Canadian International Trade Tribunal
no current departmental/corporate plan located for CITT (last standalone RPP was 2007-08; ATSSC's plan explicitly excludes CITT); strategy fields left empty; FOI via central portal
Completeness
- Document shelf: 26 rows (26 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 26 of 26 row(s) audited, all clean
- Last verified: 2026-08-06 · this org has had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: not yet verified
- API: not yet verified
- RSS: not yet verified
- Newsroom
- FOI / access requests: not yet verified
Document shelf (26 rows)
| Year | Type | Title | Archive status | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2025 | archived | |
| 2024 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2024 | archived | |
| 2023 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2023 | archived | |
| 2022 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2022 | archived | |
| 2021 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2021 | archived | |
| 2020 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2020 | archived | |
| 2019 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2019 | archived | |
| 2018 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2018 | archived | |
| 2017 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2017 | archived | URL-fix 2026-08-06: same root cause; PDF content-fetched this review (Bedard transmittal, June 22 2017) |
| 2016 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2016 | archived | URL-fix 2026-08-06: same root cause; PDF content-fetched this review (Bedard transmittal, June 21 2016) |
| 2015 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2015 | archived | URL-fix 2026-08-06: same root cause; PDF content-fetched this review (Leach transmittal, June 30 2015) |
| 2014 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2014 | archived | URL-fix 2026-08-06: same root cause; full PDF page-linked from org year page (PDF - 1.07 MB) ⚠️ Still being checked: pattern-inferred |
| 2013 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2013 | archived | URL-fix 2026-08-06: same root cause; PDF content-fetched this review |
| 2012 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2012 | archived | URL-fix 2026-08-06: same root cause; PDF content-fetched this review (transmittal letter + full report text confirmed) |
| 2011 | Annual report | CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2011 | archived | URL-fix 2026-08-06: prior capture was the transmittal-letter-only HTML page; full PDF page-linked from org year page ⚠️ Still being checked: pattern-inferred |
| 2010 | Annual report | CITT annual report for the fiscal year ending March 31 2009-2010 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial; URL-fix 2026-08-06 (Mac capture run): direct publications.gc.ca route live-tested this review, confirmed systemically dead (307->archivee-archived.html interstitial for all 33 rows in this batch, every UA tried) -- reverted to staged on the original wayback id_ URL for a real recapture, per worklist fallback |
| 2009 | Annual report | CITT annual report for the fiscal year ending March 31 2008-2009 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial; URL-fix 2026-08-06 (Mac capture run): direct publications.gc.ca route live-tested this review, confirmed systemically dead (307->archivee-archived.html interstitial for all 33 rows in this batch, every UA tried) -- reverted to staged on the original wayback id_ URL for a real recapture, per worklist fallback |
| 2008 | Annual report | CITT annual report for the fiscal year ending March 31 2008 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial; URL-fix 2026-08-06 (Mac capture run): direct publications.gc.ca route live-tested this review, confirmed systemically dead (307->archivee-archived.html interstitial for all 33 rows in this batch, every UA tried) -- reverted to staged on the original wayback id_ URL for a real recapture, per worklist fallback |
| 2007 | Annual report | CITT annual report for the fiscal year ending March 31 2007 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial; URL-fix 2026-08-06 (Mac capture run): direct publications.gc.ca route live-tested this review, confirmed systemically dead (307->archivee-archived.html interstitial for all 33 rows in this batch, every UA tried) -- reverted to staged on the original wayback id_ URL for a real recapture, per worklist fallback |
| 2006 | Annual report | CITT annual report for the fiscal year ending March 31 2006 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial; URL-fix 2026-08-06 (Mac capture run): direct publications.gc.ca route live-tested this review, confirmed systemically dead (307->archivee-archived.html interstitial for all 33 rows in this batch, every UA tried) -- reverted to staged on the original wayback id_ URL for a real recapture, per worklist fallback |
