Environment and Climate Change Canada
newsroom/FOI referenced from homepage but no distinct verified URL fetched
Current this library's internal records: Environment and Climate Change Canada's 2026-27 Departmental plan (2027)
Completeness
- Document shelf: 13 rows (13 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 13 of 13 row(s) audited, all clean
- Last verified: 2026-08-03 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data
- API: not yet verified
- RSS: not yet verified
- Newsroom
- FOI / access requests: not yet verified
Document shelf (13 rows)
| Year | Type | Title | Archive status | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2027 | Departmental plan | Departmental Plan 2026-27 — Environment and Climate Change Canada | archived | |
| 2026 | Departmental plan | Departmental Plan 2025-26 — Environment and Climate Change Canada | archived | |
| 2025 | Departmental plan | Departmental Plan 2024-25 — Environment and Climate Change Canada | archived | |
| 2025 | Departmental results report | Departmental Results Report 2024-2025 — Environment and Climate Change Canada | archived | |
| 2024 | Departmental plan | Departmental Plan 2023-24 — Environment and Climate Change Canada | archived | |
| 2024 | Departmental results report | Departmental Results Report 2023-24 — Environment and Climate Change Canada | archived | |
| 2023 | Departmental plan | 2022-23 Departmental Plan — Environment and Climate Change Canada | archived | ⚠️ still being checked — the fetch failed on 2026-07-30; ⚠️ still being checked — the fetch failed on 2026-07-31; ⚠️ still being checked — the fetch failed on 2026-08-01; ⚠️ still being checked — the fetch failed on 2026-08-02 |
| 2023 | Departmental results report | Departmental Results Report 2022-2023 — Environment and Climate Change Canada | archived | |
| 2022 | Departmental plan | missing — searched, not found | archived | |
| 2022 | Other | Report 5—Carbon Pricing—Environment and Climate Change Canada | archived | ⚠️ still being checked — the fetch failed on 2026-08-01; ⚠️ still being checked — the fetch failed on 2026-08-02 |
| 2022 | Departmental results report | Departmental Results Report 2021-2022 — Environment and Climate Change Canada | archived | |
| 2021 | Departmental plan | missing — searched, not found | archived | |
| 2021 | Departmental results report | Departmental Results Report 2020-2021 — Environment and Climate Change Canada | archived |
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Environment and Climate Change Canada - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: fed-environment-climate-change-canada (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) operates under the legal name "Department of the Environment," established by s.2(1) of the Department of the Environment Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. E-10: "a department of the Government of Canada ... over which the Minister of the Environment appointed by commission under the Great Seal shall preside" (https://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/e-10/page-1.html, fetched and verified; registry row fed-environment-climate-change-canada).
Roles, responsibilities & scope
Section 4(1) extends the Minister's authority to preservation and enhancement of environmental quality (water, air, soil), renewable resources including migratory birds and wildlife, water, and meteorology; s.5 requires the Minister to initiate programs on environmental-quality objectives/standards, pollution control, and environmental assessment of federal projects (same source).
Governance & reporting line
A federal department (Financial Administration Act Schedule I), headed by the Minister of the Environment, Climate Change and Nature who presides per s.2(1) of the Act, with a Deputy Minister as deputy head managing operations and reporting to the Minister, who is accountable to Parliament (https://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/e-10/page-1.html, fetched).
Budget scale
~$3.13B planned spending for 2025-26 ($3,127,271,128 including internal services), per Environment and Climate Change Canada's 2025-26 Departmental Plan at a glance (canada.ca/en/environment-climate-change/corporate/transparency/priorities-management/departmental-plans/2025-2026/dp-at-glance.html, WebSearch-confirmed). 2026-27 figure: ⚠️ not yet confirmed against an original source (registry's cited 2026-27 plan URL was not independently fetched for the exact total).
Institutional history
Originally created in 1971 as the Department of the Environment; renamed Environment Canada in 1993 and Environment and Climate Change Canada in 2015, while its governing statute (R.S.C. 1985, c. E-10) retains the legal short title "Department of the Environment Act" (https://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/e-10/page-1.html, fetched, short title; founding-year detail via WebSearch corroboration, not independently fetched from a primary ECCC history page this review — ⚠️ still being checked exact founding instrument citation).
