Ontario Energy Board
regulatory; business plan PDF listed by governance page but not itself directly fetched
Current this library's internal records: Business Plan 2025-2028 (2028)
Completeness
- Document shelf: 18 rows (18 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 18 of 18 row(s) audited, all clean
- Last verified: 2026-08-01 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: not yet verified
- API: not yet verified
- RSS: not yet verified
- Newsroom
- FOI / access requests
Document shelf (18 rows)
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Ontario Energy Board - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: on-ontario-energy-board (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
The Board is established as "a corporation without share capital" and "an agent of the Crown in right of Ontario" under the Ontario Energy Board Act, 1998, S.O. 1998, c. 15, Sched. B; consolidated text verified at ontario.ca/laws/statute/98o15 (fetched 2026-07-30). Its statutory objectives for electricity include protecting consumer interests, promoting economic efficiency and cost-effectiveness, and encouraging conservation; for gas, facilitating competition and a financially viable industry (ontario.ca/laws/statute/98o15).
Roles, responsibilities & scope
The OEB regulates Ontario's electricity and natural gas sectors: setting rates, approving "leave to construct" applications, and licensing sector participants (pas.gov.on.ca/Home/Agency/219, fetched 2026-07-30; on-ontario-energy-board). It is a Tier 1 regulatory agency per the registry, with 30 documents on file spanning 2000-2025 including annual reports, business plans and strategic plans (on-ontario-energy-board doc-shelf).
Governance & reporting line
Governance separates a Board of Directors (5-10 members, including Chair, appointed by the LGIC) from adjudicative Commissioners (at least 5, appointed by the Board of Directors on the CEO's recommendation and led by a Chief Commissioner); the Board of Directors also appoints the CEO (Ontario Energy Board Act, 1998, ontario.ca/laws/statute/98o15). The OEB reports through the Ministry of Energy and Mines (pas.gov.on.ca/Home/Agency/219).
Budget scale
Total revenues of $73,036,070 against total expenses of $74,956,312 for the period covered by the OEB Annual Report 2024-2025 (oeb.ca/sites/default/files/OEB-Annual-Report-2024-2025-EN.pdf, fetched and text-extracted 2026-07-30; prior-year comparatives were $62,446,238 revenue / $64,731,455 expenses). Revenue is drawn largely from cost-recovery assessments on regulated utilities (same source).
Institutional history
The OEB has regulated the natural gas sector since 1960 and was reconstituted to also regulate the restructured electricity sector from 1999 (pas.gov.on.ca/Home/Agency/219, cited via search snippet 2026-07-30 - ⚠️ still being checked direct page re-confirmation of the 1960 date on next fetch), with current governance continued under the Ontario Energy Board Act, 1998.
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Ontario Energy Board - strategy evolution
2026-08-01 / registry: on-ontario-energy-board / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: The biggest priority addition is electrification/EV/DER integration, formalized through the Electrification and Energy Transition Panel (established 2022) and OEB's own EV Integration project and DER Connections Review by ar-2024. The most consequential quiet drop, with no stated reason, is the 2015-2018 Business Plan's four focus areas (Empowering Consumers, Enhancing Utility Performance, Enabling Access to Competitive Energy Choices, Enhancing Regulatory Effectiveness), absent from ar-2019 onward as the OEB Modernization Review Panel process unfolded. The load-bearing number is FY2024-25 operating expenses of $74,956,312, up roughly 63% over three fiscal years from ~$46.1M (FY2021-22), alongside FTE growth from 190 to 223. The open question the brief flags most directly: the FY2024-25 leadership transition to an Acting Chair and Interim CEO, replacing Susanna Zagar and Richard Dicerni, is disclosed with no stated reason anywhere in the archived text.
