Ministry of Citizenship and Multiculturalism
FOI via central portal; no ministry-specific open data page found
Current this library's internal records: Annual progress report 2025: Ontario's Anti-Racism Strategic Plan (2025)
Completeness
- Document shelf: 11 rows (8 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 3 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 8 of 11 row(s) audited, 3 flagged
- Last verified: 2026-08-04 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: checked — none found
- API: checked — none found
- RSS: checked — none found
- Newsroom
- FOI / access requests: checked — none found
Document shelf (11 rows)
| Year | Type | Title | Archive status | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | Annual report | Published Plans and Annual Reports 2025-2026: Ministry of Citizenship and Multiculturalism | archived | ⚠️ still being checked — our archive fetch was blocked on 2026-07-31; ⚠️ still being checked — the fetch failed on 2026-07-31;records disagreed on 2026-08-01 |
| 2025 | Annual report | Annual progress report 2025: Ontario's Anti-Racism Strategic Plan | archived | |
| 2025 | Financial statements | Public Accounts of Ontario 2024-2025: Ministry Statements and Schedules -- Ministry of Citizenship and Multiculturalism | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: embedded-in-parent |
| 2024 | Annual report | Annual progress report 2024: Ontario's Anti-Racism Strategic Plan | archived | |
| 2024 | Financial statements | Public Accounts of Ontario 2023-2024: Ministry Statements and Schedules -- Ministry of Citizenship and Multiculturalism | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: embedded-in-parent |
| 2023 | Annual report | Published Plans and Annual Reports 2022-2023: Ministry of Citizenship and Multiculturalism | archived | |
| 2023 | Financial statements | Public Accounts of Ontario 2022-2023: Ministry Statements and Schedules -- Ministry of Citizenship and Multiculturalism | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: embedded-in-parent |
| 2023 | Strategic plan | Building a Stronger and More Inclusive Ontario: Ontario's Anti-Racism Strategic Plan | archived | |
| 2022 | Annual report | missing — searched, not found | missing | ⚠️ Still being checked: searched-not-found (predecessor-org: no published-plans-and-annual-reports page for FY2021-22 under this or predecessor ministry name; series resumes only at FY2022-23; consistent with prior session's ar-2021 finding that the ministry was reintroduced under this name in 2021) |
| 2021 | Annual report | missing — searched, not found | missing | ⚠️ Still being checked: searched-not-found-2026-07-30:Same structural gap as ar-2020: ministry was only reintroduced under this name in 2021,... |
| 2020 | Annual report | missing — searched, not found | missing | ⚠️ Still being checked: searched-not-found (predecessor-org: ministry did not exist under Citizenship-and-Multiculturalism branding for FY2019-20; CDX shows only 2017-2018 (as Citizenship-and-Immigration) then a gap until 2022-2023 under published-plans-and-annual-reports series; live-URL guesses for 2018-19/2019-20/2020-21 all 404) |
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Ministry of Citizenship and Multiculturalism - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: on-ministry-citizenship-multiculturalism (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
The ministry's enabling instrument is the Ministry of Citizenship and Culture Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.18, which continues "a ministry of the public service known in English as the Ministry of Citizenship and Culture" and gives the Minister power to "preside over and have charge of the Ministry" (consolidated text verified at https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/90m18, s.2-3). The Act's short title has not been amended to match the ministry's current operating name; the ministry now brands itself "Ministry of Citizenship and Multiculturalism" (ontario.ca/page/ministry-citizenship-and-multiculturalism, fetched) — the statutory name lag is common for Ontario ministries, whose day-to-day names shift by order-in-council rather than legislative amendment.
Roles, responsibilities & scope
The ministry "leads the government's anti-racism, economic inclusion, cultural heritage and provincial awards initiatives to build an equitable Ontario" (ontario.ca/page/ministry-citizenship-and-multiculturalism, fetched). Concretely it runs the Anti-Racism Directorate and associated grant programs (Anti-Racism Anti-Hate Grant Program, Ontario Anti-Hate Security and Prevention Grant), the Black Youth Action Plan and RAISE entrepreneurship grants, provincial honours administration (including the Order of Ontario), and cultural-heritage conservation functions covering archaeological and built heritage (same source). Its current strategy artifact is the "Annual progress report 2025: Ontario's Anti-Racism Strategic Plan" (registry row on-ministry-citizenship-multiculturalism, strategy_current_url).
