Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness
FOI via central portal; no mandate letter/plan doc linked on ministry page, no current plan located
Completeness
- Document shelf: 6 rows (6 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 6 of 6 row(s) audited, 2 flagged
- Last verified: 2026-08-04 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data
- API: checked — none found
- RSS: checked — none found
- Newsroom: checked — none found
- FOI / access requests: checked — none found
Document shelf (6 rows)
| Year | Type | Title | Archive status | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | Annual report | Published Plans and Annual Reports 2025-2026: Ministry of Agriculture Food and Agribusiness | archived | |
| 2025 | Annual report | Published Plans and Annual Reports 2024-2025: Ministry of Agriculture Food and Rural Affairs | archived | |
| 2025 | Financial statements | Public Accounts of Ontario 2024-25: Ministry Statements and Schedules (Volume 3), Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs section | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: embedded-in-parent |
| 2024 | Annual report | Published Plans and Annual Reports 2023-2024: Ministry of Agriculture Food and Rural Affairs | archived | |
| 2024 | Financial statements | Public Accounts of Ontario 2023-24: Ministry Statements and Schedules (Volume 3), Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs section | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: embedded-in-parent |
| 1999 | Business / corporate plan | Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs 1998-1999 Business Plan | archived |
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: on-ministry-agriculture-food-agribusiness (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
The ministry's continuation statute is the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.16, consolidated text current to the e-Laws currency date, consolidation period effective March 22, 2023 (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/90m16, fetched and verified via the e-Laws legislation service, section-by-section content confirmed). Section 2(1) continues the former "Ministry of Agriculture and Food" under the name "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs" (amended 1999, c. 12, Sched. A, s. 20(3), same source); s. 4 gives the Minister "direction and control" of the administration of law relating to agriculture, food and rural affairs, subject to the Executive Council Act. ⚠️ Still being checked: the Act's own definitions (s. 1) still name the ministry "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs," not the current public name "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness" seen in the registry row and on the ministry's own site — the precise instrument for the "Agribusiness" rename was not located this review.
Roles, responsibilities & scope
Statutory functions include administering agriculture/food/rural-affairs law and appropriations, and reviewing related matters at the Minister's direction (Act s. 4, https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/90m16). The ministry's own page describes its current mission as "growing Ontario's agri-food sector," covering business support to farmers, sustainability research, northern agricultural development, and food safety (https://www.ontario.ca/page/ministry-agriculture-food-and-agribusiness, fetched directly). It oversees nine affiliated bodies including Agricorp, the Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Appeal Tribunal, the Grain Financial Protection Board, and the Ontario Food Terminal Board (same source).
Governance & reporting line
The Minister presides over and has charge of the Ministry (Act s. 2(2), https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/90m16). As a Crown ministry it sits within the executive government, organized under the Executive Council Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. E.25, ss. 1-2, which lets the Lieutenant Governor in Council appoint ministers and assign ministry duties by order in council (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/90e25, fetched and verified).
Budget scale
⚠️ not yet confirmed against an original source. The doc shelf lists a business-plan and three annual-report items (doc_years 1999-2026) but no specific budget total was retrieved within this review.
Institutional history
Established as "Ministry of Agriculture and Food," continued and renamed "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs" by 1999, c. 12, Sched. A, s. 20(3) — a precedent showing this Act's own text has historically been amended to track ministry renames (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/90m16, s. 2 amendment note, fetched and verified). The further rename to "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness" reflected on the ministry's current website (https://www.ontario.ca/page/ministry-agriculture-food-and-agribusiness) has not yet been located in a corresponding Act amendment — ⚠️ still being checked.
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness - strategy evolution
2026-08-02 / registry: on-ministry-agriculture-food-agribusiness / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: Across three readable annual reports (2023-24, 2024-25, 2025-26), the ministry's biggest priority addition is an explicit "Agribusiness" pillar and a named U.S.-tariff exposure/trade-defense posture, arriving with the 2025-26 rename from "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs" (OMAFRA) to "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness" (OMAFA). The quietest drop is the six-year-old "One Health" framing collapsing from a headline lens to a single passing mention, alongside the disappearance of the COVID-era secretariat and COVID-specific programming that anchored the 2023-24 report. The single largest load-bearing number is the FY2025-26 planned total budget of $1,050.1M (operating $1,037.8M + capital $12.3M), up 23.7% from FY2024-25 estimates — driven substantially by a one-time alcohol-support program transfer from the Ministry of Finance and a $100M increase to the Risk Management Program. Open question, flagged explicitly by the backgrounder and unresolved in any read document: what statutory instrument (if any) formalized the OMAFRA-to-OMAFA rename, since the ministry's own continuation Act still names it "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs" as of the consolidation currency date cited in the backgrounder.
