Ministry of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade
FOI via central portal; no mandate letter/plan doc linked on ministry page, no current plan located
Completeness
- Document shelf: 8 rows (8 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 8 of 8 row(s) audited, 3 flagged
- Last verified: 2026-08-04 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: checked — none found
- API: checked — none found
- RSS: checked — none found
- Newsroom: checked — none found
- FOI / access requests: checked — none found
Document shelf (8 rows)
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Ministry of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: on-ministry-economic-development-job-creation-trade (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
The ministry's continuation statute is the Ministry of Economic Development and Trade Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.27, consolidated text current to the e-Laws currency date, consolidation period effective April 27, 2021 (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/90m27, fetched and verified via the e-Laws legislation service, section-by-section content confirmed). Section 2 continues the former "Ministry of Industry, Trade and Technology" under the name "Ministry of Economic Development and Trade" (renamed 2006, c. 19, Sched. I, s. 4(3), same source). Section 3 sets statutory objectives: stimulating income opportunities via industry/trade development, supporting employment growth through trade expansion and investment, and advancing the interests of Ontario's private sector (same source). ⚠️ Still being checked: the Act's own text still names the ministry "Ministry of Economic Development and Trade," not the current public name "Ministry of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade" — the instrument adding "Job Creation" was not located this review.
Roles, responsibilities & scope
Beyond s. 3's objectives, the ministry's own page describes supporting business start-up/growth/investment/trade, managing international trade and investment offices, representing Ontario in trade negotiations (CUSMA, CPTPP, CETA), and developing sector strategies (https://www.ontario.ca/page/ministry-economic-development-job-creation-and-trade, fetched directly). Affiliated agencies include Invest Ontario and Venture Ontario (same source).
Governance & reporting line
As a Crown ministry it is structurally organized under the Executive Council Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. E.25, ss. 1-2, which empowers the Lieutenant Governor in Council to appoint ministers and assign ministerial/ministry duties by order in council (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/90e25, fetched and verified); the M.27 Act sets the ministry's objectives (s. 3) rather than a separate "Minister to have charge" clause (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/90m27).
Budget scale
⚠️ not yet confirmed against an original source. Doc shelf shows a business-plan, an "other" item, and three annual-report items (1999-2026); no specific budget total was retrieved within this review.
Institutional history
Established as "Ministry of Industry, Trade and Technology," continued and renamed "Ministry of Economic Development and Trade" by 2006, c. 19, Sched. I, s. 4(3) — evidence this Act has previously been amended to track ministry renames (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/90m27, s. 2 text and amendment note, fetched and verified). The further rename to "Ministry of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade" seen on the ministry's current site is a more recent machinery-of-government change not yet reflected in the Act text located this review — ⚠️ still being checked.
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Ministry of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade - strategy evolution
2026-08-01 / registry: on-ministry-economic-development-job-creation-trade / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: The biggest priority addition is "Protecting the economy of Ontario," a new lead priority appearing only in the 2024-25 annual report (ar-2026), explicitly framed as a response to U.S. tariffs and backed by two new named programs (Ontario Together Trade Fund, Trade-Impacted Communities Program). The biggest quietly-dropped/changed item is the consolidation of five named priority areas (ar-2024) into four (ar-2025), with "Bringing Manufacturing Jobs Back to Ontario" and "Fostering a Growing Innovation and Technology Ecosystem" disappearing as standalone headings with no stated reason. The most load-bearing number is ministry total operating expense roughly doubling from $1,309,133,287 (planned 2023-24) to $2,686,059,865 (planned 2024-25). One open question the record cannot resolve: Invest Ontario's founding date is stated inconsistently across the archived series itself (2021 in two reports, July 2020 in the most recent one).
Backgrounder summary
The ministry's continuation statute is the Ministry of Economic Development and Trade Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.27, which continues the former "Ministry of Industry, Trade and Technology" under the name "Ministry of Economic Development and Trade" (renamed 2006) and sets three statutory objectives: stimulating income opportunities via industry/trade development, supporting employment growth through trade expansion and investment, and advancing the interests of Ontario's private sector. The backgrounder flags ⚠️ still being checked that the Act's own text still uses "Ministry of Economic Development and Trade," not the current public name "Ministry of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade" — the instrument adding "Job Creation" was not located in that pass. The ministry manages international trade and investment offices, represents Ontario in trade negotiations (CUSMA, CPTPP, CETA), and develops sector strategies, with affiliated agencies Invest Ontario and Venture Ontario. Budget scale was flagged ⚠️ still being checked in the backgrounder (not independently grounded there); this review grounds specific ministry-total expenditure figures directly in the annual reports (below).
