-2026 — contain substantive extracted text, and of those, bp-2019/bp-2020 share one sha256 (one underlying PDF registered under two plan-year labels) and bp-2021/bp-2022 share another, so there are only 3 distinct substantive source documents in the entire 33-doc registry.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-1999 | 1999 | annual-report | b3b5408fb6d3 | no — archive-redirect interstitial only, not the report |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2000 | 2000 | annual-report | 2168c43ec79a | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2001 | 2001 | annual-report | e91ba7c8cba0 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2002 | 2002 | annual-report | c7e48f245357 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2003 | 2003 | annual-report | fe5dcf5acc4c | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2004 | 2004 | annual-report | 075c5e820d39 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2005 | 2005 | annual-report | 53af56b45c87 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2006 | 2006 | annual-report | 1d5d81fe12bb | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2008 | 2008 | annual-report | 6cc03c427b40 | failed (index: "HTML extracted 0 bytes of text"; no .txt file produced) |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2009 | 2009 | annual-report | 0eb630f72ef4 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2010 | 2010 | annual-report | 5f848268e20c | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2011 | 2011 | annual-report | ea2883336072 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2012 | 2012 | annual-report | bf3d5a0e63e2 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2013 | 2013 | annual-report | 836282c61df8 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2014 | 2014 | annual-report | 4f17a88c47b3 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2015 | 2015 | annual-report | f417b293798a | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2016 | 2016 | annual-report | c5f6ac5796cb | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2017 | 2017 | annual-report | 6fb39e54b5d0 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2018 | 2018 | annual-report | 2f950fcea957 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2019 | 2019 | annual-report | 0b3f346e293b | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2020 | 2020 | annual-report | 94a637b0780f | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2021 | 2021 | annual-report | e35b45c4ac81 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2022 | 2022 | annual-report | ea595846d0e1 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2023 | 2023 | annual-report | b08fe8bfbeff | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2024 | 2024 | annual-report | c765aa6762bf | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-ar-2025 | 2025 | annual-report | d4cdd34660cf | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-bp-2007 | 2007 | business-plan | 55b9a4dc6698 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-bp-2016 | 2016 | business-plan | 02e551992b74 | no — interstitial only |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-bp-2019 | 2019 | business-plan | 5dd2d0cf7780 | yes — Corporate Plan Summary 2019/20-2023/24 |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-bp-2020 | 2020 | business-plan | 5dd2d0cf7780 | yes — identical text/sha to bp-2019 (same underlying PDF) |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-bp-2021 | 2021 | business-plan | d32c1b85224b | yes — Corporate Plan Summary 2021/22-2025/26 |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-bp-2022 | 2022 | business-plan | d32c1b85224b | yes — identical text/sha to bp-2021 (same underlying PDF) |
| fed-canada-lands-company-limited-bp-2026 | 2026 | business-plan | 0ea3f44c3377 | yes — Corporate Plan Summary 2025/26-2029/30 |
Priority evolution
Because 27 of the 33 registered documents yielded no report text (see Series inventory and Residuals & gaps), a genuine chronological trace of CLCL's stated priorities is only possible across three real snapshots — Corporate Plan Summaries covering 2019/20-2023/24, 2021/22-2025/26, and 2025/26-2029/30 — plus the boilerplate corporate-history paragraphs (1956 incorporation, 1977 CBCA continuance, 1995 reactivation, 2001 Treasury Board review) that recur verbatim inside those same plans. No annual report anywhere in the 1999-2025 span, and no pre-2018 business plan, could be read. ⚠️ Still being checked: CLCL's stated priorities and mandate emphasis for 1999-2018 are not established by this archived series at all.
