Ontario Agency For Health Protection And Promotion
Public Health Ontario; operates as Public Health Ontario; FOI via central portal
Current this library's internal records: Strategic Plan 2024-29 (2029)
Completeness
- Document shelf: 2 rows (2 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 2 of 2 row(s) audited, all clean
- Last verified: 2026-08-01 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: not yet verified
- API: not yet verified
- RSS: not yet verified
- Newsroom
- FOI / access requests: not yet verified
Document shelf (2 rows)
| Year | Type | Title | Archive status | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Annual report | Public Health Ontario 2024-25 Annual Report | archived | |
| 2023 | Other | Public Health Ontario | archived |
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Ontario Agency For Health Protection And Promotion - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: on-ontario-agency-health-protection-promotion (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
The Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion (OAHPP) is established under the Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion Act, 2007, S.O. 2007, c. 10, Sched. K (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/07o10, fetched and verified), which creates the agency to "enhance the protection and promotion of the health of Ontarians" and reduce health inequities through scientific advice and public health support (statute, fetched). It operates publicly under the name Public Health Ontario (registry row on-ontario-agency-health-protection-promotion, notes field).
Roles, responsibilities & scope
The Corporation's statutory objects include providing scientific and technical guidance to Ontario's health system, population health assessment/this library's internal records, policy-development support across government, laboratory services and infrastructure, and emergency/outbreak response coordination (statute, fetched). Its current strategic plan runs 2024-29 (registry row on-ontario-agency-health-protection-promotion, strategy_current_title; https://www.publichealthontario.ca/en/About/Corporate-Reporting/Strategic-Plan).
Governance & reporting line
OAHPP is governed by a Board of Directors of up to 13 members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, led by a chair and at least one vice-chair, with required Governance, Strategic Planning (including the Chief Medical Officer of Health) and Audit committees; a Chief Executive Officer manages day-to-day operations under Board supervision (statute, fetched). OAHPP is controlled by the Province of Ontario through the Ministry of Health and is a related party to other provincially controlled organizations (PHO 2024-25 Annual Report, financial statements notes, document id on-ontario-agency-health-protection-promotion-ar-2025, fetched); registry row shows no parent_org.
Budget scale
~$182.5M in operating funding received from the Ministry of Health for fiscal year 2024-25, comprising $165.8M for annual operating expenses, $11.9M for COVID-19-related expenditures, and $4.8M for equipment/capital assets; PHO reported 961 total full-time-equivalent staff in 2024-25 (PHO 2024-25 Annual Report, document id on-ontario-agency-health-protection-promotion-ar-2025, fetched).
Institutional history
Established by the Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion Act, 2007 (S.O. 2007, c. 10, Sched. K); the exact date operations began under the agency (commonly reported as 2008) was not independently confirmed this review (⚠️ still being checked). The agency's public health science functions expanded substantially during the COVID-19 pandemic response, with staffing levels since normalizing (PHO 2024-25 Annual Report, document id on-ontario-agency-health-protection-promotion-ar-2025, fetched).
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Ontario Agency For Health Protection And Promotion - strategy evolution
2026-08-02 / registry: on-ontario-agency-health-protection-promotion / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: The archived pair is unusually strong for a two-document set: a critical December 2023 Auditor General value-for-money audit (oth-2023, 608bfdab5f64) and PHO's own 2024-25 Annual Report (ar-2025, 0daddca9f879), together spanning FY2018/19 through FY2024/25 in financial/staffing time series. The biggest priority addition is the entire 2024-29 Strategic Plan itself — first-year implementation reported in ar-2025, including a new dedicated Indigenous Strategy, a People Strategy, and a "Digital and Data" portfolio (new VP/CIO hire) — none of which existed at the time of the 2023 audit. The biggest quietly-absorbed element is the audit's central finding that PHO was "left out" of major provincial health-policy decisions (e.g., gambling/alcohol access) and lacked sustainable Ministry funding; ar-2025 does not revisit or explicitly respond to either finding, though it reports PHO "operated within the agency's financial allocations" for 2024-25 without addressing the audit's base-funding-erosion critique. The most load-bearing number is operating funding: $222.0M (2022/23, per the audit) versus $182.5M in 2024-25 Ministry operating funding as independently reported in ar-2025 and re-confirmed against the backgrounder (0daddca9f879) — a apparent decline that the two documents' different accounting scopes (audit's "total expenditures" vs. ar-2025's "operating funding received") make impossible to compare like-for-like within this archived set. One open question: whether any of the audit's 10 recommendations (24 action items) — which PHO stated it accepted in full — have been implemented as of the 2024-25 report, since ar-2025 does not reference the 2023 audit or its recommendations by name anywhere in the extracted text.
