Walkerton Clean Water Centre
Business plan title/period per governance-documents page listing; FOI via central portal
Current this library's internal records: Business Plan 2026-2029 (2029)
Completeness
- Document shelf: 20 rows (20 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 20 of 20 row(s) audited, all clean
- Last verified: 2026-07-30 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: not yet verified
- API: not yet verified
- RSS: not yet verified
- Newsroom: not yet verified
- FOI / access requests: not yet verified
Document shelf (20 rows)
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Walkerton Clean Water Centre - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: on-walkerton-clean-water-centre (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
WCWC is established by regulation - Ontario Regulation 304/04, made under the Development Corporations Act - as "a corporation without share capital" (English name Walkerton Clean Water Centre); the e-Laws consolidated regulation text was rendered and verified via ontario.ca/laws/regulation/040304 (fetched 2026-07-30). Section 3 objects: coordinate and deliver education/training for drinking-water system owners, operators and operating authorities, and advise the Minister on research priorities (O. Reg. 304/04, s. 3).
Roles, responsibilities & scope
WCWC is the province's centre for training, applied research and technology demonstration for Ontario's drinking-water systems, delivering mandatory Ministry-required training plus specialized courses and public information (pas.gov.on.ca/Home/Agency/231, fetched 2026-07-30; on-walkerton-clean-water-centre). Registry: Tier 1 agency, current strategy = Business Plan 2026-2029 sourced from the org's governance-documents page (registry notes field, on-walkerton-clean-water-centre).
Governance & reporting line
Governed by a board of 3-12 members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, for up to three-year renewable terms, with chair and one-or-two vice-chairs designated from the board (O. Reg. 304/04, s. 2; pas.gov.on.ca/Home/Agency/231). It reports through the Ministry of Environment, Conservation and Parks, which may issue binding policy directions and conducts mandated periodic reviews (pas.gov.on.ca/Home/Agency/231).
Budget scale
Revenue of $6,800,730 for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2025 (up from $6,040,076 the prior year), against expenses of $6,837,343, with a March 31, 2025 net-asset balance of $7,931,642 (WCWC 2024-25 Annual Report, wcwc.ca/wp-content/uploads/2025/09/2024-25-WCWC-Annual-Report-EN.pdf, fetched and text-extracted 2026-07-30).
Institutional history
Established October 1, 2004 as a Crown agency under the Development Corporations Act via Ontario Regulation 304/04, created in the aftermath of the 2000 Walkerton E. coli drinking-water tragedy (O. Reg. 304/04, ontario.ca/laws/regulation/040304, fetched 2026-07-30; the tragedy-context framing itself is background context and not independently re-verified this review - ⚠️ still being checked causal framing against a primary Ministry history page).
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Walkerton Clean Water Centre - strategy evolution
2026-07-31 (rolling continuation) / registry: on-walkerton-clean-water-centre / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: The biggest priority addition across the 2007-2026 series is named First Nations training partnerships, which grew from an unnamed "special project" (2016-17) to two named formal partners (2017-18) to a five-course dedicated First Nations curriculum in the forward business plan. The biggest quietly-dropped element is the "Centre of Excellence in One Water" vision language, adopted in 2019-20 and replaced with no stated reason by "Clean, safe water for everyone in Ontario" starting 2023-24. The load-bearing number is cumulative training surpassing 125,000 people by 2024-25, alongside FY2024-25 revenue of $6,800,730 against $6,040,076 the prior year. The open question the record cannot resolve: the outcome of the "forthcoming Mandate Review" announced for 2016-17, which is never mentioned again in any later annual report through the most recent business plan.
Backgrounder summary
WCWC is established by Ontario Regulation 304/04 under the Development Corporations Act as a corporation without share capital, mandated to coordinate and deliver training for Ontario's drinking-water system owners, operators and operating authorities and to advise the Minister on research priorities. It is governed by a 3-12 member board appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council and reports through the Ministry of Environment, Conservation and Parks. It ran FY2024-25 revenue of $6,800,730 against expenses of $6,837,343, with net assets of $7,931,642. The Centre was established October 1, 2004 in the aftermath of the 2000 Walkerton E. coli drinking-water tragedy.