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Environment and Climate Change Canada - strategy evolution
2026-08-02 / registry: fed-environment-climate-change-canada / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: The archived series spans 2020-21 through the 2026-27 plan and captures a full policy-cycle arc: an expansion phase (2020-2024) building out the Net-Zero Emissions Accountability Act, an enhanced 40-45%-by-2030 target, the 2030 Emissions Reduction Plan, Enhanced Nature Legacy, and a proposed oil-and-gas emissions cap, followed by an abrupt contraction beginning in the 2024-25 results report. The single biggest change in the whole record is the March 2025 decision to zero out and then formally cease the consumer-facing federal fuel charge effective April 1, 2025 — refocusing carbon pricing on industrial emitters only — reported alongside a change of minister (Guilbeault to Dabrusin) and "significant transformation" language. The most quietly dropped element is the 25%-by-2025/30%-by-2030 land-and-water conservation framing and the Enhanced Nature Legacy funding line, both sunsetting without a stated replacement target in the 2026-27 plan. The most load-bearing number is the spending cliff from $3,203.4 million (2025-26 actual) to $1,711.7 million planned for 2026-27 — a decline the department attributes mainly to the wind-down of statutory fuel-charge-proceeds pass-through funding and the sunsetting Enhanced Nature Legacy initiative, with a named Comprehensive Expenditure Review (CER) of $236.8M-$282.6M (2026-27 through 2028-29) layered on top. One open question the archived series cannot resolve: what happens to ECCC's post-2030 climate targets and industrial carbon-pricing trajectory once the Climate Competitiveness Strategy (announced Budget 2025) is fully implemented — the 2026-27 plan describes the strategy's direction but its concrete post-2030 targets are not yet finalized in the record.
Backgrounder summary
ECCC (legal name "Department of the Environment") operates under the Department of the Environment Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. E-10, headed by the Minister of the Environment (now titled Minister of Environment and Climate Change, formerly the Minister of Environment, Climate Change and Nature per the backgrounder's citation of s.2(1)), with authority extending to water, air, soil, wildlife, and meteorology, and a statutory duty to develop environmental-quality standards, pollution control, and environmental assessment programs. It is a Financial Administration Act Schedule I department. The backgrounder's cited budget scale (~$3.13B planned for 2025-26, $3,127,271,128 including internal services) is independently re-confirmed below against dp-2026 (58db6f291c2e) (this brief relays, and separately re-verifies, rather than asserting independent discovery). The backgrounder's institutional-history note (renamed Environment Canada in 1993, Environment and Climate Change Canada in 2015) is not contradicted by anything read in this review; none of the nine archived documents provide an independent founding-date citation beyond what the backgrounder already states.
Series inventory
_index.json: 9 ok / 0 stub-suspected / 0 extract-failed. All nine documents read in full or, for the largest, read completely across paginated passes plus targeted searches for spending tables and named policy changes; no stub-suspected or extract-failed calls to evaluate for this org — a clean, fully usable set.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| fed-environment-climate-change-canada-dp-2024 | 2024 | departmental-plan | bd3229c4a7b4 | yes — full 2023-24 Departmental Plan, 230,658 chars, substantive |
| fed-environment-climate-change-canada-dp-2025 | 2025 | departmental-plan | 3ce880ff46ed | yes — full 2024-25 Departmental Plan, 221,875 chars, substantive |
| fed-environment-climate-change-canada-dp-2026 | 2026 | departmental-plan | 58db6f291c2e | yes — full 2025-26 Departmental Plan, 171,471 chars, substantive |
| fed-environment-climate-change-canada-dp-2027 | 2027 | departmental-plan | e94429a9e0f2 | yes — full 2026-27 Departmental Plan, 127,631 chars, substantive |
| fed-environment-climate-change-canada-drr-2021 | 2021 | results-report | 89791ff7435f | yes — full 2020-21 Departmental Results Report, 203,404 chars, substantive |
| fed-environment-climate-change-canada-drr-2022 | 2022 | results-report | 41cf4ebac109 | yes — full 2021-22 Departmental Results Report, 227,165 chars, substantive |
| fed-environment-climate-change-canada-drr-2023 | 2023 | results-report | 64964f8fb703 | yes — full 2022-23 Departmental Results Report, 276,924 chars, substantive |
| fed-environment-climate-change-canada-drr-2024 | 2024 | results-report | b6068ce2a021 | yes — full 2023-24 Departmental Results Report, 220,209 chars, substantive |
| fed-environment-climate-change-canada-drr-2025 | 2025 | results-report | d1fd52f0940f | yes — full 2024-25 Departmental Results Report, 234,191 chars, substantive |
| fed-environment-climate-change-canada-oth-2022 | 2022 | other | 158e95ad9c56 | yes — full OAG "Report 5—Carbon Pricing" web summary, 6,012 chars, substantive |
No detector disagreements to report for this org: _index.json classified all nine documents (four departmental plans, five results/audit reports) as ok, and reading confirmed every document contains real, substantive report content — none were interstitials, redirects, or truncated captures.