Governance & reporting line
As an Ontario ministry, it is headed by a Minister who sits in Executive Council (Cabinet) and is accountable to the Legislative Assembly; the Minister "has power to act for and on behalf of the Ministry" and may delegate to the Deputy Minister (Ministry of Citizenship and Culture Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.18, s.3-4, verified). Freedom-of-information requests route through Ontario's central FOI portal rather than a ministry-specific channel (registry row on-ministry-citizenship-multiculturalism, notes field).
Budget scale
~$92.7M total planned expenditure for 2025-26 ($89.1M operating + $3.6M capital), per the ministry's Published Plans and Annual Report (https://www.ontario.ca/page/published-plans-and-annual-reports-2025-2026-ministry-citizenship-and-multiculturalism, fetched).
Institutional history
The citizenship portfolio traces to a Provincial Secretary and Minister of Citizenship (1961), was reorganized as the Ministry of Citizenship and Culture in 1982 (per the still-standing enabling Act), and cycled through several names since — Citizenship, Culture and Recreation; Citizenship and Immigration; Citizenship, Immigration and International Trade (2014-2016) — before being reconstituted as the Ministry of Citizenship and Multiculturalism in 2021 after a period folded into the Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services. ⚠️ still being checked - this rename sequence is drawn from Wikipedia's ministry history summary, not independently confirmed against a primary Ontario government source this review.
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Ministry of Citizenship and Multiculturalism - strategy evolution
2026-08-02 / registry: on-ministry-citizenship-multiculturalism / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: The ministry's central strategy artifact is Building a Stronger and More Inclusive Ontario (Aug 2023), a 66-initiative, 14-ministry Anti-Racism Strategic Plan built on four fixed areas of action (economic empowerment; children and youth; population-specific anti-racism/anti-hate; policy and accountability) that has not been restructured since launch — the two subsequent annual progress reports (2024, 2025) report against the same four areas without adding or renaming any. The most notable addition across the archived series is two brand-new statutory honours programs created by name in 2024 (the Murray Whetung Community Service Award Act and the Honouring Veterans Act) alongside a 2025-26 Anti-Racism Directorate operating-budget jump of 86.4% ($22.98M) year-over-year — the largest single line-item swing in the archived financials. One load-bearing number: total planned 2025-26 ministry expenditure is $92.7M ($89.1M operating + $3.6M capital), matching the backgrounder exactly. Open question: the Anti-Hate Security and Prevention Grant is reported at a flat $12.75M in both 2024-25 and 2025-26 in the ar-2026 document, but the original announcement was framed as a two-year, $25.5M-total commitment ending in 2024-25 — whether the 2025-26 tranche is a renewal, an extension of the same envelope, or a new commitment is not stated in the archived text. ⚠️ still being checked.
Backgrounder summary
The ministry's enabling instrument remains the Ministry of Citizenship and Culture Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.18 (statutory name unchanged since 1982 despite the ministry's current "Citizenship and Multiculturalism" operating name). Per the backgrounder, it "leads the government's anti-racism, economic inclusion, cultural heritage and provincial awards initiatives to build an equitable Ontario," running the Anti-Racism Directorate and its grant programs, the Black Youth Action Plan and RAISE grants, provincial honours administration, and cultural-heritage/archaeology functions. Budget scale per the backgrounder: ~$92.7M total planned 2025-26 expenditure ($89.1M operating + $3.6M capital). The backgrounder's institutional-history rename sequence (Citizenship and Culture → Citizenship, Culture and Recreation → Citizenship and Immigration → Citizenship, Immigration and International Trade → folded into Children, Community and Social Services → reconstituted as Citizenship and Multiculturalism in 2021) carried a ⚠️ still being checked flag as Wikipedia-sourced; nothing in this archived series independently confirms or disconfirms that sequence.
