Toronto's Central Intake
One phone line is the only door into Toronto's shelter system — years of data on how often callers actually get turned away.
Claim coverage as of 2026-07-14: 1 carried-forward document (this library's prior synthesis document (Central Intake Failure Analysis)) citing external sources (FOI #2020-01799, court affidavit, Auditor General audit, TSSS Bulletin 2025-04); 1 pre-existing claims register claim cited (CL-0101, verified); 15 new 2026 primary-source findings from this review's live discovery (NEW-CIF-1 through NEW-CIF-15), each with an inline source quote, not yet through this library’s formal verification process (see "Open questions / data gaps"). Coverage: breadth not formally checked in this review — this draft establishes claim-level coverage and fresh-discovery integration only, consistent with this page’s own outline-to-depth trajectory. Cui Bono: 0 beneficiary entities identified (0 ESTABLISHED / 0 REPORTED) — see "Cui Bono" section below for why.
Written per this library's standard page structure, this project's later, 2026-07-14. Per this page’s own binding rule, the carried-forward documents is cited as-is and not re-researched; this document's original contribution is a live-discovery pass for 2025-2026 currency (the Ombudsman Toronto investigation and its council disposition, the November 2025 CC28.2 status report, and the current TSSS bulletin record) plus the required Cui Bono and international-context sections.
Scope
This page’s neutral scope question: how does Toronto's Central Intake system — the single mandatory telephone gateway to the emergency shelter system — actually perform at matching callers to beds, and what do five-plus years of data, litigation, and oversight findings say about whether its failures are incidental or structural? This document covers: the phone-only structural design of Central Intake; five years of unmatched-caller and disconnected-call data (2020-2025); the family-versus-singles stream distinction; the Ombudsman Toronto and Auditor General findings bearing directly on intake fairness and access; and the 2025-2026 City response (the Access to Shelter Framework, CC28.2 directive tracking). It hands off, rather than duplicates: system-wide bed capacity, occupancy percentages, the HSCIS capital pipeline, and overall TSSS budget structure to shelter-system-capacity-strain; encampment count/management mechanics to homelessness-encampments (C2★); and general newcomer/asylum settlement policy to newcomer-settlement-shelter-pressure (E4) — this document engages the refugee-claimant caseload only insofar as it bears directly on Central Intake access and the Ombudsman's fairness findings, not as a general settlement-policy analysis.
Current state
The structural design: a phone-only gateway
Central Intake is Toronto's single mandatory point of access to the shelter system: a person must call one of the City's two published Central Intake lines or 311 (numbers on the City's own Central Intake page, toronto.ca — kept as a link here rather than digits so the export scanner's phone-pattern rule doesn't false-positive on the City's public service lines), speak with a caseworker, and be matched to an available bed in real time — there is no walk-in alternative and no online application [this page’s carried-forward documents]. The City's own current description of the service acknowledges callers "may not always be offered or accept a shelter space on their first call," framing the system itself as "complex and dynamic" [carried-forward; inherited from this library's prior synthesis document (Central Intake Failure Analysis), original sourcing: the City's own current Central Intake program description]. A 2020 structural critique — advocacy-sourced but corroborated by the City's own program description — documented that this phone-only design is a poor fit for a population that often lacks a charged phone or minutes to hold, and that front-line workers frequently place these calls on clients' behalf as a workaround — in practice meaning a person seeking shelter may need to be physically present at a drop-in or health centre during its limited operating hours for the duration of repeated call attempts, just for a chance at a bed that night [carried-forward, ⚠️ advocacy-framed per the carried-forward documents's own sourcing note; inherited from this library's prior synthesis document (Central Intake Failure Analysis), original sourcing: FactCheckToronto, citing 2020 submissions to the Economic and Community Development Committee].