Backgrounder summary
The OEB is a corporation without share capital and an agent of the Crown in right of Ontario, established under the Ontario Energy Board Act, 1998. Its statutory objectives split by sector: for electricity, protecting consumer interests, promoting economic efficiency/cost-effectiveness, and encouraging conservation; for gas, facilitating competition and a financially viable industry. It regulates Ontario's electricity and natural gas sectors — setting rates, approving leave-to-construct applications, and licensing sector participants — reporting through the Ministry of Energy (name has changed over time; see below). Governance separates a Board of Directors (appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council) from adjudicative Commissioners (Board-appointed on the CEO's recommendation, led by a Chief Commissioner); the Board of Directors also appoints the CEO. The backgrounder reports FY2024-25 total revenues of $73,036,070 against total expenses of $74,956,312 (prior year $62,446,238 / $64,731,455), and notes the OEB has regulated natural gas since 1960 and was reconstituted for the restructured electricity sector in 1999 (backgrounder flags this 1960 date itself as ⚠️ still being checked). This brief traces how the OEB's governance structure, strategic framing, and priority set actually moved across the archived document series, and confirms/extends the backgrounder's financial and governance claims with document-level citations.
Series inventory
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2000 | 2000 | annual-report | a97a3105cf15 | stub only (archive.org landing page, no report text) |
| on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2001 | 2001 | annual-report | 4167be7410f8 | stub only (archive.org landing page, no report text) |
| on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2004 | 2004 | annual-report | 5be872bdaff2 | stub only (archive.org landing page, no report text) |
| on-ontario-energy-board-bp-2005 | 2005 | business-plan | 9896532b272a | stub only (archive.org landing page, no report text) |
| on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2016 | 2016 | annual-report | 197654843ada | yes |
| on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2017 | 2017 | annual-report | cc36a1f31d1a | yes |
| on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2018 | 2018 | annual-report | 9120f0cd2d05 | yes |
| on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2019 | 2019 | annual-report | 490b5f86cbf8 | yes |
| on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2020 | 2020 | annual-report | 4300344be32c | yes |
| on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2021 | 2021 | annual-report | d17de6af26e6 | yes |
| on-ontario-energy-board-sp-2021 | 2021 | strategic-plan | a6eb4bc3666a | yes |
| on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2022 | 2022 | annual-report | ee321a72e3e9 | yes |
| on-ontario-energy-board-oth-2022 | 2022 | other (Auditor General value-for-money audit) | 733ac5491717 | yes |
| on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2023 | 2023 | annual-report | 634a3b4d1c79 | yes |
| on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2024 | 2024 | annual-report | cf8af4ce6662 | yes |
| on-ontario-energy-board-bp-2025 | 2025 | business-plan | 23921374abb9 | yes |
| on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2025 | 2025 | annual-report | e684df7d3568 | yes |
| on-ontario-energy-board-oth-2025 | 2025 | other (Market Surveillance Panel report) | b3541558d585 | yes |
14 of 18 documents yielded substantive, multi-page OEB content on direct reading (financial statements, narrative sections, tables). 4 of 18 — all pre-2015 items — are archive.org interstitial/landing pages despite _index.json status "ok"; see Residuals & gaps.
Priority evolution
1999-2000 / 2000-01 / 2003-04 / 2005-08 (ar-2000 a97a3105cf15; ar-2001 4167be7410f8; ar-2004 5be872bdaff2; bp-2005 9896532b272a): No OEB content recoverable — these four archived captures are Internet Archive "item preview" pages (site navigation, download-format menus, cataloguing metadata), not the scanned report text. See Residuals & gaps.
[2005-2015 — no documents in the archived series at all.]
2015-16 (ar-2016, 197654843ada): Chair and CEO Rosemarie T. Leclair frames the OEB's approach as "consumer-centric" since 2011. Performance is reported against four focus areas from the 2015-2018 Business Plan — Empowering Consumers, Enhancing Utility Performance, Enabling Access to Competitive Energy Choices, and Enhancing Regulatory Effectiveness — with an independent-audit-verified 96.5% achievement score. A new consumer engagement framework, "Giving Ontario Energy Consumers a Stronger Voice," and a newly created Consumer Panel are introduced. Review of the Energy Consumer Protection Act, 2010 produces 14 recommendations to the Minister of Energy that "eventually contributed to new legislation" effective January 1, 2017. The new Ontario Electricity Support Program (OESP), a low-income electricity rate-assistance program, launches in response to a ministerial request, with potential reach of up to 500,000 consumers. A new fixed-rate electricity distribution charge design is introduced. Of $2.2 billion invested in the electricity grid and 52.6 km of new/replacement natural gas pipelines approved that year, 32 km of the gas-pipeline approvals are specifically in the Greater Toronto and Hamilton area.