Priority evolution
2020-21 (drr-2021, 89791ff7435f), COVID-era baseline: Minister Steven Guilbeault frames the year around implementing the Pan-Canadian Framework and December 2020's strengthened climate plan, A Healthy Environment and a Healthy Economy (64 new measures, $15B). The Canadian Net-Zero Emissions Accountability Act (Bill C-12) is tabled but not yet law; a Net-Zero Advisory Body is announced. The federal carbon-pricing backstop is in force in all provinces/territories as of 2019. Nature policy centres on the $1.3B Nature Legacy initiative (Budget 2018) toward a 25%-by-2025/30%-by-2030 land-and-inland-water conservation target. Total 2020-21 actual departmental spending: $1,746.8 million (against $1,983.0 million planned) (89791ff7435f).
2021-22 (drr-2022, 41cf4ebac109): The Net-Zero Emissions Accountability Act receives Royal Assent (June 29, 2021); Canada's Nationally Determined Contribution is enhanced to 40-45% below 2005 levels by 2030 (from the prior 30% target implicit in the 2020 plan). The Net-Zero Advisory Body is formally appointed (Feb 2022) and issues its first advice. Budget 2021 adds $2.3B to Nature Legacy (branded "Enhanced Nature Legacy") plus $340M for Indigenous-led conservation. Total actual spending: $1,712.9 million (against $1,699.1 million planned) (41cf4ebac109).
2022-23 (drr-2023, 64964f8fb703): The 2030 Emissions Reduction Plan ("Clean Air, Strong Economy") is released March 29, 2022, the first ERP under the new Act, with $9.1B in new investments and a sector-by-sector roadmap; a proposed 20%/60%/100% ZEV sales-mandate trajectory (2026/2030/2035) is published. Canada hosts COP15 in Montreal (Dec 2022), producing the Kunming-Montreal Global Biodiversity Framework (30%-by-2030 global target) and an $800M Indigenous-led conservation commitment. Bill S-5 (CEPA modernization, right to a healthy environment) receives Royal Assent June 13, 2023. Total actual spending: $1,929.7 million against Total authorities of $2,238.2 million (64964f8fb703).
Auditor General, oth-2022 (158e95ad9c56), Report 5 - Carbon Pricing (tabled April 26, 2022): Found ECCC ensured carbon pricing was in place in all provinces/territories by 2019 but had set weak minimum requirements for large-emitter programs, reducing the federal carbon price's effectiveness; ECCC strengthened those criteria in August 2021, after the audit period. The audit also found ECCC had not established criteria requiring jurisdictions to assess or mitigate carbon pricing's disproportionate burden on vulnerable groups and Indigenous peoples, and that public information for comparing provincial/territorial systems against the federal benchmark was limited. Recommendations centred on minimum performance standards, cost alignment, and burden assessment (158e95ad9c56).
