Ministry of Energy and Mines
no current plan located; FOI via central portal; newsroom is JS-rendered, content unconfirmed
Completeness
- Document shelf: 8 rows (8 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 8 of 8 row(s) audited, 3 flagged
- Last verified: 2026-08-04 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: not yet verified
- API: not yet verified
- RSS: not yet verified
- Newsroom
- FOI / access requests: not yet verified
Document shelf (8 rows)
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Ministry of Energy and Mines - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: on-ministry-energy-mines (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
The Ministry's current enabling legislation is the Ministry of Energy Act, 2011, S.O. 2011, c. 9, Sched. 25 (WebSearch/Wikipedia-sourced citation; Ontario Wikipedia entry on the Ministry, cross-referenced with the confirmed repeal record below). ⚠️ Still being checked: the specific ontario.ca/laws e-Laws page for this Act could not be located/resolved via WebFetch this review. What is directly verified is that the predecessor statute, the Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.23, was repealed effective June 6, 2011 per 2011, c. 9, Sched. 27, ss. 32, 42 (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/90m23, verified), consistent with the 2011 recreation of the Ministry under a standalone Act.
Roles, responsibilities & scope
The Ministry sets the regulatory framework for electricity pricing and price-mitigation policy, supports energy efficiency/conservation and clean-technology programs, works with Indigenous partners and sector stakeholders on energy policy, and oversees mineral-resource development, geoscience/mining information systems, and Ring of Fire mineral-development support (ontario.ca Ministry overview, https://www.ontario.ca/page/ministry-energy-and-mines; registry row on-ministry-energy-mines).
Governance & reporting line
Headed by a Minister with a Deputy Minister as deputy head of the public-service ministry, reporting through Cabinet to the Legislative Assembly in the usual Westminster-model fashion; the Ministry oversees energy-sector agencies including the Independent Electricity System Operator and Ontario Energy Board via statute and ministerial directive (ontario.ca Ministry overview, https://www.ontario.ca/page/ministry-energy-and-mines; registry row on-ministry-energy-mines).
Budget scale
$8,943.0M total planned expenditures for 2025-26 ($7,142.8M operating + $1,800.1M capital), of which $6,463.0M is Electricity Price Mitigation spending; down 3.3% from $9,247.6M in 2024-25 estimates, largely reflecting reduced price-mitigation costs (ontario.ca Ministry of Energy and Mines published plans and annual reports, 2025-2026, https://www.ontario.ca/page/published-plans-and-annual-reports-2025-2026-ministry-energy-and-mines).
Institutional history
Traces to the 1959 Department of Energy Resources; renamed and reorganized repeatedly — Department of Energy and Resources Management (1964), folded into Department of the Environment (1971), re-established as Ministry of Energy (1973), merged as Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure (2008-2010, repealed enabling Act 2011), reverted to Ministry of Energy (2010-2024, per the Ministry of Energy Act, 2011), styled Ministry of Energy and Electrification (June 2024-March 2025), and currently Ministry of Energy and Mines (March 2025-present) (WebSearch/Wikipedia summary of Ministry history, cross-checked against the confirmed 2011 repeal of R.S.O. 1990, c. M.23, https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/90m23; registry url_status flagged ⚠️ still being checked, notes "no current plan located").
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Ministry of Energy and Mines - strategy evolution
2026-08-01 (rolling continuation) / registry: on-ministry-energy-mines / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: The biggest priority addition is the entire mines and minerals mandate, absent from the two earlier annual reports and appearing fully only after the ministry's March 2025 rename to "Ministry of Energy and Mines," bringing a new Mines and Minerals Program, Ring of Fire development, and a Critical Minerals Processing Fund ($500M). Nothing was clearly dropped in this short three-year record; the clearest "quietly changed" item is the reporting structure itself, shifting from free-form narrative (ar-2024) to a tabulated strategic-priority format (ar-2025 onward). The most load-bearing number is 2025-26 planned total expenditure of $8,943.0M, down 3.3% from $9,247.6M the prior year, matching the backgrounder exactly. One open question the record cannot resolve: the exact delivery date of the Electrification and Energy Transition Panel's final report, stated as December 2023 in one archived document and January 2024 in another.