2016-17 (ar-2017, cc36a1f31d1a): Same Leclair leadership. The OEB disallows 37% of requested rate increases, on average, across 10 major electricity distribution rate applications. OESP's first full year assists more than 167,000 households with nearly $59 million in on-bill credits, winning a CAMPUT (Canada's Energy and Utility Regulators) Award for Innovation and Leadership. Advice on a special electricity rate for First Nations communities, developed through engagement with 50 First Nation communities, feeds into the province's Fair Hydro Act, 2017. A redesigned website (oeb.ca) launches in March 2017, developed with the Consumer Panel.
2017-18 (ar-2018, 9120f0cd2d05): A new five-year "Strategic Blueprint: Keeping Pace with an Evolving Energy Sector" is released, sharpening the OEB's consumer-value focus and committing to regulatory modernization. A Consumer Charter is released in May 2017, articulating consumer rights (safe/reliable service; accurate/timely bills; fair deposit and disconnection practices; timely complaint resolution; personal privacy). The Consumer Panel expands to 1,500 members plus a new 250-member small-business panel; a new online policy registry launches. A comprehensive review of customer service rules begins. Rate charts in this report explicitly reflect Fair Hydro Act, 2017 reductions.
2018-19 (ar-2019, 490b5f86cbf8): "Just before the end of the 2018-19 fiscal year," the government introduces legislation that will "materially change the OEB's corporate governance structure" once proclaimed. The Ontario Energy Board Modernization Review Panel's report to the Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines is also published in late March 2019, and the OEB states it expects to "refresh our strategic vision and direction" informed by that report. Six major electricity rate applications are reviewed, with about $12.2 million in distribution revenue increases disallowed (~15.4% average reduction). OESP — now funded through provincial revenues rather than ratepayer cost-recovery — assists an average of 239,000+ low-income households a month with almost $166 million in on-bill credits over the year; the Low-income Energy Assistance Program separately provides $5.9 million in emergency funding to 14,000 customers.
2019-20 (ar-2020, 4300344be32c): Bill 87, the Fixing the Hydro Mess Act, 2019, receives Royal Assent on May 9, 2019. Once proclaimed, it will "materially change the OEB's corporate governance structure and realign roles, responsibilities and accountabilities amongst a board of directors, a chair, a chief executive officer and commissioners, including a chief commissioner" — replacing the prior combined "Chair and Chief Executive Officer" model. The OEB expects to transition to the new structure in FY2020-21 and to align operational priorities to a forthcoming Ministerial Mandate Letter. Richard Dicerni is appointed Special Advisor to the OEB in February 2020, with his appointment as Chair of the new Board of Directors approved effective on proclamation. Following a legislative change, the OEB resumes setting Regulated Price Plan (RPP) prices effective November 1, 2019; the government's new Ontario Electricity Rebate (OER) reduces eligible customers' pre-HST bills by 31.8%. Distribution rate review results in a $56.4 million net reduction versus utility-requested increases. An integrated consultation on Utility Remuneration and Distributed Energy Resources (DERs) launches. Related-party financial-statement notes disclose Ministry funding for "organizational restructuring including severance costs."
2020-21 (ar-2021, d17de6af26e6): The COVID-19 pandemic disrupts operations (suspended site visits, shift to work-from-home) though the OEB states its financial position was "not influenced by the pandemic"; part of a $5.4 million budget variance is attributed to pandemic-related savings. The new governance structure takes effect October 1, 2020 — described as a "successful transition." A new five-year Strategic Plan for 2021-22 to 2025-26 is delivered, informed by Ministerial and Deputy-Ministerial mandate letters dated October 1, 2020. A first Top Quartile Regulator (TQR) report is published, a Chief Commissioner Plan initiatives document is released, and the Board of Directors approves a Human Capital Strategy ("A People Plan"). The first employee engagement survey since 2010 achieves 96% participation.