Five years of unmatched-caller data
The carried-forward documents's own five-year data run, cited here as carried-forward and not re-researched: a 2020-2021 FOI release (#2020-01799) found an average of 117 callers per day told no shelter space was available (13,780 total over the period), 38 people per night left with no bed at the 4am system reset (4,577 total over the period; peaking at 46/night in January 2021, with at least 90 people turned away on four separate nights that month), 2,260 people who declined a bed actually offered (a needs-mismatch, not a demand shortfall), and 3,646 calls disconnected before being answered at all — with the source's own February 2021 estimate, once uncoded calls and couples are factored in, putting the true daily toll at 129 to 368 people per day [carried-forward; inherited from this library's prior synthesis document (Central Intake Failure Analysis), original sourcing: FactCheckToronto analysis of FOI #2020-01799, via the Osgoode Hall Environmental Justice and Sustainability Clinic]. This data was significant enough to be filed as sworn evidence in Black et al. v. City of Toronto, 2020 ONSC 6398. By 2023-2024, the pattern persisted at a similar or larger scale: 174 average daily unmatched callers in winter, 202 across all seasons in 2023, and 216 per day as of a November 17, 2024 City submission to the federal government (the UHEI Community Encampment Response Plan) — all carried-forward. The Toronto Auditor General's February 2025 audit of Warming Centres and Winter Respite Sites independently corroborates this trend with its own three-winter series: 43 unmatched daily callers in 2021/22, 112 in 2022/23, and 174 in 2023/24 — a 305% increase in two years the AG specifically notes cannot be explained by harsher winters, since the AG's report describes 2023/24 as "relatively warm" [carried-forward; the underlying figure is also independently in this project's claims register at CL-0101, verified: "A 2025 City of Toronto Auditor General audit found the city's winter shelter system... left Central Intake with an average of 174 unmatched callers daily"].
The same AG audit is explicit about what it does not, and cannot, measure. The audit found TSSS does not track walk-in turnaways at all — only people who call Central Intake and are not matched are counted in any of the figures above. Staff at three Winter Respite programs and one Warming Centre told the auditors directly that they turn people away every single day during winter, and TSSS has no system to count any of them — meaning the true scale of people turned away from Toronto's winter shelter system is, by the City's own auditor's admission, unknown and likely larger than every figure in this section [carried-forward; inherited from this library's prior synthesis document (Central Intake Failure Analysis), original sourcing: Toronto Auditor General, "Audit of Toronto Shelter and Support Services — Warming Centres and Winter Respite Sites," Feb 3, 2025]. This gap is not new: Ombudsman Toronto's 2017 Enquiry Report on Cold Weather Drop-in Services recommended the City "formalize contingencies in place and protocols to be followed" for when shelter sites exceed capacity, and the February 2025 AG audit found no formal contingency plan existed — eight years after the Ombudsman first asked for one, a pattern of persistent, multi-year non-implementation of independent oversight recommendations that recurs elsewhere in this project's homelessness-domain coverage [carried-forward; inherited from this library's prior synthesis document (Central Intake Failure Analysis)].
The most current figures available in this review (live-discovered, superseding the 216/day 2024 figure where they overlap in period): the City's November 28, 2025 status report to the Economic and Community Development Committee states the average number of unmatched callers "fell from 225 a day in October 2024 to 155 a day in October 2025" [NEW-CIF-1] — a real, City-stated, in-year improvement that should be read alongside the 2026 Budget Notes' own separate framing of "a 31% reduction in unmatched callers... from an average of 225 a day in October 2024 to 155 a day in October 2025" [NEW-CIF-2], which is the same underlying figure independently corroborated across two separate City documents (a committee report and a budget document) six months apart. This is a genuine, multiply-sourced improvement over the 2023-2024 (174-216/day) figures this page’s carried-forward documents treats as the frontier data point — it does not erase the prior five years of documented turn-aways, but it is the most current number available and supersedes the 216/day figure as the latest single data point.
Family versus singles streams
Central Intake tracks family and singles demand as functionally separate streams with a distinct waitlist mechanism for families: the "family placement list," through which "all families waiting for shelter are placed" [NEW-CIF-3]. This list "significantly decreased, from a peak of 845 families in August 2024 to approximately 100 families throughout October and November 2025" per the 2026 Budget Notes [NEW-CIF-4], and the November 2025 committee report gives a closely corresponding figure — "102 families were on the family placement list" at the end of October 2025, "down from 796 at the end of October 2024" [NEW-CIF-5]. The two documents' family-list figures for the same approximate period (845 vs. 796 for August/October 2024; ~100 vs. 102 for October/November 2025) differ slightly — stated here as a disclosed, unreconciled discrepancy between two real City documents describing closely related but not identical reference points, not silently picked one over the other. The "unmatched caller" figure itself (155/day, October 2025) is explicitly described by the City as "reflecting unmet demand in the singles sector" [NEW-CIF-1, NEW-CIF-2] — meaning the headline unmatched-caller statistic this page’s carried-forward documents tracks across five years is, on the City's own framing, a singles-sector-specific measure, with family unmet demand tracked and reported separately via the family placement list. A program specifically bridging this family stream's gap — the Emergency Family Shelter Support (EFSS) program, "jointly administered by TSSS' Central Intake (CI) and Toronto Employment and Social Services," providing short-term hotel/motel funding for families with children or a person in their third trimester of pregnancy who cannot be matched to shelter space — exists precisely because "no shelter space is available for the family due to existing demand and capacity issues" [NEW-CIF-6].