Backgrounder summary
The Ministry (current name Ministry of Energy and Mines, "MEM") sets Ontario's legislative and policy framework for electricity pricing, price-mitigation, energy efficiency/conservation, clean-technology programs, and — since the March 2025 rename — mineral-resource development, geoscience/mining information, and Ring of Fire mineral-development support. It oversees the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO) and Ontario Energy Board (OEB) and reports Government Business Enterprise income from Hydro One and Ontario Power Generation (OPG). Backgrounder-stated 2025-26 planned expenditure is $8,943.0M total ($7,142.8M operating + $1,800.1M capital), down 3.3% from $9,247.6M in 2024-25 estimates. The Ministry's name and mandate scope have changed repeatedly since a 1959 origin, most recently: Ministry of Energy (2010-2024) → Ministry of Energy and Electrification (June 2024-March 2025) → Ministry of Energy and Mines (March 2025-present).
Series inventory
The registry holds 5 documents for this org: three consecutive annual-report-type entries (ar-2024, ar-2025, ar-2026 — each a combined "published plans and annual reports" page covering one forward-looking plan year and one backward-looking results year), one 1999 business plan, and one 2023 "other" document. True usable-content rate: 3 of 5 (60%) yielded substantive, citable ministry-authored planning/results text. 1 of 5 (20%) is a confirmed stub (bp-1999). 1 of 5 (20%) carries "ok" status in _index.json but on direct reading is a landing/overview page, not the cited report's substantive content — see Residuals & gaps for the detector-miss finding.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| on-ministry-energy-mines-ar-2024 | 2024 | annual-report | 5ffa0ebe8a2e | yes |
| on-ministry-energy-mines-ar-2025 | 2025 | annual-report | 23d253fb9f94 | yes |
| on-ministry-energy-mines-ar-2026 | 2026 | annual-report | 24cb3491e36c | yes |
| on-ministry-energy-mines-bp-1999 | 1999 | business-plan | 701357a0085e | stub-suspected: confirmed — Internet Archive item-detail/catalog wrapper page (archive.org metadata, download-format list, "SIMILAR ITEMS" widget), not the 1998-99 Business Plan's own text |
| on-ministry-energy-mines-oth-2023 | 2023 | other | b6795c8574a3 | yes, but content is a ministry landing/overview page about the Electrification and Energy Transition Panel (EETP), not the panel's final report "Ontario's Clean Energy Opportunity" itself — see Residuals & gaps |
Priority evolution
1998-99 (bp-1999, 701357a0085e): Unreadable — see Residuals & gaps. No priority content recoverable from this review.
2023-24 plan / 2022-23 results (ar-2024, 5ffa0ebe8a2e), Ministry of Energy: Framed around a single "affordable, reliable energy system" strategic plan with no separately labelled strategic-priority list (that tabulated format appears starting ar-2025). Headline 2022-23 results theme is nuclear refurbishment progress (Darlington and Bruce units) plus continued Pickering operation through September 2026, alongside the first Ontario SMR construction-licence application (OPG to CNSC, Oct 2022) and a Dec 2022 groundbreaking for the Darlington SMR with Premier Ford and Minister Smith. The IESO's Dec 15, 2022 "Pathways to Decarbonization" study is reported, projecting 69,000 MW of new non-emitting supply and $375-425B in capital cost to meet 2050 demand. The Electrification and Energy Transition Panel (EETP) is disclosed as newly established, expected to report by end of 2023.
2024-25 plan / 2023-24 results (ar-2025, 23d253fb9f94), Ministry of Energy: First appearance of the tabulated "Strategic priority / Description / Intended outcomes / Discussion / Key programs and initiatives" reporting structure, organized under five headings: Generation and Procurement, Transmission and Distribution, Energy Efficiency, Integrated Energy Planning, Electricity price mitigation, and Reducing Red Tape. New organizing document named: "Powering Ontario's Growth: Ontario's Plan for a Clean Energy Future" (released July 2023), described as the Ministry's pragmatic long-term plan to 2050. The EETP's final report, "Ontario's Clean Energy Opportunity," is reported delivered in January 2024 with 29 recommendations. Bill 165, the "Keeping Energy Costs Down Act, 2024," is introduced (Feb 2024). Darlington Unit 3 refurbishment completed 169 days ahead of schedule (July 2023); Bruce Unit 6 completed ahead of schedule (Sept 2023).