2023-24 (drr-2024, b6068ce2a021): First appearance of Budget 2023 "Refocusing Government Spending" reductions as an explicit constraint on planned spending (a smaller, earlier restraint exercise than the CER that follows in dp-2027). ECCC publishes the proposed Regulatory Framework for an Oil and Gas Sector Greenhouse Gas Emissions Cap (Dec 2023) — a national cap-and-trade proposal under CEPA, following the COP26 (2021) commitment. The first ERP Progress Report (Dec 2023) projects Canada exceeding its 2026 interim 20%-below-2005 objective. Canada's first National Adaptation Strategy is published. Total actual net spending: $2,362.1 million (b6068ce2a021).
2024-25 (dp-2025, 3ce880ff46ed), last Guilbeault-era plan: Still framed entirely in expansion terms — "prioritizing efforts to rapidly reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 2030," Canada Water Agency establishment, Freshwater Action Plan, 2030 National Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan. No mention of expenditure restraint beyond the already-known Budget 2023 reductions; no fuel-charge change signalled (3ce880ff46ed).
2024-25 results (drr-2025, d1fd52f0940f), the inflection point: The Minister's introduction is now Julie Dabrusin, not Guilbeault, opening with: "The 2024-2025 fiscal year was a period of significant transformation... Canada's new government has adopted a renewed approach—strengthening... alliances, investing in a resilient and prosperous Canada, exercising fiscal prudence." In March 2025, the Government of Canada made regulations that ceased the application of the federal fuel charge, effective April 1, 2025, and removed the requirement for provinces/territories to maintain a consumer-facing carbon price, explicitly "refocus[ing] federal carbon pollution pricing on industrial emissions." Consequential amendments were made to the Output-Based Pricing System regulations in response to setting fuel-charge rates to $0 in March 2025. A Fuel Charge Proceeds Fund for Indigenous Governments was launched to return $531.49 million in previously collected proceeds. Total actual spending (including internal services): $2,965,768,499; 8,803 FTEs (d1fd52f0940f).
2025-26 (dp-2026, 58db6f291c2e), transition-year plan: Minister Dabrusin's introduction still cites an ambitious new target — 45-50% below 2005 levels by 2035 — with no Comprehensive Expenditure Review language present anywhere in this plan. Total planned spending: $3,127,271,128 (matches the backgrounder's cited figure exactly), rising from the 2024-25 actual, driven largely by one-time statutory items (Fuel Charge Proceeds return to Indigenous governments, a one-time Northwest Territories Indigenous-led conservation payment) rather than new programming (58db6f291c2e).
2026-27 (dp-2027, e94429a9e0f2), the deregulation/restraint plan: The four "key priorities" are reframed around competitiveness and permitting speed rather than emissions reduction as the lead frame: "Accelerate clean growth and climate action through a new approach to climate policy that supports regionally responsive implementation, enhances Canada's competitiveness..."; "Support the timely delivery of major project approvals while reducing regulatory burden." A named Comprehensive Expenditure Review appears for the first time, with ECCC's own disclosed reduction figures: $236,774,916 (2026-27), $244,390,919 (2027-28), $282,647,000 (2028-29), tied to an anticipated ~837-FTE reduction by 2028-29, delivered via "Reducing the Low Carbon Economy Fund," "Aligning nature funding for better overall results," and "Focusing ECCC activities and reducing duplication." A new "Climate Competitiveness Strategy" (announced Budget 2025) becomes the organizing frame for carbon-pricing policy, alongside advancing permitting reform "particularly for Projects of National Interest." Total planned spending falls to $1,711,705,773 (7,868 planned FTEs), down from $3,203,422,202 actual/forecast the prior year (e94429a9e0f2).
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Added — Net-Zero Emissions Accountability Act framework: tabled as Bill C-12 in drr-2021 (89791ff7435f); Royal Assent and full operationalization (Net-Zero Advisory Body, 5-year target-setting cycle) in drr-2022 (41cf4ebac109).
- Added — enhanced 2030 target (40-45% below 2005): first appears drr-2022 (41cf4ebac109), operationalized via the 2030 Emissions Reduction Plan in drr-2023 (64964f8fb703).
- Added — oil-and-gas sector emissions cap: announced as a COP26 (2021) commitment, first concrete regulatory proposal published in drr-2024 (b6068ce2a021, Dec 2023 proposed framework); still under "continued consultations" per drr-2025 (d1fd52f0940f) with no finalized regulation reported anywhere in the archived series.