| 2005 | Annual report | CITT annual report for the fiscal year ending March 31 2005 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial; URL-fix 2026-08-06 (Mac capture run): direct publications.gc.ca route live-tested this review, confirmed systemically dead (307->archivee-archived.html interstitial for all 33 rows in this batch, every UA tried) -- reverted to staged on the original wayback id_ URL for a real recapture, per worklist fallback |
| 2004 | Annual report | CITT annual report for the fiscal year ending March 31 2004 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial; URL-fix 2026-08-06 (Mac capture run): direct publications.gc.ca route live-tested this review, confirmed systemically dead (307->archivee-archived.html interstitial for all 33 rows in this batch, every UA tried) -- reverted to staged on the original wayback id_ URL for a real recapture, per worklist fallback |
| 2003 | Annual report | CITT annual report for the fiscal year ending March 31 2003 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial; URL-fix 2026-08-06 (Mac capture run): direct publications.gc.ca route live-tested this review, confirmed systemically dead (307->archivee-archived.html interstitial for all 33 rows in this batch, every UA tried) -- reverted to staged on the original wayback id_ URL for a real recapture, per worklist fallback |
| 2002 | Annual report | CITT annual report for the fiscal year ending March 31 2002 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial; URL-fix 2026-08-06 (Mac capture run): direct publications.gc.ca route live-tested this review, confirmed systemically dead (307->archivee-archived.html interstitial for all 33 rows in this batch, every UA tried) -- reverted to staged on the original wayback id_ URL for a real recapture, per worklist fallback |
| 2001 | Annual report | CITT annual report for the fiscal year ending March 31 2001 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial; URL-fix 2026-08-06 (Mac capture run): direct publications.gc.ca route live-tested this review, confirmed systemically dead (307->archivee-archived.html interstitial for all 33 rows in this batch, every UA tried) -- reverted to staged on the original wayback id_ URL for a real recapture, per worklist fallback |
| 2000 | Annual report | CITT annual report for the fiscal year ending March 31 2000 | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: capture-artifact-goc-interstitial; URL-fix 2026-08-06 (Mac capture run): direct publications.gc.ca route live-tested this review, confirmed systemically dead (307->archivee-archived.html interstitial for all 33 rows in this batch, every UA tried) -- reverted to staged on the original wayback id_ URL for a real recapture, per worklist fallback |
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Canadian International Trade Tribunal - backgrounder
Backgrounder / GOV-Q10-WAVE1-d1 / 2026-08-04 / registry row: fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
The Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) is a "quasi-judicial institution that is independent of the Government," constituted under the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act with "the same powers, rights and privileges as those vested in a superior court of record" (CITT Annual Report - Fiscal Year Ending March 31, 2025, https://www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/publications/annual-report-fiscal-year-ending-march-31-2025). It also draws authority from the Special Import Measures Act, the Customs Act, the Excise Tax Act, and the Federal Courts Act (same source).
Roles, responsibilities & scope
CITT "provides Canadian and international businesses with decisions and determinations on trade remedy inquiries, federal government procurement inquiries, and customs duties and excise tax appeals," and can advise government on economic and tariff matters at its request (AR FY2024-25). Its published case types span anti-dumping injury inquiries, procurement complaints, customs/excise appeals, safeguard inquiries, and economic/tariff inquiries (https://www.citt-tcce.gc.ca/en/home.html, fetched this review).
Governance & reporting line
CITT "reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance" and operates with up to seven full-time permanent members plus temporary members - seven permanent and three temporary as of March 31, 2025 (AR FY2024-25). Its staff are part of the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada (ATSSC), which provides shared operational support across 12 federal tribunals (AR FY2024-25).
Budget scale
⚠️ still being checked - the FY2024-25 annual report contains no separate financial statements or expenditure figures for the Tribunal; per the same report, CITT's operations are administratively supported by the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada (ATSSC) rather than budgeted and reported as a standalone line in the registered document (AR FY2024-25, fetched this review).