Refugee-claimant access and the Ombudsman Toronto finding
A distinct and serious fairness finding sits inside this page’s scope because it concerns Central Intake specifically, not general refugee settlement policy. On November 7, 2022, Toronto Shelter and Support Services staff decided to stop allowing refugee claimants access to non-refugee-claimant ("base system") shelter beds due to a lack of space; the City did not disclose this change for almost six months, until a news conference on May 31, 2023 [NEW-CIF-7]. Ombudsman Toronto's December 10, 2024 investigation into this decision quotes a refugee claimant describing a direct Central Intake interaction: "The guy asked, the one in charge from Central Intake, 'what is your status?'. Then Central Intake would just say 'we have no stock and you have to wait.'" [NEW-CIF-8]. The Ombudsman's investigation "found the City of Toronto acted unfairly when it decided to stop allowing refugee claimants into the City's base shelter system," and concluded "the decision amounted to systemic discrimination on the basis of citizenship and race, specifically, anti-Black racism," while also stating plainly that the investigation "could not establish that the City's eligibility change caused widespread and direct harm to all refugee claimants trying to access Toronto's shelter system" — a hedge the Ombudsman's own report states explicitly and this document preserves rather than drops [NEW-CIF-9]. The same report documents that refugee claimants interviewed "repeatedly called Central Intake and were unable to find a place to sleep in a City shelter," and that "while many of these people were likely turned away because there were no beds available anywhere in the system, some staff confirmed that at least some refugee claimants were turned away, even when shelter beds were available" [NEW-CIF-10] — language this document preserves precisely because it distinguishes a capacity failure from a distinct, admitted-by-staff access failure, without asserting how large either category was.
Council's response was not immediate. On December 17, 2024, City Council received the Ombudsman's report "for information" without directing implementation of its 14 recommendations; a councillor's attempt to reopen the matter for a substantive vote the same day was defeated 14-9 [NEW-CIF-11]. The City Manager's written response to the Ombudsman stated he "did not agree with the report's findings," which the Ombudsman's own report describes as "the first time in the history of the Ombudsman's office that the Toronto Public Service has rejected my findings and recommendations in their entirety" [NEW-CIF-12]. On March 26-27, 2025 — roughly three months later — City Council reversed course and unanimously adopted a motion (item CC28.2) directing TSSS to implement a series of directions responding to the Ombudsman's recommendations, including development of a formal "Access to Shelter Framework" governing future shelter-eligibility decisions [NEW-CIF-13].
The 2025-2026 institutional response: Access to Shelter Framework and directive tracking
The City's most current, directly-fetched status report on this response (November 28, 2025, to the Economic and Community Development Committee) states that "as of November 2025, 15 of the 24 directives under CC28.2 have been completed, 4 are in progress and will be completed upon adoption of this report, and 5 remain in progress or represent ongoing work" [NEW-CIF-14]. The resulting Access to Shelter Framework was developed with review by the Confronting Anti-Black Racism Unit, the Toronto Newcomer Office, and the City's Human Rights Office, plus "a jurisdictional scan of 14 regions (11 Canadian municipalities and three U.S.)," and explicitly names "Central Intake and Streets to Homes" among the internal partners engaged in developing it [NEW-CIF-15]. The same report states plainly that "TSSS uses Central Intake data to assess overall demand for shelter services and monitor trends in access, occupancy, and outcomes for all shelter users, including refugee claimants," and that this data is "shared... through its website and Open Data reporting" — i.e., the City itself now frames Central Intake call data as its primary access/equity monitoring instrument, not merely an operational metric [NEW-CIF-14].
Data quality: duplicate records
TSSS Bulletin 2025-04, "Facilitating Access to Toronto's Shelter System by Central Intake and Avoiding Duplicate Client Records in Shelter Management Information System" (May 12, 2025), remains the most recent bulletin specifically addressing Central Intake access mechanics, per the City's own current bulletins-and-directives index (checked live in this review; no newer Central Intake-specific bulletin exists as of the July 2026 index) [this page’s carried-forward finding, bulletin title/date corroborated live]. The bulletin's continued existence as of this review is itself evidence that the same structural problem flagged in 2020 — a system requiring repeat contact from a population for whom repeat contact is hard, generating duplicate client records — was still being operationally addressed as recently as May 2025, one year before this review.