Backgrounder summary
Per the backgrounder (our research file for that body), the ministry's continuation statute is the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.16 (consolidation current to March 22, 2023), which gives the Minister "direction and control" of agriculture/food/rural-affairs administration (s. 4) and lets the Minister "preside over and have charge of" the Ministry (s. 2(2)). The Act's own definitions still use the name "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs" — the backgrounder flags ⚠️ still being checked that the further rename to "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness" seen on the ministry's current public-facing site has not been traced to a corresponding Act amendment. The ministry oversees nine (per the current site) to ten (per earlier annual reports, see below) affiliated bodies including Agricorp, the Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Appeal Tribunal, the Grain Financial Protection Board, and the Ontario Food Terminal Board. Budget scale was marked ⚠️ still being checked in the backgrounder pass; this review grounds it directly (see Budget & mandate inflection points).
Series inventory
_index.json: 3 ok / 1 stub-suspected / 0 extract-failed.
Hand count agrees with the index: 3 usable annual-report documents (ar-2024, ar-2025, ar-2026, each covering the prior fiscal year's results plus the stated year's plan) and 1 stub-suspected business-plan document (bp-1999). The stub-suspected call is independently confirmed correct on this review: the bp-1999.txt content (7,247 bytes / 6,958 chars) is entirely Internet Archive site chrome and catalog metadata (navigation menus, "DOWNLOAD OPTIONS," OCR/scan metadata fields such as Scanner: scribe8.toronto.archive.org) with zero lines of actual 1998-99 Business Plan text — it is an archive.org item-detail wrapper page, not the document itself. See Residuals & gaps for the detector-accuracy note requested by this lane's instructions.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| on-ministry-agriculture-food-agribusiness-bp-1999 | 1999 | business-plan | ab8e32ea7035 | yes — confirmed stub (Internet Archive catalog wrapper, no plan text; 0 of 6,958 chars are source content) |
| on-ministry-agriculture-food-agribusiness-ar-2024 | 2024 | annual-report | cdf007a4e188 | yes |
| on-ministry-agriculture-food-agribusiness-ar-2025 | 2025 | annual-report | 8f5b8a1995ad | yes |
| on-ministry-agriculture-food-agribusiness-ar-2026 | 2026 | annual-report | 7ca916595228 | yes |
Three usable documents as expected — full form applies.
Priority evolution
ar-2024 (cdf007a4e188), "Published Plans and Annual Reports 2023-2024" (ministry still "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs," Minister Lisa Thompson): Vision is framed around "innovation, increasing trade, safeguarding the food supply chain and ensuring the safe and sustainable production of food," organized under a "One Health" approach (explicit human/animal/plant/environment framing) and the newly-launched Grow Ontario Strategy's three priorities: strengthening agri-food supply-chain stability, increasing agri-food technology and adoption, and attracting/growing agri-food talent. A substantial "COVID-19 response" section is still present as a named, retrospective program area — the COVID Agri-Food Secretariat (established 2021) is reported as demobilized in December 2022, with COVID-specific programs (Enhanced Agri-food Workplace Protection Program, COVID-19 Agri-Food Prevention and Control Innovation Program, Provincial Antigen Screening Program) reported as wound down or completed. Sustainable CAP (the federal-provincial framework, effective April 1, 2023) and the Ontario Agri-Food Innovation Alliance (University of Guelph, also effective April 1, 2023, $343M over five years) are both reported as newly-launched partnership vehicles. Ministry total operating+capital budget: $822.4M planned for 2023-24.