2025-26 plan / 2024-25 results (ar-2026, 24cb3491e36c), Ministry of Energy and Mines: Organizational rename to "Ministry of Energy and Mines" (MEM) reflected throughout; a new "Mines and Minerals Program" and "Supporting a strong and sustainable mineral development sector" priority stream is added, absent from both prior reports. The Ministry's core planning document is superseded: "Ontario's Affordable Energy Future: The Pressing Case for More Power" (Oct 2024) launches consultation toward "Energy for Generations: Ontario's Integrated Plan to Power the Strongest Economy in the G7" — Ontario's first Integrated Energy Plan (IEP), enabled by the Affordable Energy Act, 2024 (Royal Assent Dec 2024), with a 25-year planning horizon and a 5-year plan-refresh cycle. A new "Broadband and Cellular Infrastructure Program" is also present as a distinct program area (traceable to at least ar-2026; not present as a named program in ar-2024/ar-2025 text read this review — ⚠️ still being checked whether it existed under a different label earlier). Electricity demand growth framing sharpens: "for the first time since 2005" demand is rising (ar-2025 framing) to a forecast 75% growth by 2050 (ar-2026 framing). New large-scale nuclear predevelopment work is disclosed at OPG's Wesleyville site (up to 10,000 MW). A new Critical Minerals Processing Fund ($500M) and continuing Critical Minerals Innovation Fund ($25M, plus $5M over two years starting 2025-26) are reported under the new mines mandate, alongside continuing Ring of Fire all-season-road and Resource Revenue Sharing programs.
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Added — mines and minerals mandate: entirely absent from ar-2024 (5ffa0ebe8a2e) and ar-2025 (23d253fb9f94), the ministry's mandate covered energy only; first appears with the ministry's March 2025 rename, reported in full in ar-2026 (24cb3491e36c) as "Mines and Minerals Program," "Ontario Geological Survey," Ring of Fire critical-minerals development, the Mining Act, and Resource Revenue Sharing with Indigenous communities.
- Added — Integrated Energy Plan (IEP) as organizing framework: absent from ar-2024 and ar-2025 (which instead cite "Powering Ontario's Growth," 2023, as the guiding plan); first named as a forthcoming initiative in ar-2026 ("Ontario's Affordable Energy Future," Oct 2024) and reported substantially advanced by the time of ar-2026's publication (Dec 2025), including the released "Energy for Generations" plan document.
- Added — Broadband and Cellular Infrastructure Program as a distinct named program area: present in ar-2026 (24cb3491e36c, "nearly $4 billion" total commitment, Accelerated High-Speed Internet Program, Universal Broadband Fund, SWIFT); not identified as a distinct program area in the ar-2024/ar-2025 text read this review. ⚠️ still being checked whether broadband was under this Ministry earlier or moved in from elsewhere — not stated in any of the three reports read.
- Added — Electricity Price Mitigation restructured as "Electricity Price Migration" line item: this exact vote/program label ("Electricity Price Migration") appears in the financial tables of all three ar- reports (5ffa0ebe8a2e; 23d253fb9f94; 24cb3491e36c) — likely a persistent typo for "Mitigation" rather than a substantive rename, flagged here rather than silently corrected.
- Renamed — reporting structure: ar-2024 (5ffa0ebe8a2e) uses free-form section narrative ("2023-24 Strategic plan," lettered subsections A/B/C); ar-2025 (23d253fb9f94) and ar-2026 (24cb3491e36c) both adopt the tabulated "Strategic priority / Description / Intended outcomes / Discussion / Key programs and initiatives" format, with ar-2026 additionally adding a formal "ENERGY-related KPIs" and "MINES-related KPIs" indicator table (target value vs. current value) not present in either prior report.
