York Regional Police
police service for York Region municipalities
Completeness
- Document shelf: 10 rows (10 archived · 0 staged · 0 pending · 0 missing)
- Backgrounder: on file
- Strategy-evolution brief: on file
- Custody audit: 10 of 10 row(s) audited, 5 flagged
- Last verified: 2026-08-04 · this org has NOT had a full discovery-verification pass (our discovery-verification log)
Endpoints
- Website
- Open data: checked — none found
- API: checked — none found
- RSS: checked — none found
- Newsroom: checked — none found
- FOI / access requests
Document shelf (10 rows)
| Year | Type | Title | Archive status | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | Subject report | 2025 Annual Statistics Report | archived | |
| 2023 | Financial statements | The Regional Municipality of York -- 2023 Consolidated Financial Statements | archived | ⚠️ Still being checked: embedded-in-parent (Region of York 2023 Consolidated Financial Statements.) |
| 2021 | Annual report | 2021 Annual Report | archived | |
| 2020 | Annual report | 2020 Annual Report | archived | |
| 2019 | Annual report | 2019 Annual Report | archived | |
| 2019 | Business / corporate plan | 2017-2019 Business Plan | archived | |
| 2018 | Annual report | York Regional Police 2018 Annual Report | archived | |
| 2016 | Business / corporate plan | Business Plan 2014-2016 | archived | |
| 2014 | Annual report | York Regional Police Annual Report 2014 | archived | |
| 2013 | Annual report | York Regional Police 2013 Annual Report | archived |
Backgrounder
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
York Regional Police - backgrounder
Backgrounder / 2026-07-30 / registry row: york-york-regional-police (this library's government-document registry) / lens file for this org's series briefs
Mandate & statutory basis
York Regional Police (YRP) is a municipal police service maintained under the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019, S.O. 2019, c. 1, Sched. 1 (CSPA) (fetch-verified https://www.ontario.ca/laws/statute/19c01), which the York Regional Police Service Board's own site confirms "came into effect on April 1, 2024," replacing the Police Services Act (https://www.yrpsb.ca/). Beyond the CSPA baseline, YRP also operates under a self-published, non-statutory Business Plan (https://annualreport.yrp.ca/).
Roles, responsibilities & scope
YRP serves more than 1.2 million residents of York Region — one of Canada's fastest-growing and most diverse regions — with roughly 2,652 members as of 2025 (registry row, registry id: york-york-regional-police; 2025 Annual Report, https://annualreport.yrp.ca/). Service is organized into five police districts plus specialized units including Canine, Marine, Traffic and Emergency Response (https://www.yrp.ca/explore/police-districts; https://www.yrp.ca/explore/who-we-are/our-story).
Governance & reporting line
YRP reports to the York Regional Police Services Board (registry parent_org: york-york-regional-police-services-board), a civilian governing body that sets priorities, approves budgets, hires and oversees the Chief of Police, and monitors performance; the Chief in turn is accountable to the Board (https://www.yrp.ca/explore/governance-transparency; https://www.yrpsb.ca/). The Board notes it is working toward full compliance with new CSPA regulatory requirements for police service boards under CSPA ss.43-44 (https://www.yrpsb.ca/).
Budget scale
$499M net 2026 Operating Budget (a 12.7% increase over 2025), plus a $38.3M 2026 Capital Budget, approved by York Regional Council (Police Budget page, https://www.yrpsb.ca/police-budget).
Institutional history
YRP was formed January 1, 1971 through the amalgamation of 14 municipal police departments and the York County Security Police, at the time serving roughly 169,000 residents with about 200 members (https://www.yrp.ca/explore/who-we-are/our-story).
Strategy evolution brief
Source: this library's internal records — a mechanical research draft, not independently reviewed for publication; reproduced as-is.
