Transportation Services
Vision Zero is the division's current guiding safety plan (last updated Oct 2025).
Current this library's internal records: Vision Zero Road Safety Plan (2026)
Completeness
- Document shelf: 7 rows (7 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 7 of 7 row(s) audited, all clean
- Last verified: 2026-08-01 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: checked — none found
- API: checked — none found
- RSS: checked — none found
- Newsroom: checked — none found
- FOI / access requests: checked — none found
Document shelf (7 rows)
| Year | Type | Title | Archive status | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Subject report | Toronto's Vision Zero Road Safety Plan Annual Report 2025 | archived | |
| 2024 | Subject report | Updates on Vision Zero Road Safety Plan | archived | |
| 2023 | Other | Congestion Management Plan 2023-2026 | archived | |
| 2023 | Other | Winter Maintenance Program Follow-Up: Contractor Accountability to New Contract Terms | archived | |
| 2022 | Other | ActiveTO Midtown Complete Street Pilot: Before and After Study | archived | |
| 2021 | Other | ActiveTO Major Road Closures Evaluation Report | archived | |
| 2021 | Other | Winter Road Maintenance Program - Phase 2 Analysis: Deploying Resources | archived |
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Transportation Services - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: tor-transportation-services (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
Transportation Services is a non-statutory administrative division of the City of Toronto, organized under the City's general municipal powers in the City of Toronto Act, 2006, S.O. 2006, c. 11, Sched. A (https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/06c11 — fetched and verified, title confirmed). Its regulatory authority over roads, sidewalks, and traffic operates through Toronto Municipal Code Chapter 950, Traffic and Parking, and Chapter 743, Streets and Sidewalks, Use of (https://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/municode/1184_950.pdf and .../1184_743.pdf — both fetched and verified as live, current chapter text). ⚠️ still being checked any dedicated divisional terms-of-reference beyond these Municipal Code chapters.
Roles, responsibilities & scope
The division "is responsible for the planning, engineering, design, maintenance, and operations of 5,600 kilometres of roads, 7,400 kilometres of sidewalks, 900 bridges and culverts, 2,537 traffic control signals, 490 pedestrian crossovers, and 744 centreline kilometres of bikeway network" (2026 City of Toronto Budget Summary, Transportation Services program summary, p.171, https://www.toronto.ca/wp-content/uploads/2026/05/8f04-2026-City-of-Toronto-Budget-Summary.pdf, fetched). Core service areas are Road and Sidewalk Management (repairs, cleaning, winter maintenance, active-transportation infrastructure), Transportation Safety and Operations (traffic/pedestrian flow, signals, signage), and Permits and Applications (parking, construction, street-event permits, right-of-way enforcement) (same source, p.172, fetched). The division's current guiding safety document is the Vision Zero Road Safety Plan (registry row: tor-transportation-services, strategy_current_url field; toronto.ca/.../vision-zero/).
Governance & reporting line
Transportation Services reports to the Deputy City Manager, Infrastructure Services (registry row: tor-transportation-services, parent_org field) and is led by a General Manager (Ashley Curtis, per toronto.ca staff-directory page for the division, fetched). As a division rather than a board or agency, it has no independent governing body and answers through the City's administrative hierarchy to City Council.
Budget scale
2026 approved operating budget: $516.0 million gross expenditures, $211.8 million in revenues, and $304.2 million net expenditures; the 2026-2035 capital plan totals $6,617.5 million gross ($584.0M in 2026 alone) (2026 City of Toronto Budget Summary, Transportation Services "Budget at a Glance," p.173, https://www.toronto.ca/wp-content/uploads/2026/05/8f04-2026-City-of-Toronto-Budget-Summary.pdf, fetched).
Institutional history
Transportation Services exists today as a City division under the post-amalgamation (post-1998) City of Toronto administrative structure and the City of Toronto Act, 2006 general powers; ⚠️ still being checked exact year/administrative instrument of the division's creation and any prior organizational name — not grounded to a primary source this review.
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
Transportation Services - strategy evolution
2026-08-01 (rolling continuation) / registry: tor-transportation-services / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: The biggest priority added across this 2021-2025 series is the Automated Speed Enforcement camera-expansion program, announced in the 2024 Vision Zero report as growing from 75 to 150 cameras — and then the biggest quietly-dropped item is the same program, which the 2025 report discloses will end entirely as of November 14, 2025 "in accordance with recent provincial legislation," a provincial reversal rather than a City policy choice. The most load-bearing number is the reported 50% reduction in individuals killed on Toronto's roads in 2025 versus the 2016 Vision Zero baseline. One open question the record cannot resolve: the exact date of the General Manager transition from Barbara Gray (named through the November 2024 report) to Ashley Curtis (named in the 2025 report), which no archived document states.
