AgriCorp
no current plan located publicly; 2024-25 Annual Report confirms a 2025-28 business plan was submitted to the Minister but no public PDF found at expected URL pattern
Completeness
- Document shelf: 27 rows (27 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 27 of 27 row(s) audited, all clean
- Last verified: 2026-08-01 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: not yet verified
- API: not yet verified
- RSS: not yet verified
- Newsroom: not yet verified
- FOI / access requests: not yet verified
Document shelf (27 rows)
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
AgriCorp - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: on-agricorp (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
Agricorp is established under the Agricorp Act, 1996, S.O. 1996, c. 17, Sched. A: "The AgriCorp Act, 1996 established Agricorp as a provincial Crown corporation without share capital on January 1, 1997" (Agricorp 2024-25 Annual Report, notes to financial statements, https://www.agricorp.com/SiteCollectionDocuments/Agricorp-AnnualReport-2025-en.pdf, fetched and parsed directly; doc-shelf document id on-agricorp-ar-2025). The consolidated e-Laws pointer for this citation, https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/96a17, returns HTTP 200 (confirmed by direct fetch) but its content is client-side (JavaScript) rendered and could not be read through available tools this review — ⚠️ still being checked the deep-linked text against the Ontario e-Laws portal (https://www.ontario.ca/laws) directly. Agricorp's mandate, "as outlined in the AgriCorp Act," is to administer crop insurance plans under the Agricultural Products Insurance Act, 1996, S.O. 1996, c. 17, Sched. C (independently confirmed by direct fetch of the sibling schedule, https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/96c17, via r.jina.ai text-rendering fallback, which defines "AgriCorp" as "the corporation established in section 1 of the AgriCorp Act, 1996"), and to perform other duties conferred by other Ontario statutes, Lieutenant Governor in Council order, or agreement (Annual Report 2024-25, cited above).
Roles, responsibilities & scope
Agricorp delivers financial and risk-management programs to Ontario's agricultural industry on behalf of the provincial and federal governments, including Production Insurance (dating to 1966, operating under the Agricultural Products Insurance Act) and the Risk Management Program Fund (established by Minister's Order in 2021) (Annual Report 2024-25, cited above). "The Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness (OMAFA) and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) are responsible for program policy, while Agricorp is responsible for program delivery and customer service" (same source). In 2024-25 the programs supported over 47,000 Ontario farmers with $538 million in payments and underwrote $6-8 billion in risk (same source).
Governance & reporting line
Agricorp is "a crown agent of the Government of Ontario," "board-governed," operating with independent decision-making within a governance framework tied to OMAFA (Annual Report 2024-25, cited above; registry row on-agricorp, source authority: Ontario Public Appointments Secretariat agencies list). The Annual Report is signed by the Board Chair and the Finance and Audit Committee Chair (same source).
Budget scale
~$458.4 million in total revenue against $345.2 million in total expenses for fiscal year ended March 31, 2025 (Statement of Operations, government contributions, premiums, and investment income across the General, Production Insurance, and Risk Management Program funds), per the Agricorp 2024-25 Annual Report (https://www.agricorp.com/SiteCollectionDocuments/Agricorp-AnnualReport-2025-en.pdf, fetched and parsed directly; doc-shelf document id on-agricorp-ar-2025, financial statements section).
Institutional history
Established January 1, 1997 under the Agricorp Act, 1996 as a provincial Crown corporation without share capital, succeeding earlier program-specific delivery (Production Insurance itself dates to 1966 under the predecessor Crop Insurance Act) (Annual Report 2024-25, notes to financial statements, cited above). No further renaming has been identified in the sources reviewed.
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Agricorp - strategy evolution
2026-08-01 / registry: on-agricorp / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: The biggest addition is the Risk Management Program Fund, established by Minister's Order in 2021, which restructured RMP funding away from the flat $100-million/year cap the province had set in spring 2012 — the archived record does not explain the reason for the 2021 change beyond "the Minister's announcement of increased funding." The most notable quiet drop is the Plum Pox Eradication Program, a core program from 2007 through 2013 that never appears again in any later report, alongside the Dairy Credit Program and Advance Payments Program vanishing from the program list after 2008 with no report announcing their end. The most load-bearing number is fiscal 2024-25 payments of $538 million to over 47,000 Ontario farmers, against total revenue of $458.4 million and total expenses of $345.2 million — though fiscal 2025-26 (the newest document) shows a shortfall year, $425.9 million revenue against $437.5 million expenses, with no narrative yet archived to explain the swing. One open question the record cannot resolve: the exact effective date of the ministry's rename from OMAFRA to OMAFA, bracketed only between the still-OMAFRA 2023-24 report and the OMAFA 2024-25 report.