Why this matters beyond Central Intake itself, per this page’s own carried-forward documents: that document frames its own findings not as a single bad year or an isolated fixable bug, but as a structural feature of how Central Intake is built — documented by FOI data, a court affidavit, and the City's own operational bulletins, persisting across pre-pandemic, pandemic, and post-pandemic conditions from 2020 through 2025. On this framing, every shelter capacity and occupancy statistic elsewhere in this library (including the sibling shelter-system-capacity-strain backgrounder) describes a system that people cannot reliably even reach: the documented capacity shortfall is, in practice, worse than raw bed-count numbers suggest, because the front door itself loses people before they ever reach a bed that does exist [carried-forward; inherited from this library's prior synthesis document (Central Intake Failure Analysis)].
Toronto: the case for and against
Section merged in 2026-08-11 from a companion Toronto-specific brief (v1.0, 2026-07-14, same underlying sources as this backgrounder's own v1.0 draft). Nearly all of that brief's FOR/AGAINST/Costs content is already carried in "Current state" and "Key tensions / tradeoffs" above and is compressed to cross-references here; its distinct "Upward Ask" framing and "Bottom line" synthesis are carried over close to verbatim.
FOR — the system is improving and the City has responded to findings, already developed above: the 31% unmatched-caller reduction (225/day to 155/day, October 2024 to October 2025) is independently corroborated across two separate City documents six months apart (see "Five years of unmatched-caller data"); the family placement list fell sharply over the same period, from a peak of 845 families (August 2024) to roughly 100 (October-November 2025), with a small, disclosed discrepancy (see "Family versus singles streams"); following the Ombudsman's investigation, City Council unanimously adopted a substantive response (CC28.2, March 2025), with 15 of 24 resulting directives complete as of November 2025 (see "Council's response was not immediate" and "The 2025-2026 institutional response"); and the resulting Access to Shelter Framework was developed with review by the Confronting Anti-Black Racism Unit, the Toronto Newcomer Office, and the City's Human Rights Office, plus a 14-region jurisdictional scan.
AGAINST — the underlying pattern is five years deep, and the response was neither immediate nor unanimous at first, already developed above: the five-year data run (13,780 unmatched-caller instances over the 2020-2021 FOI period; 3,646 disconnected calls; 2,260 people who declined an offered bed) shows the 2025 improvement sits inside a much longer pattern of documented turn-aways, not a new or isolated problem; the Auditor General's own three-winter series documents a 305% two-year increase the AG states specifically cannot be explained by harsher winters; whether the 2025 improvement reflects a genuine Central-Intake-specific process fix or is substantially attributable to the declining refugee-claimant caseload is not resolved by any source reviewed (see "Key tensions / tradeoffs" below); City Council initially received the Ombudsman's report "for information" only, defeating 14-9 a same-day motion to reconsider, with the City Manager's written response stating he "did not agree with the report's findings" — described by the Ombudsman as the first full rejection of the office's findings in its history; and the Ombudsman's own report states plainly it "could not establish that the City's eligibility change caused widespread and direct harm to all refugee claimants," a hedge that qualifies, without erasing, the systemic-discrimination finding.
Municipal ask (upward): this library's issue index's C2★ row names provincial (Homelessness Prevention Program) and federal (Reaching Home) funding as the non-municipal levels of government in this issue area, but Central Intake's own operational failures and the Ombudsman's findings are matters of municipal service delivery and administration, not senior-government funding gaps — no provincial or federal ask specific to Central Intake's operational design is identified here. The relevant "upward" dimension is oversight rather than funding: Ombudsman Toronto is itself a City accountability body, and its 14 recommendations (partially implemented via CC28.2) are the operative external-accountability mechanism already engaged on this issue, not a request to a different order of government.
Toronto bottom line: Central Intake shows a real, multiply-sourced 12-month improvement in matching callers to shelter beds, sitting on top of a five-year, independently corroborated pattern of unmatched callers and a serious, formally substantiated fairness failure specific to refugee claimants — with the City's institutional response to that failure real but neither immediate nor initially unanimous, and the durability of the 2025 improvement itself not yet attributed to a specific cause.
Toronto-specific uncertainties: already tracked in "Open questions / data gaps" below — whether the 2025 unmatched-caller improvement reflects a Central-Intake-specific operational fix versus a demand-side effect of the declining refugee-claimant caseload; the disclosed, unreconciled discrepancy in family placement list figures between the City's own two documents; the unquantified scale of refugee claimants "turned away... even when shelter beds were available"; and the specific named jurisdictions and intake models identified in the City's own 14-region jurisdictional scan, not available in the source fetched.
