Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital
independent non-profit hospital corp; OH funding/oversight parent per v1.6
Completeness
- Document shelf: 9 rows (9 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 9 of 9 row(s) audited, all clean
- Last verified: 2026-08-01 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: checked — none found
- API: checked — none found
- RSS: checked — none found
- Newsroom
- FOI / access requests: checked — none found
Document shelf (9 rows)
| Year | Type | Title | Archive status | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Annual report | Holland Bloorview Impact Report 2025 | archived | |
| 2025 | Financial statements | Holland Bloorview Audited Financial Statements Mar 31 2025 | archived | |
| 2024 | Annual report | Holland Bloorview Impact Report 2023-2024 | archived | |
| 2024 | Financial statements | Holland Bloorview Audited Financial Statements Mar 31 2024 | archived | |
| 2023 | Annual report | Holland Bloorview Impact Report 2022-2023 | archived | |
| 2023 | Financial statements | Holland Bloorview Audited Financial Statements Mar 31 2023 | archived | |
| 2022 | Annual report | Holland Bloorview Impact Report 2021-2022 | archived | |
| 2022 | Financial statements | Holland Bloorview Audited Financial Statements Mar 31 2022 | archived | |
| 2020 | Annual report | Holland Bloorview Impact Report 2019-2020 | archived |
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: hosp-holland-bloorview (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
Holland Bloorview operates as an approved public hospital under the Public Hospitals Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.40, which requires an approved governing board and empowers the Minister of Health to issue binding directives and set funding conditions (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/90p40, verified 2026-07-30). Its own audited financial statements confirm it "was incorporated without share capital under the laws of Ontario" and is funded "under the Health Insurance Act (Ontario) and the Local Health System Integration Act 2006... primarily by the Province of Ontario through the Ministry of Health" (Holland Bloorview Audited Financial Statements, year ended March 31, 2025, document id hosp-holland-bloorview-fs-2025, https://hollandbloorview.ca/sites/default/files/2025-07/2025-03-31-Holland-Bloorview-Kids-22420-AUD-PSAS-signed.pdf).
Roles, responsibilities & scope
Holland Bloorview is described in its own audited financial statements as "Canada's largest children's rehabilitation teaching hospital, fully affiliated with the University of Toronto" (document id hosp-holland-bloorview-fs-2025). It reported "Client services and other" revenue of $21.1M alongside provincial funding, indicating a mixed clinical/rehabilitation service base for children and youth (document id hosp-holland-bloorview-fs-2025).
Governance & reporting line
Holland Bloorview is governed by a Board of Directors: its FY2025 audited financial statements are "Approved by the Board of Directors" (document id hosp-holland-bloorview-fs-2025). The hospital reports a dual structure alongside the separately incorporated Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital Foundation (https://hollandbloorview.ca/about-us/publications-financials, fetched 2026-07-30). Per the registry, Ontario Health (on-ontario-health) is listed as the funding/oversight parent for this independent, non-profit hospital corporation (registry row hosp-holland-bloorview).
Budget scale
~$150.1M total revenue against ~$150.4M total expenses for the year ended March 31, 2025 (a deficiency of $718,659 before amortization/endowment adjustments), of which $102.9M came from the Province of Ontario (Holland Bloorview Audited Financial Statements FY2025, document id hosp-holland-bloorview-fs-2025).
Institutional history
The institution traces to 1899, when "a group of community-minded women who met in Toronto" founded a "Home for Incurable Children"; it operated as the Ontario Crippled Children's Centre (1957 to the mid-1980s), then Bloorview MacMillan Children's Centre (the "MacMillan" name added in 1985 to honour Dr. Hugh MacMillan), before adopting the Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital name (after donors Susanne and Bill Holland) and relocating to its current 150 Kilgour Road site in 2006 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holland_Bloorview_Kids_Rehabilitation_Hospital, fetched via r.jina.ai 2026-07-30). ⚠️ Still being checked: exact year of the Holland Bloorview name change and whether it constituted a formal corporate merger of Bloorview and MacMillan entities were not confirmed against a primary hospital source this review.