Backgrounder summary
Agricorp is a provincial Crown corporation without share capital, established January 1, 1997 under the AgriCorp Act, 1996, S.O. 1996, c. 17, Sched. A, succeeding earlier program-specific delivery (Production Insurance itself dates to 1966 under the predecessor Crop Insurance Act). Its statutory mandate is to administer crop insurance plans under the Agricultural Products Insurance Act, 1996 and to perform other duties conferred by other Ontario statutes, Lieutenant Governor in Council order, or agreement. Agricorp delivers financial and risk-management programs to Ontario's agricultural industry on behalf of the provincial and federal governments — chiefly Production Insurance and the Risk Management Program Fund (established by Minister's Order in 2021) — with the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture (OMAFA/OMAFRA) and Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada responsible for program policy while Agricorp is responsible for delivery and customer service. It is a board-governed crown agent tied to the ministry through a governance framework, and in 2024-25 its programs supported over 47,000 Ontario farmers with $538 million in payments, underwriting $6-8 billion in risk annually, against ~$458.4 million in total revenue and $345.2 million in total expenses for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2025.
Series inventory
27 archived documents, all extracted successfully (100% extraction success): 18 annual reports spanning fiscal years 2006-07 through 2024-25 (with a collection gap at fiscal 2017-18 — no annual-report narrative was archived for that year, see Residuals & gaps), 1 business plan (2021-24), and 8 stand-alone financial-statement filings spanning fiscal 2017-18 and fiscal 2019-20 through 2025-26 (the latter, fs-2026, is the single most recent document in the archive and post-dates the last annual report).
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| on-agricorp-ar-2007 | 2007 | annual-report | c6df6b22d4b9 | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2008 | 2008 | annual-report | 4925e226c851 | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2009 | 2009 | annual-report | 9e10bdbcf9d7 | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2010 | 2010 | annual-report | ff509e2b282d | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2011 | 2011 | annual-report | 33814339ea9d | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2012 | 2012 | annual-report | 2e4ba3d84380 | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2013 | 2013 | annual-report | 71c039a30cc3 | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2014 | 2014 | annual-report | eb3371edc945 | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2015 | 2015 | annual-report | da05cc63e6aa | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2016 | 2016 | annual-report | 76e521729c6e | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2017 | 2017 | annual-report | 0d1b7d2fc30d | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2019 | 2019 | annual-report | 469a6ecca21c | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2020 | 2020 | annual-report | 9c2507b9c74b | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2021 | 2021 | annual-report | 0e8525d27fab | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2022 | 2022 | annual-report | 608137723c53 | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2023 | 2023 | annual-report | a52ed403b2e6 | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2024 | 2024 | annual-report | 5e183f165c27 | yes |
| on-agricorp-ar-2025 | 2025 | annual-report | faacac085a46 | yes |
| on-agricorp-bp-2021 | 2021 | business-plan | 73a9fc9b337a | yes |
| on-agricorp-fs-2018 | 2018 | financials | b8c17d317107 | yes |
| on-agricorp-fs-2020 | 2020 | financials | be52443e628f | yes |
| on-agricorp-fs-2021 | 2021 | financials | ec854dc82703 | yes |
| on-agricorp-fs-2022 | 2022 | financials | 4710e5181079 | yes |
| on-agricorp-fs-2023 | 2023 | financials | b1d456461d80 | yes |
| on-agricorp-fs-2024 | 2024 | financials | d1cf11a3db42 | yes |
| on-agricorp-fs-2025 | 2025 | financials | ab25b2e045d4 | yes |
| on-agricorp-fs-2026 | 2026 | financials | f06f6fe1b899 | yes |
Priority evolution
2006-07 (ar-2007, c6df6b22d4b9): Vision was "to be the recognized providers of agricultural risk management products." The Board had set five strategic objectives (customer needs, delivery quality/efficiency, product innovation, employee environment, community contribution) tied to a five-pillar Balanced Scorecard (customer service, delivery, product-market commitment, people, community), with two more pillars — Public Accountability and Future Orientation — announced as forthcoming additions. Core programs: CAIS, Production Insurance, Advance Payments Program, Dairy Credit Program, Farm Business Registration (FBR), Grain Financial Protection Program (GFPP), Plum Pox Eradication Program, Self-Directed Risk Management (SDRM), plus several ad hoc programs. The Chair's message describes an "ambitious business improvement plan" needed to keep pace with "an unprecedented number of program changes and ad hoc programs" (c6df6b22d4b9).