York Regional Police - strategy evolution
2026-08-01 / registry: york-york-regional-police / grounded in archived copies (cited document id + sha256) / read through our research file for that body
TL;DR: The biggest priority added across this 2013-2021 archived series is formal anti-racism/equity governance — an Inclusion Strategy launched in 2020 followed by a Board Anti-Black Racism and Building Trust Committee and a 51-recommendation Black Community Consultative Roundtable in 2021. The biggest quietly-dropped item is the "Deeds Speak" motto, present in every report from 2013 through 2019 and then absent from the 2020 and 2021 reports with no stated reason. The most load-bearing number is the 2021 Cost of Policing table, where budget and actual both landed at $360.65M — a useful anchor since the series then goes dark on budget data for 2022-2025. One open question the record cannot resolve: how the organization's own reporting characterized the April 2024 shift from the Police Services Act to the Community Safety and Policing Act, since no annual report in the archive covers 2022-2024.
Backgrounder summary
York Regional Police (YRP) is a municipal police service formed January 1, 1971 through amalgamation of 14 municipal police departments and the York County Security Police, now operating under the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019 (CSPA), which the backgrounder reports came into effect April 1, 2024, replacing the Police Services Act (PSA). YRP serves more than 1.2 million residents of York Region with roughly 2,652 members (2025), reports to the civilian York Regional Police Services Board, and operates on a $499M net 2026 operating budget (a 12.7% increase over 2025) plus a $38.3M 2026 capital budget. None of these 2024-2026 facts are evidenced inside the archived series itself, which runs 2013-2021 for narrative annual reports/business plans plus a 2025 statistics-only report (see Residuals & gaps).
Series inventory
All 9 archived documents were read in full. None failed extraction; all contain genuine, substantive text (no stubs found in this series), though one document (sr-2025) is real content of the wrong type for institutional-strategy purposes — see Residuals & gaps.
| document id | year | type | archive ref sha256-12 | content read? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| york-york-regional-police-ar-2013 | 2013 | annual-report | c225fb435298 | yes |
| york-york-regional-police-ar-2014 | 2014 | annual-report | a9e1e66403aa | yes |
| york-york-regional-police-bp-2016 | 2016 | business-plan | b7b0248827d6 | yes |
| york-york-regional-police-ar-2018 | 2018 | annual-report | 754355317ea3 | yes |
| york-york-regional-police-ar-2019 | 2019 | annual-report | f70b478fb94e | yes |
| york-york-regional-police-bp-2019 | 2019 | business-plan | e378c780067e | yes |
| york-york-regional-police-ar-2020 | 2020 | annual-report | 189b5395ac17 | yes |
| york-york-regional-police-ar-2021 | 2021 | annual-report | 905024e4c0cf | yes |
| york-york-regional-police-sr-2025 | 2025 | subject-report | f40b6f9323da | yes |
Note on the two business-plan documents: bp-2016 is titled "Business Plan 2014-2016" and its own budget forecast table starts at 2014, indicating it was published near the start of that plan period (registry tags it "2016," evidently the plan's end-year, not its publication year). bp-2019 is titled "2017-2019 Business Plan" and cites the "2016 Community Survey" as its evidence base, indicating publication near the start of the 2017-2019 period (registry tags it "2019," again the plan's end-year). The Priority evolution section below sequences both plans by evident content/publication timing rather than by the registry year tag.
Priority evolution
2013 (ar-2013, c225fb435298): Vision "to make a difference in our community"; mission to ensure citizens "feel safe and secure through excellence in policing"; seven named shared values (Our People, Community, Integrity, Leadership, Accountability, Competence, Teamwork). Board approved a 2013 budget of $278 million, with cost of policing per capita ($267) described as "one of the lowest among populations of more than one million residents." The 2011-2013 Business Plan is reported as substantially accomplished across four "cornerstones": Community Focus, Operational Excellence, Preferred Place of Employment, Superior Quality Service — including the launch of a region-wide Business Watch program and a Traffic Management Strategy.
2014 (ar-2014, a9e1e66403aa): Board approved a 2015 budget of $287 million (cost per capita $269); 2014 itself closed with a Net Position (budget) of $282.75M against actual $277.04M. First year of the 2014-2016 Business Plan, with "key goals" named as supporting healthy communities and providing "inclusive and equitable police services." Chief Eric Jolliffe's contract renewed to 2018. A Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services audit of the Board and service found compliance with legislative/regulatory requirements and issued no recommendations. Membership: 1,529 sworn + 605 civilian serving roughly 1.1 million residents.