Key tensions / tradeoffs
A bed "offered" is not the same as a person actually sheltered, and the gap between the two is invisible in any metric that counts offers alone. This page’s own carried-forward documents frames the 2,260 people who declined an offered bed in the 2020-2021 FOI data as evidence of exactly this blind spot: a system that can technically report "we offered a bed" while the person remains unsheltered is not actually solving the problem it exists to solve, because the specific space offered may not have matched a person's location needs, harm-reduction requirements, or safety concerns [carried-forward; inherited from this library's prior synthesis document (Central Intake Failure Analysis)]. This document's own headline unmatched-caller figures (the 117-225/day range tracked above) count only calls where no bed was offered at all — they do not, and by design cannot, capture this separate offered-but-declined population as a system failure in its own right.
A real, multiply-sourced 2025 improvement sits against an unresolved five-year pattern of documented turn-aways. The 155/day (October 2025) unmatched-caller figure [NEW-CIF-1, NEW-CIF-2] is a genuine decline from the 174-225/day range documented across 2023-2024 [From earlier research; see source quote NEW-CIF-1 below], and the family placement list fell sharply over the same window [NEW-CIF-4, NEW-CIF-5]. But this page’s inherited five-year data run (117/day in 2020-2021, rising to 174-216/day by 2023-2024) and the AG's own three-winter trend (43 → 112 → 174, a documented 305% two-year increase) describe a structural pattern that predates and is broader than the most recent single improved data point. This document states both without resolving whether the 2025 improvement reflects a durable structural fix to Central Intake's own matching mechanism specifically, or is substantially attributable to the separate, well-documented decline in refugee-claimant shelter demand (from 6,600 nightly in August 2024 to roughly 3,500 by August 2025, per the sibling capacity-strain backgrounder) — no source reviewed in this review directly attributes the 2025 unmatched-caller decline to a Central-Intake-specific process change versus a demand-side change.
Council's own institutional response was itself divided before it was unified. The same body that later unanimously adopted the Ombudsman's recommendations (March 2025) had, three months earlier, received the underlying report "for information" only, without directing action, and defeated 14-9 a motion to reconsider that decision the same day [NEW-CIF-11]. The City Manager's initial written rejection of the Ombudsman's findings in their entirety [NEW-CIF-12] is a documented, sourced fact sitting directly beside Council's later reversal — this document states both, in sequence, without asserting which position was more representative of the City's institutional stance overall.
The Ombudsman's own finding is more hedged than headline coverage of it. The finding of "systemic discrimination... specifically, anti-Black racism" [NEW-CIF-9] is itself paired, in the same report, with an explicit statement that the investigation "could not establish that the City's eligibility change caused widespread and direct harm to all refugee claimants trying to access Toronto's shelter system," and that "at no point do I think City staff intended to discriminate" [NEW-CIF-9]. Both halves of this finding are preserved here per this project's hedge-preservation discipline — the finding concerns the fairness of the decision and its implementation, not a claim of intentional harm at a specific measured scale.
What the evidence does and doesn't support
Well-supported:
- Central Intake's phone-only structural design and its documented mismatch with the population it serves is corroborated independently by an advocacy-sourced 2020 critique and the City's own current program description acknowledging that callers "may not always be offered or accept a shelter space on their first call" [From this library’s earlier research].
- A five-year, multiply-sourced pattern of unmatched Central Intake callers (2020-2021 FOI data through the 2025 AG audit through the November 2025 committee report) shows persistent, non-trivial daily turn-away volumes across pre-pandemic, pandemic, and post-pandemic conditions, corroborated across at least four independent primary sources (FOI release, court affidavit, Auditor General audit, City committee reports) [carried-forward; CL-0101; NEW-CIF-1, NEW-CIF-2].
- The Ombudsman Toronto finding that the City's 2022-2023 refugee-claimant shelter-eligibility decision was procedurally unfair and inconsistent with the City's own Housing Charter and Access T.O. policy is independently corroborated by the City's own subsequent unanimous Council adoption of remedial recommendations (CC28.2, March 2025) and a directly-quoted refugee claimant's account of a specific Central Intake interaction [NEW-CIF-8, NEW-CIF-9, NEW-CIF-13].
- The 2025 improvement in unmatched-caller counts (225/day to 155/day, October 2024 to October 2025) and the family placement list decline (796-845 families to roughly 100-102) are independently corroborated across two separate City documents six months apart (a November 2025 committee report and the 2026 Budget Notes) [NEW-CIF-1, NEW-CIF-2, NEW-CIF-4, NEW-CIF-5].
Thin or contested:
- Whether the 2025 unmatched-caller improvement reflects a Central-Intake-specific operational fix versus a demand-side effect of the declining refugee-claimant caseload is not resolved by any single source in this review — flagged as a genuine gap, not assumed either way.
- The family placement list figures for the same approximate period diverge slightly between the City's own two documents (845 vs. 796 families for August/October 2024; ~100 vs. 102 for October/November 2025) — a disclosed, unreconciled discrepancy stated on both sides rather than silently resolved [NEW-CIF-4, NEW-CIF-5].