Series inventory
_index.json: 4 ok / 0 stub-suspected / 0 extract-failed.
Hand count agrees with the index: all four documents read in full, all genuinely complete pages (confirmed by reaching each page's "Top" footer marker), none truncated or stub. Two of the four (ar-2024, ar-2025) are short by page design — they are landing-page "overview" sections of a multi-page Ontario.ca book whose substantive content lives in a table of contents the archived capture did not expand into sub-pages — not extraction failures. See Residuals & gaps for the stub-detector note this implies.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| on-ministry-citizenship-multiculturalism-sp-2023 | 2023 | strategic-plan | d29a4dec4f83 | yes |
| on-ministry-citizenship-multiculturalism-ar-2024 | 2024 | annual-report | 525f9dbf6698 | yes (short overview page, complete) |
| on-ministry-citizenship-multiculturalism-ar-2025 | 2025 | annual-report | 192d0ca33438 | yes (short overview page, complete) |
| on-ministry-citizenship-multiculturalism-ar-2026 | 2026 | annual-report | 096a5ad7edfb | yes (full Published Plans and Annual Report, 2025-26) |
Priority evolution
2023 (sp-2023, d29a4dec4f83), "Building a Stronger and More Inclusive Ontario": Launch of the current Anti-Racism Strategic Plan (Aug 24, 2023), replacing the prior strategy after a review process ("more than 300 participants," "over 1,000 online and written submissions"). Structured around four areas of action — economic empowerment; supporting children and youth; population-specific anti-racism and anti-hate initiatives; policy and accountability — delivered via named initiatives from multiple ministries (RAISE and the Anti-Hate Security and Prevention Grant sit under Citizenship and Multiculturalism; most named dollar initiatives belong to partner ministries — Education, Children/Community/Social Services, Labour/Immigration/Training/Skills Development, Health, Solicitor General, Attorney General, Seniors and Accessibility). Total ministry investment stated as "over $132.5 million." A detailed terminology glossary (racism, systemic racism, Islamophobia, antisemitism, intersectionality, etc.) is appended as standard front/back matter (d29a4dec4f83).
2024 (ar-2024, 525f9dbf6698), first annual progress report under the new plan: Confirms the same four areas of action, unchanged. Minister (Michael Ford) and Deputy Minister (Nosa Ero-Brown) messages both frame the report as tracking the August 2023 plan's initial year; the Deputy Minister's message specifically calls out an expansion of the Anti-Hate Security and Prevention Grant as a named enhancement. Reporting scope: "14 ministries" (525f9dbf6698).
2025 (ar-2025, 192d0ca33438), sixth annual report under the Anti-Racism Act reporting requirement (second under the current 2023 plan) — new Minister: Minister attribution changes from Michael Ford to Graham McGregor; Deputy Minister (Ero-Brown) continues. Same four areas of action retained; same "14 ministries" scope claim. Framing shifts noticeably toward economic/competitiveness language ("global uncertainty and economic pressures," "future-ready economy," "protect Ontario") not present in the 2023 or 2024 documents' framing, alongside continued equity language. New for 2025: an explicit note that initiatives outside the four official strategy areas are now also being surfaced in the annual report ("new initiatives... not part of the official Anti-Racism Strategy... help illustrate how ministries across the government are supporting anti-racism and anti-hate efforts outside of the Anti-Racism Strategy") (192d0ca33438).
2025-26 (ar-2026, 096a5ad7edfb), Published Plans and Annual Report — combined forward plan + FY2024-25 retrospective: Ministry structure formalized as three divisions: Anti-Racism Directorate (ARD), Citizenship, Inclusion and Heritage Division (CIHD), Heritage Policy and Programs Division (HPPD). Forward plan for 2025-26 restates the same anti-racism strategic plan and the same named grant programs (AHSP, RAISE, BYAP Economic Empowerment) at flat or near-flat dollar levels versus 2024-25. New material versus the 2023/2024/2025 documents: two brand-new statutory honours programs (Murray Whetung Community Service Award Act, Royal Assent April 2024; Honouring Veterans Act, Royal Assent November 2024), three completed 2024-25 "Lean efficiency reviews" of honours programs (Order of Ontario, Volunteer Service Awards, Amethyst Awards) yielding "41 recommendations" targeted at "at least 30%" efficiency gains, and a heritage-side operational overhaul (archaeological-assessment review timeline cut from 70+ business days to a 40-day target, met "90 per cent of the time" as of March 31, 2025; backlog of 3,000 reports "reduced... by 47 per cent"). The Return of the Ancestors Initiative (Indigenous repatriation program, running since 2014) is reported in both the forward-plan and retrospective sections with concrete 2024-25 progress (106 sets of Ancestors under draft reporting; consultations initiated with nine Indigenous communities for 15 sets) (096a5ad7edfb).