Series inventory
The registry set for this org totals 5 documents: three annual/business-plan reports spanning 2024-2026, one 1999 business plan, and one 2021 "other" document (an Auditor General value-for-money audit). Per this library’s relay-and-re-verify rule, this count reflects the registry/extraction set as provided, not an independently-verified total universe of ministry publications.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| on-ministry-economic-development-job-creation-trade-bp-1999 | 1999 | business-plan | 631260986fde | stub-suspected (confirmed correct — Internet Archive item-detail/catalog wrapper page, no business-plan text present) |
| on-ministry-economic-development-job-creation-trade-oth-2021 | 2021 | other (Auditor General value-for-money audit) | 5b4f65fac00e | yes |
| on-ministry-economic-development-job-creation-trade-ar-2024 | 2024 | annual-report | 28dbebab40ab | yes |
| on-ministry-economic-development-job-creation-trade-ar-2025 | 2025 | annual-report | ba77e50ffa6f | yes (read in full; file spans ~3,734 lines, both Part I strategic-plan/priority narrative and Part II detailed financial tables reviewed) |
| on-ministry-economic-development-job-creation-trade-ar-2026 | 2026 | annual-report | 26e992d9d9f0 | yes |
Priority evolution
1998-99 (bp-1999, 631260986fde): Not recoverable — the archived capture is an Internet Archive item-detail/catalog page (title, OCR/scan metadata, download-format list, "SIMILAR ITEMS" widget) for a 15-page business plan titled "Ministry of Economic Development, Trade and Tourism 1998-1999 Business Plan," but contains no plan text itself. The ministry name recorded on this record — "Ministry of Economic Development, Trade and Tourism" — is itself evidence of a still-earlier ministry name/mandate configuration than either the M.27 Act's "Ministry of Economic Development and Trade" or the current "…Job Creation and Trade," but this cannot be developed further from the captured text. ⚠️ still being checked.
2021 (oth-2021, 5b4f65fac00e), Auditor General value-for-money audit of the ENCQOR 5G Program: Documents a specific ministry-administered funding stream, the Jobs and Prosperity Fund, which in 2016-17 approved a proposal from Ericsson, Ciena and Thales for a five-year, $400 million tri-government/tri-vendor 5G pre-commercial test-platform program (Ontario's share $66.7 million), administered on the ministry's behalf by the Ontario Centre of Innovation (OCI) — the same OCI that appears as a standing ministry-supported agency/program-delivery partner in every later annual report in this set. The audit is critical: it found the Transfer Payment Agreement between the ministry and OCI lacked measurable targets for five of nine performance metrics, that only ~130 of a claimed 320 SME-side jobs were actually verified as created/retained (against a 3,000-job program-wide target), that test platforms were significantly underused, and that OCI's fund-allocation and cybersecurity practices needed improvement (5b4f65fac00e). This document is useful evidence of the ministry's program-delivery/oversight model (transfer payment agreements to arm's-length or agency delivery partners, e.g., OCI) recurring across the later annual reports, and as an early, harder-edged external data point against which the annual reports' self-reported achievement narratives can be read.
2022-23 reporting year, described retrospectively in ar-2024 (28dbebab40ab): The ministry's stated vision is "building Ontario's economy for today and for tomorrow through attracting and protecting investments and jobs," organized under five priority areas: Building Ontario's Electric Vehicle Supply Chain; Bringing Manufacturing Jobs Back to Ontario; Attracting Investments to Ontario; Supporting Ontario Businesses and Entrepreneurship; Fostering a Growing Innovation and Technology Ecosystem. Named 2022-23 achievements include ~155 investment projects landed (>$16 billion, 7,300+ jobs created, 20,000 retained), the Volkswagen/PowerCo $7 billion EV battery plant announcement (St. Thomas, March 2023), an Advanced Manufacturing Council established (April 2023), a Life Sciences Council established (April 2023), and Intellectual Property Ontario (IPON) beginning a beta service phase (October 2022) (28dbebab40ab). 2023-24 planned expenditure is reported at $1,309,133,287 total ministry operating expense (Table 1, 28dbebab40ab).