2014-2016 Business Plan (bp-2016, b7b0248827d6): Confirms YRP's founding via the January 1, 1971 amalgamation of "14 municipal police services and the York County Security Police." States this is the organization's "sixth Business Plan since adopting our long-term Strategic Plan in 1998" — establishing that the four-cornerstone framework (Community Focus / Operational Excellence / Preferred Place of Employment / Superior Quality Service) traces back at least to 1998 and had already been used across five prior plan cycles by 2014. The Business Plan's legal basis is stated as s.30(1) of Ontario Regulation 3/99 (Adequacy and Effectiveness of Police Services) made under the Police Services Act, with priorities set after Chief consultation per s.31(b). Budget forecast: operating $278.1M (2014) rising to $302.1M (2016); capital falling from $29.4M (2014) to $18.7M (2016); sworn/civilian headcount rising from 1,529/605 to a forecast 1,595/631. Community-survey top five policing priorities: crimes against property, violent crimes, guns and gangs, drug control/enforcement, traffic safety.
2017-2019 Business Plan (bp-2019, e378c780067e): Same four-cornerstone framework retained, now given the explicit shorthand "COPS cornerstones" tied to "our long-term strategic plan." Board's stated key priorities: enhancing public trust and confidence, working with partners on community-safety issues, delivering "sustainable and effective" services, leveraging technology to maximize resources. Budget forecast: operating $310.9M (2017) to $335.3M (2019 forecast); capital $22.5M to $30.9M; headcount 1,610/635 sworn/civilian rising to a forecast 1,642/647. Community-survey top five priorities shift order slightly: crimes against property, traffic safety/enforcement, violent crime, fraud (newly appearing in the top five), drug control/enforcement.
2018 (ar-2018, 754355317ea3): Board approved a 2019 operating budget of $333.9 million, explicitly including "the addition of 53 additional personnel to address population growth, intensification and the changing laws and needs of the communities." 2018's own Cost of Policing table shows a Net Position budget of $323.51M against actual $315.09M (under budget). The Board made "a further submission to the Standing Committee on Justice Policy urging the Ontario government to pass Bill 175, which details the long-awaited changes to policing and governance in Ontario" — the archived series' only direct legislative-reform touchpoint (see Budget & mandate inflection points; note Bill 175 is a different, earlier bill than the Community Safety and Policing Act named in the backgrounder — the documents do not establish a direct lineage between the two, ⚠️ still being checked). 2018 named key Business Plan priorities: "building trust in communities, enhancing youth and community engagement, modernizing business processes and maximizing police resources." The Code of Professional Ethics section still names the original seven values by name ("our people, community, integrity, leadership, accountability, competence and teamwork"), confirming the original values framework was still current as of this report.
2019 (ar-2019, f70b478fb94e): Chief Jolliffe's final annual report before his 2020 retirement; Deputy Chief Jim MacSween selected as incoming Chief, effective May 2020 — a planned leadership transition. 2019's own Cost of Policing table: Net Position budget $333.876M vs. actual $333.588M (essentially on-budget). States "the Police Services Board approved the addition of a fourth Deputy Chief of Police in 2019," expanding the Executive Command Team from three to four deputies. The 2019 Business Plan Accomplishments (final year of the 2017-2019 plan, still reported under the four-cornerstone headings) include, under Operational Excellence, "launched a new code of ethics and organizational values" — and the report's own "A Values-Based Organization" page shows a new five-value framework (Respect, Compassion, Fairness, Professionalism, Courage), replacing the seven values used since at least 2013. Also notes the organization's shift to a "new digital business plan" format ("2020-2022 digital edition") for future accessibility and dynamic content.