ar-2025 (8f5b8a1995ad), "Published Plans and Annual Reports 2024-2025" (still OMAFRA/Lisa Thompson): The "One Health" framing persists but is demoted from a lede concept to one bullet among many. COVID-19 response as a distinct section is gone entirely — no COVID program area is reported. A new "Compliance Modernization" initiative appears as a named multi-year priority (risk-based, digital regulatory delivery model). Legislative activity is prominent: Bill 171 (Enhancing Professional Care for Animals Act, 2024) introduced to replace the Veterinarians Act; Bill 139 (Less Red Tape, More Common Sense Act, 2023) received Royal Assent; the Protecting Farmers from Non-Payment Act, 2023 replaces three older financial-protection statutes — described as "the first significant change of the financial protection legislation for the sector in nearly 40 years." Rural Economic Development Strategy development is underway (release "in 2024" per this report, not confirmed released by ar-2026). Ministry total operating+capital budget: $855.7M planned for 2024-25 (a $33.3M / 4.1% increase over the ar-2024 estimate).
ar-2026 (7ca916595228), "Published Plans and Annual Reports 2025-2026" — first report under the new name (ministry now "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness"/OMAFA, Minister Trevor Jones as of the April 2025 org chart): Vision statement is rewritten and shortened: "helps build a sustainable, resilient, and trusted agri-food system that drives economic growth" — the "One Health" phrase is now absent from the vision statement itself (though "animal and plant health" protection persists as a stated activity). Three explicit "key objectives" replace the looser prior framing: (1) ensuring a safe food system and animal/plant health, (2) fostering a thriving agri-food and agribusiness sector, (3) securing a sustainable/stable/resilient food supply. A new, dedicated "Agribusiness" subsection appears for the first time, describing Ontario's agribusiness value chain (input supply, wholesale distribution) as a named strategic asset. A new "Trade" subsection explicitly names U.S. tariff exposure as a live risk: "Ontario's agri-food sector is susceptible to impacts from U.S. tariffs and other actions that threaten export-dependent sectors," citing $45.1B CAD in Ontario-U.S. two-way agri-food trade (2023) and noting a provincial government plan "to protect Ontario from the potential impacts of U.S. tariffs." A new "Regulatory Compliance Ontario" unit is disclosed — a cross-government Centre of Excellence serving 19 OPS ministries on regulatory-compliance program delivery, housed within OMAFA. The Risk Management Program (RMP) is increased from $150M/year to $250M/year (Jan 2025), explicitly tied to a "$51 billion agri-food sector" figure. The ministry's agency count drops from 10 (ar-2024/ar-2025) to 9, with three non-board-governed adjudicative/regulatory bodies (Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Appeal Tribunal, Normal Farm Practices Protection Board, Ontario Farm Products Marketing Commission) still listed individually but the "Grain/Livestock Financial Protection Board" and OFPMC retained; ARIO is renamed "Agricultural Research and Innovation Ontario" with a new constituting Act (R.S.O. 1990, c. A.13, amended 2024, c. 8). Ministry total operating+capital budget: $1,050.1M planned for 2025-26, a $201.4M / 23.7% jump — the report attributes this explicitly to "one-time funding for the alcohol support programming that OMAFA delivers on behalf of the Ministry of Finance" plus the RMP increase. This is the first report to publish a formal KPI dashboard (Government-directed + Ministry-identified, with baseline/target/trend/status columns).
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Added — "Agribusiness" as an explicit named pillar and organizational identity: absent as a structural concept in ar-2024/ar-2025 (where "agribusiness" appears only as an adjective); first appears as a dedicated subsection and part of the ministry's own name in ar-2026 (7ca916595228), coinciding with the OMAFRA-to-OMAFA rename.
- Added — explicit U.S. tariff-risk framing and trade-defense posture: absent from ar-2024 and ar-2025; first appears in ar-2026 (7ca916595228) as a dedicated "Trade" subsection naming tariff exposure as a sector vulnerability and citing a provincial protection plan.
- Added — Compliance Modernization / Compliance Services Modernization (CSM) as a named multi-year initiative: absent from ar-2024 (cdf007a4e188); first named in ar-2025 (8f5b8a1995ad); matures into "Compliance Services Modernization" with a completed licensing-portal milestone (June 2024) by ar-2026 (7ca916595228).
- Added — Regulatory Compliance Ontario (RCO), a cross-government (19-ministry) compliance Centre of Excellence housed in OMAFA: first disclosed in ar-2026 (7ca916595228); not mentioned in ar-2024 or ar-2025, so its founding date cannot be pinned within this series.
- Added — formal KPI dashboard (Government-directed and Ministry-identified indicators with baseline/target/trend/status): absent as a structured table in ar-2024/ar-2025 (which report individual metrics prose-style); first appears as a dashboard in ar-2026 (7ca916595228).