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital - strategy evolution
2026-08-01 (rolling continuation) / registry: hosp-holland-bloorview / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: The biggest addition, visible only in the truncated FY2025-26 impact-report fragment, is a "learning health system" framing tied to data/AI/technology plus new truth-and-reconciliation commitments (land acknowledgement, accessible smudging spaces) absent from earlier reports. The most consequential quiet change is that two of the five archived "annual-report" documents (ar-2023, ar-2024) turn out on direct reading to be narrow Client and Family Relations bulletins, not hospital-wide reports — leaving no genuine org-wide narrative for FY2022-23 or FY2023-24. The most load-bearing number is FY2024-25 revenue of $150,123,940 against $150,351,696 in expenses — the series' first deficit, $(718,659), after three consecutive surplus years. One open question the record cannot resolve: the exact date and reason the hospital's governing board was renamed from "Board of Trustees" to "Board of Directors," bracketed only between two fiscal-year filings with no explanation in either.
Backgrounder summary
Holland Bloorview operates as an approved public hospital under the Public Hospitals Act (Ontario), funded primarily by the Province of Ontario through the Ministry of Health under the Health Insurance Act (Ontario) and the Local Health System Integration Act, 2006; per the registry, Ontario Health is the funding/oversight parent. The hospital describes itself as "Canada's largest children's rehabilitation teaching hospital, fully affiliated with the University of Toronto," delivering a mixed clinical/rehabilitation/this library's internal records mandate for children and youth with disabilities. It is governed by a Board of Directors and reports a dual structure alongside the separately incorporated Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital Foundation. Budget scale per the backgrounder: ~$150.1M total revenue against ~$150.4M total expenses for the year ended March 31, 2025 (a deficiency of $718,659), of which $102.9M came from the Province of Ontario. Institutional history traces to an 1899 "Home for Incurable Children," through Ontario Crippled Children's Centre and Bloorview MacMillan Children's Centre, to the Holland Bloorview name and the current 150 Kilgour Road, Toronto site (occupied since 2006); the backgrounder flags the exact year/mechanics of the Holland Bloorview name change as unconfirmed against a primary hospital source.
Series inventory
All 9 registered documents extracted with real, non-stub text (100% technical extraction success) — but true usable-as-labeled content is lower. Two of the five "annual-report"-type documents (ar-2023, ar-2024) are genuine, complete PDFs, yet their actual content is not an organization-wide annual/impact report: it is the "Client and Family Relations Annual Report" for FY2022-23 and FY2023-24 respectively — a narrow, 2-4 page departmental feedback bulletin (compliments/concerns/quality-improvement data), filed in the registry under the general "Holland Bloorview Impact Report" title even though their own source URLs are literally named CFR-annual-report-*.pdf. A third annual-report document, ar-2025, is a genuine org-wide impact-report webpage but the capture is truncated mid-page by what appears to be unrendered JavaScript content (see Residuals & gaps). The four financial-statement filings (fs-2022 through fs-2025) are complete KPMG-audited statements with full notes. Net: 6 of 9 documents (67%) are fully usable for hospital-wide priority/budget analysis (ar-2020, ar-2022, fs-2022, fs-2023, fs-2024, fs-2025); 1 more (ar-2025) is partially usable; 2 (ar-2023, ar-2024) are real but off-target content, usable only for a narrow client-relations lens, not for hospital-wide strategy claims.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| hosp-holland-bloorview-ar-2020 | 2020 | annual-report | c1f0913f5fee | yes — full org-wide Impact Report (FY2019-20) |
| hosp-holland-bloorview-ar-2022 | 2022 | annual-report | 9338b50cdf59 | yes — full org-wide Impact Report (FY2021-22) |
| hosp-holland-bloorview-ar-2023 | 2023 | annual-report | 4384fd333c6d | yes, but wrong document: this is the Client and Family Relations Annual Report (FY2022-23), not an org-wide annual/impact report despite the registry title |
| hosp-holland-bloorview-ar-2024 | 2024 | annual-report | 8ca470023b56 | yes, but wrong document (same CFR mismatch, FY2023-24); one internal chart ("concern themes") referenced in the text was not captured as extractable text |