Strategic Plan 2021/22-2025/26 (sp-2021, a6eb4bc3666a): Sets out four Strategic Goals that anchor OEB reporting for the following several years: (1) "Evolve Toward Becoming a Top Quartile Regulator" — fit-for-purpose regulation, ruthless prioritization, role clarity, outcome-focused leadership, explicitly framed as a response to the OEB Modernization Review Panel's call for "transformation," not "business as usual"; (2) "Protect the Public" — weighing near- and long-term consumer impacts, right service/rate levels, transparency, and a compliance culture; (3) "Drive Energy Sector Performance" — utility performance measurement and incentives, consumer choice, long-term planning, and (action 3.4) explicit responsiveness to "the challenges posed by climate change"; (4) "Facilitate Innovation" — an Innovation Sandbox, a stated commitment to "regulate only when necessary," and purposeful (not innovation-for-its-own-sake) experimentation.
2021-22 (ar-2022, ee321a72e3e9): First full year under the new governance structure. Compensation disclosures confirm Susanna Zagar as CEO ($367,313) and Richard Dicerni as Chair ($61,562). A November 15, 2021 mandate letter from "Minister of Energy Todd Smith" shows the energy portfolio now separated from Northern Development and Mines in ministerial correspondence (compare ar-2019/ar-2020's combined "Ministry of Energy, Northern Development and Mines"). Reporting is realigned to the new Strategic Plan's four goals.
November 2022 — Auditor General value-for-money audit, "Ontario Energy Board: Electricity Oversight and Consumer Protection" (oth-2022, 733ac5491717): An external, independent assessment (not an OEB self-report) finds the OEB's consumer-protection authority structurally constrained: it has no active role in the province's long-term energy planning process; no authority to regulate an estimated 34% of an average residential electricity bill (mostly generation/commodity charges managed through IESO-administered supply contracts); no regulatory authority over Unit Sub-Meter Provider (USMP) fees despite a growing condo/rental submetering market (~111,000 units under construction in Ontario in 2021, the highest of any province); a deemed capital structure / rate-of-return policy not reviewed or updated in over 15 years; no active post-consolidation monitoring of merged Local Distribution Companies (LDCs); and no performance metrics for compliance/enforcement effectiveness or for the effectiveness of low-income rate-subsidy programs. Twelve numbered recommendations are issued. The same report documents that three distributors — Hydro One, Alectra, and Toronto Hydro — together account for about 60% of Ontario's electricity distribution customers, and that Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited alone serves 607,011 customers with a $40.70 monthly base distribution charge.
2022-23 (ar-2023, 634a3b4d1c79): The OEB is named one of "Greater Toronto's Top Employers" for 2023 — the first appearance of this recognition in the series. In partnership with the Ministry of Energy and local distribution companies, it runs a scams-awareness campaign reaching approximately 2.2 million people in Ontario. As requested in the Minister's Letter of Direction and in support of a "Regulatory Framework Project," the OEB hosts external workshops on enabling electrification-related investment, engaging utilities, unregulated energy companies, consumer groups, and electric-vehicle proponents. Cyber-readiness reporting is enhanced. Reporting continues against the sp-2021 four Strategic Goals.