2019/20-2023/24 Corporate Plan Summary (bp-2019/bp-2020, 5dd2d0cf7780): CLCL frames itself as an "agent federal Crown corporation" whose mandate is "the commercially oriented, orderly disposition of surplus strategic real properties, optimizing financial and community value, and the holding of certain properties," executed by buying surplus federal property at fair market value and improving/managing/selling it (5dd2d0cf7780). The Company projects $1,923 million in cumulative five-year revenue and $1,383 million in cumulative expenses (5dd2d0cf7780). Four "overarching objectives" are named: government-policy alignment, quality-of-life/economic-development delivery, tourism-attraction stewardship, and — explicitly — continuing partnerships with Indigenous peoples and contributing "to the Government's priorities of community development, including affordable housing" (5dd2d0cf7780). Named short/medium-term strategic issues include the Old Port of Montreal master-plan public consultations, First Nations joint ventures in Vancouver/Ottawa/Halifax, cyber-security investment, and a review of the City of Toronto's Downsview Area Secondary Plan (DASP) triggered by the sale of adjacent Bombardier-owned lands to the Public Sector Pension Investment Board (5dd2d0cf7780). The Governor-in-Council appoints CLCL's Chair/Directors/CEO "upon the recommendation of the Minister of PSPC" (5dd2d0cf7780).
2021/22-2025/26 Corporate Plan Summary (bp-2021/bp-2022, d32c1b85224b): The plan is dominated by the COVID-19 pandemic, declared by the WHO on March 11, 2020; CLCL suspended Attractions operations twice (March 2020, October 2020) and projects an annual operating loss in 2021/22 for the first time in the Company's history, to be funded from existing cash rather than new financing (d32c1b85224b). A new "2.2 Public Policy Role" section is introduced (absent by that name from the 2019/20-2023/24 plan). Objectives narrow to seven numbered items, adding an explicit COVID-19 compliance/recovery-support objective alongside continued property reintegration, Indigenous partnerships, PSPC collaboration projects "in the National Capital Region, Toronto and other opportunities," and attractions-value enhancement (d32c1b85224b). Financial projections drop relative to pre-pandemic framing: $1.7 billion cumulative revenue, ~$500 million income before tax, ~$550 million total contribution to the shareholder including $200 million in dividends, and ~$600 million in capital spending over the five-year period (d32c1b85224b). CLCL reports 12 First Nations agreements across 7 properties, a 10% affordable-housing target for the plan period, and reaffirms the PSPC recommendation channel for Governor-in-Council appointments (d32c1b85224b).
2025/26-2029/30 Corporate Plan Summary (bp-2026, 0ea3f44c3377): Post-COVID, this plan is organized for the first time around a named, three-pillar "Strategic Plan" — Transform Surplus and Underutilized Federal Properties; Create Unique Canadian Experiences; Be a Workplace of Choice — which the text says was "operationalized" via an implementation plan developed by "teams" in 2023 (0ea3f44c3377). Budget 2024 (April 16, 2024) is described as setting "a new course for the Company with an expanded role in the delivery of housing," including deepening partnerships with other Crown corporations such as Canada Post to acquire and redevelop their surplus/underutilized lands, working with custodians (naming the Department of National Defence) to enable housing on active-use sites rather than only decommissioned ones, and accelerating housing/affordable-housing delivery (0ea3f44c3377). CLCL reports having enabled over 11,000 housing units (of which 1,650+ affordable, since 2016) as of October 2024, and projects 45,000 units by 2031 through its own pipeline plus up to 4,000 more through a new Build Canada Homes (BCH) partnership announced in September 2025 (0ea3f44c3377). The affordable-housing target is raised to "a minimum of 20% affordable units" where no municipal requirement exists, up from the 10% target in the prior plan (0ea3f44c3377 vs. d32c1b85224b). A new "Corporate/Shared Services" division is added alongside Real Estate and Attractions, and the Governor-in-Council appointment channel has changed to "the recommendation of the Minister of Housing, Infrastructure and Communities Canada" — a different minister than the PSPC channel named in both prior plans (0ea3f44c3377 vs. 5dd2d0cf7780, d32c1b85224b). The federal government's September 5, 2025 Buy Canadian Policy is noted as applying to Crown corporations including CLCL, "pending further policy direction" (0ea3f44c3377). Financial projections rise to $2.4 billion cumulative revenue, $700+ million net income before tax, ~$1.0 billion total shareholder contribution including $300 million in dividends, and $940+ million in capital spending (0ea3f44c3377) — matching the backgrounder's figures for this period.