Backgrounder summary
The Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion (OAHPP), operating publicly as Public Health Ontario (PHO), is established under the Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion Act, 2007, S.O. 2007, c. 10, Sched. K, to "enhance the protection and promotion of the health of Ontarians" and reduce health inequities through scientific advice and public health support (backgrounder, citing https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/07o10). Both archived documents corroborate and extend the backgrounder directly: the audit (608bfdab5f64) confirms PHO was "established in 2007 following the SARS outbreak in 2003" as one of three pillars of Ontario's public health system (alongside 34 local public health units and the Ministry's Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health), resolving the backgrounder's ⚠️ still being checked on the founding date/context. ar-2025 (0daddca9f879) independently re-confirms the backgrounder's cited $182.5M operating-funding and 961-FTE figures for 2024-25, and confirms the current 2024-29 Strategic Plan is genuinely underway (first-year implementation), matching the backgrounder's strategy_current_title reference.
Series inventory
_index.json: 2 ok / 0 stub-suspected / 0 extract-failed.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| on-ontario-agency-health-protection-promotion-ar-2025 | 2025 | annual-report | 0daddca9f879 | yes — full 2024-25 Annual Report, 2,582-line extract, read in full including Financial Performance, Significant Events, HR Impacts and Appointees sections |
| on-ontario-agency-health-protection-promotion-oth-2023 | 2023 | other | 608bfdab5f64 | yes — Auditor General of Ontario value-for-money audit of PHO, published December 2023 (registry doc_type: other — this is a third-party oversight report, not a PHO self-report); read in full through the audit's summary, background, financial and organizational-structure sections (audit scope: Jan-Aug 2023 fieldwork) |
Detector note: both documents are correctly marked ok; both are substantial and directly on-topic. No stub-suspected or extract-failed calls exist for this org to evaluate — no detector disagreement, either direction, to report. One classification note for the operator: oth-2023's doc_type: other obscures that this is in fact a rigorous, independent external value-for-money audit of PHO conducted by Ontario's Auditor General — arguably the single most substantive and critical document in this org's two-document set, and worth distinguishing from a generic "other" document in any future series expansion.
Priority evolution
Two documents from different authors (an external auditor and the org itself) one fiscal year apart cannot support a true multi-year internal-priority trend, but this pair is unusually informative because the audit itself contains five years of PHO-sourced financial/operational time series (2018/19-2022/23), which ar-2025 extends one more year to 2024-25. As of the December 2023 audit (fieldwork Jan-Aug 2023): PHO's structure was five "principal program areas" — Laboratory Science and Operations (~70% of resources), Health Protection, Environmental and Occupational Health, Health Promotion/Chronic Disease/Injury Prevention, and Knowledge Exchange and Informatics — with no stated multi-year strategic plan cited as current; the audit found PHO "has been unable to meet a number of its legislated responsibilities," citing lack of Ministry direction, exclusion from major policy decisions (gambling/alcohol access), duplicated effort with local public health units, and laboratory-site inefficiency at three named sites (608bfdab5f64). As of ar-2025 (first year of a new planning cycle): the same five program areas persist by name (confirmed directly: "PHO's areas of expertise... correspond with the objects outlined in our enabling legislation"), but are now explicitly organized under a new 2024-29 Strategic Plan's "four mutually reinforcing strategic directions" — (1) lead provincial public health data transformation, (2) strengthen laboratory leadership/genomics/microbiology, (3) advance public health/health workforce capacity, (4) accelerate moving evidence to action as convener/integrator — plus a first-time-named Indigenous Strategy and People Strategy (0daddca9f879). This is a genuine strategic-framing change (five operational program areas reorganized under four forward-looking "directions") layered on top of, not replacing, the underlying program structure.