2023-24 reporting year, described in ar-2025 (ba77e50ffa6f): The five-priority framing from ar-2024 contracts to four priority areas: Growing Ontario's Electric Vehicle Supply Chain; Attracting Investments to Ontario; Supporting Ontario Businesses and Entrepreneurship; Building the Future Economy of Ontario. "Bringing Manufacturing Jobs Back to Ontario" and "Fostering a Growing Innovation and Technology Ecosystem" as named, separate priority headings both disappear; their program content (industrial land development, critical technologies, advanced manufacturing) is folded into the remaining four headings rather than dropped substantively. First appearance of formal KPI/target-and-trend reporting structure with named outcome statements (job creation, investment leveraged, businesses/entrepreneurs supported) and multi-year trend/target values through FY2029-30 (ba77e50ffa6f). Named 2023-24 achievements: 57 export business missions ($1.5B potential export sales), five free trade agreements negotiated, 62 investment projects landed with Invest Ontario (>$1.1B, 2,200+ jobs), the Critical Technology Initiatives (CTI) program launched ($107 million to five organizations: Vector Institute, OCI, Ontario Bioscience Innovation Organization, Quantum Valley Ideas Lab, Canadian Cyber Threat Exchange). Ministry total operating expense for 2024-25 planned at $2,686,059,865 (Table 1, ba77e50ffa6f) — roughly double the prior year's figure, driven by the Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade Program vote rising 107.2% year-over-year (Table A1, ba77e50ffa6f).
2024-25 reporting year, described in ar-2026 (26e992d9d9f0): The four-priority structure is retained but reframed with a new lead priority — "Protecting the economy of Ontario" replaces "Building the Future Economy of Ontario" as one of the four headings, explicitly framed around responding to U.S. tariffs: "The Ontario government is taking action to protect workers, businesses, and jobs in the face of U.S. tariffs and continued economic uncertainty, with a plan to build an economy that is more resilient and self-reliant" (26e992d9d9f0). Two new named programs appear under this heading: the Ontario Together Trade Fund (OTTF, $50 million over three years from 2025-26) and the Trade-Impacted Communities Program (TICP, up to $40 million in grants from 2025-26). The April 2025 "Protect Ontario through Free Trade within Canada Act" is named as new legislation enabling mutual recognition of goods/services/workers with reciprocating Canadian jurisdictions, with implementing regulations targeted by end of 2025. Named 2024-25 achievements: development of "Ontario's U.S. Tariff Response Strategy," 15 EV-sector projects landed (>$15 billion, 3,000+ jobs created, 7,000+ retained), the AstraZeneca $820 million Mississauga R&D/HQ relocation investment (January 2025, $16.1 million ministry support via Invest Ontario Fund), the Siemens $150 million Oakville AI-manufacturing R&D centre (March 2025, $7.2 million ministry support). Ministry total operating expense for 2025-26 planned at $2,494,743,665 (Table 1, 26e992d9d9f0) — a modest decrease from the 2024-25 estimate, driven by a 6.7% reduction in the Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade Program vote (Table A1, 26e992d9d9f0), even as Operating Assets nearly tripled (from $141,965,400 to $329,371,600) — consistent with Invest Ontario Fund top-ups being booked as investment/loan assets rather than expense.
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Renamed/consolidated — five priority areas (ar-2024, 28dbebab40ab) become four (ar-2025, ba77e50ffa6f): "Bringing Manufacturing Jobs Back to Ontario" and "Fostering a Growing Innovation and Technology Ecosystem" disappear as standalone named headings between the 2023-24 and 2024-25 published plans; program content under both (industrial land development, critical technologies, advanced manufacturing strategy) continues to be reported, now nested under "Attracting Investments to Ontario" and "Building the Future Economy of Ontario." No report states an explicit reason for the consolidation.
- Added — "Protecting the economy of Ontario" as a named, lead priority area: absent from ar-2024 and ar-2025; first appears in ar-2026 (26e992d9d9f0), replacing "Building the Future Economy of Ontario" in the four-priority structure and explicitly framed as a response to U.S. tariffs.
- Added — Ontario Together Trade Fund (OTTF) and Trade-Impacted Communities Program (TICP): both new in ar-2026 (26e992d9d9f0, $50M/3yr and up to $40M respectively, both starting 2025-26), tied to the new "Protecting the economy" priority.