2023-24 (ar-2024, cf8af4ce6662): CEO Susanna Zagar's message frames the year around Minister Todd Smith's Letters of Direction (October 2022 and November 2023), the government's "Powering Ontario's Growth" plan, the IESO's "Pathways to Decarbonization" report, and the Electrification and Energy Transition Panel (EETP, established by the Minister of Energy in 2022). The OEB advances an EV Integration project (Delivery Rates Report; EV Charging Connections Procedure) and a DER Connections Review introducing flexible hosting-capacity rules for electricity distributors. Most recommendations from a Very Small Utilities Working Group are accepted; a revised Handbook to Electricity Distributor and Transmitter Consolidations is prepared; a streamlined licence-renewal process is extended to electricity transmitters. A Red Tape Reduction initiative cuts regulatory burden by 2.1% this year (2.5% the prior year), targeting a cumulative 5% reduction by March 2026. A preliminary Uniform Transmission Rates initiative is credited by S&P Global Ratings with helping address "regulatory lag." Green Button and the Ultra-Low Overnight price plan continue rolling out. The OEB is named a Greater Toronto Top Employer for a second consecutive year and receives an Electricity Human Resources Canada DEI award. This is the first report in the series to reference the "Ministry of Energy and Electrification" (elsewhere in the same document; the CEO's own message still cites "Minister Todd Smith" without the expanded ministry name), indicating a machinery-of-government rename in progress.
Business Plan 2025/26-2027/28 (bp-2025, 23921374abb9): Restates the OEB Act, 1998's electricity and gas objectives verbatim as the OEB's mandate. Confirms the OEB is "in the final year of its 2021/22 to 2025/26 Strategic Plan" and that the four Strategic Goals were "updated in the 2024/25 Business Plan." Goal 1 is now named "Enable Ontario's Energy Advantage" (replacing "Evolve Toward Becoming a Top Quartile Regulator"); Goals 2-4 (Protect the Public / Drive Energy Sector Performance / Facilitate Innovation) retain their sp-2021 names and descriptions essentially unchanged. States that "the next annual Business Plan" will describe OEB strategy for 2026/27 and beyond, signalling a forthcoming successor strategic plan not yet in the archived series.
2024-25 (ar-2025, e684df7d3568): Leadership is in transition: the report opens with "A Message from the Acting Chair and Interim Chief Executive Officer," signed by Geoff Owen (Acting Chair of the Board of Directors) and Carolyn Calwell (Interim CEO) — replacing Susanna Zagar as CEO with no stated reason in the archived text (⚠️ still being checked). Work is anchored in the province's "Energy for Generations" plan and "Ontario's Affordable Energy Future: The Pressing Case for More Power," described as an "all-of-the-above approach to energy planning." A System Expansion and Cost Benchmarking for Housing Developments report (published December 2024) supports the government's housing-supply agenda; the OEB implements resulting changes to the Distribution System Code and begins work on a capacity allocation model. New Distribution Sector Resilience and Responsiveness and (draft) Vulnerability Assessment reports respond to "changing climate conditions," alongside new minimum requirements for utilities to communicate with customers during widespread severe-weather outages. The OESP application system is enhanced; a version 2.0 Ontario Cyber Security Standard Framework is released. A multi-year "Business Operations Optimization and Systems Transformation" project delivers OEB iSearch™, an AI-powered search tool spanning "360,000-plus regulatory documents." The 5% red-tape-reduction target is reached one year early. Total FTE headcount grows from 190 (FY2022-23) to 208 (FY2023-24) to 223 (FY2024-25), against Business-Plan-approved FTE ceilings of 203 / 228 / 228 respectively, explained as a response "to growing demands on the energy sector." Total revenues of $73,036,070 against total expenses of $74,956,312 (prior year $62,446,238 / $64,731,455) match the backgrounder's figures exactly. The OEB is named a Greater Toronto Top Employer for a third consecutive year; its "Power of Giving" charitable campaign raises $90,000 for United Way Greater Toronto and HealthPartners in 2024-25 alone (>$300,000 cumulative since 2021).
August 2025 — "The Market Surveillance Panel in the Renewed IESO-Administered Markets" (oth-2025, b3541558d585): Documents the OEB-housed Market Surveillance Panel's (MSP) monitoring role as the IESO implements its Market Renewal Program — a new Single Schedule Market design introducing locational marginal pricing, anchored to a reference location at the Richview Transformer Station in the Greater Toronto Area — and a market-power-mitigation framework. This is a distinct oversight function, adjacent to but separate from the OEB's core rate-setting and licensing mandate, and is the most recent document in the archived series.
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Added — low-income rate assistance (OESP): introduced ar-2016 (197654843ada) as ratepayer-funded; shifted to direct provincial-revenue funding by ar-2019 (490b5f86cbf8); application system enhanced ar-2025 (e684df7d3568).