Institutional history
CITT traces its lineage through the Board of Customs (established 1888), its successor the Tariff Board (1931), the Anti-dumping Tribunal (1968), and the Canadian International Trade Tribunal itself, which began operations in 1988; it absorbed the Procurement Review Board in 1994, extending its mandate to federal procurement complaints, with fiscal 2024-25 marking the 30th anniversary of that 1994 integration (AR FY2024-25).
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Canadian International Trade Tribunal - strategy evolution
2026-08-02 / registry: fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body / rev1 lead patch 2026-08-06: availability claims corrected (see Registry status update below); full 26-year rewrite deferred to post-recapture (one of this library's internal records)
TL;DR: ~~Of 26 archived rows, only 8 carry a substantive annual report~~ — corrected 2026-08-06: all 26 years exist and are readable. The 2026-08-05 discovery pass confirmed every year 2000-2025 retrievable at its source (the pre-2010 publications.gc.ca PDFs resolve to a browser-identifying fetcher; the 2011-2017 "stub" captures were the org's HTML landing pages — the full-report PDFs exist on citt-tcce.gc.ca and are now registered and verified, capture queued). What remains true of the vault as of this patch: full text is currently held for only the 8 most recent years (ar-2018 through ar-2025), so the narrative below still draws exclusively on that window until the queued recapture lands and this brief gets its full rewrite. Within the 8-document readable window (2018-2025), the biggest priority addition is a formal, named "strategic priorities" framework appearing for the first time in ar-2024 (economic-analysis capacity, access to justice/EDI, alongside the unchanging "striving for excellence"); the biggest quietly dropped element is the six-year-long COVID-era virtual/paperless-hearing narrative, which disappears once in-person hearings resume in November 2022. The most load-bearing number is FY2024-25's 125% year-over-year jump in trade-remedy decisions and 36% jump in procurement decisions (ar-2025), alongside the Tribunal's first-ever contempt/show-cause order in its history. One open question the record cannot resolve: what long-term effect the FY2023-24-disclosed "delays in appointments and renewals of Tribunal members, coupled with resource constraints" (ar-2024) has on caseload management, since ar-2025 reports record volume without revisiting whether that staffing constraint was resolved.
Backgrounder summary
CITT is a quasi-judicial institution independent of government, constituted under the Canadian International Trade Tribunal Act with the powers of a superior court of record, reporting to Parliament through the Minister of Finance (backgrounder, our research file for that body, citing AR FY2024-25). Its lineage — Board of Customs (1888) → Tariff Board (1931) → Anti-dumping Tribunal (1968) → CITT itself (1988) → absorption of the Procurement Review Board (1994) — is independently re-confirmed and extended below by ar-2025's own "History of the Canadian International Trade Tribunal" timeline (ee99b22bebe9), which additionally supplies two intermediate steps the backgrounder does not name: Canada's first anti-dumping legislation (1904) and the brief Canadian Import Tribunal (1969) / Textile and Clothing Board (1970) predecessors between the Anti-dumping Tribunal and the 1988 CITT merger (this brief relays and separately re-verifies against primary text). The backgrounder's ⚠️ still being checked on standalone budget figures remains unresolved: none of the eight substantive annual reports read for this brief contains separate CITT financial statements or expenditure figures (consistent with the backgrounder's own finding that CITT is administratively supported by the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada, ATSSC, rather than separately budgeted).