2007-08 (ar-2008, 4925e226c851): CAIS is renamed AgriStability; a new core program, the Ontario Risk Management Program for Grain and Oilseed Producers, appears for the first time, alongside continuing ad hoc programs (Ontario Cattle, Hog and Horticulture Payment; Ontario Cost-Recognition Top-up; Ontario Juice Grape Transition; two CAIS transition/top-up programs). Agricorp reports administering "nine core, and five ad hoc" programs and delivering almost $613 million in program benefits through 134,000 cheques (4925e226c851).
2008-09 (ar-2009, 9e10bdbcf9d7): The Auditor General of Ontario conducted a Value for Money Audit "at the request of the Minister." Agricorp's CEO's message states the organization "worked closely with the Ministry to develop a Renewal Plan, which lays out specific plans for the next one to two years to make our service and delivery better," committing to faster/more accurate processing, better service, and clearer program information (9e10bdbcf9d7).
2009-10 (ar-2010, ff509e2b282d): First year of a new Board Chair, who reports a new Governance and Human Resources Committee was created in 2009 to formalize board governance and HR oversight, and that customer-satisfaction scores improved following execution of the prior year's Renewal Plan (ff509e2b282d).
2011-12 (ar-2012, 2e4ba3d84380), 15th-anniversary report: A new Risk Management Program (RMP) for livestock launches, covering four commodity groups. Agricorp describes delivering "eight risk management programs," reports growth since 1997 from "53 different agricultural commodities" and ~24,000 producers to over 200 commodities and roughly double the producer base, and names three "key foundational pieces" of strategy: operational effectiveness, a holistic customer experience, and leveraging core strengths. Board oversight secures new funding for a technology-infrastructure investment (2e4ba3d84380).
2012-13 (ar-2013, 71c039a30cc3): In spring 2012 the Ontario government announced it would cap RMP government funding at $100 million per year (covering both payments and administration costs) starting with the 2013 program year onward — a new, capped funding approach developed jointly with OMAF/MRA and RMP reference committees, replacing open-ended funding (71c039a30cc3).
2013-14 (ar-2014, eb3371edc945): The Board sets "three directional themes" for the year: operational efficiency/effectiveness ("to continue to demonstrate value for money"), infrastructure investment for a holistic customer experience, and reducing producer burden. An internal "Agricorp Review," including a KPMG benchmarking assessment against other jurisdictions, concludes Agricorp is "an efficient and effective delivery agent." The federal-provincial-territorial Growing Forward 2 policy framework (2013-2018) takes effect, changing AgriStability's coverage formula (eb3371edc945).
2014-15 (ar-2015, da05cc63e6aa): A new ad hoc beekeeper program is launched; preliminary work begins on two new programs for the grape and wine industry announced in March 2015 (da05cc63e6aa).
2015-16 (ar-2016, 76e521729c6e): RMP funding is reported at $118.4 million "for multiple program years," reflecting carryover within the $100-million-per-year cap set in 2012-13 (76e521729c6e).
[Fiscal 2017-18 — no annual-report narrative archived; see Residuals & gaps. Financial statements only: fs-2018, b8c17d317107, showing total revenue $188.834 million against total expenses $151.775 million.]