- Quietly dropped — COVID-19 response as a named program area: a substantial dedicated section in ar-2024 (cdf007a4e188, reporting the Secretariat's Dec-2022 demobilization and program wind-downs) is entirely absent from ar-2025 (8f5b8a1995ad) onward, with no explicit retirement statement — it simply stops being reported.
- Quietly demoted — "One Health" as the organizing public-health/environment frame: prominent, named explicitly in the vision/mandate language of ar-2024 and ar-2025; absent from the ar-2026 (7ca916595228) vision statement, surviving only as a residual "protecting animal and plant health" activity bullet — no report states this was a deliberate reframing.
- Renamed — ministry itself: "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs" (OMAFRA) throughout ar-2024 and ar-2025 → "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness" (OMAFA) from ar-2026 (7ca916595228) forward; several legacy statutes and one non-consolidated agency (AFRAAT, OFPMC) still carry "Rural Affairs Act" in their constituting-instrument citations even in the ar-2026 report, showing the rename has not been fully propagated through subordinate legislation as of this document.
- Renamed — ARIO: "Agricultural Research Institute of Ontario" (ar-2024/ar-2025, under the Agricultural Research Institute of Ontario Act) → "Agricultural Research and Innovation Ontario" (ar-2026, 7ca916595228, citing R.S.O. 1990, c. A.13, as amended by 2024, c. 8) — same acronym, expanded remit language ("high impact and transformational research").
- Shrinking — consolidated/oversight agency count: 10 agencies (ar-2024, ar-2025) → 9 agencies (ar-2026, 7ca916595228); the ar-2026 agency list is also reorganized, with the Ontario Food Terminal Board newly appearing as a "consolidation adjustment" line ($13.0M) for the first time in this series, while the Business Risk Management Review Committee and Rural Economic Development Advisory Panel — both listed as agencies in ar-2024/ar-2025 — are absent from the ar-2026 agency roster (⚠️ still being checked whether they were formally wound down or merely omitted from this report's list).
Budget & mandate inflection points
- April 1, 2023 — Sustainable Canadian Agricultural Partnership (Sustainable CAP) and the Ontario Agri-Food Innovation Alliance (University of Guelph/ARIO, $343M over five years) both take effect (cdf007a4e188).
- FY2023-24 — Ministry total operating+capital: $822.4M planned (cdf007a4e188).
- December 2022 — COVID Agri-Food Secretariat demobilized, remaining functions absorbed elsewhere in OMAFRA (cdf007a4e188, retrospective).
- FY2024-25 — Ministry total operating+capital: $855.7M planned, +4.1% over prior estimate (8f5b8a1995ad).
- March 2024 — Bill 171 (Enhancing Professional Care for Animals Act, 2024) introduced; Bill 139 (Less Red Tape, More Common Sense Act, 2023) received Royal Assent Dec 4, 2023; Protecting Farmers from Non-Payment Act, 2023 received Royal Assent June 8, 2023, revoking three older Acts (8f5b8a1995ad).
- 2024, precise date not stated — ministry rename from "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs" to "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Agribusiness" occurs sometime between the ar-2025 report (still OMAFRA, published April 23, 2025) and the ar-2026 report (OMAFA from its title onward, org chart dated April 2025) — ⚠️ still being checked exact effective date and instrument; this is the same gap the backgrounder already flagged as unresolved.
- January 2025 — Ontario Risk Management Program (RMP) annual funding increased from $150M to $250M (7ca916595228).
- June 2024 — OMAFA/OMAFRA licensing portal digitization completed under Compliance Services Modernization (7ca916595228).
- FY2025-26 — Ministry total operating+capital: $1,050.1M planned, +23.7% over prior estimate, explicitly attributed in-document to one-time alcohol-support-program funding (delivered by OMAFA on behalf of the Ministry of Finance) plus the RMP increase (7ca916595228) — the single largest single-year jump in the three-report series.