Series inventory
_index.json: 8 ok / 7 stub-suspected / 11 no-manifest-match.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2000 | 2000 | annual-report | n/a | failed (no-manifest-match: Wayback-wrapper URL, no matching capture in the archived-copy store manifest — no .txt file exists to read) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2001 | 2001 | annual-report | n/a | failed (no-manifest-match, same pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2002 | 2002 | annual-report | n/a | failed (no-manifest-match, same pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2003 | 2003 | annual-report | n/a | failed (no-manifest-match, same pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2004 | 2004 | annual-report | n/a | failed (no-manifest-match, same pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2005 | 2005 | annual-report | n/a | failed (no-manifest-match, same pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2006 | 2006 | annual-report | n/a | failed (no-manifest-match, same pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2007 | 2007 | annual-report | n/a | failed (no-manifest-match, same pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2008 | 2008 | annual-report | n/a | failed (no-manifest-match, same pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2009 | 2009 | annual-report | n/a | failed (no-manifest-match, same pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2010 | 2010 | annual-report | n/a | failed (no-manifest-match, same pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2011 | 2011 | annual-report | 2bf4b38070d1 | stub-suspected (confirmed: one-paragraph transmittal letter to the Minister only, 2,932 chars, no report body) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2012 | 2012 | annual-report | 86da6d294128 | stub-suspected (confirmed: same transmittal-letter-only pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2013 | 2013 | annual-report | add9604aad9f | stub-suspected (confirmed: same transmittal-letter-only pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2014 | 2014 | annual-report | 81d81181d684 | stub-suspected (confirmed: same transmittal-letter-only pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2015 | 2015 | annual-report | 34cc29999c0a | stub-suspected (confirmed: same transmittal-letter-only pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2016 | 2016 | annual-report | d2f8319d84ab | stub-suspected (confirmed: same transmittal-letter-only pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2017 | 2017 | annual-report | c876678ff9c1 | stub-suspected (confirmed: same transmittal-letter-only pattern) |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2018 | 2018 | annual-report | 5137542f86ee | yes — first substantive Chairperson's message, 4,502 chars |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2019 | 2019 | annual-report | 9b0cd5868914 | yes — substantive Chairperson's message, 5,354 chars |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2020 | 2020 | annual-report | 2ca354ff4b0b | yes — substantive Chairperson's message, 7,345 chars |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2021 | 2021 | annual-report | 1ba772f8e9a7 | yes — substantive Chair's message, 7,762 chars |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2022 | 2022 | annual-report | 35c5906f84f6 | yes — substantive Chairperson message, 8,153 chars |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2023 | 2023 | annual-report | 8be9839a2eef | yes — substantive Chairperson/Vice-chairperson message, 8,454 chars |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2024 | 2024 | annual-report | 27e950e9d8ed | yes — substantive Chairperson/Vice-Chairperson message including named forward strategic priorities, 8,713 chars |
| fed-canadian-international-trade-tribunal-ar-2025 | 2025 | annual-report | ee99b22bebe9 | yes — full report: land acknowledgement, message, "year in numbers," full mandate descriptions, institutional history timeline, member roster, caseload tables, noteworthy-decision case summaries, judicial-review tracking, 69,272 chars |
Registry status update (2026-08-06, lead patch): the table above describes the vault as extracted on 2026-08-05 and remains accurate about captures, but its implied availability claims are superseded: (1) ar-2011 through ar-2017's rows now point at the full-report PDFs on citt-tcce.gc.ca (/sites/default/files/.../annual-report-<fy>.pdf, five of seven content-fetched 2026-08-06, two page-linked from the org's own year pages), archive_status=staged; (2) ar-2000 through ar-2010 were each confirmed readable at their underlying publications.gc.ca URLs by the 2026-08-05 discovery pass (browser-UA fetch; the earlier "no capture" state was a fetcher/interstitial artifact, not a missing document); recapture for all 18 rows is queued in this library's government-document registry No year 2000-2025 is a documentary gap.
Detector explicitly verified across all three status tiers, no disagreement found in either direction. All 11 no-manifest-match rows genuinely have no extracted text file to read (confirming the operator's flagged capture-gap pattern — Wayback-wrapper web.archive.org/web/<ts>id_/https://publications.gc.ca/... URLs with archive_status disagreeing with the actual manifest — matching the Competition Bureau finding banked elsewhere this batch, not an extraction-tool bug). All 7 stub-suspected rows were individually opened and confirmed to be genuine one-paragraph transmittal-letter-only captures (the Chair's cover letter to the Minister of Finance, nothing else) — a real, below-floor thin capture, not a detector miscall. All 8 ok rows were individually opened and confirmed substantive, with content depth visibly growing year over year (4,502 chars in ar-2018 to 69,272 chars in ar-2025 — the last report is roughly 15x the length of the first substantive one, reflecting CITT's own shift toward a fuller public-facing annual report format starting around 2024-25).