Series inventory
The archived series is 20 documents spanning fiscal years 2006-07 through 2024-25 (19 annual reports, doc_ids ar-2007 through ar-2025) plus one forward-looking business plan (bp-2026, covering FY2026-27 to FY2028-29). All 20 were retrieved successfully; core narrative sections (Chair/CEO messages, mission/mandate, Corporate Profile, goals and strategic directions) were directly read for every document, with grep-assisted sampling of financial appendices and full Board biography blocks in the busier years.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2007 | 2007 | annual-report | 2a093b925833 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2008 | 2008 | annual-report | 8e6920ef1401 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2009 | 2009 | annual-report | 1144f4a45141 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2010 | 2010 | annual-report | 2a2acc16f3a7 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2011 | 2011 | annual-report | e9ff90bffa25 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2012 | 2012 | annual-report | 06bfb5538477 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2013 | 2013 | annual-report | 1ba7c505e4c0 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2014 | 2014 | annual-report | 6734e6f0f890 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2015 | 2015 | annual-report | f79867d893d9 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2016 | 2016 | annual-report | b325914e4e65 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2017 | 2017 | annual-report | 71ddb0b2b374 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2018 | 2018 | annual-report | 09124f4708c2 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2019 | 2019 | annual-report | 2dfc765a6498 | yes (thinner extraction, see Residuals) |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2020 | 2020 | annual-report | 4a9e4fd18f39 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2021 | 2021 | annual-report | 19ed8b625a61 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2022 | 2022 | annual-report | cc84d01938b9 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2023 | 2023 | annual-report | b5469ea3cfe3 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2024 | 2024 | annual-report | 1a9ca6c9773b | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-ar-2025 | 2025 | annual-report | d7213bdba486 | yes |
| on-walkerton-clean-water-centre-bp-2026 | 2026 | business-plan | ce9624e13b36 | yes |
Priority evolution
2006-07 (ar-2007, 2a093b925833): In its first full year of operation, the Centre reports training more than 5,000 people and opening its Interim Technology Demonstration Facility, funded partly by over $500,000 in donated equipment. Chair Murray Elston and CEO Dr. Saad Jasim frame the founding mandate explicitly around three Walkerton Inquiry recommendations from Associate Chief Justice Dennis O'Connor: Recommendation 63 (accessibility of training in small and remote communities), Recommendation 64 (availability of required training), and Recommendation 92 (training for First Nations operators). The stated Vision is "to create a world-class institute, dedicated to safe and secure drinking water for the people of Ontario," delivered through four Goals: coordinate/deliver training, demonstrate leading-edge technology, advise the Minister on research needs, and provide public information/outreach.
2007-08 (ar-2008, 8e6920ef1401): The Corporate Profile is updated to name "First Nations systems" explicitly as part of the Centre's focus (alongside smaller and remote systems), sharpening the Recommendation-92 emphasis beyond the mandate section alone. The Centre reports 4,800 trainees this year and more than 10,000 cumulative since October 2005, delivered as far afield as "Nipigon, Toronto, Gloucester and Dryden." Premier Dalton McGuinty visited the interim Technology Demonstration Facility in September 2007. The government-priority framing cited in the mandate section is "Public Reporting – Strong People, Strong Economy."
2008-09 (ar-2009, 1144f4a45141): Fourth year of operation; cumulative training passes 16,000. The Centre received a Ministry of the Environment 2008 Emerald Award for Innovation and hosted its second annual seminar, focused specifically on "Climate Change and its impact on water systems," with then-Environment Minister John Gerretsen as keynote. The government-priority language shifts to "building a strong and growing economy to help create a green society and healthier, more sustainable communities."
2009-10 (ar-2010, 2a2acc16f3a7, "Building for the Future"): The year's central event is the move into the new permanent Walkerton facility; Rui De Carvalho succeeds Murray Elston as Chair (Elston stepped down August 2009). Cumulative training exceeds 23,000. The reporting structure is reorganized for the first time into an eight-item "Goals and Strategic Directions" framework tied to the Centre's 2009-12 business plan (facility development, operator training, small/remote systems, research, communications/marketing, education/outreach, developing new drinking-water professionals, and governance/accountability).