- Added — formal KPI/trend/target reporting structure: absent as a named framework in ar-2024 (28dbebab40ab, which reports program-level performance measures/outcomes/outputs but not ministry-wide KPI trend tables); first appears in ar-2025 (ba77e50ffa6f) with three outcome-statement KPIs (job creation, investment leveraged, businesses/entrepreneurs supported), each carrying baseline/trend/target values through FY2029-30; retained and extended in ar-2026 (26e992d9d9f0).
- Added — "Protect Ontario through Free Trade within Canada Act" (April 2025): new interprovincial-trade legislation, first appears ar-2026 (26e992d9d9f0); not present in ar-2024 or ar-2025 (predates their reporting windows).
- Quietly renamed — Invest Ontario's founding date: ar-2024 (28dbebab40ab) and ar-2025 (ba77e50ffa6f, "established in April 2021") both describe Invest Ontario as established in 2021, consistent with the backgrounder; ar-2026 (26e992d9d9f0) instead states Invest Ontario "was established in July 2020" — a direct inconsistency across the archived series on the agency's founding date. ⚠️ still being checked — flagged here as an internal inconsistency in the archived documents themselves, not resolved by any single document.
- Growing budget scale for Invest Ontario Fund: $400M (established per the 2021 Budget, per ar-2024 28dbebab40ab) → "$600 million" total after a further $100M top-up (per ar-2025 ba77e50ffa6f, referencing the 2024 Budget) → an "additional $600 million" announced in the 2025 Budget per ar-2026 (26e992d9d9f0) — the ar-2026 figure is described as incremental new funding rather than a restated running total, so the exact cumulative fund size after the 2025 top-up is not stated as a single number in the archived text. ⚠️ still being checked.
Budget & mandate inflection points
- 2016-17 — Jobs and Prosperity Fund approves the ENCQOR 5G proposal, later becoming a $400M tri-government/tri-vendor program with $66.7M Ontario share (5b4f65fac00e, retrospective description in the 2021 audit).
- March 2022 — ENCQOR 5G Program agreement concludes; a third-party economic impact study was planned by OCI upon completion (5b4f65fac00e).
- April 2023 — Advanced Manufacturing Council and Life Sciences Council both established (28dbebab40ab).
- March 2023 — Volkswagen/PowerCo $7 billion EV battery plant announcement for St. Thomas — described in the series as "the largest electric vehicle-related investment in Canadian history" (28dbebab40ab).
- 2023-24 to 2024-25 — Ministry total operating expense roughly doubles, from $1,309,133,287 (planned 2023-24, 28dbebab40ab) to $2,686,059,865 (planned 2024-25, ba77e50ffa6f) — a 105.2% increase per the ar-2025 historic-trend table (ba77e50ffa6f).
- October 2024 — Phase 2 of the Life Sciences Strategy ("Taking Life Sciences to the Next Level") released, an all-of-government $146 million action plan with four comprehensive goals (26e992d9d9f0).
- 2024 Fall Economic Statement — Advanced Manufacturing Plan released, a 10-year roadmap targeting >$120 billion sector output and 1 million manufacturing-sector jobs by 2035 (26e992d9d9f0).
- Early 2025 (reported in ar-2026) — Ministry develops "Ontario's U.S. Tariff Response Strategy" in response to U.S. tariff actions; this becomes the organizing frame for the entire 2025-26 published plan (26e992d9d9f0).
- April 2025 — "Protect Ontario through Free Trade within Canada Act" introduced (26e992d9d9f0).
- 2025 Budget — additional $600 million allocated to the Invest Ontario Fund; new Ontario Together Trade Fund ($50M/3yr) and Trade-Impacted Communities Program (up to $40M) both launched starting 2025-26 (26e992d9d9f0).
- 2023-24 to 2025-26 — Ministry total operating expense declines from the 2024-25 peak, with 2025-26 planned at $2,494,743,665, a 6.6% decrease from the prior year's estimate (Table A1, 26e992d9d9f0), even as Operating Assets rise sharply (driven by Invest Ontario Fund and Venture Ontario capital commitments booked as investments).