2018-19 (ar-2019, 469a6ecca21c): The 2018-21 Business Plan frames three standing goals — "Agricorp is easy to do business with," "Agricorp has efficient and effective operations," "Agricorp is ready to deliver" — that persist, with the same wording, through every later business-plan cycle read in this series. The federal-provincial-territorial Canadian Agricultural Partnership (CAP, April 2018-March 2023, a five-year $3-billion investment across six priority areas: science/this library's internal records, markets and trade, environmental sustainability and climate change, value-added agriculture and agri-food processing, public trust, and risk management) replaces Growing Forward 2, changing AgriStability's reference-margin floor to a guaranteed 70% and simplifying enrolment via industry benchmarks. New programs begin: the Edible Horticulture Support Program, the Provincial Premises Registry, the Farm Property Class Tax Rate Program, and the Beef Cattle Financial Protection Program. The plan also names implementation of "recommendations from the Auditor General of Ontario's value-for-money audit of farm support programs" — a second, later AG audit distinct from 2008-09 — as a business-plan goal, and reports that an emergent "DON situation" (a grain-contamination issue) forced resources to be shifted from planned initiatives such as agricorp.com redesign and a Farm Business Registration review (469a6ecca21c).
2019-20 (ar-2020, 9c2507b9c74b): The fiscal year ends with COVID-19 business-continuity implementation in March 2020, moving staff to remote work while maintaining customer service; RMP call volumes rise as customers seek coverage information (9c2507b9c74b).
2020-21 (ar-2021, 0e8525d27fab): Two ad hoc AgriRecovery programs are delivered — the Canada-Ontario COVID-19 Hog Maintenance Feed Initiative ($1.2 million in payments) and the Canada-Ontario COVID-19 AgriRecovery Beef Emergency Feed Maintenance Initiative ($1.4 million) — both federal-provincial, both COVID-specific. Agricorp reports working with the ministry "to implement changes following the Minister's announcement of increased funding for the Risk Management Program" (0e8525d27fab). Financial-statement notes from later years (fs-2024, d1cf11a3db42) confirm the Risk Management Program Fund itself "was established in 2021 for Cattle, Grains and Oilseeds, Hogs, Sheep and Veal components," replacing/superseding the flat $100-million funding-cap model set in 2012.
2021-24 Business Plan (bp-2021, 73a9fc9b337a): Restates the same three strategic goals (easy to do business with; efficient and effective operations; ready to deliver) and describes CAP's six priority areas, including a government caveat that pandemic-level program spending "is not sustainable over the long term" (73a9fc9b337a).
2021-22 (ar-2022, 608137723c53), Agricorp's 25th-anniversary report: The Board refreshes Agricorp's vision and mission for the first time since inception — new vision "Excellence in delivery to help grow Ontario agriculture," new mission "We provide financial and risk management programs for the farmers of Ontario and empower employees to deliver a trusted customer experience" — explicitly timed to the 25th anniversary. The RMP Fund enhancements (livestock classification changes) are implemented via a new Guidewire IT system. Seven one-time/emergency programs are delivered, including drought relief for northwestern Ontario, agri-tourism support, and pork-sector support; AgriStability coverage is increased and COVID-19 labour-disruption coverage under Production Insurance continues (608137723c53).
2022-23 (ar-2023, a52ed403b2e6): In December 2022 federal, provincial, and territorial agriculture ministers reach agreement on the Sustainable Canadian Agricultural Partnership (SCAP, April 2023-March 2028), replacing CAP; the same agreement raises the AgriStability compensation rate from 70% to 80% starting with the 2023 program year. Language shifts toward "modernizing and redeploying resources to priority areas" (a52ed403b2e6).
2023-24 (ar-2024, 5e183f165c27): Following an October 2022 letter of direction from the Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs to Agricorp's Board Chair, the 2023-26 Business Plan restates the same three strategic goals. The report still refers throughout to "OMAFRA" (Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs) (5e183f165c27).
2024-25 (ar-2025, faacac085a46; corroborated by fs-2025, ab25b2e045d4): For the first time in the archived series, the ministry is named "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness (OMAFA)" rather than OMAFRA — the rename occurred sometime between publication of ar-2024 (still OMAFRA) and ar-2025/fs-2025 (both OMAFA). The 2024-27 Business Plan is referenced, funding a new Winery Agri-Tourism Economic Relief Grant program and Provincial Premises Registry changes as "Strategic Investments." The report states the 2025-28 Business Plan was submitted to the Minister on February 28, 2025. Agricorp reports $538 million in 2024-25 payments to over 47,000 farmers and $6-8 billion in risk underwritten annually (faacac085a46).