Priority evolution
2010-11 through 2016-17 (stub years, 2bf4b38070d1 through c876678ff9c1): No priority content is recoverable — each surviving capture is only the Chair's one-paragraph transmittal letter naming the reporting Chair (Diane Vincent, Acting Chairperson, ar-2011; Stephen A. Leach, Chairperson, ar-2012 through ar-2015; Jean Bédard, Acting Chairperson, ar-2016) and the sitting Minister of Finance (Jim Flaherty through ar-2013; Joe Oliver, ar-2014/ar-2015; William Francis Morneau, ar-2016). No mandate, caseload, or strategic-priority content survives in this window.
2017-18 (ar-2018, 5137542f86ee): First substantive message in the readable set. Names core values for the first time in this window: "Excellence, fairness, transparency and accessibility." Reports active work with the Advisory Committee "to enhance accessibility for small and medium-sized enterprises," and a push toward "an increasingly electronic docket" (e-filing, videoconferencing options).
2018-19 (ar-2019, 9b0cd5868914): The CITT Rules are reported as "modernized" following stakeholder consultation, for "greater efficiencies and cost savings." Names the single biggest event of the year: the Safeguard Inquiry into Certain Steel Goods (referred by the Governor in Council, October 2018; hearings January 2019; final report and recommendations April 2019) — the largest procedural undertaking named in the pre-2020 window.
2019-20 (ar-2020, 2ca354ff4b0b): The Safeguard Inquiry report's release ("landmark") is confirmed as occurring in the first week of the fiscal year. COVID-19 lockdown begins in the final two weeks of the fiscal year; the Tribunal is already "paperless" (per the 2018 Rules) and had begun a pilot electronic registry system, which the report credits with enabling a near-seamless pandemic transition. First disclosure of trade-remedy measure scale: ~$2B in imports, ~$10B in domestic shipments, 34,000 jobs affected.
2020-21 (ar-2021, 1ba772f8e9a7): Full-pandemic-year report. New Chairperson (Frédéric Seppey, effective January 1, 2021) succeeds Jean Bédard. Names the electronic registry system (launched March 2019 under Bédard) as the single infrastructure investment that "greatly facilitated" the transition to virtual work. Reports 14 virtual hearings this year vs. 35 in-person and zero virtual hearings the prior year — the clearest single before/after operational-mode data point in the series. Procurement complaints hit a then-record 102 (vs. 72 the prior year). A new MOU with the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman (signed October 1, 2020) is named for the first time.
2021-22 (ar-2022, 35c5906f84f6): Continued majority-telework operation. Reports procurement decisions reaching "an all-time high, approaching 100 decisions" even as new complaint filings dipped slightly from the prior year's record. Advisory Committee leadership changes (Paul Conlin succeeds Lawrence Herman as Chair, fall 2021). Names Bill C-19 (then before Parliament) as a forward-looking legislative risk that would, if passed, expand union standing to bring dumping/subsidizing complaints — the first explicit forward-looking legislative-change flag in the series.
2022-23 (ar-2023, 8be9839a2eef): Hybrid working model formally adopted; in-person hearings resume November 2022 after "more than two and a half years" of exclusively virtual hearings — the point at which the COVID-era virtual/paperless framing recedes as a headline theme. New Vice-chairperson (Bree Jamieson-Holloway) begins a five-year mandate December 5, 2022; long-serving member Peter Burn's near-eight-year tenure ends January 31, 2023.