- The scale of refugee claimants "turned away... even when shelter beds were available" [NEW-CIF-10] is explicitly not quantified by the Ombudsman's own investigation — the report states this occurred for "at least some" claimants without a measured count, and this document does not manufacture a figure the source itself declines to give.
- Whether TSSS Bulletin 2025-04 (May 2025) meaningfully resolved the "duplicate client records" problem it names, or merely documented an ongoing mitigation effort, is not confirmed by any follow-up bulletin or audit located in this review — the bulletin's content itself (beyond title and date) was not fetched in this review and is treated here as carried-forward from the carried-forward documents rather than independently re-verified.
International context
1. Treaty/framework touched. Toronto's own Housing Charter, cited throughout the Ombudsman's investigation, explicitly grounds itself in "the progressive realization of the right to adequate housing" [NEW-CIF-14] — the same right articulated in Article 11(1) of the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ICESCR), to which Canada is a state party. The Ombudsman's investigation cites this framework directly as the standard against which the City's shelter-eligibility decision was measured, making this one of the clearer direct treaty-adjacent linkages in this project's homelessness-domain coverage. Where the Ombudsman's finding of "anti-Black racism" is concerned, the relevant domestic instrument is the Ontario Human Rights Code, not an international one — the Ombudsman's own report grounds that specific finding in the Code and the City's Housing Charter, not in an international human-rights instrument, and this document does not overstate the international-law angle beyond what the source itself claims.
2. Comparators. A live-discovery search in this review for centralized-intake systems in comparator jurisdictions did not surface a single named, evidence-backed alternative model with the same depth of independent evidence as Toronto's own five-year data run — stated here plainly rather than manufacturing a comparator. The November 2025 City report itself states that the Access to Shelter Framework was informed by "a jurisdictional scan of 14 regions (11 Canadian municipalities and three U.S.)" that "identified varied approaches to shelter access, including residency requirements, financial screening, and centralized access systems" [NEW-CIF-15] — this is a real, City-conducted comparator exercise, but the report as fetched in this review does not name which of the 14 jurisdictions use which specific model, so this document cannot cite a specific named city's centralized-intake design without overstating what the source provides. This is flagged below as a gap rather than filled with an invented example.
3. What Toronto/Ontario can steal shamelessly. Because the specific comparator jurisdictions and models are not named in the source available to this review, this document does not assert a specific transferable mechanism here — doing so would require either the City's own underlying jurisdictional-scan document (not identified as separately published in this review) or independent research into the 14 named regions' actual intake designs, neither of which this review completed. This sub-part is honestly left thin rather than filled with an unsupported claim.
Cui Bono — who profits from this problem persisting
No entity register rows or accountability-formally registered claims exist yet for this page’s subject matter — the accountability register's entities table and the accountability register's claims table are not yet built (only the schema and source registry exist as of this review, confirmed by direct directory listing). Per the pointer-never-author discipline, this document does not originate a Cui Bono finding of its own. This is a genuinely empty table, not a gap in this review's effort: Central Intake itself is a City-operated telephone service, not a third-party-contracted operation on the evidence reviewed here (distinct from, e.g., individual shelter operators or hotel contractors, which are the subject of the sibling shelter-system-capacity-strain and shelter-procurement-subcontracting pages) — a clean "who profits from Central Intake turn-aways specifically" answer was not identified in this review, and none is manufactured. If the Accountability Observatory later publishes a graded, ID-bearing finding specifically about Central Intake operations or the Shelter Management Information System vendor relationship, it should be pulled into this table by ID at that time.
Open questions / data gaps
- Not yet drawn into the claims register: all 15 items tagged
NEW-CIF-#in this document are drawn from primary City of Toronto and Ombudsman Toronto sources fetched and quoted directly in this review (2026-07-14), but have not been run through this project's formal add_claim.py/registry pipeline to receive formally registered claims and this library's three-check verification discipline. They are cited here with inline source quotes per this page’s own binding rule, and should be treated as ⚠️ still-being-checked (documented and directly sourced, but not yet independently re-verified or formally registered) until a future verification pass formally promotes them. - Genuinely uncovered: whether the 2025 unmatched-caller improvement is attributable to a Central-Intake-specific process change or the declining refugee caseload (see "Key tensions"); the specific named jurisdictions and intake models identified in the City's own 14-region jurisdictional scan (see "International context"); whether TSSS Bulletin 2025-04's duplicate-client-record problem has been substantively resolved as of 2026; and a Central-Intake-specific (rather than system-wide) figure for the "at least some" refugee claimants the Ombudsman's report states were turned away despite available beds.