2010-11 (ar-2011, e9ff90bffa25): The permanent facility is officially opened June 10, 2010 (102 attendees), followed by a public open house (386 attendees) and a Doors Open Ontario event (216 visitors); the Centre also "sponsored local events that marked the 10th anniversary of the drinking water tragedy in Walkerton." The Board adopts the Centre's first formal Mission statement — "We safeguard drinking water for the people of Ontario as the leading centre for high-quality training, applied research and technology demonstration" — alongside a reorganization into the WCWC Training Institute, the WCWC Research and Technology Institute, and a Management Services Department. New CEO Dr. Larry Moore succeeds Dr. Saad Jasim (CEO 2005-2010). The Centre frames a new "innovation agenda" tied to Ontario's Water Opportunities and Water Conservation Act, 2010, and names emerging contaminants (pharmaceuticals, personal care products, endocrine-disrupting compounds) as a research focus for the first time.
2011-12 (ar-2012, 06bfb5538477): The Training Institute and Research & Technology Institute, established in 2011, are reported operating out of a LEED Gold-certified permanent facility. First Nations support is described as a strengthening priority, including train-the-trainer work to let First Nations instructors deliver training on-site; hands-on training participant-hours are reported up 506 per cent year over year. The reporting framework is compressed from eight/nine goals down to four.
2012-13 (ar-2013, 1ba7c505e4c0): Leadership is in transition: the Chair/CEO message is jointly signed by Vice-Chair Nancy Kodousek and Acting CEO Dr. Souleymane Ndiongue, and founding Chair Murray Elston's board term ends this year. Training for First Nations systems continues via the Mobile Training Unit in Northern Ontario (42 participants in small, remote and First Nations communities). Cumulative training passes 43,000.
2013-14 (ar-2014, 6734e6f0f890): John Stager becomes Chair (with Dr. Ndiongue continuing as Acting CEO); cumulative training passes 48,000. For the first time, the report states explicitly that the Centre's business plan "contains strategic information" and "is not shared publicly" — a transparency posture not stated in earlier reports.
2014-15 (ar-2015, f79867d893d9): Roman Martiuk becomes CEO. The Ministry is referred to for the first time in an annual report as the "Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change." A new mandatory course, Diligence in Drinking Water Operations, is developed in cooperation with the Ministry. Cumulative training passes 55,000.
2015-16 (b325914e4e65): The Centre undertakes a strategic-planning project — described as "subject to a forthcoming Mandate Review in 2016-17" — including client consultation in five locations that for the first time explicitly names feedback from "indigenous operators" as a distinct consulted group. The exercise produces a new Mission ("Educating and supporting our clients as they address their water system risks in order to safeguard Ontario's drinking water"), a new Vision ("An agency known for its innovative and practical approach to building knowledge and capacity for those responsible for water systems, emphasizing system vulnerabilities"), and a new Statement of Values. Cumulative training passes 62,000.
2016-17 (ar-2017, 71ddb0b2b374): The Corporate Profile is updated to name First Nations drinking-water improvement as one of "the drinking water related goals and priorities of the Government of Ontario" the Centre supports — the first time this appears in the profile text itself rather than only the mandate section. The Centre initiates "a special project to facilitate the provision of drinking water training and continuing education to operators of First Nations drinking water systems and First Nations administrators," and pilot testing is named as a growing, separately promoted service line (eight pilot projects). Cumulative training passes 69,000.
2017-18 (ar-2018, 09124f4708c2): The Ministry is renamed again in Centre reporting, to the "Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks" (the name still current as of the most recent archived report). The Centre names, for the first time, two specific First Nations training partners — Keewaytinook Okimakanak of the Northern Chiefs' Council, and the Ontario First Nations Technical Services Corporation — through which the Entry-Level Course for Drinking Water Operators was delivered to 45 First Nations operators. A new mandatory course, Safe Drinking Water Operator Essentials, is developed. The Board is expanded to a full complement of 12 members (four new appointees this year), and the Corporate Profile's earlier LEED Gold-certification framing is absent from the profile text (last stated ar-2013, 1ba7c505e4c0).