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Added — Murray Whetung Community Service Award Act, 2024 and Honouring Veterans Act, 2024: both new statutory honours instruments, absent from sp-2023, ar-2024, and ar-2025; first appear in ar-2026 (096a5ad7edfb), both Royal Assent in 2024, both with inaugural award cycles delivered/scheduled in 2025.
- Added — explicit "Lean efficiency review" program-modernization language: absent from sp-2023/ar-2024/ar-2025; first appears in ar-2026 describing three completed 2024-25 reviews (Order of Ontario, Volunteer Service Awards, Amethyst Awards) and a heritage-side "Heritage Framework Transformation" modernization initiative with named external consultants (Optimus SBR, Sia Partners) (096a5ad7edfb).
- Added — "initiatives outside the official Anti-Racism Strategy" as a reported category: first appears ar-2025 (192d0ca33438), continuing the same four-area structure but supplementing it; not present as a stated category in sp-2023 or ar-2024.
- Unchanged throughout — the four areas of action (economic empowerment; supporting children and youth; population-specific anti-racism and anti-hate initiatives; policy and accountability): identical framing sp-2023 through ar-2025, no additions, drops, or renames detected across the three progress-report-style documents in this series.
- Minister changeover, not a priority change — Michael Ford (sp-2023, ar-2024) to Graham McGregor (ar-2025); no corresponding change in strategy structure accompanies the changeover in the archived text.
- Quietly shifted — rhetorical frame: sp-2023 and ar-2024 messaging centers equity/inclusion language almost exclusively; ar-2025's Minister message introduces explicit economic-competitiveness and "protect Ontario" framing not present in the two earlier documents, while retaining the same underlying four-area structure. The archived series does not state a reason for the framing shift.
Budget & mandate inflection points
- Aug 24, 2023 — Building a Stronger and More Inclusive Ontario released; ~$132.5M ministry investment stated across 66 initiatives, 14 ministries (d29a4dec4f83).
- FY2023-24, two rounds — AHSP Grant (rebranded from OGFBCO) launched: fall round $12.5M (portal open Jul 20–Nov 7, 2023), winter round $20.5M (portal open Dec 14, 2023–Jan 22, 2024, prioritizing Jewish and Muslim communities amid a stated spike in antisemitic/Islamophobic incidents) — combining to the $25.5M/2-year figure cited in sp-2023 and ar-2024 (096a5ad7edfb).
- Aug 30, 2024 — fifth annual progress report released (referenced retrospectively in ar-2026; this is the ar-2024 document itself, 525f9dbf6698).
- April 2024 — Murray Whetung Community Service Award Act receives Royal Assent (096a5ad7edfb).
- November 2024 — Honouring Veterans Act receives Royal Assent (096a5ad7edfb).
- FY2024-25 — ARD Anti-Racism Anti-Hate (ARAH) Grant extended with an additional $1.15M (19 previously-funded organizations), on top of the original $4.8M/3-year (FY2021-22 through FY2023-24) commitment; program concludes July 2025 (096a5ad7edfb).
- 2025-26 Estimates — Anti-Racism Directorate operating vote rises to $49,565,300, up $22,979,400 (86.4%) from 2024-25 Estimates of $26,585,900 — the largest single year-over-year swing of any vote/program line in the archived financial table; Citizenship, Inclusion and Heritage vote falls $19,162,500 (-49.6%) over the same comparison (096a5ad7edfb). ⚠️ Still being checked: the archived text gives the vote-line deltas but does not narrate what drove the ARD increase or CIH decrease specifically.