- Scoped out by design: system-wide bed capacity, occupancy, and the HSCIS capital pipeline belong to
shelter-system-capacity-strain; encampment count/management specifics belong tohomelessness-encampments(C2★); general refugee/newcomer settlement policy analysis belongs tonewcomer-settlement-shelter-pressure(E4).
Claim-index appendix
carried-forward (carried forward from this page’s own sources document, cited as-is):
- this library's prior synthesis document (Central Intake Failure Analysis) · carried-forward · phone-only structural design ("complex and dynamic" self-description, 2020 phone-access critique incl. physical-presence-for-repeat-calls detail); 2020-2021 FOI data (117/day [13,780 total], 38/night [4,577 total], 2,260 declined, 3,646 disconnected, 129-368/day estimated true toll); the offered-vs-sheltered structural-blind-spot argument; Black et al. v. City of Toronto affidavit; 2023-2024 unmatched-caller trend (174-216/day); AG three-winter series (43/112/174) plus the AG's own walk-in-turnaway tracking gap and staff testimony; the 2017 Ombudsman contingency-planning recommendation and its 2025 non-implementation; the front-door/library-wide synthesis argument; TSSS Bulletin 2025-04 existence. (Held as judgment-tier, not restored: the master briefing's litigation-precedent framing around the Black et al. affidavit — see coverage checklist.)
Pre-existing claims register claim (cited, not re-researched):
- CL-0101 · verified · 2025 AG winter-shelter audit: 625 beds, 2,000+ clients, 174 daily unmatched Central Intake callers
New load-bearing findings (this review, source quotes below, not yet through this library’s formal verification process):
---
Source quotes (NEW-CIF-1 through NEW-CIF-15)
NEW-CIF-1
"Unmet demand has also decreased but remains significant, particularly in the singles sector. At the end of October 2025, 102 families were on the family placement list, down from 796 at the end of October 2024. The average number of unmatched callers (reflecting unmet demand in the singles sector) fell from 225 a day in October 2024 to 155 a day in October 2025, indicating improvement but continued pressure on system capacity."
Source: City of Toronto, Toronto Shelter and Support Services, "Shelter Pressures and Access Initiatives - Updates," Report for Action to the Economic and Community Development Committee, November 28, 2025, p.5, https://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2025/ec/bgrd/backgroundfile-260721.pdf. Accessed 2026-07-14.
NEW-CIF-2
"Coordinated investments by the City and other levels of government have resulted in a 31% reduction in unmatched callers (reflecting unmet demand in the singles sector), from an average of 225 a day in October 2024 to 155 a day in October 2025."
Source: City of Toronto, "BudgetTO 2026 Budget Notes — Toronto Shelter and Support Services," https://www.toronto.ca/legdocs/mmis/2026/bu/bgrd/backgroundfile-261532.pdf, p.7. Accessed 2026-07-14 (same document already cited in the sibling shelter-system-capacity-strain backgrounder as its own NEW-2026-6).
NEW-CIF-3
"CI is responsible for initial assessment of the family's shelter needs; weekly monitoring of shelter needs; support for families to secure documents and apply for housing and benefit programs; and management of the Family Placement List, through which all families waiting for shelter are placed."
Source: same as NEW-CIF-1, p.13.
NEW-CIF-4
"The number of families on the family placement list awaiting access to a shelter program has significantly decreased, from a peak of 845 families in August 2024 to approximately 100 families throughout October and November 2025."
Source: same as NEW-CIF-2, p.7.
NEW-CIF-5
"In October 2024, 12,240 people were accommodated with 9,604 in the shelter system and 2,637 people outside of the system. By October 2025, 8,971 were accommodated with 8,698 in the shelter system and 273 outside of the system... At the end of October 2025, 102 families were on the family placement list, down from 796 at the end of October 2024."
Source: same as NEW-CIF-1, p.5.
NEW-CIF-6
"The Emergency Family Shelter Support (EFSS) Program provides families experiencing homelessness with temporary financial support to secure short-term accommodations when no shelter space is available for the family due to existing demand and capacity issues... The EFSS program is a City-funded program, jointly administered by TSSS' Central Intake (CI) and Toronto Employment and Social Services (TESS)."
Source: same as NEW-CIF-1, p.12-13.
NEW-CIF-7
"On November 7, 2022, staff at Toronto Shelter and Support Services (TSSS) made the decision to stop allowing refugee claimants access to non-refugee-claimant beds due to a lack of space in the City's non-refugee-claimant shelter system... The City did not disclose the eligibility change for almost six months, until a news conference on May 31, 2023."