2020 (ar-2020, 189b5395ac17): Chief Jim MacSween began April 2020; his introductory bio states he is "responsible for 2,300 employees, an operating and capital budget of $390 million and the community safety of 1.2 million citizens" (⚠️ Still being checked: this figure is not reconciled elsewhere in the same document, whose own Cost of Policing table shows a materially lower Net Position of budget $347.95M / actual $352.08M — the $390M appears to be a different, broader aggregation not explained in text). New Deputy Chiefs Paulo Da Silva and Cecile Hammond (YRP's first female deputy chief) joined the Executive Command Team, filling out the fourth-deputy-chief expansion approved in 2019. In direct response to "social justice issues" that "took a global stage" in 2020, YRP implemented a multi-year "Inclusion Strategy" incorporating "anti-racism education," and the Board held a "Consultative Roundtable" with Black community leaders. The Business Plan reporting structure changes for the first time in the archived series: the "2020 Business Plan Accomplishments" section abandons the four-cornerstone headings used continuously since at least 2013, replacing them with a two-part "Our Community / Our People" structure (subcategories: Community Engagement, Operational Service Delivery, Collaborative Partnerships, Equity & Inclusion / Professional Development, Member Support, Technology and Innovation, Continuous Improvement) — marking the start of the 2020-2022 Business Plan period.
2021 (ar-2021, 905024e4c0cf): New Board Chair, Mayor Maurizio Bevilacqua. Board held its "first Anti-Black Racism and Building Trust Committee meeting" in July 2021, with a stated mandate to develop "an implementation plan... with concrete recommendations for change" in response to 51 recommendations submitted by a Black Community Consultative Roundtable. A three-year internal transformation project called "Breakthrough" — not named or dated at its start anywhere in the archived series — "came to a formal end in 2021," having produced: a new Professionalism, Leadership and Inclusion Office (PLIO) reporting directly to the Chief; renaming of "Staff Services" to "People, Wellness and Talent" (PWT); a restructured Organized Crime and Intelligence Services Bureau split into a new Financial and Organized Property Crimes Bureau and a new Serious and Organized Crimes Bureau; and the Business Intelligence and Data Analytics Bureau elevated to report directly to the Deputy Chief of Administration. The report explicitly ties the modernized five-value framework and Code of Ethics (introduced in 2019, see above) to "the organization's two pillars—our people and our community," matching the new Business Plan reporting structure introduced in ar-2020. A new Wellness Centre opened (described as "the first of its kind in Canada"), consolidating Wellness Bureau services. 2021 Cost of Policing: Net Position budget $360.65M, actual $360.65M (balanced). The "Deeds Speak" motto, present in every prior archived report and business plan (2013 through 2019), does not appear in this report or in ar-2020.
2025 (sr-2025, f40b6f9323da): A standalone "2025 Annual Statistics Report" — a UCR-methodology crime-statistics compendium (violent crime, property crime, drug crime, traffic, youth crime, hate crime, etc.) with no chair/chief message, no budget table, no business-plan section, and no institutional-strategy narrative of any kind. Its one strategy-adjacent element is Appendix B, "Projects and Initiatives," described as drawn from "the 2025 Board Report" (a document not itself part of this archived series) — but its contents (named operational projects/investigations) fall outside this brief's institutional-strategy scope and are not reported here. This document leaves a four-year narrative gap between ar-2021 and 2025 entirely unaddressed for institutional strategy (see Residuals & gaps).
Priorities added, dropped, renamed
- Renamed — organizational values: the original seven values (Our People, Community, Integrity, Leadership, Accountability, Competence, Teamwork), present in ar-2013 (c225fb435298) and bp-2016 (b7b0248827d6) and still named in ar-2018's Code of Professional Ethics (754355317ea3), were replaced by a new five-value framework (Respect, Compassion, Fairness, Professionalism, Courage) that first appears in ar-2019 (f70b478fb94e), logged there as "launched a new code of ethics and organizational values." Retained through ar-2020 (189b5395ac17) and ar-2021 (905024e4c0cf), where it is explicitly tied to the "Breakthrough" transformation.
- Renamed/restructured — Business Plan reporting framework: the four-cornerstone "Community Focus / Operational Excellence / Preferred Place of Employment / Superior Quality Service" structure, traceable to a 1998 long-term Strategic Plan per bp-2016 (b7b0248827d6) and still the reporting frame in ar-2019 (f70b478fb94e), was replaced starting with the 2020-2022 Business Plan (first reported in ar-2020, 189b5395ac17) by a two-pillar "Our Community / Our People" structure, retained in ar-2021 (905024e4c0cf) and explicitly described there as reflecting the organization's "two pillars."