Fiscal 2025-26 (fs-2026, f06f6fe1b899) — financial statements only, no annual-report narrative yet archived: Total revenues of $425.944 million against total expenses of $437.533 million — a shortfall year, in contrast to the prior year's (2024-25) surplus of $458.436 million in revenue against $345.200 million in expenses (the same comparative figures the backgrounder cites for 2024-25). This is the single most recent document in the archive; no narrative explanation for the swing is available in this document set (f06f6fe1b899).
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Renamed — CAIS → AgriStability: present as "CAIS" in ar-2007 (c6df6b22d4b9); renamed by ar-2008 (4925e226c851), which explicitly labels it "AgriStability (formerly the Canadian Agricultural Income Stabilization (CAIS) Program)."
- Added — Ontario Risk Management Program for Grain and Oilseed Producers: first appears as a core program in ar-2008 (4925e226c851).
- Added — Risk Management Program (RMP) for livestock: launched 2011-12 (2e4ba3d84380), covering four livestock commodity groups; later folded together with the grain/oilseed and edible-horticulture (SDRM) plans under one "Risk Management Program" umbrella by ar-2019 (469a6ecca21c) and ar-2022 (608137723c53).
- Restructured — RMP funding model: flat, Minister-capped funding of $100 million/year set in spring 2012 (ar-2013, 71c039a30cc3) → Risk Management Program Fund established by Minister's Order in 2021 (referenced in ar-2021, 0e8525d27fab, and confirmed by fs-2024, d1cf11a3db42) — the archived series does not state a reason for the 2021 restructuring beyond "the Minister's announcement of increased funding."
- Added — Edible Horticulture Support Program, Provincial Premises Registry, Farm Property Class Tax Rate Program, Beef Cattle Financial Protection Program: all begin delivery in fiscal 2018-19 under the 2018-21 Business Plan (469a6ecca21c).
- Added — ad hoc COVID-19 AgriRecovery programs (Hog Maintenance Feed Initiative, Beef Emergency Feed Maintenance Initiative): fiscal 2020-21 only (0e8525d27fab); not seen recurring in later reports read.
- Added — Winery Agri-Tourism Economic Relief Grant: first appears fiscal 2024-25 (faacac085a46).
- Quietly dropped — Plum Pox Eradication Program: present as a core program ar-2007 through ar-2013 (c6df6b22d4b9 through 71c039a30cc3); not found in any later report read (ar-2014 onward) — consistent with an eradication campaign reaching completion, though no report states this explicitly. ⚠️ still being checked.
- Quietly dropped or absorbed — Dairy Credit Program, Advance Payments Program: both listed as core programs in ar-2007/ar-2008 (c6df6b22d4b9, 4925e226c851); neither term appears in the ar-2022 or ar-2025 program listings searched. The archived series does not state when or why these left Agricorp's active program list. ⚠️ still being checked.
- Renamed — vision and mission statements: "To be a versatile, customer-focused organization..." / "We connect producers with programs..." (stable from at least ar-2008, 4925e226c851, through bp-2021, 73a9fc9b337a) → "Excellence in delivery to help grow Ontario agriculture" / "We provide financial and risk management programs for the farmers of Ontario and empower employees to deliver a trusted customer experience," introduced in ar-2022 (608137723c53) and tied explicitly to Agricorp's 25th anniversary.
- Renamed — federal-provincial-territorial policy framework: Growing Forward 2 (2013-2018, eb3371edc945) → Canadian Agricultural Partnership (April 2018-March 2023, first described in ar-2019, 469a6ecca21c) → Sustainable Canadian Agricultural Partnership (April 2023-March 2028, first named in ar-2023, a52ed403b2e6). Each transition brought a concrete AgriStability formula change (coverage/fee structure in 2013; guaranteed 70% reference-margin floor in 2018; compensation rate raised 70%→80% in 2023).