Backgrounder summary
Transportation Services is a non-statutory administrative division of the City of Toronto, operating under the City's general municipal powers in the City of Toronto Act, 2006, with regulatory authority exercised through Toronto Municipal Code Chapter 950 (Traffic and Parking) and Chapter 743 (Streets and Sidewalks, Use Of). It is responsible for 5,600 km of roads, 7,400 km of sidewalks, 900 bridges/culverts, 2,537 traffic control signals, 490 pedestrian crossovers, and 744 centreline km of bikeway network, organized into Road and Sidewalk Management, Transportation Safety and Operations, and Permits and Applications. It reports to the Deputy City Manager, Infrastructure Services, and is led by General Manager Ashley Curtis (as of the backgrounder date; the archived series shows Barbara Gray as General Manager through 2024). 2026 approved operating budget: $516.0 million gross, $304.2 million net; 2026-2035 capital plan totals $6,617.5 million gross.
Series inventory
The registry index (_index.json) lists 7 documents for this org, all with status: "ok". Direct reading of all 7 .txt files confirms every one contains real, substantive content — no stub-suspected or failed documents in this set, and no our stub-content detector disagreements found (see Residuals & gaps). Two documents (oth-2021-2, oth-2023-2) are short torontoauditor.ca summary pages (3,048 and 6,017 characters respectively) rather than full reports, but both carry genuine substantive findings, figures, and analysis — not landing-page or interstitial shells. True usable-content rate: 7 of 7 (100%).
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| tor-transportation-services-oth-2021 | 2021 | other | 855879e8d73b | yes |
| tor-transportation-services-oth-2021-2 | 2021 | other | dd59f362b371 | yes — short (3,048 chars) but genuine Auditor General report-summary page, not a stub |
| tor-transportation-services-oth-2022 | 2022 | other | 31596805c9b9 | yes |
| tor-transportation-services-oth-2023 | 2023 | other | c0b1269e0e71 | yes |
| tor-transportation-services-oth-2023-2 | 2023 | other | 1e2cbff6c2d1 | yes — short (6,017 chars) but genuine Auditor General report-summary page, not a stub |
| tor-transportation-services-sr-2024 | 2024 | subject-report | e91857af25cb | yes |
| tor-transportation-services-sr-2025 | 2025 | subject-report | efc0a8479ec6 | yes |
Priority evolution
2021, ActiveTO pandemic-response evaluations (oth-2021, 855879e8d73b; oth-2021-2, dd59f362b371): The earliest documents in this series capture Transportation Services' COVID-19-era pivot to emergency active-transportation measures. The ActiveTO Major Road Closures Intercept Survey Evaluation Report (TCAT/Park People, January 2021) evaluates the weekend closures of Lake Shore Boulevard West/East, Bayview Avenue, and Yonge Street implemented May-October 2020 "to give people more space to walk and cycle safely during the COVID-19 pandemic," finding 92% support for continuing closures during the pandemic and 93% for continuing after (oth-2021, 855879e8d73b). In parallel, the Auditor General's Winter Road Maintenance Program Phase 2 report (June 22, 2021) flags that the Division "did not sufficiently analyze operational winter maintenance data to monitor contract performance," against a budget of "$90M budgeted annually and $411M spent in last 5 years" (oth-2021-2, dd59f362b371).
2022, ActiveTO Midtown formalized as a permanent-infrastructure pilot (oth-2022, 31596805c9b9): The Yonge Street (Bloor to Davisville) Complete Street Pilot — installed Summer 2021 following an October 2020 Council motion, per the City's "Pandemic Mobility Recovery Strategy" — is evaluated by IBI Group in a Before-and-After Study (March 18, 2022). Six explicit "Pilot Project Goals" are named: Improved Road Safety, Vibrant/Accessible/Beautiful Streetscape, More Mobility Options, Social and Recreational Benefits, Local Economic Benefits, and Environmental Benefits. Results were mixed but net-positive: pedestrian safety perception rose from 25% to 35% "very safe," cyclist safety perception rose from 35% to 76% "safe or very safe," CaféTO patio accommodation rose 53%, but "impacts on people driving are slightly negative" with an 11% travel-time increase on one segment and a net loss of 58 parking spaces (oth-2022, 31596805c9b9).