2018-19 (ar-2019, 2dfc765a6498): A "record-breaking year": 8,129 trainees, the highest annual figure in the series to that point, and cumulative training passes 84,000. First Nations pilot testing scales up materially — of nine pilot testing projects, one was completed for a First Nations community and, notably, four of five projects still underway as of year-end were for First Nations communities. The Vision statement is broadened to reference "small and vulnerable systems themselves," not just "system vulnerabilities." The Chair/CEO message is signed only "Andrew Henry, P.Eng., On behalf of the Board of Directors," without a named Chair title, unlike every other year in the series (⚠️ still being checked governance context — possible Chair transition not otherwise explained in this thinner-than-usual extraction).
2019-20 (ar-2020, 4a9e4fd18f39): Mike Smith becomes Chair (from August 29, 2019). A new strategic-planning exercise produces a new Mission ("To educate and support clients as they manage their water systems to safeguard water resources") and a new Vision built around the phrase "an accessible 'Centre of Excellence in One Water'" — the first appearance of "One Water" framing in the series. A dedicated "Impact of COVID-19 on Operations and Performance" section is added to the report structure for the first time. Cumulative training passes 90,000.
2020-21 (ar-2021, 19ed8b625a61): The pandemic year: the Centre "accelerated its objective to create online training platforms," launching virtual delivery of 20 existing courses and delivering 150 virtual sessions in total, alongside new COVID-era safety protocols developed with the Ministry of Labour, Training and Skills Development and the Grey-Bruce Health Unit. The reporting framework is restructured into four thematic goals — Improving Client Access and Engagement; Assessing and Proactively Pursuing New Opportunities; State-of-the-Art Curriculum and Delivery; Enhanced Organizational Effectiveness — replacing the earlier numbered-goal lists. The Centre releases its first PFAS-specific fact sheet ("PFAS in Water").
2021-22 (ar-2022, cc84d01938b9): Brian Bates (M.B.A., B.Sc.) becomes CEO, succeeding Carl Kuhnke. The Board completes two three-hour "Indigenous Awareness and Indigenous Relations" training sessions delivered by Indigenous Corporate Training Inc. — the first governance-level Indigenous-competency training named in the series. The Helpline and the Drinking Water Resource Library (5,000+ vetted resources) are described as discrete, named client-facing services for the first time in the Corporate Profile.
2022-23 (ar-2023, b5469ea3cfe3): Self-directed e-learning is introduced as a named training format for the first time (e.g., Introduction to Wells). New courses include Case Studies in Chemical Contamination. The quality-assurance satisfaction index is reported at 95.1 per cent good-or-excellent. Mission and Vision remain the "Centre of Excellence in One Water" wording adopted in FY2019-20.
2023-24 (ar-2024, 1a9ca6c9773b): The Mission and Vision statements are both replaced: Mission becomes "We provide system owners, operators, and operating authorities the education, information, and advice they need to provide clean, safe drinking water," and Vision becomes "Clean, safe water for everyone in Ontario" — dropping the four-year-old "One Water" framing with no stated reason. Despite the rebrand, the report still uses the prior four-goal reporting structure (Client Access/Engagement, New Opportunities, Curriculum, Organizational Effectiveness) this year. The Centre begins client-engagement research into training needs and preferences to inform future programming.
2024-25 (ar-2025, d7213bdba486): The reporting structure catches up to the FY2023-24 rebrand: a new three-goal framework — Foundational Programs, Grow E-Learning Programs, Expand Support for First Nations Communities — is reported as flowing from "a new strategic plan, approved by the Board of Directors in December 2023." For the first time, the report structures its "Summary of Performance" section explicitly around a quoted Minister's letter of direction, whose five priorities are: addressing drinking water system vulnerabilities; First Nations operator/manager/leadership training; province-wide information and advice; supporting vulnerable systems via applied research and pilot testing; and expanding virtual/e-learning. Cumulative training surpasses 125,000. Pilot testing addresses "contaminants of emerging concern," including per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS). Three new First Nations-tailored courses launch based on client feedback. No anniversary framing is found for the Centre's own 20th year of operation (established October 2004), despite this fiscal year spanning that milestone.