- Added — CEPA modernization / right to a healthy environment: Bill S-5 Royal Assent reported in drr-2023 (64964f8fb703); implementation-framework consultations continuing through dp-2027 (e94429a9e0f2).
- Added — Canada Water Agency: first named as under development in dp-2024 (bd3229c4a7b4); established and delivering by drr-2025 (d1fd52f0940f).
- Added — Climate Competitiveness Strategy: first appears dp-2027 (e94429a9e0f2), described as announced in Budget 2025; supersedes the ERP-centred framing of 2022-2024 as the lead organizing concept for climate policy.
- Added — Comprehensive Expenditure Review (CER): absent from dp-2026 (58db6f291c2e, the 2025-26 plan); first named and quantified in dp-2027 (e94429a9e0f2, the 2026-27 plan) — a distinct, later, and much larger exercise than the Budget 2023 "Refocusing Government Spending" reductions first seen in drr-2024 (b6068ce2a021).
- Dropped/reversed — consumer-facing federal fuel charge: in force nationally since 2019 (per drr-2021, 89791ff7435f) through 2024-25; regulations ceasing its application effective April 1, 2025 are reported in drr-2025 (d1fd52f0940f) — the single largest reversal in the archived series, explicitly reframing carbon pricing as industrial-only going forward.
- Quietly winding down — Enhanced Nature Legacy / 25%-by-2025 conservation target: prominent from drr-2022 (41cf4ebac109) through drr-2025 (d1fd52f0940f); named as a sunsetting initiative without a stated replacement target in dp-2027 (e94429a9e0f2), even as "Canada's 2030 Nature Strategy" continues to be referenced as the ongoing biodiversity-framework vehicle.
- Renamed — lead climate-policy vehicle: Pan-Canadian Framework (2016) → Strengthened Climate Plan (Dec 2020, drr-2021) → 2030 Emissions Reduction Plan (March 2022, drr-2023) → Climate Competitiveness Strategy (Budget 2025, dp-2027) — four successive framing documents across the series, each described as building on its predecessor rather than replacing it outright, until the 2026-27 plan's more overt pivot toward competitiveness/deregulation language.
- Ministerial change: Steven Guilbeault (Minister of Environment and Climate Change) presides over every document from drr-2021 through dp-2025; Julie Dabrusin is named Minister from drr-2025 onward — the archived series does not state an exact transition date, only that the change had occurred by the time drr-2025 was tabled.
Budget & mandate inflection points
- June 29, 2021 — Canadian Net-Zero Emissions Accountability Act receives Royal Assent (41cf4ebac109).
- March 29, 2022 — 2030 Emissions Reduction Plan released, $9.1B in new investments (41cf4ebac109; bd3229c4a7b4).
- April 26, 2022 — OAG Report 5 tabled, finding weak large-emitter carbon-pricing requirements and an unaddressed disproportionate burden on vulnerable groups/Indigenous peoples (158e95ad9c56).
- December 2022 — COP15 hosted in Montreal; Kunming-Montreal Global Biodiversity Framework agreed, plus $800M Indigenous-led conservation commitment (64964f8fb703).
- June 13, 2023 — Bill S-5 (CEPA modernization) Royal Assent (64964f8fb703).
- Budget 2023 — "Refocusing Government Spending" reductions first appear as a constraint on ECCC's planned spending, reported in drr-2024 (b6068ce2a021) — smaller and earlier than the later CER.
- December 2023 — Proposed Regulatory Framework for an Oil and Gas Sector Greenhouse Gas Emissions Cap released (b6068ce2a021).
- March 2025 — Government of Canada sets the federal fuel charge to $0 and makes regulations ceasing its application effective April 1, 2025, ending the consumer-facing carbon price and refocusing pricing on industrial emitters (d1fd52f0940f).
- Budget 2025 — Climate Competitiveness Strategy announced (e94429a9e0f2); Comprehensive Expenditure Review approved, requiring ECCC reductions of $236.8M (2026-27) rising to $282.6M (2028-29) and ~837 FTEs by 2028-29 (e94429a9e0f2).