- Added — electrification / EV / DER integration: first substantial treatment ar-2023 (634a3b4d1c79, "Regulatory Framework Project" workshops); formalized via the Electrification and Energy Transition Panel (established 2022) and OEB's own EV Integration project/DER Connections Review in ar-2024 (cf8af4ce6662); continues with EV charging rate design and connection procedures in ar-2025 (e684df7d3568).
- Added — cybersecurity as a named standing priority: "enhanced cyber readiness reporting" first named ar-2023 (634a3b4d1c79); a dedicated Cyber Security Standard Framework (v2.0 by ar-2025, e684df7d3568) and cybersecurity risk-register item follow.
- Added — Indigenous relations as an explicit standing priority: consultation-provision review first named ar-2024 (cf8af4ce6662); a new Manager, Indigenous Relations position and an Indigenous scholarship (with Indspire) follow in ar-2025 (e684df7d3568).
- Added — climate-change resilience as an explicit named priority: first appears as Strategic Goal action 3.4 in sp-2021 (a6eb4bc3666a, "responsive to the challenges posed by climate change"); operationalized via the Distribution Sector Resilience and Responsiveness report and Vulnerability Assessment in ar-2025 (e684df7d3568).
- Added — housing-supply linkage: first appears ar-2025 (e684df7d3568) via the System Expansion and Cost Benchmarking for Housing Developments report (Dec 2024) and resulting Distribution System Code changes.
- Renamed — Strategic Goal 1: "Evolve Toward Becoming a Top Quartile Regulator" (sp-2021, a6eb4bc3666a, in force 2021/22-2025/26) renamed "Enable Ontario's Energy Advantage" per bp-2025 (23921374abb9), which states the change was made "in the 2024/25 Business Plan." Goals 2-4 unchanged in name across the same period.
- Restructured — five-year strategy framing: the "Strategic Blueprint: Keeping Pace with an Evolving Energy Sector" (ar-2018, 9120f0cd2d05) is superseded by the formal five-year "Strategic Plan 2021/22-2025/26" (sp-2021, a6eb4bc3666a) following the OEB Modernization Review Panel's 2019 report and the Bill 87 governance overhaul — different document lineage, same five-year-strategy role.
- Dropped, no stated reason — the 2015-2018 Business Plan's four focus areas (Empowering Consumers / Enhancing Utility Performance / Enabling Access to Competitive Energy Choices / Enhancing Regulatory Effectiveness), scored via audited scorecard in ar-2016/ar-2017 (197654843ada; cc36a1f31d1a), are absent from ar-2019 (490b5f86cbf8) onward — the disappearance coincides with the OEB Modernization Review Panel process and the pending Strategic Plan replacement, but no report states a retirement decision.
- Restructured — governance itself: the combined "Chair and Chief Executive Officer" role (Rosemarie T. Leclair, ar-2016 through at least ar-2020: 197654843ada through 4300344be32c) is split by Bill 87, the Fixing the Hydro Mess Act, 2019 (Royal Assent May 9, 2019; realized operationally October 1, 2020, ar-2021 d17de6af26e6) into separate Board of Directors / Chair, CEO, and Commissioners-led-by-a-Chief-Commissioner roles. Richard Dicerni becomes Chair and Susanna Zagar becomes CEO by ar-2022 (ee321a72e3e9); both are replaced by "Acting"/"Interim" successors (Geoff Owen, Carolyn Calwell) by ar-2025 (e684df7d3568) with no stated reason.
- Renamed — ministry of record: "Ministry of Energy, Northern Development and Mines" (ar-2019 490b5f86cbf8; ar-2020 4300344be32c) → correspondence addressed simply to "Minister of Energy" from November 2021 (ar-2022 ee321a72e3e9; ar-2023 634a3b4d1c79) → "Ministry of Energy and Electrification" by ar-2024/ar-2025 (cf8af4ce6662; e684df7d3568). This reflects provincial machinery-of-government changes rather than an OEB-specific mandate shift.