2023, congestion management and winter-maintenance accountability mature into standing programs (oth-2023, c0b1269e0e71; oth-2023-2, 1e2cbff6c2d1): The Congestion Management Plan 2023-2026 (October 11, 2023 report to Infrastructure and Environment Committee, General Manager Barbara Gray) reframes a plan dating to 2013 around four new target objectives: leveraging technology for construction coordination, a dedicated traffic-event-management team, increased surface-transit support, and Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS)/AI/IoT investigation. It cites "over 40,000 permits issued to use Toronto's Rights of Way" annually and $39.336 million in Council-approved capital funding for Smart Signals (oth-2023, c0b1269e0e71). Separately, the Auditor General's winter-maintenance follow-up (June 30, 2023) reports "Nearly $1.5B in winter maintenance contracts (over a 10-year term)" awarded December 2021, and finds continuing gaps in GPS-based contractor monitoring — "367 sensor installations outstanding," "$17.4M in liquidated damages communicated to contractors" — with four new recommendations issued (oth-2023-2, 1e2cbff6c2d1).
2024, Vision Zero reframed around a Safe System Approach with a record budget (sr-2024, e91857af25cb): The November 14, 2024 "Updates on Vision Zero Road Safety Plan" report (General Manager Barbara Gray) describes the Plan — adopted 2016, updated to "Vision Zero 2.0" in 2019 — as organized around a "Safe System Approach" (safe land use planning, safe speeds, safe road design, safe vehicles, safe road users, post-crash care), explicitly shifting "responsibility to the system rather than only the road user." The report proposes 20 new/extended Community Safety Zones, revised Pedestrian Crossover stopping-prohibition distances (15m approach / 10m beyond, aligning with 2016 OTM Book 15 guidance), and expansion of Automated Speed Enforcement (ASE) from 75 to 150 cameras starting Q1 2025. The 2025 proposed budget of $99.1 million ($31.7M capital, $67.4M operating) is described as "the largest annual budget for the Plan since inception" (sr-2024, e91857af25cb).
2025, results reported and the ASE program legislated out of existence (sr-2025, efc0a8479ec6): Toronto's Vision Zero Road Safety Plan Annual Report 2025 (General Manager Ashley Curtis) reports a "50% reduction in 2025 in the number of individuals killed on the City's roads over the 2016 number" (39 killed in 2025 vs. the 2016 baseline) and an estimated 24% reduction in serious injury collisions since 2016. Toronto's 2020-2024 average traffic fatality rate (1.69 per 100,000) is favourably benchmarked against Portland, Chicago, and other North American cities, though behind Stockholm, Inner London, and other European comparators. The report discloses a significant reversal: "As of November 14, 2025, ASE penalty orders will no longer be issued in accordance with recent provincial legislation. Consequently, the ASE program will not continue in 2026" — ending, within one budget cycle, the camera-expansion program described as a centrepiece of sr-2024 (sr-2025, efc0a8479ec6).
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Added — ActiveTO / pandemic-era active-transportation infrastructure: emergency response first documented in oth-2021 (855879e8d73b, weekend road closures) and oth-2022 (31596805c9b9, the Yonge Street pilot), explicitly tied to COVID-19 recovery ("Pandemic Mobility Recovery Strategy"). Not present as a framework in any later document in this archived series — its evaluation outputs sit at the start of the series rather than being revisited.
- Added — dedicated Traffic Event Management Planning (TEMP) unit: created July 2023 "using existing staff resources," first appearing in oth-2023 (c0b1269e0e71), tasked with managing traffic for major one-time events (Taylor Swift concerts 2024, FIFA 2026 cited by name).
- Added — Intelligent Transportation Systems / AI / IoT investigation stream: first named as a target objective in oth-2023 (c0b1269e0e71) via Smart Signals (59 intersections deployed, 30 more planned) and a 5G IoT pilot with Telus, Rogers, and Bell Mobility.
- Renamed/expanded — Vision Zero "Road Safety Plan" (2016) → "Vision Zero 2.0" (2019 update, referenced retrospectively in sr-2024, e91857af25cb) → explicit "Safe System Approach" framing (sr-2024, e91857af25cb; sr-2025, efc0a8479ec6): the safe-system, shared-responsibility framing is present by name in both 2024 and 2025 documents but is described in sr-2024 as originating with the 2019 update.
- Added — equity-informed prioritization as an explicit Vision Zero criterion: present in both sr-2024 (e91857af25cb) and sr-2025 (efc0a8479ec6), naming disparities in roadway fatalities/injuries across communities and moving "past the default approach of using geographic equality."