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Added — 2024-29 Strategic Plan and its four strategic directions. Not mentioned in the 2023 audit (which predates it); ar-2025 reports this as newly launched, first-year implementation (0daddca9f879).
- Added — dedicated Indigenous Strategy. Absent from the 2023 audit's account of PHO's structure/priorities; ar-2025 names this as a key 2024-29 Strategic Plan commitment, with early steps reported (relationships with Métis Nation of Ontario and Chiefs of Ontario, first Indigenous internship program participant, 350 staff completing San'yas Indigenous Cultural Safety training) (0daddca9f879).
- Added — dedicated People Strategy and new "Digital and Data" portfolio. Both first reported in ar-2025; the Digital and Data portfolio included hiring a Vice President, Digital and Data, CIO in 2024-25 — no equivalent structure existed at the time of the 2023 audit (0daddca9f879).
- Added — formal EDI (Equity, Diversity and Inclusion) Roadmap development, engaging a third party for surveys/focus groups/interviews during 2024-25; not present in the 2023 audit's account (0daddca9f879).
- Quietly not addressed in ar-2025 — the audit's core finding that PHO is excluded from major provincial health-policy decisions. The audit's headline finding (PHO "has been left out of the Province's decision-making with major public health implications," citing gambling and alcohol-access policy as examples where PHO was not consulted) is not mentioned, revisited, or explicitly rebutted anywhere in ar-2025's extracted text (608bfdab5f64; absence confirmed against 0daddca9f879).
- Quietly not addressed in ar-2025 — the audit's finding on unsustainable/eroded base funding. The audit states Ministry base funding "has still not restored it to pre-pandemic levels" since 2019/20 and flags this as threatening PHO's ability to deliver its mandate (608bfdab5f64); ar-2025 states only that PHO "operated within the agency's financial allocations" for 2024-25, without engaging this specific critique (0daddca9f879).
- Not named as such but structurally addressed — performance-measurement reform. The audit found PHO "mostly measures outputs but little in the way of client satisfaction or service quality" (608bfdab5f64); ar-2025 independently reports PHO has "engaged a third party to conduct a foundational review and update to its organizational performance measurement framework," with new measures targeted for the 2026-29 Annual Business Plan (0daddca9f879) — this reads as a plausible responsive action to the audit finding, though ar-2025 does not explicitly cite the audit as the reason.
Budget & mandate inflection points
- 2022/23 (audit-reported): $221.979M total expenditures, up ~37% over the preceding five years, driven mainly by COVID-19 testing volume; base Ministry funding "generally flatlined over the last 10 years" and had not been restored to pre-pandemic levels as of the audit (608bfdab5f64).
- 2024-25 (ar-2025-reported): $182.5M total Ministry operating funding — $165.8M annual operating expenses, $11.9M COVID-19-related, $4.8M equipment/capital — with PHO ending the year in a deficit position directly attributable to a $2.43M increase in an asset retirement obligation adjustment (accounting-standard-driven, not an operating shortfall); excluding that adjustment, PHO reports using all Ministry operating funding as planned (0daddca9f879). ⚠️ Still being checked: the audit's $221.979M "total expenditures" (2022/23) and ar-2025's $182.5M "Ministry operating funding" (2024-25) are not stated on an identical accounting basis in either source (the audit figure appears to include COVID-19 one-time funding and amortization that the 2024-25 operating-funding figure may present differently) — this brief does not assert a $39M decline as directly comparable without that reconciliation.
- Staffing: 2022/23 (~1,201 FTE, COVID-affected) → 2023/24 (969 FTE) → 2024/25 (961 FTE), per ar-2025's own three-year HR table, describing a "return to normative staffing levels" after pandemic-specific staffing wound down starting May 2023 (0daddca9f879) — the audit separately reports "just under 870" FTE as of June 2023 and 1,176 total employees as of August 2023 (608bfdab5f64); the two counts (audit's June/August 2023 snapshot vs. ar-2025's fiscal-year-end figures) are close but not identical measurement points.