Budget & mandate inflection points
- Jan 1, 2017 — new consumer-protection rules take effect under amended Energy Consumer Protection Act, 2010, following the OEB's 14 recommendations (ar-2016, 197654843ada).
- 2017 — Fair Hydro Act, 2017 rate-reduction program; OEB implements associated rate-design and reporting changes (ar-2017, cc36a1f31d1a; ar-2018, 9120f0cd2d05).
- May 9, 2019 — Bill 87, Fixing the Hydro Mess Act, 2019, Royal Assent; mandates OEB governance restructuring (ar-2019, 490b5f86cbf8; ar-2020, 4300344be32c).
- Nov 1, 2019 — OEB resumes setting Regulated Price Plan prices; Ontario Electricity Rebate launched (31.8% eligible-bill reduction) (ar-2020, 4300344be32c).
- Oct 1, 2020 — new governance structure (Board of Directors / Chair / CEO / Commissioners led by a Chief Commissioner) takes effect (ar-2021, d17de6af26e6).
- 2021/22-2025/26 — five-year Strategic Plan in force; four Strategic Goals set the reporting frame for every subsequent annual report in the series (sp-2021, a6eb4bc3666a).
- Nov 2022 — Auditor General value-for-money audit identifies structural gaps in OEB's regulatory authority and issues 12 recommendations (oth-2022, 733ac5491717).
- Oct 2022 / Nov 2023 — Minister's Letters of Direction reorient OEB work toward electrification-readiness and the Electrification and Energy Transition Panel process (ar-2024, cf8af4ce6662).
- FY2021-22 → FY2024-25 — operating-expense base rises from roughly $46.1M (FY2021-22, ar-2022 ee321a72e3e9) to $55.2M (FY2022-23, ar-2023 634a3b4d1c79) to $64.7M (FY2023-24) to $74.96M (FY2024-25, ar-2025 e684df7d3568) — about 63% growth in three fiscal years — with FTE headcount growing from 190 to 223 over the same window (ar-2025, e684df7d3568). ⚠️ still being checked full cost breakdown; the narrative attributes growth to sector demands and systems-transformation work but does not fully itemize it.
- 2024/25 Business Plan — Strategic Goal 1 renamed "Enable Ontario's Energy Advantage" (bp-2025, 23921374abb9).
- Dec 2024 — System Expansion and Cost Benchmarking for Housing Developments report ties OEB distribution-system rules to the province's housing-supply targets (ar-2025, e684df7d3568).
- FY2024-25 — leadership transition to an Acting Chair and Interim CEO; cause not stated in the archived series (ar-2025, e684df7d3568). ⚠️ still being checked.
- Aug 2025 — Market Surveillance Panel reports on oversight of the IESO's Market Renewal Program, a wholesale electricity-market redesign (oth-2025, b3541558d585).
Ontario/Toronto relevance
- The OEB's mailing address across the archived PDF-era reports is 2300 Yonge Street, 27th floor, P.O. Box 2319, Toronto, ON M4P 1E4 — consistent from at least ar-2016 (197654843ada) through ar-2023 (634a3b4d1c79); the OEB's independent auditors (initially private-sector, later the Auditor General of Ontario) are also based in Toronto in every audited financial statement reviewed (e.g., ar-2016, 197654843ada; ar-2022, ee321a72e3e9; ar-2023, 634a3b4d1c79).
- The OEB is named one of "Greater Toronto's Top Employers" three consecutive years in the archived series: 2023 (ar-2023, 634a3b4d1c79), 2023-24 (ar-2024, cf8af4ce6662), and 2024-25 (ar-2025, e684df7d3568).
- Employee charitable giving is directed at Toronto-specific organizations: the "Power of Giving" campaign supports United Way Greater Toronto and HealthPartners, raising $90,000 in 2024-25 alone and more than $300,000 cumulatively since 2021 (ar-2025, e684df7d3568).