| hosp-holland-bloorview-ar-2025 | 2025 | annual-report | 766e242e3faa | yes, but truncated — JS-rendered impact-report page cuts off partway through "By the numbers," with un-rendered placeholder counters |
| hosp-holland-bloorview-fs-2022 | 2022 | financials | 52592b48ebeb | yes — full audited financial statements incl. all notes |
| hosp-holland-bloorview-fs-2023 | 2023 | financials | 3df8c65065a9 | yes — full audited financial statements incl. all notes |
| hosp-holland-bloorview-fs-2024 | 2024 | financials | 9166d0fabf42 | yes — full audited financial statements incl. all notes |
| hosp-holland-bloorview-fs-2025 | 2025 | financials | 87d54cc09e70 | yes — full audited financial statements incl. all notes |
Priority evolution
FY2019-20 (ar-2020, c1f0913f5fee): Published under the COVID-19 pandemic's onset, the impact report frames the hospital's mission as "the most meaningful and healthy futures for all children, youth and families," centred on client- and family-centred care, equity/inclusion ("eliminating stigma aimed at kids and youth with disabilities"), and academic identity as "a top 40 Canadian research hospital... fully affiliated with the University of Toronto." Pandemic response appears as an emergent, not yet named, priority: 1,836 virtual appointments in March-April 2020 versus 1,234 in the prior 10 months combined, with a stated intent to "continue to increase access to virtual care post-pandemic." Capital/research expansion is signalled through the completion of an MRI suite ("another global first for Holland Bloorview") and "the launch of expansion plans for the Bloorview Research Institute." A youth-employment transitions strategy is named via the first Toronto cohort of Project SEARCH, delivered with UHN Toronto Rehab, Community Living Toronto, the Toronto District School Board, and United Way Greater Toronto. The Hospital's own governing body is styled "Board of Trustees" in this document's signature block (Dr. William Onuwa, chair), distinct from the separately incorporated Foundation's "Board of Directors" (Neil Selfe, chair).
FY2021-22 (ar-2022, 9338b50cdf59; fs-2022, 52592b48ebeb): The impact report ("Here, Together") frames the year around continued pandemic adaptation and a newly explicit public-health-system role: the hospital hosted 13 vaccine clinics, administered 1,339 doses, and vaccinated 844 clients, and for the first time in its history admitted adult rehabilitation clients to support the broader health system during COVID-19 (ar-2022). A new equity-focused priority appears that is absent from ar-2020: an employee survey examining "systemic and structural racism and oppression" in healthcare, explicitly including at Holland Bloorview, feeding a "Building a more inclusive world" program area alongside Project Inclusion (a disability-inclusion learning resource co-developed with 300+ stakeholders) (ar-2022). The Bloorview Research Institute expansion named as a "launch" in ar-2020 reaches groundbreaking, with the Foundation's three-year, $32M "Grow Holland Bloorview Research" campaign goal met (ar-2022); Note 10 of fs-2022 corroborates this financially, disclosing the Foundation's commitment "to $11,000,000 in donations over the next 10 years to fund the Bloorview Research Institute growth strategy which includes the building expansion." Financially, fs-2022 records Province of Ontario revenue of $68,441,962 (down from $73,272,317 in FY2021, per fs-2022's own comparative column) against total revenue of $104,092,672 and total expenses of $103,442,544, an excess of revenue over expenses of $300,212 (fs-2022). Fs-2022 also discloses a new revolving-term-loan credit facility signed with a chartered bank ($2M operating line, $16M revolving term loan, $16M non-revolving takeout loan through December 2027), with $6,269,222 drawn by year-end (fs-2022, Note 6) — the series' first appearance of hospital-level bank debt. COVID-19 pandemic funding is still being actively reconciled and disclosed in detail in fs-2022 (Notes 16-18: incremental operating-expense funding, temporary pandemic pay, assessment-centre funding, a one-time $1,599,500 working-capital grant recognized as at March 31, 2021), all of which fall out of disclosure in every subsequent financial statement in this series. The Hospital's governing body is still styled "Board of Trustees" in fs-2022 (Poonam Puri, chair; Allyson Whyte Nowak, treasurer) and in ar-2022's own signature block (Marg Rappolt, chair) — the discrepancy in the named chair between the two same-fiscal-year documents is unexplained within the archived series.