- Added, then dropped within one cycle — Automated Speed Enforcement (ASE) camera expansion: sr-2024 (e91857af25cb) announces expansion from 75 to 150 cameras starting Q1 2025; sr-2025 (efc0a8479ec6) confirms 150 units operated in 2025 but reports the program ends entirely as of November 14, 2025 "in accordance with recent provincial legislation" — a provincially-driven reversal, not a City policy choice, per the archived text.
- Added — Senior Safety Zone program (2017-18) folded into broader, data-driven Community Safety Zone criteria: sr-2024 (e91857af25cb) describes the original 62 Senior Safety Zones (designated 2017-2018) as superseded by a 2023 Council-adopted CSZ framework applying city-wide rather than to marked zones alone.
- Added — Level 2 Pedestrian Crossovers and Intersection Pedestrian Signals (IPS) as new pedestrian-crossing-protection device types: sr-2024 (e91857af25cb) describes these as "currently in the process of updating policies" (in development); sr-2025 (efc0a8479ec6) confirms both were formally adopted by City Council in June 2025 via the "Pedestrian Crossing Protection Device Justification Policy."
- Quietly dropped — winter-maintenance contractor-accountability language as a headline framing: prominent as a distinct Auditor General accountability thread in oth-2021-2 (dd59f362b371) and oth-2023-2 (1e2cbff6c2d1), absent from either 2024 or 2025 Transportation Services self-reports in this archived set — the archive does not show whether this thread continued in internal Division reporting outside the Auditor General channel.
- General Manager transition: Barbara Gray is the named General Manager and report signatory in oth-2023 (c0b1269e0e71) and sr-2024 (e91857af25cb, dated November 2024); Ashley Curtis is the named General Manager and report signatory in sr-2025 (efc0a8479ec6). ⚠️ still being checked exact date of transition — not stated in any archived document.
Budget & mandate inflection points
- 2013 / Nov 2015 — original Congestion Management Plan adopted by City Council (2013), updated November 2015 to cover 2016-2020 (oth-2023, c0b1269e0e71).
- 2016 — Vision Zero Road Safety Plan adopted; Toronto records "the highest number of traffic fatalities since 2002" that year (sr-2024, e91857af25cb; sr-2025, efc0a8479ec6).
- May-October 2020 — ActiveTO weekend major road closures implemented as pandemic response (oth-2021, 855879e8d73b).
- 2019 — Vision Zero 2.0 Road Safety Plan Update approved by City Council, per decision history in sr-2024 (e91857af25cb).
- November 2020 Interim Action Plan / December 2021 — nearly $1.5 billion in new winter-maintenance contracts (10-year term) awarded (oth-2023-2, 1e2cbff6c2d1).
- June 2021 — installation of the ActiveTO Midtown Complete Street Pilot on Yonge Street begins (oth-2022, 31596805c9b9).
- Fall 2023 — updated Traffic Calming Policy approved by City Council, removing the polling requirement and increasing the share of qualifying requests (sr-2024, e91857af25cb; sr-2025, efc0a8479ec6).
- July 2023 — Traffic Event Management Planning (TEMP) unit created (oth-2023, c0b1269e0e71).
- November 2023 — Council directs amendment of the "Collision Hazard" traffic-control warrant to a single-KSI-collision threshold (sr-2024, e91857af25cb).
- 2024 — 2024 Vision Zero Road Safety Plan budget reaches $79.8 million ($28.3M capital, $51.5M operating), described as "the largest budget for any one year" to that point (sr-2024, e91857af25cb).
- Q1 2025 — ASE camera network expansion from 75 to 150 units begins (sr-2024, e91857af25cb), completed and confirmed operating in sr-2025 (efc0a8479ec6).
- 2025 proposed Vision Zero budget: $99.1 million ($31.7M capital, $67.4M operating) — described in sr-2024 as the largest to date (e91857af25cb); estimated 2025-2029 capital need for the Plan cited at approximately $157.1 million gross (sr-2024, e91857af25cb).
- June 2025 — Pedestrian Crossing Protection Device Justification Policy and Traffic Control Signal Justification Policy adopted by City Council (sr-2025, efc0a8479ec6).
- November 14, 2025 — ASE penalty orders cease under provincial legislation; ASE program will not continue in 2026 (sr-2025, efc0a8479ec6).
- 2026 (per backgrounder, outside the archived-document series but corroborating budget trajectory) — approved operating budget $516.0 million gross / $304.2 million net; 2026-2035 capital plan $6,617.5 million gross (backgrounder,
tor-transportation-services.md).