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Added — Budget 2024 housing-acceleration mandate: absent from both earlier plans; the 2025/26-2029/30 plan (0ea3f44c3377) names it as a distinct, government-directed expansion of CLCL's role, including new tools (long-term ground leases via the Federal Lands Initiative, temporary-housing parcels, work with active-use federal custodians including DND) not present in bp-2019 (5dd2d0cf7780) or bp-2021 (d32c1b85224b).
- Added — Build Canada Homes (BCH) partnership: first appears in bp-2026 (0ea3f44c3377), announced September 2025; CLCL names itself "a central delivery partner," earmarking six parcels nationally including one in Toronto (Arbo, Downsview) for up to 4,000 homes.
- Added — formal three-pillar "Strategic Plan": the named pillars (Transform Surplus and Underutilized Federal Properties / Create Unique Canadian Experiences / Be a Workplace of Choice) appear only in bp-2026 (0ea3f44c3377), dated by the text itself to a 2023 operationalization; the two earlier plans use flat, unnamed objective lists (5dd2d0cf7780; d32c1b85224b).
- Added — Buy Canadian Policy compliance: named only in bp-2026 (0ea3f44c3377) as a September 5, 2025 federal announcement applying to Crown corporations; absent from earlier plans because it postdates them.
- Raised — affordable-housing target: 10% of planned residential units (d32c1b85224b, 2021/22-2025/26 plan) to "a minimum of 20%" where no municipal standard applies (0ea3f44c3377, 2025/26-2029/30 plan).
- Added, then absorbed — COVID-19 compliance/recovery objective: appears as a standalone numbered objective only in the 2021/22-2025/26 plan (d32c1b85224b); absent from both the pre-pandemic bp-2019 (5dd2d0cf7780) and the post-pandemic bp-2026 (0ea3f44c3377), where it has no successor item.
- Quietly dropped — explicit COVID-19 risk framing: the pandemic dominates d32c1b85224b's entire "Operating Environment" section but is absent from bp-2026's risk list (0ea3f44c3377), which instead foregrounds cybersecurity, geopolitical uncertainty, and climate/aging-infrastructure risk.
- Renamed/restructured — divisional and regional structure: "BC/Ontario, West, NCR/Atlantic, Québec" real-estate regions (5dd2d0cf7780; d32c1b85224b) become "West, Central, NCR, Québec/Atlantic" in bp-2026 (0ea3f44c3377), and a new "Corporate/Shared Services" division is added alongside Real Estate and Attractions (previously just two divisions, d32c1b85224b).
- Changed — ministerial recommendation channel for Governor-in-Council appointments: "Minister of PSPC" in both bp-2019 (5dd2d0cf7780) and bp-2021 (d32c1b85224b) becomes "Minister of Housing, Infrastructure and Communities Canada" in bp-2026 (0ea3f44c3377). ⚠️ Still being checked: the exact date of this change — no document in this archived series between the 2021/22-2025/26 plan and the 2025/26-2029/30 plan was readable, so the change cannot be dated more precisely than "sometime between the two."
- Unchanged throughout: the core 1995 mandate language — "commercially oriented, orderly disposition of surplus real properties with best value to the Canadian taxpayer and the holding of certain properties" — is quoted verbatim in both the earliest and latest readable plans (5dd2d0cf7780; 0ea3f44c3377); the shift over time is in emphasis and delivery tools around that unchanged mandate, not in the mandate text itself.
Budget & mandate inflection points
- March 7, 1956 / September 19, 1977 — incorporation under the Companies Act, continuance under the CBCA (0ea3f44c3377; 5dd2d0cf7780, retrospective boilerplate in both).