FY2022-23 (fs-2023, 3df8c65065a9; ar-2023, 4384fd333c6d — off-target): Fs-2023 records Province of Ontario revenue rising to $74,579,337, total revenue of $116,001,185, total expenses of $115,747,044, and an excess of revenue over expenses of $875,912. The revolving term loan balance nearly doubles to $11,425,428 drawn (fs-2023, Note 6). A new, bounded labour-cost risk enters the disclosure: on November 29, 2022 the Ontario Superior Court declared the Protecting a Sustainable Public Sector for Future Generations Act, 2019 ("Bill 124," which had capped public-sector wage growth at 1%/year) void; fs-2023 records that this "triggered reopener provisions that required renewed negotiations with certain labour groups on compensation for the years that were previously capped," with settlement liabilities recorded for both unionized and non-unionized employees and communicated to all employees, while it "remains uncertain whether the Ministry of Health will directly fund this expense" (fs-2023, Notes 14(d) and 16). Salaries and benefits expense jumps from $82,226,801 (FY2022) to $89,901,601 (FY2023) (fs-2022; fs-2023) — consistent with, though not stated to be fully caused by, this reopener. Ar-2023, despite its registry title, is not this fiscal year's org-wide impact report; its actual content (the Client and Family Relations Annual Report 2022-23) records only department-level service data — 433 client/family-nominated Spotlight Awards, 180 staff consultations, and 32 filed concerns, with "communication & information-sharing" as the top concern area — and cannot support hospital-wide priority claims.
FY2023-24 (fs-2024, 9166d0fabf42; ar-2024, 8ca470023b56 — off-target): Fs-2024 records Province of Ontario revenue of $91,214,089, total revenue of $132,005,157, total expenses of $127,784,130, and an excess of revenue over expenses of $3,556,829 — the series' largest surplus. Salaries and benefits rise further to $98,607,808; fs-2024 states that "ongoing impacts of the reopener provisions [from Bill 124] are reflected in the Hospital's current wage rates" and that "the MOH has provided the Hospital with funding to offset a portion of the cost of the retroactive wage adjustments" (fs-2024, Note 16). The hospital's funding-intermediary language changes for the first time in the series: fs-2022 and fs-2023 describe funding arrangements "established by Toronto Central Local Health Integration Network ('TC LHIN')," noting that LHINs had since "amalgamated and are now part of Ontario Health"; fs-2024 drops all TC LHIN language and states simply that Holland Bloorview "is funded primarily by the Province of Ontario through the Ministry of Health... and Ontario Health" (fs-2022; fs-2023; fs-2024). The Hospital's governing body is renamed in this document: fs-2024's financial statements are "Approved by the Board of Directors" (fs-2024), replacing the "Board of Trustees" styling used in fs-2022 and fs-2023 — the exact date of this governance rename is not stated in either bracketing document. A large capital project also completes in this window: construction-in-progress, which had grown to $18,606,371 in fs-2023, drops to $1,528,351 in fs-2024 as building net book value jumps from $50,341,749 to $68,910,648 (fs-2023; fs-2024) — consistent with (though not explicitly linked in the notes to) the Bloorview Research Institute building expansion named in ar-2022 and fs-2022's Note 10. Ar-2024, like ar-2023, is off-target for hospital-wide priorities; its real content (Client and Family Relations Annual Report 2023-24) shows 281 Spotlight Award nominations and 36 filed concerns, again with "communication & information-sharing" as the top concern area, plus concrete quality-improvement changes: parking accessibility upgrades, pool change-room safety measures, new respite/lactation spaces, and an electronic Family Support Fund application process (ar-2024).