2023-24 (ar-2024, 27e950e9d8ed): First appearance of a formally named forward strategic-priorities framework, presented as three headed sections: "Striving for excellence: our core and unchanging priority," "Strengthening economic analysis" (via the Trade Remedies Investigation Branch), and "Access to justice and equity, diversity and inclusion." This is a structural change from prior years' messages, which described activities narratively without a named-and-headed priorities framework. The same report discloses "delays in appointments and renewals of Tribunal members, coupled with resource constraints" as a real capacity strain, alongside missing the 120-day internal appeals-decision service standard. International engagement is named explicitly for the first time (WTO workshop, Geneva, May 2023; Georgetown University International Trade Update, Washington, June 2023).
2024-25 (ar-2025, ee99b22bebe9): The richest document in the series by a wide margin, coinciding with the Tribunal's 30th anniversary of the 1994 Procurement Review Board integration. Reports the Tribunal's first-ever show cause/contempt order and hearing (against T.Co Metals LLC, in expiry review RR-2023-008) — an unprecedented enforcement-power exercise, explicitly named as such. Reports a 125% year-over-year increase in trade-remedy decisions and 36% increase in procurement decisions. Welcomes Elizabeth Whitsitt as the first Tribunal member appointed who resides outside the National Capital Region (effective October 7, 2024) — named as a deliberate step toward geographic diversity. Adds a land acknowledgement as new front matter (not present in any earlier report read) and a "Spotlight on employees" feature (also new) alongside detailed five-year caseload trend tables and named noteworthy-decision case summaries (institutional-entity names only — corporate litigants, not private individuals).
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Added — named, headed strategic-priorities framework: absent from every report through ar-2023; first appears ar-2024 (27e950e9d8ed, "Striving for excellence" / "Strengthening economic analysis" / "Access to justice and equity, diversity and inclusion"), continued implicitly in ar-2025's structure though not re-headed identically.
- Added — electronic registry system: no mention before ar-2020; described there as a "pilot project" being expanded; by ar-2021 it is credited retrospectively as the key 2019-vintage investment that enabled pandemic continuity.
- Added — international engagement as a named theme: absent from ar-2018 through ar-2022; first explicit international-conference detail in ar-2024 (WTO Geneva, Georgetown Washington).
- Added — land acknowledgement as standard front matter: absent from every report through ar-2024; first appears ar-2025 (ee99b22bebe9).
- Quietly dropped — the COVID-era "paperless"/virtual-hearing-mode headline framing: central to ar-2020 through ar-2022's messages; recedes once in-person hearings resume November 2022 (ar-2023) and is absent as a framing device by ar-2024/ar-2025, where hybrid-model language replaces it without further comment on the pandemic itself.
- Renamed/restructured — MOU-based procurement-complaint intake coordination: the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman MOU, new in ar-2021 (October 1, 2020 signing), is still referenced in ar-2025 with specific monetary jurisdictional thresholds ($33,400 for goods, $133,800 for services) not disclosed in the original ar-2021 mention — a maturing, not renamed, initiative.
- Stable throughout the readable window: the Tribunal's core three-mandate framing (trade remedy/anti-dumping inquiries, procurement complaint reviews, customs and excise appeals) is unchanged in every substantive report from ar-2018 through ar-2025; "quasi-judicial," "independent," and "fair, transparent, timely" are recurring self-descriptors in every year read.
Budget & mandate inflection points
- ⚠️ No standalone CITT budget or expenditure figures appear in any of the eight substantive annual reports read — consistent with the backgrounder's own finding that CITT is administratively supported through the Administrative Tribunals Support Service of Canada (ATSSC) rather than separately budgeted (backgrounder; independently confirmed by ar-2025's description of ATSSC's role, ee99b22bebe9).
- 2014 — ATSSC established, per ar-2025's institutional-history timeline (ee99b22bebe9): "Staff and resources associated with the CITT Secretariat were transferred to the new entity while remaining mainly dedicated to the CITT" — a machinery-of-government change affecting how CITT is administratively supported, named there but not elaborated in any of the annual reports from the years immediately surrounding 2014 (none of which survive in readable form; ar-2011 through ar-2017 are all stubs).