- 1995 — CLCL reactivated; current surplus-disposition mandate approved by the Government of Canada (0ea3f44c3377; 5dd2d0cf7780).
- 2001 — Treasury Board review re-confirms the 1995 mandate (0ea3f44c3377; 5dd2d0cf7780).
- November 2012 — CLCL assumes external debt as part of an "operational amalgamation" with Parc Downsview Park Inc.; still being repaid as of the latest plan (5dd2d0cf7780; d32c1b85224b; 0ea3f44c3377).
- 2014 — most recent Office of the Auditor General special examination of CLCL; recommendations reported as fully implemented in the 2019/20-2023/24 plan (5dd2d0cf7780).
- 2017 — a "strategic plan refresh" and "strategic initiatives retreat" are named as governance risk-mitigation events in the 2019/20-2023/24 plan (5dd2d0cf7780); no further detail on their content is given in the readable series.
- March 11, 2020 — WHO declares COVID-19 a pandemic; CLCL suspends Attractions operations in March and October 2020 and projects its first-ever annual operating loss for 2021/22 (d32c1b85224b).
- 2023 — CLCL's three-pillar Strategic Plan is "operationalized" via an internal implementation plan (0ea3f44c3377).
- April 16, 2024 — Budget 2024 expands CLCL's role in federal-surplus-property disposition specifically for housing, including new leasing/temporary-housing tools and a directed relationship with the Department of National Defence on active-use sites (0ea3f44c3377).
- 2024/25 (Federal Budget 2023 savings commitments) — CLCL reports reduced travel and discretionary professional-services spending "to comply with Federal Budget 2023 savings commitments" (0ea3f44c3377).
- Between 2021/22-2025/26 and 2025/26-2029/30 plans (date unresolved) — the ministerial recommendation channel for Governor-in-Council appointments shifts from PSPC to the Minister of Housing, Infrastructure and Communities Canada (d32c1b85224b vs. 0ea3f44c3377); ⚠️ still being checked exact date.
- September 5, 2025 — federal Buy Canadian Policy announced, applying to Crown corporations including CLCL, "pending further policy direction" (0ea3f44c3377).
- September 2025 — Build Canada Homes (BCH) Special Operating Agency formed; CLCL asked to participate as a major delivery partner, earmarking six parcels (including Arbo, Downsview, Toronto) for up to 4,000 homes (0ea3f44c3377).
Ontario/Toronto relevance
CLCL's head office, the CN Tower, and Downsview Park are all located in Toronto across every readable plan in the series (5dd2d0cf7780; d32c1b85224b; 0ea3f44c3377). The Downsview Lands are described in the earliest readable plan as 572 acres (231 hectares) of parkland and development lands, subject to the City of Toronto's Downsview Area Secondary Plan (DASP), with an amendment process triggered by the sale of adjacent Bombardier-owned lands to the Public Sector Pension Investment Board and expected — as of the 2021/22-2025/26 plan — to take "up to five years" (5dd2d0cf7780; d32c1b85224b). Toronto-area real estate sales are quantified across all three plans: approximately $210 million in Toronto-area sales projected over the 2019/20-2023/24 period, with more than half concentrated in the plan's final year (5dd2d0cf7780); and approximately $200 million in Downsview Lands sales specifically projected for the 2025/26-2029/30 period (0ea3f44c3377). CMHC/Bank of Canada housing-market assessments cited in the series describe Toronto as having "strong evidence of overvaluation" as of the 2019/20-2023/24 plan (5dd2d0cf7780) and "a moderate degree of overall vulnerability" as of the 2021/22-2025/26 plan (d32c1b85224b); the 2025/26-2029/30 plan lists Toronto among cities facing broader national housing-affordability headwinds without a discrete Toronto-specific vulnerability rating (0ea3f44c3377). CLCL names Toronto among the cities where it has entered Indigenous-community partnership agreements (0ea3f44c3377) and among cities where it works with PSPC on federal-property collaboration/rationalization projects (5dd2d0cf7780; d32c1b85224b). Most directly, the September 2025 Build Canada Homes partnership earmarks a specific Toronto parcel — "Arbo, Downsview in Toronto" — as one of six national first-phase BCH sites, contributing toward a cross-Canada target of up to 4,000 homes at 60% market / 40% below-market rates (0ea3f44c3377); no other document in the archived series specifies BCH's Toronto allocation in more detail. ⚠️ Still being checked: the archived series does not state a current construction or completion status for the Arbo/Downsview BCH parcel — as of bp-2026 it is described only as "earmarked" for the initiative.