- Added — fourth Deputy Chief / expanded Executive Command Team: approved by the Police Services Board in 2019 per ar-2019 (f70b478fb94e); the two new deputy roles were filled in 2020 (Da Silva, Hammond) per ar-2020 (189b5395ac17), expanding the Executive Command Team from three to four deputy chiefs.
- Added — formal anti-racism/equity governance structures: an "Inclusion Strategy" (ar-2020, 189b5395ac17) launched in explicit response to 2020's "social justice issues," followed in 2021 by the Board's Anti-Black Racism and Building Trust Committee, an internal Anti-Black Racism Working Group, a separate Anti-Racism Working Group, and a Black Community Consultative Roundtable that submitted 51 recommendations to the Board (ar-2021, 905024e4c0cf). No report before 2020 names anti-racism as a standalone structural priority at this level of formality, though diversity/inclusion themes and a Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Bureau are present informally from 2013 onward.
- Added — institutionalized member wellness: integrated mental-health/addictions language appears as an objective element in bp-2016's community-focus objectives (b7b0248827d6, 2014-2016 plan); a named "Mental Health Strategy" is under continued implementation by ar-2018 (754355317ea3); by ar-2021 (905024e4c0cf) this has grown into a dedicated Wellness Centre ("first of its kind in Canada") and a restructured "People, Wellness and Talent" service area replacing "Staff Services."
- Added — digital-evidence/business-intelligence modernization: business intelligence dashboards first named in ar-2018 (754355317ea3); a Digital Evidence Management System vendor selected in ar-2019 (f70b478fb94e); Axon Citizen and Axon Fleet2 in-car camera systems rolled out in ar-2020/ar-2021 (189b5395ac17; 905024e4c0cf); the Business Intelligence and Data Analytics Bureau elevated to report directly to the Deputy Chief of Administration in ar-2021.
- Dropped — "Deeds Speak" motto: present as a recurring sign-off/branding element in ar-2013, ar-2014, ar-2018, ar-2019 and bp-2019 (c225fb435298; a9e1e66403aa; 754355317ea3; f70b478fb94e; e378c780067e); absent from ar-2020 and ar-2021. No report states a reason; the disappearance coincides with Chief Jolliffe's April 2020 retirement and the "Breakthrough" values/ethics rebrand. ⚠️ still being checked whether it was formally retired or simply not featured in these two report designs.
Budget & mandate inflection points
- January 1, 1971 — YRP formed by amalgamation of 14 municipal police services and the York County Security Police (bp-2016, b7b0248827d6).
- 1998 — long-term Strategic Plan adopted, establishing the four-cornerstone Business Plan framework used through at least 2019 (bp-2016, b7b0248827d6).
- 2013 — $278M operating budget approved; cost per capita $267 (ar-2013, c225fb435298).
- 2014 — Net Position: budget $282.75M / actual $277.04M (ar-2014, a9e1e66403aa).
- 2018 — Board advocacy for Bill 175 passage (provincial policing/governance reform); 2018 Net Position: budget $323.51M / actual $315.09M (ar-2018, 754355317ea3).
- 2019 — 2019 operating budget of $333.9M approved (including 53 new personnel for growth/intensification/legal change); a fourth Deputy Chief position approved; 2019 Net Position: budget $333.876M / actual $333.588M (ar-2018, 754355317ea3; ar-2019, f70b478fb94e).
- 2020 — Chief transition (Jolliffe to MacSween, April 2020); 2020 Net Position: budget $347.95M / actual $352.08M, with a separately cited (unreconciled) "$390 million" operating-and-capital figure in the Chief's bio (ar-2020, 189b5395ac17).
- 2021 — 2021 Net Position: budget and actual both $360.65M (ar-2021, 905024e4c0cf).
- 2022-2025 — no budget or mandate data evidenced anywhere in this archived series; sr-2025 (f40b6f9323da) is statistics-only and contains no budget table.
- April 1, 2024 (per backgrounder, not evidenced in this archived series) — Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019 comes into force, replacing the Police Services Act that governed every document in this archived series.