FY2024-25 (fs-2025, 87d54cc09e70): Province of Ontario revenue reaches $102,891,591 against total revenue of $150,123,940 and total expenses of $150,351,696 — the series' first deficit, an excess of expenses over revenue of $(718,659), after three consecutive surplus years (fs-2022 through fs-2024). Salaries and benefits rise to $113,590,195. The revolving-term-loan/line-of-credit facility first drawn in fs-2022 is fully repaid, with nil drawn at March 31, 2025 (fs-2025, Note 6) — resolving the working-capital financing pressure visible from fs-2022 through fs-2024. The pension-plan funded-status disclosure changes format for the first time in the series: fs-2022 through fs-2024 all cite the "actuarial valuation of the plan as at December 31, 2018" as showing the Healthcare of Ontario Pension Plan (HOOPP) "fully funded on a going concern basis" (an unchanged, increasingly stale reference repeated across three consecutive filings); fs-2025 instead cites a new valuation "as at December 31, 2024" and reports HOOPP as "111% funded" (fs-2022; fs-2023; fs-2024; fs-2025). No Bill 124 note appears in fs-2025, suggesting — though not explicitly confirmed — that the reopener-driven wage settlement process disclosed in fs-2023 and fs-2024 had concluded by this filing.
FY2025-26, partial (ar-2025, 766e242e3faa): The only content captured before truncation is a "Daring to transform care" framing letter from a new signing CEO, Bruce Squires, and board chair, Catherine Roche — both different individuals from the Julia Hanigsberg (Hospital CEO) and Marg Rappolt/Poonam Puri (Board of Trustees chairs) named in ar-2020, ar-2022, and fs-2022/fs-2023; the archived series does not establish when this leadership transition occurred. New framing elements not present in ar-2020 or ar-2022 include an explicit land acknowledgement and truth-and-reconciliation commitment, including "creating accessible smudging spaces to support inclusive, culturally and spiritually sensitive care for Indigenous clients and families"; a "learning health system" framing tied to "data, AI, technology, lived experience and partnership"; a stated goal of "scaling programs beyond our walls" for care "closer to home"; and a reference to "taking thoughtful steps to reduce our environmental footprint." Because the capture stops mid-page (see Residuals & gaps), no financial, client-volume, or governance-approval data from this document can be treated as complete or reliable.
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Added — pandemic-response public-health role: vaccine-clinic hosting and adult-rehabilitation-client admission "for the first time in its history," both absent from ar-2020, first appear in ar-2022 (9338b50cdf59).
- Added — systemic-racism/equity program: the employee survey on "systemic and structural racism and oppression" and the "Building a more inclusive world" theme first appear in ar-2022 (9338b50cdf59); no equivalent appears in ar-2020 (c1f0913f5fee).
- Added — bank credit facility: the revolving-term-loan/operating-line arrangement first appears in fs-2022 (52592b48ebeb, Note 6); fully repaid by fs-2025 (87d54cc09e70, Note 6).
- Added, then resolved — Bill 124 reopener liability: first disclosed fs-2023 (3df8c65065a9, Notes 14(d)/16) following the November 29, 2022 Ontario Superior Court ruling; still reflected in wage rates per fs-2024 (9166d0fabf42, Note 16); no longer mentioned in fs-2025 (87d54cc09e70).
- Added — truth-and-reconciliation / Indigenous-specific care commitments: land acknowledgement and "accessible smudging spaces" first appear in ar-2025 (766e242e3faa); absent from ar-2020 and ar-2022.
- Added — AI/data-driven "learning health system" framing: first appears in ar-2025 (766e242e3faa); not present in ar-2020 (c1f0913f5fee) or ar-2022 (9338b50cdf59).
- Renamed — hospital governing-board title: "Board of Trustees" (ar-2020 c1f0913f5fee; ar-2022 9338b50cdf59; fs-2022 52592b48ebeb; fs-2023 3df8c65065a9) becomes "Board of Directors" starting fs-2024 (9166d0fabf42) and continuing through fs-2025 (87d54cc09e70) and ar-2025 (766e242e3faa). The Foundation's own board was styled "Board of Directors" throughout the series (ar-2020, ar-2022) and is a distinct legal entity from the Hospital board being renamed here.
- Renamed — funding-intermediary description: "budget arrangements established by Toronto Central Local Health Integration Network ('TC LHIN')" (fs-2022 52592b48ebeb; fs-2023 3df8c65065a9) is replaced by direct reference to "the Ministry of Health... and Ontario Health" with no LHIN mention (fs-2024 9166d0fabf42; fs-2025 87d54cc09e70).