- Quietly dropped — explicit "Reducing Red Tape" narrative depth: a full lettered-priority treatment in ar-2025 ("Strategic priority: Burden reduction," with specific % figures) persists into ar-2026 in compressed form; substance is retained but the KPI figures shift from "~11% reduction from 2018 baseline" (ar-2025, Q3 2023-24) to "~12.13% reduction" (ar-2026, Q2 2024-25) — continuity, not a drop, noted here only because the section heading order changes.
- Ownership/name changes reflected mid-series: "Minister of Energy" / "Deputy Minister Energy" org-chart labels (ar-2024, ar-2025) become "Minister Energy and Mines" / "Deputy Minister Energy and Mines" (ar-2026, 24cb3491e36c), with a new "Mines and Minerals Division" and "Ring of Fire Policy Coordination Branch" added to the organization chart.
Budget & mandate inflection points
- March 2025 — Ministry renamed Ministry of Energy and Mines, adding the mines/minerals mandate (per backgrounder institutional history; reflected directly in ar-2026's title and text, 24cb3491e36c).
- July 2023 — "Powering Ontario's Growth: Ontario's Plan for a Clean Energy Future" released, the guiding long-term plan cited in ar-2025 (23d253fb9f94).
- January 2024 — EETP final report "Ontario's Clean Energy Opportunity" delivered to the Minister of Energy, with 29 recommendations (ar-2025, 23d253fb9f94; corroborated by the panel-overview page oth-2023, b6795c8574a3, which states the report was delivered "in December 2023" — a one-month discrepancy between the two archived sources; ⚠️ still being checked exact delivery date).
- February 2024 — Bill 165, "Keeping Energy Costs Down Act, 2024," introduced (ar-2025, 23d253fb9f94).
- October 2024 — "Ontario's Affordable Energy Future: The Pressing Case for More Power" released, launching Integrated Energy Plan consultation (ar-2026, 24cb3491e36c).
- December 2024 — Affordable Energy Act, 2024 receives Royal Assent, providing the IEP's legislative framework (ar-2026, 24cb3491e36c).
- 2025-26 planned total expenditure — $8,943.0M (Table 1, ar-2026, 24cb3491e36c), down 3.3% from $9,247.6M 2024-25 estimates (Historic Trend Analysis table, same document) — this figure and its year-over-year direction match the backgrounder's Budget scale figure exactly.
- Electricity Price Migration [sic] line is consistently the dominant driver of Ministry operating expense across all three reports: $6,516.8M (2023-24 estimate, ar-2024, 5ffa0ebe8a2e) → $7,336.1M (2024-25 estimate, ar-2025, 23d253fb9f94) → $6,463.0M (2025-26 estimate, ar-2026, 24cb3491e36c) — a rise then a fall, tracking the backgrounder's stated reason ("reduced price-mitigation costs").
- January 2025 — new 12-year, $10.9B Energy Efficiency Framework (2025-2036) launched, described in ar-2026 as marking Ontario among the top jurisdictions in Canada/U.S. for efficiency investment (24cb3491e36c).
- March 2025 (three-year mark) — Ontario's Critical Minerals Strategy reaches its three-year anniversary, with 2024 critical-minerals production reported at approximately $3.6 billion (ar-2026, 24cb3491e36c).
Ontario/Toronto relevance
This is an Ontario provincial ministry; its full mandate is province-wide and its programs are described throughout in explicitly Ontario-scoped terms. Toronto-specific references found in the archived text: the Ministry's 12-year Energy Efficiency Framework is forecast to deliver "3,000 MW of peak demand savings, equivalent to 70% of the summer peak electricity demand for the entire City of Toronto" (ar-2026, 24cb3491e36c). Toronto Hydro is named as one of the utilities required to offer the Ultra-Low Overnight price plan from its May 2023 launch (ar-2024, 5ffa0ebe8a2e). The IESO is reported working to "better connect northern and southern Ontario as well as the Greater Toronto Area" through new transmission planning (ar-2025, 23d253fb9f94; ar-2026, 24cb3491e36c, "Greenstone area" also named). On the mines side, ar-2026 states Toronto is "the mining finance capital of the world," with 37% of global mining equity capital raised in 2024 coming from the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX) and TSX Venture Exchange, and approximately 1,100 mining companies listed on those two exchanges (24cb3491e36c) — this is a substantive, Toronto-specific claim tied to the new mines mandate. No archived document in this set establishes a Ministry office location or physical footprint within the City of Toronto itself (the Ministry's programs and financial oversight are province-wide, administered from Ontario Government offices generally understood to be Toronto-based but not stated as such in the archived text).