- Renamed — sponsoring ministry: "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs (OMAFRA)" used consistently from ar-2007 through ar-2024 (c6df6b22d4b9 through 5e183f165c27) → "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness (OMAFA)" from ar-2025/fs-2025 onward (faacac085a46, ab25b2e045d4). No document in this set states the effective date or authority for the rename. ⚠️ still being checked.
- Added — Governance and Human Resources Committee: created 2009, per ar-2010 (ff509e2b282d).
Budget & mandate inflection points
- January 1, 1997 — Agricorp established under the AgriCorp Act, 1996, succeeding earlier program-specific delivery (Production Insurance itself dating to 1966) (backgrounder; corroborated throughout the series, e.g. ar-2012, 2e4ba3d84380).
- 2008-09 — Auditor General of Ontario Value for Money Audit (at the Minister's request) leads to a Renewal Plan for service and delivery (ar-2009, 9e10bdbcf9d7).
- Spring 2012 — Ontario government caps RMP funding at $100 million/year for payments and administration, effective the 2013 program year (ar-2013, 71c039a30cc3).
- 2013 — Growing Forward 2 (2013-2018) takes effect, changing the AgriStability formula (ar-2014, eb3371edc945).
- April 2018 — Canadian Agricultural Partnership (2018-2023) replaces Growing Forward 2, a five-year $3-billion joint federal-provincial-territorial investment; second AG value-for-money audit (of farm support programs generally) also under implementation this year (ar-2019, 469a6ecca21c).
- 2021 — Risk Management Program Fund established by Minister's Order, restructuring RMP funding away from the flat $100M/year cap (ar-2021, 0e8525d27fab; fs-2024, d1cf11a3db42).
- 2021-22 — 25th-anniversary vision/mission refresh (ar-2022, 608137723c53).
- October 2022 — Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs issues a letter of direction to Agricorp's Board Chair, shaping the subsequent 2023-26 Business Plan (ar-2024, 5e183f165c27).
- December 2022 — Sustainable Canadian Agricultural Partnership agreed (in effect April 2023-March 2028); AgriStability compensation rate raised from 70% to 80% starting the 2023 program year (ar-2023, a52ed403b2e6).
- Fiscal 2024-25 — Ministry renamed from OMAFRA to OMAFA, bracketed between ar-2024 (still OMAFRA) and ar-2025/fs-2025 (OMAFA) (5e183f165c27; faacac085a46; ab25b2e045d4).
- Revenue/expense scale over the series (Statement of Operations totals, General + Production Insurance + Risk Management Program funds): fiscal 2006-07 total revenues $689.4 million (ar-2007, c6df6b22d4b9, an elevated year Agricorp itself attributes partly to "CAIS fee and CAIS inventory valuation changes"); fiscal 2016-17 total revenue $192.1 million / total expenses $171.4 million (ar-2017, 0d1b7d2fc30d); fiscal 2017-18 total revenue $188.8 million / total expenses $151.8 million (fs-2018, b8c17d317107); fiscal 2019-20 total revenue $198.0 million / total expenses $316.7 million, a shortfall year (fs-2020, be52443e628f); fiscal 2021-22 total revenue $370.2 million / total expenses $242.4 million (fs-2022, 4710e5181079); fiscal 2024-25 total revenue $458.4 million / total expenses $345.2 million (ar-2025/fs-2025/fs-2026 comparative column, faacac085a46, ab25b2e045d4, f06f6fe1b899 — matching the backgrounder's figures); fiscal 2025-26 total revenue $425.9 million / total expenses $437.5 million, a shortfall year (fs-2026, f06f6fe1b899). The post-2019 figures are visibly larger and more volatile than the relatively stable ~$150-200 million range seen from 2016-17 through 2017-18, a period that coincides with the RMP Fund's creation, COVID-19 ad hoc programs, and the 2023 AgriStability compensation-rate increase — the archived documents establish these individual drivers but do not provide a year-by-year reconciliation tying specific swings to specific causes. ⚠️ still being checked for precise attribution.