- The Auditor General's November 2022 audit (oth-2022, 733ac5491717) repeatedly benchmarks Toronto Hydro-Electric System Limited as one of Ontario's three largest electricity distributors (with Hydro One and Alectra, together ~60% of distribution customers); Toronto Hydro alone serves 607,011 customers at a $40.70 monthly base distribution charge, and the audit separately compares residential electricity prices in Toronto against Ottawa and other jurisdictions.
- The Market Surveillance Panel's August 2025 report on IESO market renewal (oth-2025, b3541558d585) identifies the Richview Transformer Station in the Greater Toronto Area as the reference location for the new locational marginal pricing methodology underpinning Ontario's wholesale electricity market redesign — a technical but material Toronto-anchored feature of provincial electricity-market design.
- The 2015-16 annual report records that of 52.6 km of new/replacement natural gas pipeline approved that year, 32 km was specifically in the Greater Toronto and Hamilton area (ar-2016, 197654843ada).
- Beyond headquarters location, employer/community recognition, and Toronto Hydro as a regulated entity, the archived series does not isolate Toronto-specific rate decisions or proceedings — OEB rate cases and policy consultations are reported sector-wide, not by municipality, in every document read. ⚠️ still being checked whether any Toronto-specific leave-to-construct or rate proceedings exist outside this document set.
Residuals & gaps
- Four of 18 documents are archive.org interstitial/landing-page stubs, not primary-source content, despite
_index.jsonstatus "ok": on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2000 (a97a3105cf15, 7,154 chars — entirely Internet Archive site navigation, cataloguing metadata and download-format menus, zero OEB report text), on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2001 (4167be7410f8, same pattern), on-ontario-energy-board-ar-2004 (5be872bdaff2, same pattern), and on-ontario-energy-board-bp-2005 (9896532b272a, same pattern). All four havecontent_type: text/html; charset=utf-8(an archive.org "item preview" page) rather than the underlying scanned PDF/OCR text, which was never extracted. This leaves the entire pre-2015 window of the archived series — the 1999-2000 and 2000-01 annual reports, the 2003-04 annual report, and the 2005-2008 business plan — effectively undocumented for substantive content. - Coverage gap, 2005-2015: no documents at all (stub or real) are registered for this ten-year span, so the period spanning the original electricity-restructuring aftermath through the pre-Strategic-Blueprint governance and rate-design environment is entirely unrepresented in this series.
- All 14 remaining documents (ar-2016 through ar-2025, bp-2025, sp-2021, oth-2022, oth-2025), all
content_type: application/pdf, were confirmed on direct reading to contain substantive multi-page extracted text — tables of contents, financial statements, narrative sections, data tables — with no additional stubs found among this group. - ⚠️ Still being checked: exact date and stated reason for the CEO/Chair leadership transition between ar-2024 (Susanna Zagar as CEO, cf8af4ce6662) and ar-2025 (Carolyn Calwell as Interim CEO, Geoff Owen as Acting Chair, e684df7d3568) — not disclosed in the archived text.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: whether any of the Auditor General's 12 numbered recommendations from November 2022 (oth-2022, 733ac5491717) — on long-term-planning authority, the ~34% of unregulated bill charges, USMP fee regulation, and rate-of-return policy review — were implemented; the archived series contains no follow-up audit or OEB response document confirming this.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: full itemization of the FY2021-22 → FY2024-25 operating-expense growth (~$46M to ~$75M, about 63% over three years); the archived MD&A narrative attributes part of it to FTE growth (190→223) and systems-transformation investment but does not fully break out the increase by cost category.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: the backgrounder's 1960 date for the start of OEB natural-gas regulation and its 1999 electricity-sector-reconstitution date are sourced to a search-snippet citation of pas.gov.on.ca in the backgrounder itself, not to any document in this archived series; no document read here independently confirms either date.
- No archive_status=missing flags and no extraction failures (zero-byte or error) were found among the 18 registered documents; all were fetched with status "ok" and non-zero character counts. The substantive-coverage gap identified here is a content-quality issue (archive.org landing-page captures instead of the underlying scanned report) rather than a fetch failure, and the four affected documents should be prioritized for re-extraction from the underlying PDF/OCR text where available.