- 2026 (per backgrounder, not evidenced in this archived series) — $499M net operating budget (+12.7% over 2025) and $38.3M capital budget approved by York Regional Council — roughly 38% above the last archived actual (2021's $360.65M), across a gap the archived series cannot itself explain.
Ontario/Toronto relevance
York Region is directly adjacent to Toronto and part of the Greater Toronto Area; the archived series documents this primarily through demographic and inter-agency-coordination framing rather than case-level detail. bp-2016 (b7b0248827d6) states York Region "currently accounts for more than 17 per cent of the Greater Toronto Area's total population" and was expected to grow 41% to 1.6 million residents by 2031. bp-2019 (e378c780067e) states York Region accounted for "26 per cent of total population growth in the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area" in 2014 and forecasts growth to 1.7 million residents and 900,000 new jobs by 2041. On inter-agency coordination, ar-2020 (189b5395ac17) reports YRP "formalized a GTA Commanders network to co-ordinate work and promote information sharing between jurisdictions" — an institutional/organizational-strategy fact distinct from any single operation. sr-2025 (f40b6f9323da) notes that the CCJCSS's published (comparison) crime statistics, unlike YRP's own reporting methodology, separately "include the number of offences reported by the Toronto North Detachment of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police," a methodological cross-reference rather than evidence of YRP operating inside Toronto proper. The archived series does not establish any YRP facility, office, or jurisdictional presence within the City of Toronto itself; Toronto/GTA relevance here is about shared regional growth pressure, demographic overlap, and formal inter-agency coordination structures, not a documented physical footprint in Toronto.
Residuals & gaps
- No extraction failures in this series — all 9 archived documents yielded substantial, genuine text; no stub content or zero-byte extractions were found. This is a cleaner technical outcome than typical for this project's series, but see the coverage gaps below, which are registry/archival gaps rather than extraction failures.
- Large narrative coverage gaps in the registry itself (not extraction failures): no annual reports are archived for 2015, 2016, 2017, 2022, 2023 or 2024 — the two archived business plans (bp-2016, bp-2019) partially substitute for the mid-2010s gap, but nothing substitutes for 2022-2024, which is the exact window in which (per the backgrounder) the Community Safety and Policing Act came into force (April 1, 2024). The archived series cannot speak to how YRP's own reporting characterized that legal transition, if at all.
- sr-2025 is real content but the wrong document type for this brief's purpose — confirmed by direct reading (128,893 characters of genuine UCR crime-statistics text, disclaimer, table of contents, and appendices), not a stub. But it contains no chair/chief message, no budget table, and no business-plan section, so it cannot bridge the 2022-2025 institutional-strategy gap despite being the only archived document dated after 2021. This is a concrete example of why
_index.jsonstatus="ok" must not be read as "strategically useful" — status and content type were both verified directly rather than assumed. - Sample verification performed beyond the routine full read: in addition to reading all 9 documents in full, budget tables, values pages, and Business Plan Accomplishments sections were independently grep-verified across the full date range (2013, 2014, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021) to confirm the values-framework transition and the four-cornerstone-to-two-pillar reporting change were not extraction artifacts.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: the "$390 million operating and capital budget" figure in Chief MacSween's ar-2020 bio versus the same document's own Cost of Policing table (Net Position budget $347.95M / actual $352.08M) — not reconciled within the document.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: whether the Board's 2018 advocacy for Bill 175 (Safer Ontario Act-era reform) has any direct legislative lineage to the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019 named in the backgrounder — the archived series never mentions the CSPA by name, and the two bills are not shown to be the same instrument within these documents.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: the exact launch year/originating document of the "Breakthrough" transformation — first mentioned only in its 2021 wrap-up (ar-2021) as a completed "three-year" project, with no archived document announcing its start.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: reason for the "Deeds Speak" motto's disappearance after 2019 — not stated in any archived document.
- ⚠️ Still being checked: all 2024-2026 facts in the Backgrounder summary and in the final two Budget & mandate inflection points (CSPA effective date, 2026 budget figures) — these come solely from the backgrounder's own live-web citations, not from any document id in this archived series, and cannot be cross-checked against this series' primary sources.