Residuals & gaps
- True extraction/usable rate: 3 of 5 documents (60%) yielded substantive, citable content on direct reading, not the 4 of 5 "ok"-status count
_index.jsonwould suggest. - our stub-content detector held on bp-1999 (701357a0085e): flagged "stub-suspected" with reason "Internet Archive item-detail/catalog wrapper page," and direct reading confirms this — the captured text is entirely archive.org site chrome (navigation, "Bookreader," download-format list, "SIMILAR ITEMS," uploader metadata) with no content from the actual 1998-99 Ministry of Energy, Science and Technology Business Plan. Zero recoverable priority-evolution content from this document in this review.
- our stub-content detector missed a stub on oth-2023 (b6795c8574a3): this document carries
status: "ok"in_index.json, but on direct reading it is a ministry ontario.ca landing/overview page describing the Electrification and Energy Transition Panel (its mandate, five discussion themes, three named panel members, and public-engagement process) — not the panel's actual final report, "Ontario's Clean Energy Opportunity," which the page links to but which was not itself fetched/archived. This is the same landing-page/table-of-contents failure mode documented in this batch's house style at the Transport Canada brief (fed-transport-canada_STRATEGY_EVOLUTION.md, dp-2014 through dp-2017). Some genuine, usable content was recoverable from this page (panel establishment date context, named panel members, five discussion themes, and a corroborating December-2023 report-delivery date that conflicts by one month with ar-2025's stated January 2024 delivery date — see Budget & mandate inflection points) — it is not zero-value like bp-1999 — but it does not represent the report's substantive recommendations or findings, and the brief's "Priority evolution" section above draws the EETP report's content (29 recommendations, January 2024 delivery) from ar-2025 (23d253fb9f94), not from this document. - No document earlier than 1999 or between 1999 and 2023 is in this registry — the series has a roughly 24-year gap between bp-1999 (itself unreadable) and oth-2023, and no annual-report-type document is registered for any year before 2024. The Ministry's institutional history (per the backgrounder) spans multiple name changes since 1959; none of that history is independently confirmed by this archived document series, which only speaks to 2022-23 through 2024-25 in substantive detail.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: exact EETP final-report delivery date — ar-2025 (23d253fb9f94) states January 2024 ("In January 2024, ENERGY released the final report"); oth-2023 (b6795c8574a3) states "The panel delivered its final report to the Ministry of Energy in December 2023." These may both be accurate (delivered to the Ministry in December 2023, released publicly in January 2024) but the archived text does not state this distinction explicitly.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: whether the Broadband and Cellular Infrastructure Program existed under this Ministry (or a different name) prior to ar-2026 — not addressed in ar-2024 or ar-2025's text as read this review.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: outcome of the 2025-26 first Long-Term-2 (LT2) procurement submission window (reported in ar-2026 as "expected to close in 2025") and the New Nuclear Technology Panel's reactor-technology selection for the Wesleyville and Bruce C large-scale nuclear projects — both disclosed as in progress in the most recent archived document (ar-2026, 24cb3491e36c), with no later document in this series to confirm outcomes.
- No archive_status=missing years and no era:pre-web-baseline flags apply to this series per the registry; gaps identified above are pre-existing documentary gaps in what was ever archived, not extraction failures against archived source material (except for bp-1999, which is an extraction/capture failure in the specific sense that the crawler captured the Internet Archive wrapper page rather than following through to the underlying scanned document).