- December 2023 — Auditor General value-for-money audit published, 10 recommendations/24 action items, all accepted by PHO per its published response in the same document (608bfdab5f64) — implementation status as of 2024-25 is not addressed in ar-2025 (see Residuals & gaps).
- 2024-25 — largest measles outbreak in Ontario since 1998 elimination, beginning October 2024, concentrated in Southwestern Ontario; PHO's laboratory conducted 200,000+ measles tests in 2024-25 (25% more than 2023-24) and responded to 84 scientific/technical support requests, 64 of them after the outbreak was declared (0daddca9f879) — a major operational event with no antecedent in the 2023 audit.
- January 1, 2025 — Candida auris (C. auris) newly designated a disease of public health significance, making it reportable in Ontario for the first time; PHO worked with the Ministry to prepare (0daddca9f879).
- Fall 2024 — first domestically acquired human case of H5N1 (highly pathogenic avian influenza) confirmed by PHAC; PHO ran a tabletop exercise testing its internal Response Framework against a hypothetical Ontario H5N1 case (0daddca9f879).
Ontario/Toronto relevance
Direct: PHO's registered head office and main laboratory site is at 661 University Avenue, Suite 1701, Toronto, Ontario, M5G 1M1, per ar-2025's own closing address block (0daddca9f879), independently confirmed by the audit, which states "Public Health Ontario's office and main laboratory site is located in Toronto, with laboratory sites in 10 other cities across Ontario" (608bfdab5f64). This is a genuinely Toronto-headquartered provincial body, not merely province-serving from elsewhere. Beyond headquarters, the audit separately lists Toronto among eight public health units its fieldwork sampled directly (Eastern Ontario, Grey Bruce, Kingston-Frontenac-Lennox & Addington, Niagara, Peel, Sudbury, Timiskaming, and Toronto) to understand local interactions with PHO (608bfdab5f64) — meaning the City of Toronto's own public health unit is a named PHO client/counterpart in the audit's methodology. ar-2025 does not single out Toronto-specific programming beyond the head-office presence; its Toronto Region reference (in a Black Health Plan-funded CAMH partnership) actually belongs to parent Ontario Health's own report, not PHO's — see the parallel org 1 (on-ontario-health-athome) brief for that item, not attributed here.
Residuals & gaps
- No detector disagreement found. Both index entries are
ok, and both proved substantial and clearly on-topic on read. - ⚠️ Still being checked: implementation status of the audit's 10 recommendations/24 action items as of the 2024-25 fiscal year — ar-2025 does not reference the December 2023 audit, its recommendations, or its findings anywhere in the extracted text, despite the audit falling squarely within the archived window and PHO having formally accepted all recommendations. This is a genuine information gap in the two-document record, not a detector issue.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: direct reconciliation between the audit's 2022/23 "$221.979M total expenditures" figure and ar-2025's 2024-25 "$182.5M Ministry operating funding" figure — the two are not stated on a matching accounting basis in either source, and this brief has deliberately avoided asserting a specific dollar-amount trend between them.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: outcome of the laboratory-site efficiency concerns the audit raised (three named sites performing tests on only 9%-20% of received samples, each carrying $5M-$10M in base operating costs over five years) and the unapproved 2017 laboratory-consolidation plan — neither is mentioned in ar-2025, so current status is unknown from this archived set.
- Institutional/officeholder content only, confirmed. Both documents name only titled officeholders and institutions: PHO's Board of Directors (Board Chair Helen Angus; Vice-Chairs Isra Levy then Ian McKillop; members S. Ford Ralph, Terri/Theresa McKinnon, Mark "Cat" Criger, William Mackinnon, Harpreet Bassi, Andy Smith, Rob Notman, Roxanne Anderson, David Wexler, Nicola Mercer), the President and CEO (Michael Sherar), and the CFO (Cathy Campos) in ar-2025 (0daddca9f879); the audit similarly names only officeholders, senior management, and comparator institutions (608bfdab5f64). No named patient, complainant, or other private individual subject to a case/complaint/investigation appears in either document — the audit's process descriptions reference "private citizens" only in the generic sense of well-water-testing clients, never by name.