- Dropped — COVID-19-specific pandemic-funding disclosure: the detailed MOH pandemic-funding notes (incremental operating costs, temporary pandemic pay, assessment-centre funding, one-time working-capital grant, COVID-19 impacts) present in fs-2022 (52592b48ebeb, Notes 16-18) do not recur in fs-2023, fs-2024, or fs-2025.
- Dropped — pension "fully funded" going-concern framing: the repeated "December 31, 2018... fully funded" reference (fs-2022 52592b48ebeb; fs-2023 3df8c65065a9; fs-2024 9166d0fabf42) is replaced by a "December 31, 2024... 111% funded" figure in fs-2025 (87d54cc09e70).
Budget & mandate inflection points
- FY2021 → FY2022 — Province of Ontario revenue falls from $73,272,317 to $68,441,962 even as total revenue holds roughly flat ($104,589,670 → $104,092,672); a new bank revolving-term-loan facility is signed, with $6,269,222 drawn by year-end (fs-2022, 52592b48ebeb).
- FY2022 → FY2023 — Province of Ontario revenue rises to $74,579,337; drawn revolving-term-loan balance nearly doubles to $11,425,428; November 29, 2022 Ontario Superior Court ruling voids Bill 124, triggering wage-reopener liabilities (fs-2023, 3df8c65065a9).
- FY2023 → FY2024 — Province of Ontario revenue jumps to $91,214,089 (+22% year-over-year); construction-in-progress of $18,606,371 (fs-2023) resolves into $68,910,648 of net building value (fs-2024), consistent with a major capital project completing; the Hospital's governing board is re-styled from "Board of Trustees" to "Board of Directors" (fs-2024, 9166d0fabf42, compared with fs-2023, 3df8c65065a9).
- FY2024 → FY2025 — Province of Ontario revenue rises further to $102,891,591; total expenses ($150,351,696) exceed total revenue ($150,123,940) for the first time in the archived series, an excess of expenses over revenue of $(718,659), after three consecutive annual surpluses; the bank credit facility drawn since fs-2022 is fully repaid (nil outstanding); HOOPP's funded-status disclosure is refreshed from a 2018 to a 2024 valuation, moving from "fully funded" to "111% funded" (fs-2025, 87d54cc09e70).
- FY2022 (signing dates) — a discrepancy in the named Board of Trustees chair between fs-2022 (Poonam Puri, as at the June 15, 2022 signing) and ar-2022 (Marg Rappolt, in the FY2021-22 impact report's own signature block) is present in the archived series without explanation (fs-2022, 52592b48ebeb; ar-2022, 9338b50cdf59).
- ⚠️ Still being checked: the precise date and instrument (e.g., Public Hospitals Act filing, by-law amendment) behind the Board of Trustees → Board of Directors rename — bracketed only to "between the fs-2023 signing (June 21, 2023) and the fs-2024 signing (June 20, 2024)" by the archived documents themselves (fs-2023, 3df8c65065a9; fs-2024, 9166d0fabf42); no cause is stated in either filing.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: whether the Bill 124 reopener liability was fully settled by FY2024-25 — fs-2025 (87d54cc09e70) simply omits the note that appeared in fs-2023 and fs-2024, which is suggestive but not a stated resolution.
Ontario/Toronto relevance
Every document in the archived series confirms the hospital is Toronto-headquartered and Toronto-oriented in its own text, not merely by registry classification. The postal address "150 Kilgour Road, Toronto ON Canada M4G 1R8" appears in the footers of both full impact reports (ar-2020, c1f0913f5fee; ar-2022, 9338b50cdf59), and every financial statement in the series describes Holland Bloorview as "fully affiliated with the University of Toronto" (fs-2022 through fs-2025). The hospital's own client-geography data show a Toronto-concentrated service population: ar-2020 breaks clients down by LHIN sub-region as "Toronto Central 31%," "Central 27%," "Central East 22%," "Central West 5%," "Mississauga 4%," and "Other 11%" (c1f0913f5fee); ar-2022 reports a simplified breakdown of "Toronto 58%," "East 26%," "Central 12%," "West 2%," "North 1%," and "Out of province/other 1%" (9338b50cdf59). Named service partners are explicitly Toronto-based: the Project SEARCH youth-employment program is delivered with "UHN Toronto Rehab," "Community Living Toronto," the "Toronto District School Board," and "United Way Greater Toronto" (ar-2020, c1f0913f5fee). The funding-architecture notes in fs-2022 and fs-2023 name the "Toronto Central Local Health Integration Network ('TC LHIN')" as the body that had approved the hospital's budget arrangements before LHIN amalgamation into Ontario Health (fs-2022, 52592b48ebeb; fs-2023, 3df8c65065a9). Ar-2025's land acknowledgement situates the hospital "in Tkaronto (Toronto)... on the traditional territory of the Haudenosaunee-speaking nations, including the Huron-Wendat, Seneca and Mohawk" (766e242e3faa) — the series' most explicit textual claim of Toronto/GTA place-identity, though this document's capture is incomplete (see below).