Ontario/Toronto relevance
Every document in this registry is native Toronto/Ontario content — Transportation Services is itself a City of Toronto division, so unlike a federal-org brief there is no separate "footprint" question. All 7 archived documents concern Toronto streets, corridors, and Council-level decisions by name: Lake Shore Boulevard West/East, Bayview Avenue, and Yonge Street (ActiveTO closures, oth-2021, 855879e8d73b); Yonge Street between Bloor and Davisville (Midtown Complete Street Pilot, oth-2022, 31596805c9b9); the 501 Queen and 504 King streetcar corridors, Line 3 Scarborough bus replacement, and Ontario Line construction-related traffic management (oth-2023, c0b1269e0e71); and city-wide Vision Zero infrastructure spanning all 25 wards, with named locations including Hillside Avenue, Eglinton Avenue West, Harbord Street, Port Union Road, Steeles Avenue East, and the new Pedestrian and Cyclist Collision Reporting Centre at 350 Dovercourt Road (sr-2024, e91857af25cb; sr-2025, efc0a8479ec6). Cross-agency Toronto partnerships recur throughout: the Toronto Transit Commission (TTC) is named as a direct operational partner in signal-timing coordination (oth-2023, c0b1269e0e71), mid-block bus-stop safety review (sr-2024, e91857af25cb; sr-2025, efc0a8479ec6), and the "Raccoon's Teeth" streetcar-stop pavement-marking pilot (sr-2025, efc0a8479ec6); Metrolinx GO and Toronto Police Services appear as named coordination partners for traffic agents and enforcement (oth-2023, c0b1269e0e71; sr-2024, e91857af25cb); the Toronto District School Board and Toronto Catholic District School Board co-administer the Active and Safe Routes to School program with Transportation Services co-funding (sr-2025, efc0a8479ec6).
Residuals & gaps
- True extraction/usable rate: 7 of 7 registered documents (100%) yielded real, substantive, directly-read content. No document in this set is a stub, redirect interstitial, or landing-page/TOC-only capture.
- our stub-content detector check: detector held. The
_index.jsonmarks all 7 documentsstatus: "ok"and nonestub-suspected. Direct reading confirms this is correct in both directions: no document flagged "ok" was actually a stub (the two shortest files, oth-2021-2 at 3,048 chars and oth-2023-2 at 6,017 chars, are genuine Auditor General report-summary pages with real findings and figures, not redirect/TOC shells — the "By the Numbers" and "What We Found" sections in each are substantive), and no document was wrongly excluded from the archive as a suspected stub. No disagreement with the detector found for this org. - Series composition is narrow and self-selected: the registry contains only "other" (5) and "subject-report" (2) document types for this org — no annual reports, budget submissions, or strategic-plan documents proper are archived here, despite the backgrounder citing the 2026 City of Toronto Budget Summary and a "Vision Zero Road Safety Plan" landing page as primary sources outside this archived set. The priority-evolution narrative above is therefore built entirely from ActiveTO pandemic-response evaluations, Auditor General reviews, and Vision Zero subject reports — a real but partial slice of the Division's full planning and reporting output.
- Coverage gap 2017-2020 and 2026-present: no archived document in this set predates the January 2021 ActiveTO evaluation or postdates the 2025 Vision Zero Annual Report (published April 2026 per its URL date-stamp). The Division's founding-era Vision Zero baseline (2016-2017) and Vision Zero 2.0 launch (2019) are known only through retrospective mentions inside sr-2024 and sr-2025, not through primary-source documents from those years.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: exact date of the General Manager transition from Barbara Gray (named through sr-2024, November 2024) to Ashley Curtis (named in sr-2025 and the backgrounder) — not stated in any archived document.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: whether the Automated Speed Enforcement program (ended November 14, 2025 per sr-2025) has been or will be replaced by an alternative enforcement mechanism — sr-2025 states only that "the ASE program will not continue in 2026," with no successor program named in this archived series.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: outcome of the Toronto Police Services MOU discussion (raised in oth-2023, c0b1269e0e71) to deploy police officers at critical congestion locations as an interim Traffic Agent Program measure — no later document in this set confirms whether the MOU was finalized.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: current status of the "Traffic Precinct"/EWMS (Enterprise Work Management System) integration challenges flagged in oth-2023-2 (1e2cbff6c2d1) — no later document in this archived set follows up on whether the four new Auditor General recommendations from that report were implemented.