- 2025-26 — Ministry total operating + capital (incl. consolidation) reaches $92,667,987, a 31.0% year-over-year increase over 2024-25 Estimates ($70,739,387) — consistent with, and the primary source for, the backgrounder's ~$92.7M figure (096a5ad7edfb).
- Beginning 2024-25 Interim — Ontario Heritage Trust financials consolidated into MCM's for accounting-standards purposes, mechanically inflating year-over-year comparisons that span the consolidation boundary (096a5ad7edfb).
Ontario/Toronto relevance
This is an Ontario provincial ministry with province-wide scope by definition; Toronto-specific footprint within the archived documents is concentrated in named programs and grantees rather than a head-office-location argument. sp-2023 names a $1.8M grant to the Toronto District School Board specifically to address school violence and support inclusion/engagement, delivered through "culturally responsive and faith-based community agencies" (d29a4dec4f83). The Black Youth Action Plan's Economic Empowerment stream names Toronto Metropolitan University's Digital Media Zone (DMZ) Black Innovation Program as one of six funded initiative streams, both in the ar-2026 forward plan ($16.5M, 2025-26) and retrospective (same figure, 2024-25) (096a5ad7edfb). The Ontario Heritage Trust — consolidated into MCM's financials from 2024-25 Interim onward — operates the Elgin and Winter Garden Theatre Centre, a Toronto heritage property, per the ar-2026 organization chart (096a5ad7edfb). No document in this series names a Toronto-specific anti-racism or heritage initiative beyond these; program funding is otherwise described at the provincial or named-organization level without city breakdowns.
Residuals & gaps
- Stub-detector observation: ar-2024 (525f9dbf6698, 5,971 chars) and ar-2025 (192d0ca33438, 5,675 chars) are both far shorter than sp-2023 (50,947 chars) and ar-2026 (39,468 chars), which could plausibly trip a length-based stub heuristic. Having read both in full, they are genuinely complete pages — each ends at its own "Top" footer marker with no truncation — that happen to be short because Ontario.ca published them as landing-page "overview" sections of a multi-page book, with the substantive initiative-by-initiative content apparently living in child pages of the same book that were not separately captured in this archive set. The
_index.jsoncorrectly marked both "ok" rather than flagging them stub-suspected, which is the right call given they are complete as fetched — but the underlying gap (child pages not archived) still limits what "Priority evolution" can say about 2024 and 2025 specifically: both years' progress-report detail (which initiatives were funded, what changed year-over-year within the four areas) is not recoverable from this archived set and had to be inferred from the ar-2026 retrospective section instead, which covers FY2024-25 only. - Coverage gap, not extraction failure: because ar-2024 and ar-2025 are landing pages only, this brief's 2024/2025 "Priority evolution" entries lean on Minister/Deputy-Minister message framing and stated scope claims (four areas, 14 ministries) rather than on itemized initiative data for those two years. The itemized FY2024-25 initiative data used above comes from ar-2026's retrospective section, not from ar-2024 or ar-2025 directly — meaning FY2023-24 itemized detail (beyond what sp-2023 states as forward-looking 2023-24 investments) is not present anywhere in this archived series.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: whether the 2025-26 AHSP Grant $12.75M tranche is a renewal/new commitment or a continuation of the original $25.5M/2-year (FY2023-24 + FY2024-25) envelope — ar-2026 states both the original two-year framing and a "continues to invest $12.75 million... in 2025-2026" line without reconciling the two as either an extension of the same funding or a fresh allocation.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: the Champion of Diversity Award is listed in ar-2026 as "currently under review" with no further detail on status or reason.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: institutional-history rename sequence flagged in the backgrounder (Wikipedia-sourced) remains unconfirmed; nothing in this archived series speaks to it either way.
- No archive_status=missing or era:pre-web-baseline flags apply to this series per the registry; all four gaps described above are child-page coverage gaps within otherwise "ok" captures, not disclosed extraction failures.