Residuals & gaps
- True extraction/usable rate: 9 of 9 documents (100%) yielded real, non-stub text — a materially better outcome than the OAG series' 84.6% in the reference brief. However, only 6 of 9 documents (67%) are both real and usable as labeled for hospital-wide strategy analysis (ar-2020, ar-2022, fs-2022, fs-2023, fs-2024, fs-2025); a 7th (ar-2025) is real but truncated; the remaining 2 (ar-2023, ar-2024) are real, complete documents of a different, narrower type than their registry title claims.
_index.json's "ok" status is confirmed accurate in the narrow sense that all 9 files contain genuine extracted text — but "ok" does not mean "the labeled document," a distinct failure mode from the OAG series' 404-stub problem. - ar-2023 and ar-2024 are not annual/impact reports despite their registry title. Both are complete, short "Client and Family Relations Annual Report" bulletins (2 and 4 pages respectively) — confirmed by their own first-page titles ("Client and Family Relations: Annual Report (2022-23)" / "(2023-24)") and by their source URLs, which are literally named
CFR-annual-report-2022-2023.pdfandCFR-annual-report-2023-2024.pdf. Their brevity (4,312 and 6,655 chars per_index.json) reflects genuine document scope, not truncation — but the scope is a narrow client-feedback/quality bulletin, not the hospital-wide "Impact Report" the registry title and doc_type imply. This means the archived series has no genuine hospital-wide annual/impact report for FY2022-23 or FY2023-24 — a real content gap bookended by ar-2022 (FY2021-22) and the partial ar-2025 (FY2025-26). - ar-2024 also has an internal image-extraction gap: its text references a "Concern themes for the 2023-24 fiscal year" chart (note ii) but the chart's content was not captured as text, consistent with an image/graphic element in the source PDF that the extraction pipeline cannot read.
- ar-2025 is genuinely truncated, a technical capture issue distinct from the ar-2023/ar-2024 mismatch. The source is a JavaScript-rendered single-page site (
impactreport.hollandbloorview.ca); the captured text stops partway through a "By the numbers" section with placeholder counters showing "0 clients served" and "0% of our clients have three or more diagnoses" — plainly un-rendered animated counters rather than real zero values. A re-fetch using a JS-executing (headless-browser) capture method is needed to recover this document's full FY2025-26 content, including any financial or client-volume data it may contain. - Leadership transition undated in the archived series: ar-2020 and ar-2022 name Julia Hanigsberg as Hospital President and CEO and Poonam Puri/Marg Rappolt as Board of Trustees chair; ar-2025 names Bruce Squires as President and CEO and Catherine Roche as board chair. No document in this series states when this transition occurred; per the hard rule against estimating timelines, this brief does not infer a date.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: final disposition/settlement value of the Bill 124 wage-reopener liability first disclosed in fs-2023 (3df8c65065a9) and still reflected in fs-2024 (9166d0fabf42) wage rates — fs-2025 (87d54cc09e70) contains no note on the topic, which may indicate closure but is not stated as such.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: cause/date of the Board of Trustees → Board of Directors governance rename, bracketed only between the fs-2023 and fs-2024 signing dates (see Budget & mandate inflection points).
- ⚠️ Still being checked: reason for the discrepancy between the Board of Trustees chair named in fs-2022's signature block (Poonam Puri) and the chair named in ar-2022's own text (Marg Rappolt) for what is nominally the same fiscal year.