Ontario/Toronto relevance
This is a province-of-Ontario ministry — its entire mandate is Ontario-scoped by definition, and rural Ontario (approximately 2.5 million people, ~17% of provincial population per ar-2024/ar-2025) is a named constituency throughout the series. Toronto/GTA-specific touchpoints across the read documents are narrower and largely logistical/regulatory rather than programmatic: international agri-food workers arriving under the federal Temporary Foreign Worker Program receive "welcome kits" (health/safety resources) at Toronto Pearson International Airport, with 6,000 kits distributed as of Sept 30, 2023 (8f5b8a1995ad) — this is the only direct Toronto-proper operational presence named in the read series. The ar-2026 report's Line Fences Act modernization explicitly cites alignment with the City of Toronto Act, 2001 as a reference point for the amended framework, though the underlying dispute-resolution program is rural-oriented (7ca916595228). The Agricultural System / Growth Plan land-use-planning work described in all three reports (Agricultural Land Base Map, Agricultural System Map Portal, technical advice to municipalities) explicitly protects farmland "across the Greater Golden Horseshoe," the region containing the GTA, positioning Toronto's exurban/peri-urban fringe as an indirect beneficiary of farmland-protection policy rather than a direct program site. No head-office, research-station, or inspection-facility presence in the City of Toronto itself is disclosed in any of the three read documents; ARIO's 14 research stations are described only as "spread across all regions of the province" without a Toronto-specific listing.
Residuals & gaps
- Stub detector assessment: correct call, independently verified. The
_index.jsonflaggedon-ministry-agriculture-food-agribusiness-bp-1999asstub-suspectedwithstub_reason: "Internet Archive item-detail/catalog wrapper page". Having read the full 7,247-byte extract, this call is accurate: the file contains zero characters of the actual 1998-99 Business Plan text and consists entirely of archive.org site navigation, "DOWNLOAD OPTIONS" boilerplate, and OCR/scan metadata fields (Scanner, Ocr_module_version, Republisher_operator, etc.). The detector correctly distinguished a genuine content failure from an "ok" extraction — no false positive or false negative to report for this org. - ⚠️ Still being checked: exact date and legal instrument for the OMAFRA → OMAFA rename. This is the single largest unresolved fact in this brief. The backgrounder already flagged that the ministry's continuation Act (R.S.O. 1990, c. M.16) still names it "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs" as of its cited consolidation currency date; this review adds that even the ar-2026 annual report — published under the new "OMAFA" name — still cites the old "Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Act" as the constituting instrument for AFRAAT and OFPMC, and the "Rural Affairs Act" appears nowhere renamed within the read documents. No Order in Council or amending statute for the ministry-name change was located or read this review.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: disposition of the Business Risk Management Review Committee (BRMRC) and Rural Economic Development Advisory Panel (REDAP) as formal agencies — both are listed with full descriptions in ar-2024 and ar-2025's agency rosters but are absent from the ar-2026 agency list, which drops the total count from 10 to 9. Whether this reflects a wind-down, a merger, or simply a reporting omission is not stated in any read document.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: the "9 provincial agencies" claim in ar-2026 itself is arithmetically ambiguous — the report's own text says "9 provincial agencies" but the roster as transcribed lists Agricorp, ARIO, OFTB as consolidated, plus AFRAAT, NFPPB, GFPB/LFPB, BRMRC-absent, OFPMC as non-consolidated (BRMRC and REDAP both missing from the list body) — the stated count and the enumerated list do not obviously reconcile from the extracted text alone; a structured-table/HTML re-check against the live page would resolve this cleanly.
- Series is thin by design and short-form threshold was narrowly avoided: only annual/annual-financial-type reports plus one 1999 business plan are registered for this org; no separate strategic-plan or subject-report series exists in the archive. With exactly 3 usable documents, this brief sits at the stated full-form floor — evolution claims rest on three data points (2023-24, 2024-25, 2025-26 reporting years), which is enough to show directional change but not enough to establish whether, e.g., the "Agribusiness"/tariff-defense pivot in ar-2026 is a stable new posture or a one-report reaction to acute 2025 U.S. trade conditions.
- 1999 business-plan content is fully unrecovered. Because bp-1999 is a confirmed stub, this brief has no grounded visibility into the ministry's priorities from the pre-2023 period at all (a 24-year gap between the unreadable 1999 document and the first usable ar-2024 report covering 2022-23 results). Any claim about long-run institutional continuity beyond the three-year window covered here would be ungrounded — none is made in this brief.
- Budget figures use differing basis years across reports (planned/estimates vs. interim actuals vs. prior-year actuals, re-stated for organizational changes per each report's own footnotes) — the $822.4M / $855.7M / $1,050.1M figures cited above are all the "planned" (Estimates) total operating+capital line for consistency, not actuals, and should not be summed or averaged without accounting for the re-statement caveats each report states in its own footnotes.