- 2025-26 → 2026-27 — departmental total planned/actual spending falls from $3,203.4 million to $1,711.7 million, the largest single-year drop in the archived series, attributed by ECCC mainly to the statutory wind-down of fuel-charge-proceeds pass-through funding (proceeds must be fully returned by March 31, 2026) and the sunsetting Enhanced Nature Legacy initiative, with CER cuts layered on top (e94429a9e0f2) — ⚠️ Still being checked: the record does not disaggregate exactly how much of this decline is the mechanical unwinding of a pass-through fund (money the department never owned, only routed to recipients) versus a genuine reduction in program scope.
Ontario/Toronto relevance
ECCC's mandate and every core responsibility in this series (climate, pollution, nature, weather) are national in scope; the archived documents name Ontario-specific programming repeatedly but describe it as one jurisdiction among many rather than a distinct Toronto-focused mandate. Direct Ontario mentions include the Canada-Ontario Agreement on Great Lakes Water Quality and Ecosystem Health (renewed in drr-2021, 89791ff7435f), Hamilton Harbour Area of Concern remediation work with the City of Hamilton, City of Burlington, and Halton Region (89791ff7435f), and Great Lakes Protection Initiative funding for projects in the Thunder Bay area. A single Toronto-specific line item appears in drr-2021: up to $1.1 million from the Low Carbon Economy Challenge's Champions stream to support the City of Toronto in reducing emissions from its ambulance and emergency paramedic response fleet (89791ff7435f) — a direct, if minor, municipal funding relationship. No later document in the series (drr-2022 through dp-2027) names a comparable Toronto-specific initiative; Ontario/Toronto relevance for the balance of the series is indirect, running through ECCC's national regulatory functions (air/water quality standards, carbon pricing, species-at-risk enforcement) that apply within Ontario and the GTA as they do nationally, rather than through documented Toronto-targeted programming.
Residuals & gaps
- No stub-suspected or extract-failed documents in this set — all nine DP/DRR documents plus the one OAG report were read as substantive, real content;
_index.json's "ok" calls are confirmed correct across the board, with no detector disagreements to report in either direction. - Post-2030 target and Climate Competitiveness Strategy specifics remain unresolved: dp-2027 (e94429a9e0f2) describes the Strategy's direction (improving industrial carbon-pricing effectiveness, a "post-2030 carbon pricing trajectory that targets net-zero by 2050") but does not state a finalized post-2030 numeric target within the archived text — ⚠️ still being checked against a later Departmental Plan not yet in this archive.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: exact date of the Guilbeault-to-Dabrusin ministerial transition — the archived series brackets it (last named as Guilbeault in dp-2025, tabled for 2024-25; first named as Dabrusin in drr-2025, reporting on 2024-25) but does not itself state a transition date.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: precise dollar/percentage breakdown of how much of the 2025-26→2026-27 spending decline (~$1.49 billion) is attributable to (a) the mechanical wind-down of fuel-charge-proceeds pass-through funding now that the underlying charge has ceased, versus (b) genuine program cuts (Enhanced Nature Legacy sunsetting, Low Carbon Economy Fund reductions) versus (c) the named CER reductions — dp-2027 lists these as concurrent factors without a reconciling breakdown (e94429a9e0f2).
- ⚠️ Still being checked: final disposition of the proposed Oil and Gas Sector Greenhouse Gas Emissions Cap — last described in drr-2025 (d1fd52f0940f) as still under "continued consultations," with no finalized regulation reported anywhere in this archived series through the 2026-27 plan.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: outcome/current status of the OAG's 2022 recommendations on large-emitter minimum standards and the disproportionate-burden assessment (158e95ad9c56) — no later document in this series references a formal OAG follow-up or status update on that specific 2022 audit.
- The Departmental Plans and Departmental Results Reports in this set follow two different Treasury Board reporting templates (older narrative-heavy format through drr-2023/dp-2025; newer table-heavy "Progress on results" format from drr-2024/dp-2026 onward), which affects section structure but not the substance read for this brief.