FY2026-27 to FY2028-29 (bp-2026, ce9624e13b36): The forward business plan carries forward the ar-2025 goal set but expands it to four strategic goals: Grow E-Learning Programs; Expanded Support for First Nations Communities; Implement Value-Based Project Deployment (new-course development targeted at identified unmet needs); and Build New Partnerships, framed as securing "its leadership position in drinking water education and applied research by collaborating with other organizations." The plan lists five named First Nations-specific courses (Entry-Level Course for Drinking Water Operators for First Nations, Managing Drinking Water Systems in First Nations Communities, Drinking Water Advisories in First Nations Communities, Introduction to First Nations Guidance Documents, Watermain Construction and Maintenance) plus two new 2025-26 launches (Operator Toolbox; Exam Prep Water Treatment III and IV: Math), the most developed First Nations-specific course suite named anywhere in the series. The plan's environmental scan names, for the first time in the archived series, explicit funding-adequacy and workforce-retention risk: "the annual transfer payment from the Ministry not keeping pace with inflation and rising program costs" and "increased staff turnover due to inability to offer competitive compensation and travel/living reimbursement, resulting in loss of highly skilled staff."
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Added — Named First Nations training partnerships: an unnamed "special project" for First Nations training (ar-2017, 71ddb0b2b374) becomes formalized around two named partners, Keewaytinook Okimakanak of the Northern Chiefs' Council and the Ontario First Nations Technical Services Corporation (ar-2018, 09124f4708c2), and expands into a five-course dedicated First Nations curriculum by the business plan (bp-2026, ce9624e13b36).
- Added — Pilot testing as a headline service line: named and promoted from ar-2017 (71ddb0b2b374) onward; by ar-2019 (2dfc765a6498) the majority of in-progress pilot projects are First Nations-specific; by ar-2025 (d7213bdba486) pilot work explicitly targets "contaminants of emerging concern" including PFAS.
- Added — Virtual/e-learning as a standing strategic goal: accelerated by the COVID-19 pandemic (ar-2021, 19ed8b625a61); formalized as the named goal "Grow E-Learning Programs" in the Board's December 2023 strategic plan, reported ar-2025 (d7213bdba486) and carried into bp-2026 (ce9624e13b36).
- Added — Emerging-contaminant/PFAS research: first named as pharmaceuticals/personal-care-products/endocrine-disrupting-compound research (ar-2011, e9ff90bffa25); first PFAS-specific fact sheet (ar-2021, 19ed8b625a61); named PFAS pilot testing (ar-2025, d7213bdba486).
- Added — Governance-level Indigenous-competency training for the Board: two Indigenous Awareness/Indigenous Relations sessions (ar-2022, cc84d01938b9).
- Quietly dropped — the WCWC Training Institute / WCWC Research and Technology Institute internal sub-brand structure: established 2011 and named through ar-2018 (06bfb5538477 through 09124f4708c2); absent from ar-2019 (2dfc765a6498) onward with no stated retirement.
- Quietly dropped — LEED Gold facility certification framing from the standard Corporate Profile paragraph: present ar-2012/ar-2013 (06bfb5538477; 1ba7c505e4c0), absent from ar-2014 (6734e6f0f890) onward even though the same facility remained in use.
- Renamed/restructured — Mission statement, four distinct eras: "world-class institute" vision language (ar-2007 through ar-2009, 2a093b925833 through 1144f4a45141) → formally adopted safeguarding-focused Mission (ar-2011 through ar-2015, e9ff90bffa25 through f79867d893d9) → client/risk-based Mission (ar-2016 through ar-2023, b325914e4e65 through b5469ea3cfe3) → current outcome-based Mission (ar-2024 onward, 1a9ca6c9773b).
- Renamed/restructured — Vision statement, "Centre of Excellence in One Water" (ar-2020 through ar-2023, 4a9e4fd18f39 through b5469ea3cfe3) replaced by "Clean, safe water for everyone in Ontario" (ar-2024 onward, 1a9ca6c9773b) with no stated reason for dropping the "One Water" language.
- Renamed/restructured — reporting-goal framework, from variable numbered goal lists (four to nine items, ar-2007 through ar-2015) to a four-theme framework (ar-2021 through ar-2024, 19ed8b625a61 through 1a9ca6c9773b) to the current three-goal framework tied to the Board's December 2023 strategic plan (ar-2025, d7213bdba486), expanded to four goals in the forward business plan (bp-2026, ce9624e13b36).
Budget & mandate inflection points
- August 2006 — the Centre's first three-year business plan (2006-2009) approved by the Management Board of Cabinet (ar-2007, 2a093b925833).