Ontario/Toronto relevance
Agricorp's own operational address, printed in annual reports from ar-2007 through ar-2014 (c6df6b22d4b9 through eb3371edc945), is in Guelph, Ontario (postal code N1H 8M4) — not Toronto. Its Board of Directors, per biographical listings in ar-2025 (faacac085a46), is drawn from farming regions across the province (Guelph, Halton Region, Tillsonburg, Niagara Region, Perth County, and others named in earlier reports such as Leamington, Middlesex County, Nipissing District, and Berwick), consistent with a mandate to serve producers province-wide rather than an urban or Toronto-specific constituency. Toronto appears in this archived series only in three limited contexts, none reflecting Agricorp operations: (1) a correspondence address at 77 Grenville Street, Toronto — the ministry's own office, used on the business plan (bp-2021, 73a9fc9b337a); (2) the Office of the Auditor General of Ontario, headquartered in Toronto, which signs the independent auditor's report on Agricorp's financial statements each year (e.g. ar-2023, a52ed403b2e6; fs-2026, f06f6fe1b899); and (3) individual board members' stated home locations in a small number of years. Agricorp's core mandate — Production Insurance, AgriStability, and the Risk Management Program — serves crop and livestock producers, a customer base concentrated in rural and small-town Ontario; the archived series gives no indication of urban Toronto program delivery, Toronto-area customer concentration, or a Toronto office presence for Agricorp itself. Relevance to Toronto is accordingly indirect: Agricorp operates within the same provincial fiscal and policy apparatus (Ontario budget, OMAFA/OMAFRA ministry direction, Auditor General oversight) that is headquartered in Toronto, but its programs, customers, and stated identity are rural-agricultural rather than metropolitan.
Residuals & gaps
- No annual-report narrative for fiscal 2017-18: the archived series jumps from ar-2017 (0d1b7d2fc30d, fiscal 2016-17) to ar-2019 (469a6ecca21c, fiscal 2018-19); only the stand-alone financial statements (fs-2018, b8c17d317107) were archived for the intervening year. This is a collection gap, not an extraction failure — all 27 archived documents extracted text successfully. It leaves the qualitative record (Chair/CEO messages, named priorities, program narrative) for fiscal 2017-18 unrecoverable from this set.
- Business-plan series is thin relative to what the annual reports themselves describe: only one business plan (2021-24, bp-2021, 73a9fc9b337a) is archived, yet the annual reports reference at least four other named business-plan cycles — 2018-21 (ar-2019, 469a6ecca21c), 2023-26 (ar-2023/ar-2024, a52ed403b2e6, 5e183f165c27), 2024-27 (ar-2025, faacac085a46), and a 2025-28 plan submitted February 28, 2025 (ar-2025, faacac085a46) — none of which are separately archived in this set. A future pass should attempt to source those directly.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: the apparent shift from fixed 3-year business-plan cycles (2018-21, 2021-24) to overlapping/annually-renewed cycles from 2023 onward (2023-26 named in both the fiscal 2022-23 and 2023-24 reports, followed within a year by 2024-27, then 2025-28) — the archived text does not explain this change in cadence.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: exact effective date and authority for the OMAFRA → OMAFA ministry rename, bracketed only between ar-2024 (still OMAFRA) and ar-2025/fs-2025 (OMAFA) — no document in this set states the date.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: reasons for the apparent discontinuation of the Plum Pox Eradication Program (last seen ar-2013), and of the Dairy Credit Program and Advance Payments Program (last seen ar-2007/ar-2008) — no report in this set announces their end.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: drivers of the fiscal 2019-20 revenue/expense gap ($198.0 million revenue vs. $316.7 million expenses, fs-2020, be52443e628f) and the fiscal 2025-26 shortfall ($425.9 million revenue vs. $437.5 million expenses, fs-2026, f06f6fe1b899) — narrative context for both years is limited or (for 2025-26) entirely absent from the archived documents.
- Fiscal 2025-26 is a financial-statements-only year: fs-2026 (f06f6fe1b899) is the newest document in the archive; no corresponding annual-report narrative had been archived as of this pull, so the qualitative record ends with ar-2025 (faacac085a46, fiscal 2024-25).
- Per the backgrounder, the e-Laws deep link for the AgriCorp Act (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/96a17) was not independently re-verified against the live portal in this review; that flag from the backgrounder carries forward. ⚠️ still being checked.
- Individual board members, committee chairs, and named executives appear throughout the source annual reports (standard public-sector compensation and governance disclosure); this brief omits individual names by house style and reports only structural/organizational findings.