Ontario/Toronto relevance
This is a provincial Ontario ministry; the entire archived series is Ontario-scoped by definition, and Toronto/GTA-specific content is frequent and substantive rather than incidental. Toronto Global — the investment-attraction agency for the City of Toronto, Mississauga, Brampton, and the regions of Durham, Halton and York — is a named, ministry-funded transfer-payment recipient in ar-2024 (28dbebab40ab: 2022-23 budget $2.5M, funded by the ministry "since 2017," achieving 27 closed wins, $748,675,664 money invested, 2,565 jobs created) and remains a named investment-attraction organization (alongside Waterloo Region Economic Development Corporation and Invest Ottawa) receiving $10.3 million combined over three years in ar-2026 (26e992d9d9f0). Toronto-specific investments named across the series include: Citibank's Internal Audit Hub in Mississauga (28dbebab40ab); Unilever's Horizon3 AI Lab headquartered in downtown Toronto with manufacturing in Etobicoke and Simcoe (ba77e50ffa6f); AstraZeneca's $820 million Mississauga R&D expansion/HQ relocation (26e992d9d9f0); the ShopHERE small-business e-commerce program, delivered by the Toronto Association of Business Improvement Areas (28dbebab40ab); one of seven OVIN Regional Technology Development Sites is explicitly sited in Toronto, with a ministerial visit named (28dbebab40ab). The ministry's head office/business-planning contact in every annual report is listed with a 647 area code (Toronto), consistent with the ministry being headquartered in Toronto, though no report states this as an explicit fact. ⚠️ Still being checked: no document in this archived set gives the ministry's street address or explicitly names Toronto as its headquarters location.
Residuals & gaps
- Detector QA — bp-1999 (631260986fde): the
stub-suspectedflag is CONFIRMED CORRECT. The extracted text is entirely Internet Archive site chrome and item-metadata (navigation menu, "Bookreader," "DOWNLOAD OPTIONS," "SIMILAR ITEMS," OCR-scan metadata fields likeOcr_detected_lang,Scanningcenter) for a 1998-99 business plan; not one sentence of actual business-plan content is present in the captured text. This is a correct catch by the new stub detector. - Detector QA — the three
ok-status annual reports (ar-2024, ar-2025, ar-2026) and theok-status oth-2021 audit were all read and confirmed as genuine, substantive document content — no false negatives found among theok-flagged docs in this set. - No detector disagreements found in either direction for this org's document set — the one flagged doc was correctly flagged, and all four
okdocs were correctly not flagged. - The 1999 business plan's substantive content — the actual 1998-99 priorities of the then-"Ministry of Economic Development, Trade and Tourism" — remains completely unrecovered from this archived capture; a future pass should attempt to source the plan's actual PDF/text (Internet Archive item 31761120592662) rather than relying on the catalog page.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: exact instrument/date that renamed the ministry from "Ministry of Economic Development and Trade" (per the still-current M.27 Act text and per all three annual reports' "Legislation" sections, which continue to cite "Ministry of Economic Development and Trade Act") to the current public name "Ministry of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade" — all three annual reports name statutes still keyed to the older name, consistent with the backgrounder's flag that this rename has not been traced to a specific legal instrument.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: Invest Ontario's founding date is stated inconsistently across the archived series — "established in 2021" (ar-2024, 28dbebab40ab) / "established in April 2021" (ar-2025, ba77e50ffa6f) versus "established in July 2020" (ar-2026, 26e992d9d9f0). Not resolved within this document set.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: cumulative size of the Invest Ontario Fund after the 2025 Budget's "additional $600 million" (ar-2026, 26e992d9d9f0) is not stated as a single running total in the archived text (compare: $400M at 2021 launch, $600M after 2024 Budget top-up per ar-2025).
- Series is thin relative to the registry's own description of the doc shelf (per the backgrounder: "a business-plan, an 'other' item, and three annual-report items") — this matches exactly what was extracted (5 docs total), so no additional missing-document gap is evident beyond the unrecoverable 1999 business-plan content itself.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: ministry budget scale prior to 2023-24 (the earliest year with a directly-grounded total-operating-expense figure in this set, $1,309,133,287 for 2023-24 per 28dbebab40ab) — no earlier-year ministry-wide total was located in the archived series; the backgrounder's own budget-scale section was also left ⚠️ still being checked.
- No archive_status=missing years and no era:pre-web-baseline flags apply to this series per the registry (flags column empty in the atlas row); the 1999 business-plan gap here is a content-extraction/stub issue on an Internet Archive-hosted scan, not a disclosure or crawl-coverage gap.