- October 2008 – June 2010 — construction and move into the Centre's permanent Walkerton facility; official grand opening June 10, 2010; early-year operating surpluses (roughly $12M-$16M, ar-2007 2a093b925833 through ar-2010 2a2acc16f3a7) are described as earmarked toward this construction.
- 2010-11 — new formal Mission adopted; internal reorganization into the WCWC Training Institute, WCWC Research and Technology Institute, and Management Services Department (ar-2011, e9ff90bffa25).
- 2015-16 — a Mandate Review is announced as "forthcoming" for 2016-17 alongside a mission/vision refresh (ar-2016, b325914e4e65); no subsequent report in the archived series references its outcome — ⚠️ still being checked.
- 2017-18 — Ministry renamed to the Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks in Centre reporting, the name still current in the most recent archived report (ar-2018, 09124f4708c2; consistent through ar-2025, d7213bdba486, and bp-2026, ce9624e13b36).
- December 2023 — Board approves a new strategic plan, disclosed retrospectively in ar-2025 (d7213bdba486); underpins both the FY2023-24 mission/vision rebrand (ar-2024, 1a9ca6c9773b) and the FY2024-25 goal-framework change.
- FY2023-24 — Mission and Vision statements replaced (ar-2024, 1a9ca6c9773b).
- FY2024-25 — revenue of $6,800,730 against $6,040,076 the prior year, net assets of $7,931,642 (per the backgrounder, sourced from the FY2024-25 annual report).
- bp-2026 (ce9624e13b36) — first explicit statement in the archived series that the Ministry transfer payment is "not keeping pace with inflation and rising program costs," paired with named staff-retention/compensation risk — a funding-adequacy concern not stated in this form in any earlier archived report.
Ontario/Toronto relevance
WCWC is headquartered in Walkerton, in the Municipality of Brockton, Bruce County — not in Toronto or the GTA — and every report in the series frames its training mandate as province-wide ("provincewide," "across Ontario") rather than regional. Toronto appears in the archived series only incidentally: as the location of the Ministry's head office (bp-2026, ce9624e13b36), as one of many towns listed among 2007-08 training locations ("Nipigon, Toronto, Gloucester and Dryden," ar-2008, 8e6920ef1401), and as the host city for a single 2008 Climate Change seminar (ar-2008, 8e6920ef1401). No report in the series names a Toronto-specific program, partnership, office, or trainee/operator count. This is therefore a genuinely province-wide agency with no meaningful Toronto-specific angle in the archived record — a plain absence rather than an extraction gap, given Toronto's occasional but always incidental appearance.
Residuals & gaps
- ar-2019 (2dfc765a6498) extracted noticeably fewer characters (45,770) than its neighboring years (roughly 75,000-140,000 elsewhere in the series); its Chair/CEO message is also unusually signed "On behalf of the Board of Directors" without a named Chair title, unlike every other year — ⚠️ still being checked whether this reflects a Chair transition not otherwise documented in the archived text or simply an extraction artifact.
- Mandate Review outcome: the "forthcoming Mandate Review in 2016-17" announced in ar-2016 (b325914e4e65) is never mentioned again in any later archived report — ⚠️ still being checked whether/how it concluded.
- Anniversary framing: the series names the Centre's "second anniversary" once (ar-2008, 8e6920ef1401) and events marking the "10th anniversary of the drinking water tragedy in Walkerton" once (ar-2011, e9ff90bffa25), but no report frames a 15th or 20th anniversary of the Centre's own October 2004 founding, despite the archived series running through the Centre's 20th operating year (ar-2025, d7213bdba486) and beyond (bp-2026, ce9624e13b36) — cannot determine from text alone whether this is a genuine absence or missed material.
- Financial detail: this review tracked headline revenue/surplus/deficit figures and the backgrounder's FY2024-25 numbers, but did not systematically extract year-by-year revenue and expense figures across all 20 documents; a fuller financial-trajectory pass would need dedicated extraction of each year's financial-statement section.
- Read depth: front matter (Chair/CEO messages, Mission/Mandate/Vision, Corporate Profile, Goals and Strategic Directions) was directly read for all 20 documents; full Board-of-Directors biography blocks and complete financial/auditor appendices were sampled via targeted grep rather than read end-to-end for every year.