Residuals & gaps
- ar-2008 (6cc03c427b40) failed extraction outright —
_index.jsonrecords "HTML extracted 0 bytes of text"; no.txtfile was produced for this document id. - A much larger, unflagged gap: 25 of 26 annual reports (all except the failed ar-2008) and 2 of 7 business plans (bp-2007, bp-2016) — 27 documents in total — carry
status: okin_index.jsonbut contain no report content whatsoever. Each of these captured only a bilingual Government of Canada "Information Archived on the Web" interstitial redirect notice (a click-through page) instead of the underlying PDF. This was confirmed by direct reading of nine of these files spanning the full 1999-2025 range and both early business plans, all identical, and is corroborated by the uniform 804-character / 1,142-character lengths_index.jsonrecords for every other row in this group. Practically, this means no annual report in the entire 1999-2025 span, and no business plan before 2019, is readable in this archived set — the entire pre-2018 institutional history and any year-by-year annual-report narrative for 1999-2025 is unavailable from this series. ⚠️ Still being checked: whether a re-crawl targeting the underlying PDF URLs (already recorded in_index.json) rather than the publications.gc.ca landing pages would recover this content. - No annual-report document id is registered for fiscal 2006-2007 — the series jumps from ar-2006 to ar-2008, with bp-2007 (also interstitial-only) the only registered document for that year. It is not established by this archived series whether an annual report for that year was never published, was published but not registered, or was registered under a different document id.
- bp-2020 and bp-2022 are byte-identical to bp-2019 and bp-2021 respectively (same sha256, same source URL) despite being registered as separate year-labeled doc_ids. ⚠️ still being checked whether this reflects the Company not issuing an updated Corporate Plan Summary for those years, or a registry/crawl duplication.
- Reporting-line change (PSPC → Minister of Housing, Infrastructure and Communities Canada) cannot be dated precisely — the change is visible only by comparing the 2021/22-2025/26 plan (still PSPC) against the 2025/26-2029/30 plan (HICC); no intervening readable document exists to narrow the window. ⚠️ still being checked.
- The backgrounder states CLCL reports through the Minister of PSPC, sourced from CLCL's live (non-archived) "About Us" webpage rather than from this archived series. The most recent archived business plan (bp-2026, 0ea3f44c3377) instead names the Minister of Housing, Infrastructure and Communities Canada as the Governor-in-Council recommendation channel. ⚠️ still being checked which is current — this may reflect a lag between the live website and the most recent Corporate Plan Summary, or a further change since bp-2026 was filed.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: outcome of the Federal Lands Initiative long-term-lease properties described as "unlocked" in bp-2026 (five properties, six development-ready parcels) — described as offered to builders, not yet confirmed built or occupied.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: current status/completion of the Build Canada Homes Arbo (Downsview, Toronto) parcel and the other five national BCH first-phase parcels — bp-2026 is the most recent archived document and describes the BCH partnership as newly announced (September 2025), not yet delivered.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: precise mechanics and dollar impact of the "office portfolio reduction targets of 50%" referenced in bp-2026 as a government-wide rationalization effort CLCL supports — the archived text names the target but does not quantify CLCL's specific role or property count within it.
- No archive_status=missing years and no era:pre-web-baseline flags apply to this series in the registry; the extraction gaps documented above are extraction/crawl failures (redirect pages captured instead of source PDFs), not disclosed as such anywhere in the registry's own status field except for the single ar-2008 flag.