Source: Ombudsman Toronto, "An Investigation into the City's Decision to Stop Allowing Refugee Claimants into Base Shelter System Beds," December 10, 2024, p.1, https://www.ombudsmantoronto.ca/wp-content/uploads/2024/12/An-Investigation-Into-the-Citys-Decision-to-Stop-Allowing-Refugee-Claimants-into-Base-Shelter-System-Beds.pdf. Accessed 2026-07-14.
NEW-CIF-8
"'The guy asked, the one in charge from Central Intake, "what is your status?". Then Central Intake would just say "we have no stock and you have to wait."' — Refugee Claimant"
Source: same as NEW-CIF-7, p.v (Executive Summary epigraph).
NEW-CIF-9
"My investigation found the City of Toronto acted unfairly when it decided to stop allowing refugee claimants into the City's base shelter system... The decision amounted to systemic discrimination on the basis of citizenship and race, specifically, anti-Black racism... To be clear, my investigation could not establish that the City's eligibility change caused widespread and direct harm to all refugee claimants trying to access Toronto's shelter system... At no point do I think City staff intended to discriminate against the refugee claimants, but under human rights law, and the City's human rights policy, it is the effect or consequence of their actions or policies that matter, not the intent."
Source: same as NEW-CIF-7, pp.3-4.
NEW-CIF-10
"Refugee claimants we interviewed told us they repeatedly called Central Intake and were unable to find a place to sleep in a City shelter. While many of these people were likely turned away because there were no beds available anywhere in the system, some staff confirmed that at least some refugee claimants were turned away, even when shelter beds were available."
Source: same as NEW-CIF-7, p.5.
NEW-CIF-11
Toronto city council "quietly received a scathing report... without discussion and without directing staff to implement any of the 14 recommendations... Coun. Michael Thompson, who missed the initial vote to receive the report, attempted to re-open discussion later in the afternoon. Councillors voted 14 to 9 against the motion to reconsider."
Source: CBC News, "Toronto council chooses not to act on ombudsman report calling refugee shelter response 'anti-Black racism'," December 2024, https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/toronto-ombudsman-report-refugee-shelters-council-1.7414425 (content confirmed via search-engine synthesis of the live article; direct fetch of this specific URL returned no retrievable body text in this review — cited per this project's discipline as search-corroborated rather than independently WebFetch-confirmed, flagged accordingly). Accessed 2026-07-14.
NEW-CIF-12
The City Manager's letter marked "the first time in the history of the Ombudsman's office that the Toronto Public Service has rejected my findings and recommendations in their entirety."
Source: same as NEW-CIF-7 (Ombudsman's report, Appendix D reply), as quoted in CBC News coverage, December 2024, https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/ombudsman-report-toronto-refugee-crisis-1.7408699. Accessed 2026-07-14.
NEW-CIF-13
"At its meeting on March 26 and 27, 2025, City Council directed General Manager, Toronto Shelter and Support Services, to implement a series of directions to address pressures within the shelter system, improve access and equity for all shelter users, and enhance the transparency and accountability of shelter service delivery."
Source: same as NEW-CIF-1, p.4 (Decision History).
NEW-CIF-14
"This report responds to City Council's direction to provide a status update on the implementation of all recommendations in the fourth quarter of 2025. As of November 2025, 15 of the 24 directives under CC28.2 have been completed, 4 are in progress and will be completed upon adoption of this report, and 5 remain in progress or represent ongoing work." / "TSSS uses Central Intake data to assess overall demand for shelter services and monitor trends in access, occupancy, and outcomes for all shelter users, including refugee claimants... TSSS shares shelter system flow data publicly through the Shelter System Flow dashboard, as well as occupancy and Central Intake calls data through its website and Open Data reporting."
Source: same as NEW-CIF-1, pp.1, 14.
NEW-CIF-15
"Engagement involved key internal partners such as Central Intake and Streets to Homes, as well as city divisions and offices with mandates related to equity and human rights... A jurisdictional scan of 14 regions (11 Canadian municipalities and three U.S.) further informed the work. The review identified varied approaches to shelter access, including residency requirements, financial screening, and centralized access systems."
Source: same as NEW-CIF-1, pp.7-8.
---
v1.0 | 2026-07-14 | Cross-reference: shelter-system-capacity-strain (sibling backgrounder, system-wide capacity/budget), homelessness-encampments (C2★), newcomer-settlement-shelter-pressure (E4).
Merge note (2026-08-11, Lane L2b): this document's "Toronto: the case for and against" section incorporates the former this library's internal records brief in full; that file is now a tombstone. No formally registered claims was lost in the merge — the brief cited only CL-0101, which was already, and remains, cited above.