- March 2019 — electronic registry system pilot launched (first named ar-2020, retrospectively credited ar-2021) — the clearest single operational-infrastructure inflection point in the readable series, directly enabling the pandemic-era caseload continuity reported in ar-2021/ar-2022.
- October 1, 2020 — MOU with the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman signed (first named ar-2021), later shown (ar-2025) to carry specific monetary-jurisdiction thresholds separating Tribunal jurisdiction from OPO jurisdiction.
- FY2023-24 — Tribunal-member appointment/renewal delays and resource constraints disclosed as actively degrading service-standard performance (ar-2024) — the only explicit capacity-constraint admission in the readable series; ar-2025 does not state whether this was resolved, only that caseload grew substantially regardless.
- FY2024-25 — first-ever contempt/show cause order issued (ar-2025) — a mandate-adjacent inflection in the Tribunal's practical use of its superior-court-equivalent enforcement powers, described there as "an important development in the evolution of the Tribunal's powers and practice."
- Caseload volume, publication-date-bounded: ar-2025 reports FY2024-25 trade remedy decisions up 125% and procurement decisions up 36% year-over-year, and states the number of injury findings in force (52, as of March 31, 2025) will all come up for review within five years, "creat[ing] a cyclical but gradual upward trend pressure on the caseload" going forward — a forward-looking capacity statement, not a superlative claimed to be permanent, and the most recent document in the series, so no later report exists to check it against.
Ontario/Toronto relevance
Indirect. CITT is headquartered in Ottawa (333 Laurier Avenue West, per ar-2025's contact information, ee99b22bebe9) and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance — a federal, National-Capital-Region-based quasi-judicial body with no Ontario- or Toronto-specific mandate, office, or program disclosed in any of the eight readable documents. Its trade-remedy, procurement-review, and customs-appeal decisions affect Canadian industry and businesses nationally, including those based in Ontario and the GTA, but none of the case summaries or caseload data in ar-2025 (the only document with named case detail) identifies a Toronto- or Ontario-specific concentration; the noteworthy decisions read (T.Co Metals, White Bear Industries, Oracle Canada, Fraser River Pile & Dredge, EBC Inc.) involve parties and projects located in British Columbia, Canada-wide federal procurement, and unspecified jurisdictions, not Toronto specifically. Ontario/Toronto relevance here is best described as general economic-policy relevance (national trade-remedy and procurement-fairness jurisdiction touching Ontario businesses like every other province) rather than any documented direct presence.
Residuals & gaps
- [SUPERSEDED 2026-08-06 — see Registry status update above] The original bullets here claimed 11 rows had "no captured content" and 7 more were irrecoverable stubs, and an earlier TL;DR characterized this as "18 of 26 years unusable." That characterization was wrong as a statement about the documents: all 26 years exist and are readable at source; what was missing was working captures. The 18 affected rows are re-registered/verified with recapture queued (Mac worklist, 2026-08-06). Kept for the version record rather than silently deleted.
- This brief's evolution narrative still rests on an 8-fiscal-year window (2017-18 through 2024-25) — the only years with full text in this archive as of this patch. The full 26-year rewrite is the named next step for this org once recapture lands (one of this library's internal records assigns it to a post-capture session); until then, CITT's pre-2018 history is known here only through ar-2025's own retrospective institutional-history timeline.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: whether the FY2023-24-disclosed member-appointment/renewal delays and resource constraints (ar-2024) were resolved before the FY2024-25 caseload surge (ar-2025) — ar-2025 reports the surge but does not revisit the staffing-constraint question.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: standalone CITT budget/expenditure figures — not disclosed in any document in this archived series; would require a source outside CITT's own annual reports (e.g., ATSSC's or Finance Canada's own financial disclosures) to establish, per the backgrounder's own unresolved flag.